Reviews For Diversity Jim
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:26 pm Title: Chapter 17: In Which Pam Actually Meets Steve (Fin)

Finding that you've written another masterpiece of a story is always such a treat--and this one is no exception. I just am in love with the premise and how you made everything flow so naturally. Thank you for the story--such a wonderful binge-read.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2020 02:35 am Title: Chapter 17: In Which Pam Actually Meets Steve (Fin)

This is a wonderful repurposing of it’s a date. I love the moment of clarification & Pam’s face dropping only to fix it so very quickly - thank goodness!

The imagery of Jim six inches off the ground is so very lovely. It made me smile.

“And here I thought I was being incredibly obvious about my crush on my hot new coworker.” Oh, this exchange is just delightful.

Pam continuing the bit with Steve is just perfect.
Nice way to tie it all together at the end too!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 11:57 pm Title: Chapter 17: In Which Pam Actually Meets Steve (Fin)

The bit with them being able to order for each other at Cugino's is wonderful. This was another great one from you!

Reviewer: steve_the_actor_friend Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 07:46 pm Title: Prologue 1: In Which Key Characters Meet

I’m Steve, and I approve this story.

Seriously, well done. Loved reading this!

Author's Response: Well, what greater endorsement could I ask for? :-D Thanks!

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 09, 2020 10:12 am Title: Chapter 17: In Which Pam Actually Meets Steve (Fin)

I love that you've set up Jim doing all these small, chivalrous acts for Pam and she beats him to the punch by ordering for him at Cuginos.
I also enjoyed the glimpse into Pam hanging out with Jim's friends. She fits in with them so seamlessly and Jim's excitement is very cute.
An amazing finish to a wonderfully written story :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I feel like a good relationship should have those elements of friendship and ease, you know? And so I give it to them.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 11:45 pm Title: Chapter 17: In Which Pam Actually Meets Steve (Fin)

God, this is amazing! I was sad to see that your story is marked as completed, but it couldn't have a better ending!
My favorite part is probably, dinner in Cugino's with Jim admitting his feeling and Pam checking her memories. I'm a sucker for sweetness with a tiny hint of bitterness. And this episode was the one I didn't know I needed. So thank you!
Oh, I love how quickly they signed their papers (poor, poor Toby!). I have no worries that there will be hitches and troubles. They have 'happily ever after' ahead, and that's awesome!
Thank you so much for this journey, I enjoyed it so much! And I selfishly hope that you already have another great idea in mind to turn it into another fantastic story ;)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm delighted you enjoyed it, and yeah, there's always a bittersweetness to finishing a story. Don't know when I'll have the next inspiration, but thanks for the encouragement :)

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 07:00 pm Title: Chapter 17: In Which Pam Actually Meets Steve (Fin)

Awww! Loved the ending! I lkked how they just slip into a relationship in which they already were without really noticing. Nice chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I think that if they didn't have the CN/Merger trauma they'd just slip into it a bit easier...

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 06:55 pm Title: Chapter 16: In Which Pam Forwards a Call

Such a lovely chapter! I really liked the pace of this one.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 05:52 pm Title: Chapter 17: In Which Pam Actually Meets Steve (Fin)

Well done as ever. I wish I hadn't run out of jellybeans earlier since this clearly deserves a good jellybean-ing. The first (of many) fun moment was the suave do you want to go out to a dinner moment only to be revealed as a psuedo German compound word of adorablness. Lovely image there.

Then of course there's the fun moments of getting dinner and Pam finding the easter eggs in her mental memory.

Pam greeting "Jim" again was a ton of fun as well. Without all the hang-ups she just fits really easily into Jim's group. Probably in a new and exciting way she hasn't felt in years.

Loved the subtle line there about the end of the night and after night activities.

All in all yet another great trip down AU from you. Just great fun all around.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response: Thanks, friend! I'm really glad you've been along for this ride, and I'm glad you enjoyed the little tidbits in this particular chapter :-D

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 11:14 am Title: Chapter 16: In Which Pam Forwards a Call

ARGHHHHHH this is adorbale- I can totally picture this entire scene and the conversation play out.

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't think there's a higher compliment than that you can actually visualize this happening.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 06:30 pm Title: Chapter 16: In Which Pam Forwards a Call

Ahhhhh, there we go. That feels better. Though the lead up to the moment was rough at times, it's always fun to get here. Pam was kind of adorable in her beating around the bush about Katy. Seriously, Pam just ask the guy the direct question. You'll avoid a lot of heartache. Jim being confused to everything untill he spells it out that Katy is with Steve.

Though I am of course getting ahead of myself a bit. Kinda skipped over the first part of this delightful chapter. Jim carpooling with Pam everywhere, just kind of causually sliding right into her life like that, well done Jim. Not pushy or overly aggresive. Just being a good friend and (once a certian misinterpritation is cleared up) leading right into something more than that.

Lots of great visuals with everything here. Loved it.

Author's Response: So glad you liked both halves! I've really enjoyed writing this, so it's delightful to know it's fun for you too. Thanks!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 02:40 pm Title: Chapter 16: In Which Pam Forwards a Call

Yay! I’m a huge fan of quotes from the show being used in slightly different ways and scenarios. I also love seeing their love story unfold slowly, without either of them having to go through a big painful Stamford situation, you know? It’s good for my heart. Haha well done!

Author's Response: Thank you! Doing that repurposing is one of my favorite parts of fanfic, so I'm so glad it worked for you!

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 02:40 pm Title: Chapter 16: In Which Pam Forwards a Call

I love the details you've weaved into this chapter from other episodes. Pam teaching Jim stick shift, Pam's jealousy of Katy/ her remark about giving Katy his direct number, plus the the infamous "it's a date" line.

My favorite part of this chapter is the beautiful sentence- "The kind of wishes that ask you to take a strong step off a steep cliff and trust that your wings have fledged enough to fly." You have such a poetic way with words. What a knockout chapter!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! That's extremely nice to hear, on so many levels.

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 02:23 pm Title: Chapter 13: In Which Jim Shops

I sat down to read just one chapter, and here I am at chapter thirteen. I love your writing style. This line in particular was one of my favorites from the chapter- "Jim is probably going to need dental work from all the jellybeans he’s eating for no real purpose other than to get his heart broken."

I've thoroughly enjoyed your characterization of Jim. His dynamic with Steve is great and I love that you're weaving a different story with plot threads from season 1. I've not read another story quite like this and I'm excited to see what you have in store.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 01:41 pm Title: Chapter 16: In Which Pam Forwards a Call

Yay!
I really, truly, want to point at every little detail I enjoy here (like Pam's thought about driving stick or that Jim was her big bald wish), but all I can do right now are grinning and exclaiming 'yay' with different voice modulations.
"Then it's a date."
Yay once more!
And thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you! I couldn't ask for a better reaction!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 04:35 am Title: Chapter 15: In Which Jellybeans Are Consumed

Oh you’re setting up for such a lovely payoff when this little Katy misunderstanding is all cleared up! Jim is at his supportive friend best here. It’s always incredibly gratifying to see Pam call things off with Roy and this is no exception.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you enjoy the next chapter, and agree that the payoff is worth it!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 12:56 am Title: Chapter 15: In Which Jellybeans Are Consumed

First of all, awwww! Usually, I read your updates in the morning, but this time I read it before going to bed, and I fell asleep with a big smile on my face. I still read it one more time in the morning, with the same result :)
I can't describe how much I love this pure happiness of the state 'she's single and so am I' and anticipation of something more. Among all the angst I usually read (and write), I meet this rarely, and that makes these feelings so precious.
I love Jim's interactions with Pam so much. Jellybean questions? Awesome! Love that they can communicate that easy (even though Pam still thought that Jim's with Katy now). And Jim's thoughts made me giggle.
Also, (and I can't believe that I write this) but I like Roy here. No sad puppy eyes, no anger and accusations (he saw Jim near Pam's desk after all) — just calmness and quite mature behavior. He and Pam held each other back for sure, and apart they'll be much happier than together.
'Sometimes you just need a new perspective on things,' — so, so true!
Thank you for all these emotions, and I can't wait to see that happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you! Time zones...so crazy. I'm really glad you're enjoying their communication, but I'm even gladder that this Roy worked for you. I think Roy is not actually a bad person, but one who is totally unsuited to the situation with Pam. So hopefully he'll be happy (we will not be following up on this). 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 08:24 pm Title: Chapter 15: In Which Jellybeans Are Consumed

I'm glad to see that even with the specter of Katy hanging over Jim's should Pam still confides in him and takes what she can get. The delightful surprise that they are both single will surely make her day at some point, and I look forward to that. Jim being oblivious to the whole facade that he put up is just icing on the cake, hopefully his isn't offput by Pam's distance.

Well done as per usual!

Author's Response: I think this is the situation we'd have if there hadn't been the whole tragic-backstory-Casino-Night thing between them. Because she can trust in him because she hasn't hurt him. I hope you enjoy the next chapter of Pam POV!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 04:28 pm Title: Chapter 15: In Which Jellybeans Are Consumed

I just really love me some Season 2-esque Jim and Pam, where there is banter and innocent cuteness before any confession of feelings and risking of the friendship has gotten in the way. Of course I love post-confession JAM, but’s it’s always lovely to remember the friendship at the base of it all, and you did a great job with their banter and playfulness here.

I also really love Pam telling Jim about Roy instead of brushing it off and not wanting to tell him, and she can do that in part because she thinks he’s with Katy.

The jelly bean “plan” was also adorable. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Since we're post Hot Girl now, I guess this IS S2 JAM. I am so glad you're enjoying it!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 04:00 pm Title: Chapter 15: In Which Jellybeans Are Consumed

So a little bit of the web unraveling there. I find it really fun that Jim's brain slams to a halt when he realizes that Roy and Pam are no longer a thing and at the same time goes into overdrive realizing she's single, living in a hotel, and maybe she can live by him.

The banter was lovely too. Very cute and in character for them. I know I'm always saying this, but I'm really looking forward to seeing Pam's POV on all of this. Especially since the Katy issue isn't resolved yet either.

Author's Response: Thank you! I always worry about recreating banter, so I'm very glad that was on point for them.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 01:24 am Title: Chapter 14: In Which Pam Eats Most of a Waffle

Oh, I'm so glad that this page of Pam's life is finally turned, and she can have a fresh start. Though, of course, it wasn't that simple, and she'll feel the aftermath for quite a time (I guess so, at least).
And it's both lovely and sad that Jim again appeared in her thoughts. This misinterpretation might have unpleasant consequences (though I hope not! ).
"She's more afraid of losing her friend Jim than she ever was of losing her fiancé Roy." — this line is perfection! For me, the most important part of JAM is friendship, and I love stories with this slow-burn dynamic.
Thank you so much, and I'm full of anticipation about that Monday brings to them :)

Author's Response: This is a fluff story in its heart, even if it is going through angst first, so worry not about unpleasant consequences! Thanks for the review, and I'm so glad you're here for their friendship!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2020 08:27 pm Title: Chapter 14: In Which Pam Eats Most of a Waffle

Ok, sorry but I can't keep up with the review bombing! Has it really been a week since I last reviewed? I think chapter 9 was where I left off. Anyway, on with actually reviewing.

The arc that you're taking Pam through while Jim is totally unawares is wonderful and you write her emerging emotions wonderfully. Having Pam in her eyes making a jump with no one to catch her makes her very brave in this story, and I really appreciate that it's not about her and Jim, but yet it sort of is... Well done!

Looking forward to their shared realisations!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying her emotional changes, because they're the key to this story, I think. I'm glad to know they seem to be working for you!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2020 05:25 pm Title: Chapter 14: In Which Pam Eats Most of a Waffle

And goodbye Roy. Always a nice moment when that moment comes. Though a bit of a twist here. Pam is also taking ownership of her part in the failing of the relationship. At least to herself. I do kinda like that. The demise of Roy and Pam, while is probably mostly on Roy, Pam had her part to play too. As you put, she let Roy coast and was leaning on Jim. She was putting in effort true, but not enough to really make the relationship work.

So now that Pam's free of the Roy relationship we're getting set up to see how her relationship with Jim evolves. She's thinking he's the one off the market now. Will there be more misinterpretation? Will there be relief when he tells her he was setting Steve up with Katy? I don't know, but knowing your skill as a writer, I'm sure it'll be good.

Author's Response: We shall find out how that conversation goes in our next Pam POV! Thank you for the review!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2020 10:38 am Title: Chapter 13: In Which Jim Shops

There's something in this lovelorn Jim that I find endlessly endearing. 'A Funko Pop of Batman? Reminds him of Dwight, which reminds him of Pam, wham bam thank you ma'am for the heartbreak,' — this part is incredibly bittersweet.
But, I like that even in his 'pining mod' he could enjoy the life, that he wasn't engulfed with his pain completely. And I appreciate his kindness: 'even then he'd prefer Pam and Roy to break up in a way that doesn't make Roy unhappy, just single,' — I'm not sure if I've ever read something similar to this part. So great.
I'm worried a little that Pam might have seen him with Katy — for sure, that would make her sad... but it would add more twists into the plot. So I'll just sit down and will wait patiently for the continuation.
Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you! I have fun with early heartsick Jim. But I do want him to be a good guy (at least before he's really had his heart totally torn out) so I think the attitude I suggested towards Roy is a good one for him. Hope you like the next chapter!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2020 09:14 am Title: Chapter 13: In Which Jim Shops

Nice chapter here. Jim wandering around figuring things out seems kind of in keeping. Also seems like a bit of the calm before the storm. Last we saw Jim he was telling Pam he was going to see Katy. Now it looks like Pam has seen him with Katy and Jim and Katy are having a good time together.

I do find it really interesting as well that Jim is already thinking of Australia. Granted he also hasn't had the "never, never, give up," moment with Michael, so there's that again.

As always looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm always glad you notice these little things I toss in. It's such a relief to know someone is paying attention. I think Jim might well be thinking of Australia here--there has to be something that leads him to actually buy a ticket, not just think about it (assuming he doesn't lie about that) and I think a lingering idea is more likely to lead there than a pure impulse.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans