Reviews For Subway Girl
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2020 12:58 pm Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

Fancy New Halpert in this chapter! I think with so many live stories we get used to the back and forth, will they won't they that a clear, swift and direct declaration of someone's feelings can be so refreshing (in real life, too!).
Also great contrast with the beginning of this chapter so dreary and down to the ending being so hopeful, even making the rain seem like a good thing!
Inspiring to see two characters that I love going after their dreams (despite the Roys of life) and each other.
Thanks for writing!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 09:14 pm Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

Roy is over party indeed, that was pretty gutsy all around, I'm interested to see how Pam grows. It's implied that she has already done some growing by convincing roy to let her go to Pratt, so here's hoping for good things with Jim's encouragement.

Author's Response: Exactly, Pamís a little more brave this time round, so Iíd be expecting some more Pam growth soon :)

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 06:37 pm Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

Well, that’s an interesting turn of events. Can’t wait to read more!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 03:26 pm Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

That imagery of rainy Brooklyn, so good. I can picture it so clearly. It’s building Jim’s misery so very nicely.

Pam wants to walk to the station with him? Stop, that’s too cute. Pam loving the rain is a little infectious.

“Roy: pain-in-the-ass sleep stealer who liked to laugh at Jim in his dreams for having everything he wanted.” Oh, self deprecating Jim is a sorry sight. This is a wonderful line though, you capture that so well. “Roy-initis” Ahh, the wit. I love it.


“I’d like for you to be there. To be my ‘Team Pam’ enthusiast, more than you know Jim.” How are they so damn cute already? I love them so much. Jim is already so in her corner. “Soon, he’d be 2002’s most likely to get the girl.” Oh. My. God. It’s a Chili’s kiss reversal, kind of. YES PLEASE.

Okay, just picture me flailing and clutching at my heart. That’s what we’re dealing with after THAT KISS! The rain! The tropes! My. Heart.

Author's Response: Itís a chiliís kiss reversal, yes! Iím so glad you liked the roy-initis part, it was one of my favourite bits to write, and while self-deprecating Jim isnít a frequent visitor, heís still there, and still very active. Thank you so much!!!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 02:28 pm Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

I can totally see Jim spending his entire weekend trying to figure out what kind of "guy" Roy is.

2002's shoulder to cry on. *snickers*

I LOVE that Pam is being assertive! I can't wait to see what happens at the gallery.

#royisoverparty LOL

Author's Response: Assertive Pam! We need her, definitely. Thanks so much, Iím sending out the invitations for the party now ;)

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 12:33 pm Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

I enjoyed both journeys - the rainy one and the one through Jim's thoughts. Poor Jim... though his suffering didn't last long. Yay for that!
I have to say, things between them went fast, probably even too fast. But, come on, that's Pam and Jim... I don't even know why I'm complaining :)

Author's Response: I reckon young Jim and Pam are a little spontaneous, so things are fast, and as they say itís strange, but theyíre willing to take chances :) thank you

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 10:09 am Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

OMG, I've finally had the time to sit down and read this story and it's so, so good! I am a trope loving girl, and this whole thing is checking off all of the tropes in the best sort of way.

He just kisses her in the subway when Roy is right there? I love this Jim. And then that wasn't enough for you - you went ahead and gave us a rain kiss.

This is me waving my Team JAM flag. I cannot wait to see what happens next.

p.s. #royisoverparty made me laugh so hard. You have no idea.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Confident Jim is taking chances, itís his time to shine. So glad youíre waving your JAM flag, we might start a celebration with them for the Roy is Over Party ;)

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 09:24 am Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

ROY IS OVER. LOVE IT. When I read the part that Jim had kissed her, I was saying, "Woah, woah, woah" outloud. That made me so happy. Such a bold move. I'm living for this story!

Author's Response: Haha, I was thinking ďwoah, woah, woahĒ while I was writing it! Thank you :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 09:01 am Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

Great job of setting the scene with this chapter. Rainy day doldrums are the worst. Especially for Jim after his weekend of agonizing over everything. It's adorable that he comes back to life at even the prospect of meeting up with Pam, even if she has a boyfriend. Feels very true to canon.

From the brief bit of what we see of Roy, it seems that he's not a bad guy here, just not the right guy for Pam. Not that I'm complaining about a quick enter and exit for him so we can get to JAM-ness.

There seems to be a bit of a trend of Confident Jim around the archive lately and I love it. It's so refreshing to see Jim take a chance with Pam even while Roy is in the picture. I think you managed a good balance here with Jim being supportive of Pam but also giving her the push she needs to see there's something better out there.

Very cute image of her waiting in the rain by his apartment at the end of the day. Seems like she's got a hard conversation ahead of her though. All in all a great chapter. I really liked it.

Author's Response: Thatís exactly what I was trying to put across- Royís alright but heís not the one, Jimís little shove was enough to put Pam in the right direction. Justice for Confident Jim, thatís what I say! Thank you :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 08:39 am Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

Welllllll then. That was a mood. By which I mean you did a very good job throughout of keeping us aware of how Jim was feeling, how the world was conspiring with him to feel it, and why. I particularly loved "Unfortunately, the only known cure was a certain Pam Beesly, but the line at the drugstore was long, and Jim didn’t know when he’d get to the front." And the ending is quite nice too. I'm very much liking what you're doing here; thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Iím so glad you loved that line, it was one of my favourites to write. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2020 08:18 am Title: A Rainy Day in Brooklyn

#royisoverparty #cmonthursday

I enjoyed this update thoroughly: the rapid pace of the morning, the drag of the day, the building anticipation because we all knew but Jim didn't that she'd be there for some kind of climactic event. Gah. I love a solid, angsty romance. I really enjoy the Smiths references too. This would be a great story to create a playlist for!

Looking forward, as always, to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Ahhh thank you! I love the idea of creating a playlist, it definitely captures the mood doesnít it?

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 11:34 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

Oh, they’re so soft and natural with one another. It. Is. Adorable.

“Better than some boring office job right?” Too funny. And to top it off with a Dwight impersonation in a world where they don’t even really know Dwight - perfection.

Ugh. When Pam took that call and then said boyfriend... I’m with Jim, that is less than ideal news.

That last paragraph. Did you take some inspiration from John on Office Ladies? Oh Jim...

Author's Response: Yes I did! Iím so glad you noticed. Thank you so much, and Iím also really glad you picked up on the boring office job dialogue, I just couldnít resist.

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 08:52 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

I was hoping for a single Pam in this AU. But alas, Roy’s in the picture. Looking forward to reading how this plays out

Author's Response: Unfortunately Roy crashes the party, yeah. Thank you for reading! :)

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 07:53 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

A boyfriend is easier to ditch than a fiance. I love the potential of her and Jim's relationship with that status already. I love this Brooklyn/coffee shop feeling so much. I can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: It is, so thankfully it wonít take many years! Thank you :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 07:15 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

I'm glad it's not that kind of story, but I do respect the choice to give Pam the boyfriend she has in the show (well, fiance but you do you). I really liked this--great work on Jim's internal monologue, it's very effective.

Author's Response: Itís more easy going than having to plan out leaving a fiancťe and all your wedding plans, so thatís why I decided against it. Thank you!

Reviewer: HonestAndCourageous Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 07:02 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

Oh, I was just getting comfortable, liking this confident, dream pursing Pam and Jim and Roy (I'm assuming) has to burst my bubble!
Truly, though, I'm loving the setting , how they're meeting up and the little sprinkles of Dwight! Looking forward to the next chapter.
Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Haha the little sprinkles of Dwight! Thatís my favourite. Unfortunately, Roy had to sneak in there :( Thank you so much!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 07:00 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

The banter was great. I would have been really mad if she was already Pam Anderson; lucky us she doesn't have a ring yet... maybe.

Looking forward to where you go from here!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was actually worried about the banter, it was taking me a while to get right. Yeah, I was thinking about how I wouldíve felt reading ĎPam Andersoní and it wouldíve broken my heart.

Reviewer: dwigt Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 06:24 pm Title: Subway Expert

Alright, you got me hooked. :) Looking forward to this.

Author's Response: Great :)!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 05:39 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

"He didn’t mind that people knew he was with her."

Oh my god I love that. So sweet and heartbreaking. I'm interested to see what New York Roy is like! And what their story is. I'm glad that you didn't make her last name Anderson :)

Author's Response: Thank you! New York Roy is... well... weíll see ;) Iím also very glad I didnít make her last name Anderson

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 04:53 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

Uug, that stings. Here I am hoping that Pam's single and she and Jim can just be happy. Though there is a big difference between boyfriend and fiance so that's good.

Anyway, up until the friend-zoning, it was all really sweet. Clearly there are sparks between the two of them. So in that regard that does feel very much like canon. I'm curious to see how they'll continue any form of relationship without being together in an office all day every day.

Great writing. Really looking forward to where we go from here.

Author's Response: Yeah itís much much easier to separate from a boyfriend rather than a fiancťe, which is important because I didnít want this story to be too heavy. Thank you!

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed [Report This]
Date: May 13, 2020 04:34 pm Title: Beesly and Halpert

Oh man, I felt just as crushed as Jim. I was so hoping it wouldn't be a boyfriend. You wrote that beautifully. I love this story, this AU you've created. I'm hoping things turn around for him soon. Maybe he gets a chance to write? Does she drunk dial him? I cannot wait to see what you come up with!

Author's Response: Oh thank you! Jimís got plans, so thingsíll be looking up for him soon :)

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 12, 2020 12:53 am Title: Sketch Books and Phone Numbers

I love it! And, due to lockdown, I'm a sucker for stories with traveling (especially by metro), so I'm excited to see that happens next (and what places they'll visit).

Author's Response: Yes! I was actually inspired by your story Dernhelm, I love a travel story! Theyíll come back to the beloved metro soon, so it wonít be forgotten :) Thank you!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 11, 2020 07:33 pm Title: Sketch Books and Phone Numbers

Wonderfully handled, I'm looking forward to their date!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 11, 2020 04:10 am Title: Sketch Books and Phone Numbers

Oh boy, this is a delight! I’m so glad Pam’s the sort of person to write both her name, and her phone number on her sketchbook. I’m also glad that this Jim is the kind of person to become absolutely smitten from a first encounter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think itíd be a very Pam thing to do, and a smitten Jim is my favourite Jim, so Iím glad you like it!

Reviewer: agian18 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2020 09:13 pm Title: Sketch Books and Phone Numbers

Ahh. Jim. Falling in love right away. We love a fast falling Jim.

Also. Embrace the art of Googling! It's kind of fun :)

Author's Response: Fast falling Jim is a favourite. Iíll admit, I do love some googling, but maybe I love it a little less when Iím trying to read maps haha

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans