Reviews For JAM 6.0
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: October 02, 2020 03:42 am Title: Casino Night

Wow, this has got to be just about the least tension-y version of Casino Night of all time! Very sweet as always!

Author's Response:

I'm glad I could fill a gap there for you. Happy to hear you enjoyed it!

Thanks for your kind words! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 12:54 pm Title: Casino Night

Is this the fluffiest version of Casino Night I've ever read? Yep, yep, yep!
One thing made me sigh sadly — Toby's complaint (poor, poor Toby...).
And three things made me grin — Pam's surprise, the whole Bond banter, and “Let’s go home.”
Thank you!

Author's Response:

I'm glad I could fulfill a seeming gap in our fanfiction archive for you.

I'll be honest, I put the Toby part in because some of your previous reviews, so you are partially to blame! 

I'm happy to hear you liked those moments, they were my favourite too, although I guess I may be a little biased ;)

You're welcome! Thank you for your kind words! 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2020 10:57 pm Title: Casino Night

Awww...just the perfect bit of fluff I needed at the end of my night. :)

Author's Response: You're welcome, I'm glad I could deliver for you! It was purely coincidental timing, but I'm happy it worked out lol. Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2020 10:49 pm Title: Casino Night

It's interesting seeing the impact of these changes in the timeline - Pam seems to be having something of an easier time at the internship than she did at Pratt, Jim not being thrown so much by the listing of his pranks because he feels like they've had a positive result. And good heavens is it nice to read a stress-free version of Casino Night!

Author's Response:

So a little off topic, but I've always felt that an internship does a much better job at preparing someone for a job then schooling ever will - there's certainly a place for schools for learning fundamentals etc, but you can almost never beat on the job training. That's sort of the feel I was going for here: Pam is still not quite sure graphic design is what she wants to do - she more lands on the art side of the spectrum, but she has a support structure in the form of her coworkers (Ok, not really, they haven't acknowledged she exists yet) and supervisor. I feel like you can get more one on one time in a work environment, so that's why she's not as frustrated at this point. Sure, photoshop isn't her favourite, but if she needs help she can just snag someone from a desk over and get it sorted. That kind of idea, anyhow.

Ok, wow, rant about practical work experience over, on to the rest! 

Jim knew exactly what he was doing with those pranks ;) They were his way of flirting - and in a roundabout way this time it worked!

I'm glad you liked the low-fat version of Casino Night!

Thank you for your kind words! 

Reviewer: jandjsalmon Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2020 10:33 pm Title: Casino Night

This was really really sweet and wonderful. I loved it.

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear you liked it! Thank you for your kind words!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2020 08:46 pm Title: Casino Night

Lovely way to combine two episodes. Jim being a little despondent without Pam in the office makes sense. He's without his office buddy and fiancť so yeah it makes sense he'd be a little down.

Nice to see Pam doing well in New York. Also nice to see her wanting to leave quickly to get back to Jim.

The surprise welcome back was all sorts of sweet. Same with their afternoon off at home.

I like the change from sweater to tux this time around. Felt very classy.

Nice to have Casino Night go in a good direction this time too. Nice job as always.

Author's Response:

Yes, Jim is very much missing his best friend/partner in crime/life partner/fiance/... the list goes on! I'm happy to hear you liked this mashup, I felt like I should at least acknowledge Conflict Resolution happened so... there it was!

Pam can only distract herself with New York for so long, understandably. She's having a good time and being challenged, but the person she want's to share with is just over two hours away!

I'm glad you liked that unabashed fluff, I enjoyed writing that. It was fun to play with Ryan a little bit before he became the jerk that he was in later episodes too.

Jim is all about classy, as we may recall from the time he wore a tux in canon. I'm glad that fit for you, I just felt like it was a natural progression. This is Jim and Pam's outing in the middle of wedding planning/saving, so they went a little over the top.

Thank you for your kind words as always! We're almost at the end of this one. 

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2020 08:13 pm Title: Casino Night

As always, awwwwww! I loved everything, but especially the whole James Bond bit. That was adorable.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it, this was a lot of fun to write and take a break from coursework. 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 27, 2020 08:18 am Title: Drug Testing

I can't believe I missed this update...
I like this sweet sadness of parting, but I had so much joy reading about their jinx trick on Dwight! I'm looking forward to seeing how Pam deals with her internship and how Jim deals on his own.
Thanks :)

Author's Response:

You didn't miss anything, you were just saving it for later ;)

I'm glad the Jinx prank was sweet enough the cleanse the palate of the bittersweet that we started the chapter with. We'll definitely get to see some slice of life from both of them next chapter and how they're handling things.

You're welcome! Thank you for the kind words! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2020 05:01 am Title: Drug Testing

“What if he wasn’t enough for her and her artistic aspirations?” It’s almost like you’re giving us a role reversed Athlead storyline (without some of the miscommunication) here. I’m hoping it’ll play out without as much angst as Season 9!

This does all feel bittersweet under the knowledge that their lives are about to change somewhat significantly.

The jinx! Dwight! It’s all so very lovely. Their “interview” was a whole lot of fun.

Author's Response:

Well, you know me Jenna, I'm all about flipping things around. You should also know that I'm all about cranking the fluff up to 11, so have no fear, season 9 angst is nowhere in sight.

It is bittersweet, as growing can be sometimes and I'm glad it came across for you. Jim and Pam are going from seeing each other almost constantly to 3 states apart weekend visits, quite a shift. Thrown into that after their first week married they'll be right back to it for another 4 weeks or so.

Happy to hear you liked the twist on the jinx, it was a lot of fun to write so glad you enjoyed it too!

Thanks for stopping by, see you next time!

Reviewer: jandjsalmon Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2020 03:59 pm Title: Drug Testing

This was adorable and sweet and so so funny. Thank you for sharing it with us today. :)

Author's Response: Well shucks, thank YOU for leaving such a kind review, hopefully this chapter brought a smile to your face like your review did for me!

Reviewer: jandjsalmon Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2020 03:08 pm Title: Michaelís Birthday

Oh I love them bringing Nakita in for Kevin. SO sweet and thoughtful and YAY for the internship! Amazing!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for leaving a review, it's great to hear from you.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2020 10:20 pm Title: Drug Testing

This is the sort of fluff I want to inject directly into my veins.

It also, I think, shines a light on how fundamentally sweet an episode Drug Testing is for Jim and Pam - they have this one painfully sharp moment of angst (which doesn't really linger like it does in The Client) in what was otherwise a really great day with them. In that sense, it's probably a lot more indicative of their real day-to-day relationship than a lot of the rest of Season 2. So this AU is reteaching canon, which is neat.

Author's Response:

Hah, thanks. If I could mass produce this and ship it I would, trust me! I would even offer chewables instead of needles - no, scratch that, gel capsules, everyone loves gel capsules.

I agree, aside from the downer in the breakroom this is a really sweet episode in canon. 

Thank you for taking the time to review, I love hearing your thoughts! 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2020 05:05 pm Title: Drug Testing

Lots of fun here. Especially with Pam being the one who is silent this time around. You had her really quick on her feet there in the interview, to claim right to remain silent and for counsel. If Dwight had really been on his toes he would have realized that cousel means an actual lawyer not just someone close to the accused. As it is though it's a great way to show that Dwight is all blowhard since he doesn't get that distinction. Jim of course is great in the interview.

Lovely throughout. Even silent the JAM banter works great. They're clearly in a great place and it's a joy to read.

Author's Response:

Well, you know me, I'm all about two things - Fluff and flipping things on their head. I'm really glad that swapping their roles around in this one worked for you, it was a lot of fun to write it. The interview was a pleasure to write, a mashup of some original content and then some classic goodness thrown in for good measure. Dwight's ignorance and arrogance go hand in hand, I hope he doesn't come off as too much of a jerk though! This story is shamelessly all about putting Jim and Pam in a great place - I haven't really done much on the conflict side of things, and I'm not sure how I feel about that! I've had some ideas but I kinda forgot to include them in this chapter with all of the fluff, woops!

Thanks for taking the time to review! 

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2020 04:24 pm Title: Drug Testing

Awwww I love it! The adorable ways Pam avoids talking rivals Jim’s ways in the show, I think. And I loved how you incorporated the scene between Jim and Dwight.

Author's Response:

I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed this one, it was a pleasure to write. Let's just all be glad I didn't go with the draft that had Pam doing real tears for the conference room upon realising how much she was going to miss Jim. I'm glad you liked that remix of the interrogation - I couldn't just drop that wonderful moment, it's priceless.

Thanks for dropping by to review! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:14 am Title: Michaelís Birthday

Finally, catching up with your story and awww, this is the sweetest thing! If I remember correctly, Jenna F. said that in that episode, Pam tried to imagine how it would be like - to be Jim's girlfriend. And you made it even greater because she's his fiancee here ;)
I love to watch them so happy and kind towards their coworkers.
Lovely as ever!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it! I can't remember that particular podcast episode, it's been a while, but that sound right for the journey that Pam was on at that point.

Thanks as always for your kind words!

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 05:08 am Title: The Farm

I am so impressed with your attention to detail. I forgot to mention in my last review but I love the friendship you've established between Oscar and Pam. I adore when authors explore relationships between character that didn't get a ton of time together in the show. I think their dynamic is great. I especially love that you've woven Oscar back into this chapter. It's lovely that Pam now has another office friend to chat to beyond Jim.

Author's Response:

Happy to hear you like Pam and Oscar's relationship here, the goal is to avoid any 'Motel art' this time around!

Thanks for taking the time to review as you catch up, I know for myself it's hard to stop and write up a review before pressing onward!

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 04:48 am Title: Booze Cruise

I love that Jim and Pam arrive together and it just goes right over Michael's head. It's very much in keeping with his character. The 'fun sucking vampire' line was hilarious. The fact that you turned the booze cruise into the site of Jim's proposal was great. I can't think of a better spot for this in season 2 :)

Author's Response:

I'm glad that you felt Michael's characterization was on point there, it means a lot to me! So happy that you liked the proposal, that was definitely a departure from my writing comfort zone!

Thanks for leaving a review, it's really fun to track your progress as you catch up! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 03:15 am Title: Michaelís Birthday

I wondered how you were going to change things up here - bringing Nikita in for Kevin is such a lovely touch!
“P B N J,” Well, that’s a bit perfect.

“Great, so we’re going to pay him off,” Oh, that made me laugh.
It’s nice that Pam got the internship! It really speeds up the timeline on her doing something with her art here. Episode by episode the little things stay mostly the same, but boy does this all change the big things in a very big way. I’m glad you’ve included this!

Author's Response:

Well, she's an emotional support dog - and cute! I have to shoehorn her in at every opportunity ;) 

You have no idea how long I've been holding onto the PBnJ moment... just like Kevin had 'gaycation' stored up the moment after Oscar left, hah.

I'm glad you got some form of my mental image there with the bribery scene - I wasn't sure how people were going to read that one because obviously I the author thought it was funny... anyhow, glad it landed for you.

Yeah! We'll see how this changes things on the homefront in some of the final chapters of the arc too, so stay tuned! 

Thanks for stopping by Jenna, great as always to hear from you! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2020 03:57 pm Title: Michaelís Birthday

An adorable remix to an already extremely sweet episode.

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear you liked it, thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2020 05:18 am Title: Christmas Party

I love the little details you've added to this reimagined AU version of season 2. Pam bringing vegetarian patties for Angela, Jim paying Creed so he could get Pam for Secret Santa. It's these small things that inform so much about their characters. I'm really loving this story so far!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm a really details oriented person myself, so I'm glad that you like the additions too! I think Jim and Pam bring out the best in each other, so amplifying Pam's kindness is one way that I try and show that. I'm glad to hear you're enjoying it, and I can't wait for you to get all caught up! Thanks for stopping by to leave a review!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 09:42 pm Title: Michaelís Birthday

The canon version of this day is sweet. This version is just as sweet. Love the kind and caring soul Pam is here. to bring Nikita around to keep Kevin company was lovely.

Likewise all their interactions while shopping and at the rink were all the more fun since here they're together for real. Nice job.

Author's Response:

I'm glad to hear this lives up to canon levels of sweetness, that's a tough mark to make sometimes! Glad you liked Pam's demeanor here, I think she and Jim really bring out the best in each other and I like trying to show that through the little things like that.

Thank you for your consistent feedback and praise, I really appreciate it! 

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 09:24 pm Title: Michaelís Birthday

Awww I love this new Rite Aid scene! I wish this had been the actual version.

Author's Response: Aw, shucks. Thank you! I'm really happy to hear you liked it. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 24, 2020 03:58 pm Title: The Discovery

A) I love the idea of a JAM wedding at Schrute Farms. That has some amazing comic potential.

B) The remix of The Secret to be about Jim and Pam's secret engagement is maybe my favorite thing you've done so far.

Author's Response:

Indeed it does, I only hope that I can do it justice.

Thank you! I'm glad you liked that, it just fit the timeline so well that I couldn't help but repurpose that premise! 

Thanks for taking the time to review! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 24, 2020 03:09 pm Title: Halloween

A version of Halloween where we acknowledge that Pam is doing for Jim what Jim always does for Pam? Yes please.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked that part, I felt like that was what Pam was trying to do in canon, but here I'm allowed to make her say whatever I imagine to be on her mind.

Thanks for dropping by to review! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: August 24, 2020 10:44 am Title: Take Your Daughter to Work Day

Your story makes me giddy and this time wasn't an exception :)
"They're just little people, talk to them, treat them with respect, learn their interests. And I guess bribing them with candy couldn't hurt either," I laughed aloud at his line!
And I giggled at the part about 'improving kids skills.' Oh, I'm sure they have to discuss that!
I don't quite remember that episode, but wasn't Abby that girl who gave Pam a hard time? If yes, I'd say it was a fantastic improvement of the canon!
And their mutual thoughts about future parenting... so sweet!
"Everything was going to work out, even if she had to get married in her tiny back yard with Nikita as the ring bearer," — not a bad scenario, actually :)
Thank you!

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you liked this chapter, and I'm happy to hear I got a laugh out of you with the bribery line. Yes, Jim and Pam likely will need to touch base on the kids thing, not sure if it'll happen "on screen" as it were though, I'll have to see if it fits somewhere. 

Abby was indeed the on that was giving Pam a hard time, "You're already grown up" was the line that I chose to flip on it's head this time around.

Glad you liked their mutual observations. 

I know right? It was actually kind of my original thought, but a backyard wedding has been done before, and thus in the game of absurdist one-upmanship, the Halpert-Beesly Schrute Farms wedding was born. 

You're welcome, but thank YOU for reading and reviewing, I love hearing from you! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans