You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2020 10:30 pm Title: Chapter 1

I've never encountered your source material but I'm here for the story. Good setup, nice use of Karen, looking forward to where it goes!

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words! No worries, I will be straying a bit from the source material, but the plot is very similar. You're not missing anything. I love this Karen, ngl. Thanks again!

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2020 11:33 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh, I am SO excited to see where you take this story! The backstory is laid out perfectly and I love her bravery setting forward on this new path. I can’t WAIT to see where Jim falls in this.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I’m so excited to SHOW you where Jim falls into this, it’ll be a new take.

Thanks for your kind words!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2020 03:16 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oooh this is so intriguing! You are right, there is nothing like a good backstory! You wrote the hallmarks of an abusive and controlling relationship so well, especially the part where she hides her passions. That made me so sad for Morgan-turned-Pam. I love that Karen and Dan are her buddies and are helping her out the way that they did. I am so looking forward to her journey to her new life!

Author's Response:

Backstories change EVERYTHING!

Thank you. Supression of your S.O.’s dreams and desires reminds me much of emotional ab*se. Roy does that in the series too, but not to this scale. But ab*se is ab*se.

Of course Karen and Dan help! Karen isn’t *that* heartless lol.

Thank you for your kind words! 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2020 03:03 pm Title: Chapter 1

So I read this the other night before I went to bed. This is great work, as always. I'm always a little wary of the stories with trigger warnings and such, but I'm glad to see there wasn't too much of the gory details here. I really like how strong this Pam is, getting herself out of a situation like that. I cannot wait to see her grow further as the story progresses.

Author's Response:

I understand your warriness when it comes to TW works. I myself can be triggered by some, so I get it. There won’t be too many gory details, I promise (I can’t handle that either)

Pam is SO strong. Smart too.

Thank you for your kind words! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2020 12:11 pm Title: Chapter 1

Really liked how you filled out the rest of the chapter from the teaser you gave us in chat. I love how brave Pam's being here. It's really tough to break away from everything she's going through. The fact that she is speaks to some steel in her spine. I'm unfamiliar with either the book or movie this is based on which means it's not spoiled for me. So I can look forward to where this goes. Can't want to see an update. Great start.

P.S. Any guy that acts like how this Roy acts deserves repeated kicks in the groin, just sayin'.

Author's Response:

Agreed! No sympathy for people who act like Roy in this word!

Thank you! It IS tough to break from the cycle of ab*se, but we'll learn a bit more in the next few chapters more of her strength.

The book and movie are both good, but no worries of not knowing it. It'll be a new story to you then!

Thank you for your kind words! 

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2020 10:05 am Title: Chapter 1

Uh, though I'm doggedly checking for Lego House updates, I am TOTALLY willing to wait if you keep updating this one..

You have a gift, pal.

Author's Response:

Well thank you so much! I totally WILL be updating this one, along with Lego House at some point. Their date chapter is....about halfway done?

But thank you for your kind words! This will probably be my favorite piece I'll ever write 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2020 01:14 am Title: Chapter 1

Such a great start! I've never read or watched 'Safe Haven,' so I know nothing about plot twists, but I'm very curious to find out.
And I like this Karen very much. I hope she and Pam will keep in touch...

Author's Response:

Thank you! It's a very good book and movie (although I prefer the book more), but I won't spoil it for you!

This is the Karen we deserved: one that won't break Pam down, but lift her up. I sure hope they keep in touch as well!

Thanks for your kind words! 

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2020 10:11 pm Title: Chapter 1

Why do I love the idea of personifying a name & pushing it over the edge of a cliff so much?! I don’t know, but I do!

Dents in the wall strategically hidden by art is just too real. This is exactly what a life with domestic violence is like. Too real.

“Doesn't look like someone who would let life lead her instead of leading her own life.” Yes. Go Pam.

I love this Karen so much. This is the best version of who she could be...

I’ve never read Safe Haven, I have seen the movie, but not for a while. I’m really curious to see where you take this!

Author's Response:

The personifying a name line is probably my favorite line I have ever written (and I wrote it at work, while my students slept, hangry).

DV comes in many shapes and forms, and you're right. The hiding of the dents is a common theme in an physical DV stories you hear. I took a class in college all about Dating & DV and it's going to help so much with this WIP.

This Karen is the Karen we always WANTED. The friend who wasn't jealous, one who is just supportive. She had to have been written eventually.

Safe Haven, the book, is FAR better than the movie in regards to how manipulative, controlling, ab*sive Kevin is. It's definitely worth a read, but the movie is great too.

Thank you for your kind words! I'm excited to take this off on its journey! 

Reviewer: alyply Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2020 08:10 pm Title: Chapter 1

ooooh I am so, so, so excited for this!! I already know it's going to be amazing! I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Yaaaaaas thank you! I'm excited to WRITE it, honestly!

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2020 07:49 pm Title: Chapter 1

Love this! This has the makings to be an awesome story! Also looking forward to Lego house as you know, but love this just as much!:)

Author's Response: Well thank you! Lego House will be worked on when I can lol...when you now have between 3-4 WIPs, it's hard to balance. But it'll be worked on!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans