You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2020 03:23 am Title: Chapter 6

“rather than the haunted labyrinth of missed opportunities and dishonesty and bitterness that’s lain between them since last May” If this isn’t the most Season 3 line of all time.

Oooh, the teapot card! Of course. That makes all the sense in the world.

Pam’s whole journey of lust v. feeling all too inexperienced is so great. I can totally see her like that, bold in her thoughts & somewhat tentative in her actual actions.
“staring at him like her brain’s fallen out in a throbbing heap on the floor” this is whole mood. I love it.

‘Do you have time to run off a special certificate first?’
‘Absolutely not. First thing tomorrow.’
This exchange is just perfection.

This was an absolutely lovely ending to this story! The proposal was so very them, as was the banter.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2020 05:07 pm Title: Chapter 6

Lovely way to wrap this all up. And an epic wrap up in terms of length too. They finally get together and can just be together. Also they start to heal the scars of the past. There's honesty, passion, love, and fun. Great job to tie everything off with this one. I really liked it.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Warrior. I'm really glad you kept with it, and I'm really grateful for all your reviews.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2020 11:01 am Title: Chapter 6

Congratulations on a fic well finished! This was quite a feat and you should feel so proud! I enjoyed this story from start to finish and really loved how you wrapped things up. The boxes were so cute and heartfelt and felt very in character, Danny and Karen are perfect together, and the proposal scene was excellent. Great job, Sam! Can’t wait to see what you bless us with next!

Author's Response:

Thank you, BT! Thanks for reading, and thanks for all your reviews. I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2020 04:23 am Title: Chapter 6

What a perfect ending! I like so much to see them happy, and the slight bitterness of missed chances at the beginning of the chapter only made the sweetness of the final part taste better.
And I found it very cute that the new owner of Daisy the Leopard was Michael (he'd treat her the way better than Jim), and that Karen met Danny (and I hope they'll have their... well, probably not the 'happily ever after,' but something more interesting than that she had with Jim).
Thank you very much for this journey!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Dernhelm! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story, and really grateful for your reviews. Much appreciated!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2020 06:05 pm Title: Chapter 6

Oh, man. The reveals of their individual collections of mementos is just lovely. The details are great - the idea of Jim going through multiple boxes because he keeps trying to get rid of them feels very true to Jim at this period. I love that you slipped a little humor in that weighty exchange, too - VERY them.

The line about Jim being able to sleep for the first time is absolutely something I could see in canon. And this glimpse into their mindsets, of both desperately wanting to move forward but not being quite sure how to do it right, is very in character.

I thought you did well with the first hook-up scene - it's properly steamy, as is their christening of the branch office.

Pairing off Danny and Karen is something I don't think I've seen in fic before! Creative choice, and I think a solid one. This Karen in particular feels like she would really appreciate the smoothness of Danny.

The awkward, accidental marriage proposal seems like a very fitting end to their story. Much like in canon, nothing quite goes the way they would have ideally planned it, but it ends up being perfect anyways because they both want it so much.

I feel like my reviews really haven't done this story justice. This is a more than worthy follow-up to the great Serendipity. You've got a deft touch with these characters and a lot of insight into them which you've paired with some quite nice writing. I liked this an awful lot - and I'm looking forward to whatever you come up with next!

Author's Response: You're very kind - thank you so much! Really glad you enjoyed it, and I'm really thankful for all your thoughtful reviews.

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2020 11:10 pm Title: Chapter 5

I had this super long review typed out with all of my favorite parts highlighted and then I accidentally swiped away and lost it!! The gist of it was that there were so many lines and moments that I absolutely loved (every insight having an evil twin is one that I especially love) and I really like how you’ve characterized each of them. Even Karen! Who is the villain but the thing is that I KNOW that girl and she absolutely is going to go on and go crush it somewhere, but she was never meant for Scranton. And that bit with Creed’s talking head, I laughed out loud!

And then I was so glad to see them talking. I love reading different takes on how they discuss everything that was left unsaid when he left and how they both felt after his return. I liked yours a lot! I’ve really been enjoying this story and will be sad to see it go. I’m already looking forward to the next chapter and your next story, though! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, BT. Much appreciated. I'm really glad you're liking Karen's characterization; I wasn't exactly sure where or how draw the line between sympathetic / unsympathetic.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2020 10:02 am Title: Chapter 4

Also, something just occurred to me - was Jim's fish invasion nightmare related to his aquarium-based coping tactics?

Author's Response: Yes! Though only in a kind of random association way - I hallucinated my way through all the big childhood illnesses and, according to my mum, they were always very vaguely related to something I'd just seen or heard. It occurred to me after posting that I hadn't made that very clear, and that people might think Jim's subconscious was being assaulted by hoards of fish-faced Pams... 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 04:02 pm Title: Chapter 5

Big time on the confrontations here. First between Karen and Jim. I find it really interesting that she's not listening to him at first. She just steamrolls on as if nothings amiss. In a way I kinda feel sorry for her. She's got this vision in her head of what is supposed to happen. Part of a successful relationship is adapting to your partner and I don't think she's in a place where she can accept that. She seems to want things her way and if that's not going to happen, she'll hit the road. Her going through Pam's desk provided another insight to her mindset. Her seeing all the things Pam's kept as junk is another thing that's telling about her. She's not sentimental about the little things. Yet another sign she's not right for Jim.

Jim is finally facing up to things. He finally stands up to Karen and lets her know he's not what she wants out of a relationship. He doesn't want her running his life for him. The fact that he also drags himself over to Pam's was lovely as well as brave and somewhat foolhardy. He's still very sick and and all that.

Pam has a right to be angry. Condidering how she left Jim's place I don't blame her for getting upset. Likewise when they finally hash things out it's a hard but needed conversation. Going back a little, despite everything, she kept the teapot gifts, the Olympic medal, and a host of other things. Love that.

Of course the image of them at the end laying in bed is all sorts of sweet. Once they finally openly communicate what else is there to do considering Jim's condition? Great chapter with this one.

Also that little talking head with Creed was a delightful bit of levity in a big chapter. Loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior, as ever. Glad you're still enjoying it, and glad you like the Creed talking head. As I've said below, I was a bit worried it was too ridiculous, so I'm glad people seem to have enjoyed it!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 03:22 pm Title: Chapter 5

Oh Karen... that’s a bold move putting in a job application on behalf of someone else. This all fits very nicely with the Karen we know, and the Karen you’ve developed here.

“It’s like some sort of ancient curse has left a Pam-specific gap in his soul and he’s destined to wait alone and forever because only she can fill it.” This is both haunting and beautiful.

“his life, which was finally looking like it might be headed in the right direction—has turned into a dystopian nightmare” This is a very fitting description for the current turn of events...

“every insight has an evil twin now” Ooh. Yes. That seems fair.

“falling and cracking his skull open on the icy sidewalk would be totally in keeping with tonight’s vibe” Ahh yes, this is so very true.

“With a triangular freckle on the thumb that marks it out as Jim’s.” I love this little detail. And the whole stack of cards.

“telling people she’s been in jail” These little biting, sarcastic moments of humor bring me so much joy. I love the tone. Much like the icy sidewalk mention earlier.

The Creed talking head! Now that’s a fun twist.

Jim and Pam sorting through it all it very fitting. All the half started attempts turning into hurt and miscommunication before they wade through to the truth of it all. I liked that Pam had the boldness to really say what needed to be said.
I’m looking forward to seeing Jim’s fix!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Hopefully the fix and the final chapter measures up; kind of struggling to beat it into shape at the moment. Onwards and upwards...

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 02:39 pm Title: Chapter 5

Oh, Karen. You may have been doomed from the start, and you've been treated pretty badly... but applying for a job on his behalf? Way to force the issue as badly as possible.

You've pulled off a pretty impressive task in this story - you've made a Karen who I don't particularly like, but is a sympathetic figure anyways - and sympathetic in her own right, not just because we're aware of how badly she's getting screwed on paper.

I appreciate the funny note in the midst of an awkward scene of Karen STILL being irritated by the Jim-face - and the references to Pam being a slob, and the sauce packets. There's a lot of good use of canon in this story.

I LOVED the note about Jim constantly feeling like he's cheating - very much in line with my sense of Jim in Season 3. And everything Karen finds in the drawers - the dinosaur card, Pam's sketched attempt at showing him how she really feels - gold.

I appreciate that you let this get a little ugly between them - these two have both hurt each other, and really need to get that out on the table.

Can't wait to see how you wrap this up!

Author's Response:

Yeah - I'm not mad keen on this Karen, and I wasn't wildly enthusiastic about the on-screen version either. I did feel that she'd been wronged, though, and not just by Jim. Having said that, I'm not sure I wanted to see a 3d Karen, and I certainly didn't want to see more of her, so I'm being a bit hypocritical :o)

Glad you're still enjoying it, and thanks! 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 01:43 pm Title: Chapter 5

I loved this chapter!

The Creed talking head? Amazing added touch.

I think them working through their issues toward the end is so realistic. There is so much they haven’t said to each other and feelings that have been pent up, so it makes perfect sense that they’ll have to fix that before it’s all sunshine and rainbows.

“‘A couple of hours might have got you an “I need some time.” If you’d hung about until the Monday, I might have said, “I think I feel the same way you do, but this is scary.” If you’d still been there on Wednesday, I was ready to say, “I don’t want to marry Roy, but I have to figure out how I’m going to do this.”’

I loved the whole conversation that came after this. They suck at talking about their feelings and this was the perfect way to have them do it. :)

Can’t wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, WW, and glad it worked for you. I never feel confident I've got the emotional stuff right. Glad also that you liked the Creed bit! I dithered about whether to leave that in, or whether it was a step too far into ridiculous-ville.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 12:27 pm Title: Chapter 5

I don't even know where to start because this chapter has so, so many incredible moments and lines!
My top-5 (in no particular order) looks that:
1) Sick Jim rushing after Pam — it was so stupid and romantic and so entirely in his character (I take my words about not liking Jim back!);
2) Karen discovering Pam's collection — I feel so much sorry for her, and yet I'm glad she found that stuff;
3) CREED!!!
4) 'If I'd given you like a couple of hours instead?' and the following discussion;
5) The fact that he didn't kiss her! I don't know why, but this is soft and tender and made me feel quite emotional.
Thank you so much for this angsty, sweet, fantastic story, and I anticipate the final chapter beyond measure!

Author's Response: You're very kind, Dernhelm. I'm glad you're still enjoying  the story.

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 10:43 am Title: Chapter 5

"It’s like some sort of ancient curse has left a Pam-specific gap in his soul and he’s destined to wait alone and forever because only she can fill it."- few other lines have captured the JAM seperation and S3 Jim better; just beautiful.

Author's Response: That's very kind - thank you so much!

Reviewer: SES Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 09:16 am Title: Chapter 5

Well it’s about time Jim grew some balls when it came to Karen.
She’s overbearing to say the least.
For her to fill out job applications for Jim and him expecting to automatically say yes is a little unhinged. Part of me is surprised that she gave up so easily when he told her no.
I love that Pam didn’t just give into Jim when he came over to her house.Even though he was still sick she made him work for it.
I think that if she had left for another job without telling him it would have been some nice karma.
I loved how everyone in the office was indifferent about Karen leaving. The unknown connection she had with Creed was a funny and unexpected twist.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I suppose I maybe should have strung out Karen's exit... maybe I was just too eager to get rid? :0)

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 30, 2020 08:47 am Title: Chapter 5

There was a lot of emotions in this one, but I'm glad they've got things mostly sorted out here! I'm even more glad that you've promised us one more chapter of this, I'm really looking forward to it!

Author's Response: Thank you! Chapter is written, but it's a mess which needs sorting. Hopefully up by the middle of the week (if I stop distracting myself by coming up with household tasks that absolutely need to be done NOW...)

Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

Uggghhhh this is so, so good--I love how you make each character just so sympathetic. I mean, take Karen--you hit that fine line between realistically unlikeable and still completely understandable. Also the hallucinations are heart-wrenching and hilarious at the same time. I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Oncelet - I'm really glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for keeping with it!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2020 08:27 pm Title: Chapter 4

Just caught up on these last two chapters! First, this line made me laugh out loud: “When did you turn into the bargain-basement Gordon Gekko?” You have so many fun lines like this that make the story so fun to read!

I’m glad Jim is feeling better and that they’re finally talking! Karen coming in right as they start to turn a corner was evil but I LOVE it. I like how you write her, she can be tricky but I like the mean girl version of Karen we sometimes see and I think you’ve written a very great and believable version of that. I also loved the entire lead up to her entrance, it was all so sweet! Can’t wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Really glad you like it, and glad you're liking Karen. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: SES Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 01:55 pm Title: Chapter 4

Karen is such a bitch!
Pam updated her on Jim’s illness several
times and Karen just blew her off. Also when
Karen got off work she went to her hotel instead of going to help take care her boyfriend.
Then all of a sudden she acts shocked and appalled that Pam is there.
Jim is weak. He and Pam switched places.
Jim is now in her shoes when she was with Roy.
Karen is Jim’s Roy.
I have faith that JAM will be together in the end, but Pam should make him grovel.
Please update soon.

Author's Response:

Thank you! You're right, Jim's weak here... but he does have a virus raging through his body, so I'm going to give him that :0)

It's taken me longer that I hoped to get the update finished, but shouldn't be long. 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 11:21 pm Title: Chapter 4

What a chapter! I like it so much!
Where to start? So many moments that I want to point at and say 'fantastic!': the puzzle analogy then Jim thought about him and Karen, the comparison Pam to Boudica (I love her so much!), Daisy the Panter, and Pam's sketches of her... the whole 'Zombie Jim isn't coming back.'
I love Pam here that she changed so much and yet remained herself. You nailed to show this transformation of her!
I love Karen here that she felt that something off while being obscure to the real reason. The way she discovered about Pam and Jim's connection was heart-aching, and I thought she was on the edge if she seriously considered asking Kelly about things... I want to hate her for popping the 'happy bubbly,' but I can't since she had all rights to do that (and the whole scene was so cool, though it hurt my JAM loving heart).
I want to like Jim as well, but he was so wishy-washy that I... oh well, he's sick and tired, I shouldn't judge him so much.
But the last scene! Fantastic and heartbreaking. It made me think of Casino Night, but this time it was Jim who chose someone over Pam. I feel so much compassion to her here, she suffered enough. All I wish is that she has a tad of happiness in the end.
Thank you so much, and I'm looking forward to the next part of the story!

Author's Response: Thanks again, Dernhelm - much appreciated. And don't be too hard on Jim - like you say, he's sick and tired...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 06:43 pm Title: Chapter 4

A long chapter but well worth the wait. Loved all the scenes of Pam changing during the summer. Standing up for herself, embracing new things she hasn't before. Seemed like it gave her the warm ups to deal with the current situation. That is trying to really mend things with Jim. Loved all that.

Also loved her settling in at Jim's place. Drawing differnt pictures of the panther, making observations of the decor, loved to see her mind work.

Jim feels like he's starting to come back. They're bantering again which is adorable by the way. You wrote all the easy JAM banter really well. Getting closer to the hard discussions though. Still not there, but it feels like there's groundwork laid for it.

And then there's Karen. Feels like she's finally getting a clue and so she's going to try and dig in her heels. Though it feels like being on the verge of despiration. She can feel Jim slipping. Though part of me feels like the more she digs in, the more he'll slip through her fingers.

A little heartbreaking to see Jim just let Pam leave like that. Though if it's to have a hard conversation with Karen before a hard conversation with Pam then that makes sense. Feels like we're on the verge of something big and I can't wait to see what it is.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior. Difficult discussions are on their way...

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 03:53 pm Title: Chapter 4

I cannot stress enough how good this story is!!! You actually make me feel bad for Karen while simultaneously hating her. You had a lot of great metaphors and similes in this chapter too that just gave me a really clear picture of what was going on. And the way Karen snapped at Pam?!?! I’m so excited for the next chapter! The ending was ominous but I feel like there’s a reconciliation on horizon and I cannot wait! :D

Author's Response: I'm really glad you're enjoying it - and glad Karen is working for you. Next chapter should be up in a day or two. Hopefully...

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 03:32 pm Title: Chapter 4

Lot to like about this chapter. I appreciated the interaction with the camera crew and Jim and Pam's perspective on them, how they're impacting their story and their relationship with them. I think the pace is working well - Jim's illness isn't a magic bullet so much as an opportunity for them to rebuild their ties and do the work they need to do.

But honestly, more than anything else, I love them bonding over Daisy the Panther. There's some great Jim and Pam banter in here!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading - and glad you liked Daisy!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 02:04 pm Title: Chapter 1

I’m just going to leave one review instead of bombarding with one on every chapter. But I’m loving this! I especially love your characterization of all of them, especially Karen. I feel like there’s not a lot we know about her and here you’ve created this amazing backstory to explain why she is how she is and I’m here for it. But also, she can go now. Haha

I also love the slow unraveling of Jim and Pam figuring things out again and *trying* to talk about it. Can’t wait to keep reading! Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Really glad you're enjoying it, WW, and that you like the characterizations. I was kind of worried I'd overdone Karen's backstory, so it's good to hear you liked it.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 01:52 pm Title: Chapter 4

I’m so glad to see an update of this!
“low-battery version of Scranton Jim” this is a brilliant description. I can totally see it.

“and not postponing it, like Roy and his family told her to do until she ‘got over herself.’” Ugh. This is a perfect Roy, completely on point with his general terribleness.

Pam’s risk taking is so great. I can see Fancy New Beesly coming to life in all your descriptions of her risks.

‘Pam. You have one job right now. Don’t lose him.’ The layers of meaning. I just —

“He’s like a wrong shaped puzzle-piece she’s trying to squeeze into place, snipping away at the bits that don’t fit.” This is the heart of Karen and Jim. I like that Jim is able to perceive it, and that he feels kind of guilty for encouraging it.

Pam turning the documentary crew away is so, so good.
“sometimes it actually feels like they’re encouraging her?” Can’t blame the crew for shipping JAM like literally everyone else...

“I told him they were going to make firing decisions based on our personal warmth and ability to bond with coworkers” I love this. I love this so much. This is the perfect prank. I could see this happening in canon.

“the first word that entered my head when I saw it was Michael” This is too funny! It’s so true! I can totally picture Michael with decor like this! It’s the ultimate kindly insult to Jim too. How perfect.

Oh. Oh. Oh. That ending. Ouch. Poor Pam.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Hopefully Poor Pam will have reason for optimism soon. Unfortunately, my indecision has been getting in the way of her future happiness... nearly there!

Reviewer: OlliePollie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 19, 2020 05:04 am Title: Chapter 3

I love that we're able to get a glimpse into every character's point of view. I'm also enjoying your characterization of Karen. The way you describe her- "Karen moves like she talks and thinks. Kind of staccato." Such a great description.

I'm excited to see where you're going with this!

Author's Response: Thank you - I'm so glad you're enjoying it!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans