Reviews For Fail the interview
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 11:15 am Title: Chapter 4

Ooooof. Oh, Pam. She was so close to taking a huge swing!

But presumably Jim can read the subtext of her showing up.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2020 07:15 pm Title: Chapter 5

Oh that's lovely. Great ending. Both that she took some her-time and that he's still just as willing to drop everything for her. So glad you wrote this!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot! I love it when Pam is herself without depending on Jim.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2020 07:13 pm Title: Chapter 4

Oh my. Not what I was expecting but it is perfectly in character. Interested to see what Jim does about it, and Go Pam for doing that much!

Author's Response: Well... I didn't want them to just figure it all out right there and then. Where is the angst? Kidding.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2020 07:12 pm Title: Chapter 3

I loved this chapter! The sensory details (visuals, smells) are amazing. Just catching up after a while away from the archive and this chapter made me smile!

Author's Response: Hi Comfect! Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you liked those details, I'm not very confident about how much is too much

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2020 10:52 pm Title: Chapter 5

The lovely ending of the lovely story!
I especially like that Pam, even frustrated, broken-hearted, and regretful, found some time to visit the museum instead of falling into the depth of despair. She chose herself, and that's awesome!
Thank you!

Author's Response:

Thanks very much! 

One of the things I like the most about season 3 is the fact that Pam is finding a voice of her own, and I wanted to show a little bit of that.

Thanks again! I'm glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2020 08:04 pm Title: Chapter 5

This was a lovely alt, all the same staples as the canon events, but spin in such a way that it all has a little more meaning. I really enjoyed this, thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2020 06:21 pm Title: Chapter 5

I like this description of Pam’s day. Making the most of her moment in New York and feeling kind of blank about the Jim thing. It’s almost as if she’s done something and by doing something there’s no regret eating her up. I imagine there would have been had she remained in Scranton...

Oh, and there’s Jim. Perfect. We’ve taken a slightly different way to get there, but I love that this wraps up with “it’s a date” also. I feel like this Pam was even more considered in her actions and it’s great the payoff is equally wonderful as canon.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much for your review! I wanted to keep those lines, because they are just wonderful.

And yeah, the museum part was Pam a little bit defeated, but kind of moving on. I think that's more or less the vibe she gives during the talking head right before Jim asks her out.

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2020 01:31 pm Title: Chapter 5

I really like how this turned out. Great to see that Pam took advantage of being in New York to get some more perspective as well just enjoy the thing she loves so much. She's taking care of herself and it's lovely to see.

Of course the image of Jim sitting there waiting for her, especially with those lines, is also a wonderful thing to envision. Great job with this one. It was a lot of fun.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response:

Thanks W4! You know, one of the things about season 3 is that it's about Pam growing up and growing strong. So, in this case it's about enjoying a bit of the city, a bit of art, and then feeling happy enough to go back home. 

And well, in this case, there is something waiting for her, but she already had some chance to be herself.

Thanks for your support! 

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 28, 2020 12:30 pm Title: Chapter 4

I love the twist of her going to New York! This is super sweet and I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I hope you like the rest!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2020 10:52 pm Title: Chapter 4

Oooh, I wasn’t expecting this chapter to play out the way it did at all. I like that Pam’s whole thing essentially became her yogurt lid note. Somehow it’s similar to canon and completely different all at the same time. It’s amazing what that one change of not adding the note in at the time of copying the sales reports makes. I hope it prompts Jim to rethink things like it does so effectively in canon...

Author's Response:

Thanks very much, Jenna! 

Indeed, it's more or less the same lines, in a more dramatic scenario. 

And well... Jim wouldn't be Jim if he didn't take all of this into consideration, right? :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2020 04:33 pm Title: Chapter 4

Pam may not be one for huge grand gestures, but this still feels pretty big for her. If in canon her putting the yogurt lid and note in Jim's folder is her shifting things one degree, this feels more like her shifting things 5 degrees. For reference, to keep using this analogy I'd say Jim's CN declaration would be a 180 degree shift. Hopefully that makes sense.

Still I loved the courage that Pam has on display here. Great way to still use the events and lines from canon, but shift things around a bit. Can't wait to see how this wraps up.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much, W4!

The yogurt lid in the series is important, and it works nicely in terms of subtlety, but I wanted to push them both a little bit further. Pam doesn't do big stuff unless she is really feeling it, and I can imagine Jim leaving with Karen to NY would leave her feeling all sorts of things.

Pam won¿t get very CN, but she gets out some of her stuff and that's just... Pam. 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2020 02:31 pm Title: Chapter 4

So just caught up on this one. The characterizations here feel pretty on point, and the emotion is really raw. I could feel my gut twisting in the previous chapters as Pam just let him leave, and now the panic/elation/fear of confrontation. I love the way you ended this chapter, the little things Pam does speak volumes. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with to follow this up.

Author's Response:

Thanks a lot for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it... 

From it outside it look like baby steps but these things are hard to Pam and I hope it shows. 

Thanks again! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2020 12:52 pm Title: Chapter 4

Oh, Pam. I feel her fear so vividly. That's right, she's not about grand gestures, but these tiny things she's doing... they are enormous.
I hope Jim will understand that.

Author's Response:

Pam is really trying her best, and yeah, in that sens this is a big deal.

Thanks a lot for reviewing! 

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2020 12:17 pm Title: Chapter 4

This is so good Kuri! I haven't read many fics that take this direction so it feels like a really fresh take. I love how you describe Pam. I can imagine her being scared but brave. She's keeping the goal in sight.

Author's Response: Thanks very much for your review! I love the rare times when Pam just gets up and does stuff.

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2020 09:45 am Title: Chapter 4

Ugh! Pam just say it!

Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing! 

Pam wouldn't be Pam if she just went there and said stuff. 

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2020 08:43 am Title: Chapter 4

Just caught up on this story and ugh this chapter breaks my heart a little! She's almost there! Amazing story. I've loved every piece of detail you've added into it!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I love that you love it!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 05:42 pm Title: Chapter 3

No one has time for maps when they’re making bold, spur of the moment decisions. Stopping to print maps just allows time for second guessing...

“she even matches a car’s speed for some miles, and pretends they are in this together” I adore this. I can picture it so very clearly.

“If she had some doubts at first, now they seem to have grown to occupy all the available space in her small car.” This is exactly what I feared with the whole stopping for maps this. Any pausing is the possibility for a loss of momentum...

“She doesn't come up with an answer but uses extra deodorant just in case.” I love this. Your writing here has just the right amount of clever humor mixed in with the painful uncertainty that Pam is wading through.

I kind of love Grave having Pam’s back here, and her understanding of all things Michael.

Author's Response:

Well... I LOVE road tripping, especially in the US. So, this is a bit about my own experiences with maps (nobody needs them) and pausing for coffee. And tagging strangers' cars when I feel lonely.

I wasn't sure at first about needing Grace's help, but she couldn't do it on her own. Plus, yeah, I allowed me to throw that line about Michael :)

Against, thanks very much for your reviews! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 05:33 pm Title: Chapter 3

Yup a nice little filler chapter to keep things moving along. However it's also nice to see Pam's stated of mind through all this. The initial rush to leave and the excitement of the thing to be tempered by a whole heaping pile of "what the hell am I doing?"

Really looking forward to seeing how this all pans out. Also I love the receptionist's network. It's always fun when people bring that in and this is no exception.

Author's Response: I don't know if this exists but there should be a fic entirely told by the receptionists. Maybe one day, with the right amount of booze...

The thing about long drives is that there is a lot of time to be filled and that's when your brain kicks in. In this case, Pam's insecurities and fears. 

Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 05:30 pm Title: Chapter 2

“she means the statue, not the accountant.” Oh, this is such a great line. I love a little sarcasm and humor with my Pam.

“and moves tubs around, looking for a flavour that matches her current spirits, until her hand feels numb” Ugh. This is such a mood. I love the imagery here to bring that miserable tone out.

Wow, a throwback to the fabric softener scene. It’s fine. I’m fine. My heart isn’t cracking in two or anything.

Oh yes! What a revelation. What a way to end. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! You are a wonderful reviewer.

I've done the ice cream thing once or twice, not on purpose but yeah... it's a mood.

Again, thanks a lot! I hope you like the rest. 

 

Reviewer: Chale811 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 04:57 pm Title: Chapter 2

Love it so far. Please have more chapters soon!!!

Author's Response: I did! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 03:33 pm Title: Chapter 2

Oh man. Hurry with an update!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I did! :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 03:09 pm Title: Chapter 2

Well, well, well. So not putting the note in (which is what I got from chapter 1, correct me if I'm wrong) means similar emotion boiling over later. Very interesting approach. Definitely digging it!

Author's Response: Thanks very much, Comfect.
Yeah, she didn't put the note so... that might lead to other possibilities.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2020 05:35 am Title: Chapter 2

Now there's an interesting twist on things. It felt like a day of pretending things are alright when she knows they're not. Then her realization there after she wakes up was really good to see. So now we have Pam rushing off to who knows where. I'm kinda hoping it's to New York. Can't wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Thanks an interesting way to put it. It feels as if during most of season 3 Pam is pretending things are alright, especially in this episode. Well... she's on her way. And the story is almost completely written :)
Thanks so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2020 11:18 pm Title: Chapter 2

I like the descriptions of Pam's thoughts so much! It felt like she was on the autopilot and then — on edge. I have so much sympathy for her and really, really hope that her world wouldn't end in a day or two.
Go, Pam!
*unintelligible cheering in the distance*

Author's Response: LOL! Thanks!
Pam's world isn't going to end... and since I love happy endings, it's not going to be too bad either :)
Go Pam indeed!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2020 05:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

Interested to see where this goes. I think that's a fair change; I do worry for her though!

Author's Response: Hi Confect! Thanks for reviewing! 
These are dark time for Pam but I'm a sucker for happy endings. That's all I'll say. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans