Reviews For Zoom meetings
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 07:22 pm Title: Host

Love in the time of coronavirus. Lovely.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 02:30 pm Title: Host

It kind of threw me off a little that this chapter switched to first person. I love that we get Jim’s POV though. It’s really nice to see it all playing out from his perspective.

Thank god for Jim living with a roommate. I love that it forces them to quarantine together, like it‘s the most logical thing in the world (which it is, because roommate).

“I swear that from that moment and for the rest of my life Chinese food lost half of its appeal.” This is completely and utterly adorable.

Somehow you’ve made two sick people kissing still be all kinds of cute and that takes a whole lot of skill!

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 02:23 am Title: Host

Very nice.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 09:03 pm Title: Host

OK, that was cute. I can't believe I missed that you were going to make them quarantine TOGETHER with the virus. Smart move.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! 

Reviewer: late2theprty Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 08:31 am Title: Host

Just last night I was looking to see if an update to this story was up.
Really nice AU told in a modern world. Thank you so much for this story.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you're liking it!

Reviewer: IgnorantSlut Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 03:08 am Title: Host

I only read this from start to chapter 8 last night and I was praying for an update soon, then I wake up this morning and there was number 9. This is such a great story, absolutely love it!

Author's Response:

Lol! Love your pen name!

I'm glad you liked it, thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 12:51 am Title: Host

Oh my, oh my, oh my! This is fantastic, and I don't even know where to start.
I love that we saw that happened inside Jim's mind, and I love that he came to help Pam. Their first interactions were lovely, and, of course, she tried her best not to infect him and felt guilty when it happens. And her suggestion... just awww.
Also, you make me reconsider my opinion on masks. I couldn't imagine that wearing masks could be that... intimate. Perhaps, it's the magic of JAM :)
And the rest... oh, the rest I can't describe properly, I just fan myself. I hate to see them sick, but I'm so happy to watch them together.
Thank you so much for your chapter, it's amazing and beyond! Looking forward to the next one!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review!

You know sometimes while writing you get this image in your head and you want to get there? Well, the image was of somebody taking off the other's mask, and making it look like something intimate and even sexy. I'm glad and relieved it landed! 

And also the idea of them looking at one another for real, for the first time. 

Next one is half-formed, so I hope I won't take very long. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 09, 2020 11:05 pm Title: Host

Ahhh, ok, it was Jim there at the beginning in the face shield. Had me going for a bit.

So obviously I loved that Jim came over to take care of her. Damn the torpedoes and full steam ahead kind of a mentality. Looks like Pam really knows what kind of guy Jim is here. He's willing to get a sick just to help her out.

That Pam is the one to suggest he stay with her is lovely. Of course there's the practical reason, but it's probably the least important reason for them. The scenes of them dancing around each other in her kitchen and the first kisses were of course just lovely.

This chapter from Jim's POV also worked really good. Great to get an insight to how he's been thinking about all this. Been waiting for this update and it delivered. Great job.

Author's Response:

Jim's here, ladies and gents. I was a worried about writing from his PoV, but it was very fun.

At this point, Pam is head over heels, but she still wants to play it cool. 

While the last chapter is already half-written in my mind, I'm still not sure if I should use Jim's or Pam's voice. Let's see what my next zoom meeting inspires me to do. 

Thanks very much for all your support w4! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 18, 2020 10:29 am Title: Error

I absolutely buy that Pam and Roy's relationship would have been a casualty of the lockdown - especially a Pam who hasn't had and is now discovering the outlet of Jim.

Author's Response: I think that lockdown made things more intense, for better of worse. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2020 01:03 am Title: Connection problems

Oh, the excellent chapter as usual!
I feel sorry for Pam so much, you painted her turmoils so vividly, and they were so, so real (it's so familiar with me when you're sick and every little imperfection annoys you so much!)
To be honest, I was scared a little while reading your chapter, two times: firstly, when Pam received a package from Roy and thought nice of him ('No, Pam, you can't get back to him!' I thought back then and I was relieved when she thought about who would have taken care of whom in case of sickness) and the moment when Pam heard banging ('Noooo,' I thought, 'I was a terrible idea to give Roy your address!..')
Turned out, I think of Roy much worse than he deserves it :)
Oh, and Jim's just the sweetest. I love their interactions so much! And this line:
"To her mind came the phrase “in sickness and in health” but she forced that thought away. She was definitely going crazy."
made me smile so much that my cheeks hurt :)
Thank you, and looking forward to the next update!!

Author's Response:

Hi! Thanks very much for your review! 

Re-watching season 3, because of office Ladies, made me notice two characters that are supposed to be "mean" but that are, in fac, quite interesting: Roy and Karen. No Karen in this fic, though.

I toyed with the idea of making Roy come over and check on her, but it seemed a little bit out of character. He's a selfish person, he wouldn't just go there and risk his own health. 

Jim, on the other hand... oh, Jim. 



Author's Response:

Hi! Thanks very much for your review! 

Re-watching season 3, because of office Ladies, made me notice two characters that are supposed to be "mean" but that are, in fac, quite interesting: Roy and Karen. No Karen in this fic, though.

I toyed with the idea of making Roy come over and check on her, but it seemed a little bit out of character. He's a selfish person, he wouldn't just go there and risk his own health. 

Jim, on the other hand... oh, Jim. 

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 06:13 pm Title: Connection problems

Oh my gosh. You’ve done it again. Amazing. I love how you incorporated a positive interaction with Roy. That felt very true to the story. And I’m DYING to know what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for your review! Season 3 Roy has some good gestures... not enough though.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 04:51 pm Title: Connection problems

“Silly stuff, really, but it bothered her.” This makes a huge difference to how at home you feel in a place. It’s always harder when you’re sick too. Even as an adult I find you always want familiarity when you’re not well.

Aww, look at Roy actually kind of coming through. I like that. I feel like it fits nicely with Season 3 Roy, softening around the edges and making a genuine attempt to suck a little less.

And then there’s Jim. I love their communication here. One of the ways they struggle in canon is leaving things unsaid. I adore that he comes clean with feeling jealous. It’s really very sweet.

Author's Response:

Because of Office Ladies, I am rewatching season 3, and it is cute hoy Roy is really trying to make an effort... and seeing him fail. 

Thanks very much for reviewing! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 03:59 pm Title: Connection problems

Very S3 feeling with Roy there. He only treats her nice after she's gone. It's an interesting take really. Most of the time Roy is seen as kind of a blockhead, but we often forget Pam and Roy were together for years. I'm sure some things tend to stick. Especially where there's things like what he sent over that are probably reminding him of her all the time.

Nice bit with the Jim and Pam interactions. They're still very early in their relationship so it feels right that Jim would be feeling like that. Likewise Pam's not at her best what with being sick. It feels very real that she'd be on edge.

That is Jim there at the door in the mask and faceshield right? Nice job with this one.

Author's Response:

Hi! Thanks a lot for reviewing! 

You know, I didn't realise that last part was a bit of a cliffhanger, until you wrote that you were not sure if it was Jim. Roy showing up would've been fun, and very 3rd season.

I think he has his moments, but then he has this line of Pam's art being the prettiest of all arts and it's so cringey!

Anyway, thanks a lot! I'm glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 02:53 pm Title: Connection problems

Oh Jim. You better not get Covid. But it's very sweet of him, and also in character. I am glad Roy wasn't an ass. He isn't fundamentally a bad guy, just totally wrong for Pam. Good storytelling.

Author's Response:

Thanks!

S3 Roy is trying his best to be a nice guy to Pam. Like when he tries to take her away from Michael's Grief Counselling.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 09:42 am Title: System failure

So yeah, there probably isn't a rapid test at all in PA, but I'm fine with her not having to wait 36-72 hours to find out. So, um, how dark is this going to get? Because Covid can go a lot of ways...

Author's Response:

Thanks a lot for all your reviews, which I'm going to answer, but I wanted to clear this before you panic.

NOT very dark. :) 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 09:37 am Title: Point-to-point

Awwwwww. Good job Jim being honest and Pam responding honestly! I'm glad for them, though of course here in the US "after coronavirus" is kind of ... Never.

Actually that might make a good plot point: when do they just say screw it, and well...

Author's Response:

That's the thing. Let's say she gets better in 2 weeks. Still, they'd have to wait another 2 for her not to be able to give it to him. Will they wait this long, though?

Thanks so much for your reviews! 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 09:31 am Title: Leaving

Also, like, company is precious during lockdown, so of course Jim would be forward about becoming part of Pam's bubble/pod/personal contact group. Makes sense.

Good on Phyllis for having her back.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 09:25 am Title: Error

Lockdown would 💯 make it easier to break up. Definitely. I mean, harder practically but much easier to notice emotionally. Good work! Nice air-five!

Author's Response: Gawd that air-five was difficult! Lol!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 09:22 am Title: F2F

Pam should be grateful: so many Americans don't even wear masks, at least her grocery store people do.

"Or had she just gone completely crazy and was starting to hallucinate colleagues in the fruit aisle?" This is my favorite line, good use of language.

Overall my favorite chapter so far.

Author's Response:

YAY! Thanks!!

About the mask wearing, a friend of mine who lives in New Mexico says things are very strict over there. You just can't get inside the store without a mask. 

Down here, you can't even walk down the street without wearing one. 

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 09:17 am Title: Connecting

Well yeah Pam, Roy especially unemployed Roy, isn't a good housemate. You should look into changing that ;). Though that's really hard in lockdown...good luck to her! Good chapter.

Author's Response:

Thanks! 

I think this kind of scenario brings up people's qualities, for better or worse.  

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2020 09:05 am Title: Initiating

Oh, yes, I like that. We've had work from home in the US too, and this feels right. Especially Roy being an ass in the background. Good use of the setup to get that into Jim's awareness.

Author's Response:

Zoom meetings are the worst, but going out is even scarier. I'm a professor and we're going to keep stuff online at least until March 2021. Really crazy.

Of course, Roy's just being Roy. Although I've been visiting season 3 and he has his moments.  

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2020 07:07 pm Title: System failure

Ah it hurts that they’re still apart and I feel like they will be for a while! But we know that Jim is very patient, and I can’t wait for more.

Author's Response:

That's more or less the whole idea of the story. To keep them apart for as long as possible. Yeah, I know, I am sadistic that way :)

THANKS for reviewing! 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2020 03:53 pm Title: System failure

I really am loving this story! I hate that Pam is sick but hope Jim is able to come take care of her. I really have loved all their interactions, though, and the way things has progressed hasn’t felt rushed at all but completely natural! Can’t wait to read more!

Author's Response:

Thanks! 

TBH I'm still trying to make up my mind on how involved Jim is going to get. Next chapter is not cooperating :) 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2020 02:32 pm Title: F2F

Her sending the risotto over gave me such a huge smile. It’s perfect.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 07, 2020 01:49 pm Title: System failure

That was an unexpected turn. I actually feel bad for Pam, lol, not a real character. Sorry this will extend their time apart. I hope this has a happy ending. Waiting for more.

Author's Response:

I like the fact of having them apart with no ways to avoid it. I know, I am a bit sadistic that way. 

I do love happy endings though. Thanks very much for reviewing!! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans