Reviews For 21 Steps
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2020 01:58 pm Title: Chapter 6: Playing Catch-up

This is a very solid ending, and winningly fluffy.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2020 01:44 pm Title: Chapter 2: Sisters Know Best

Ah, I love a good busybody Larissa, and also Pam and Jim actually trying to be friends in Season 3.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2020 12:00 am Title: Chapter 6: Playing Catch-up

Awww, such a cute and fluffy ending! I love to see them that happy and careless.
Thank you very much for the amazing story!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 09:09 pm Title: Chapter 6: Playing Catch-up

Again, that's an excellent last line. I was kind of hoping Margaret was like "actually, I know who you are" but I do think your version is better. Thanks for sharing, this is a really fun story!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 09:07 pm Title: Chapter 5: The Floodgates

That last line is killer. I mean, it's a cute update and I liked it, but it's not THAT unexpected (not that it should be), but I did not expect the last line so it really made me laugh.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2020 09:05 pm Title: Chapter 4: The Dirty Truth About Coming Clean

It's impressive that you've managed to get two cliffhangers out of one revelation to one person. Nice work!

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 09, 2020 10:24 am Title: Chapter 6: Playing Catch-up

Nice end to this story! I like that we flash forward a month and Jim's already taking her to meet his family.

I'd forgotten about Margaret, so I'm really glad you circled back to that with the line at the end.

Great work with this story:)

Author's Response: Thank you!! I felt like by the time they actually got together, things would just take off and theyíd meet families quickly and everything. They were already best friends, so they get to skip a lot of the ďbeginningĒ parts of a relationship. :) Thank you for reading and reviewing! It was fun to write.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 08:47 pm Title: Chapter 6: Playing Catch-up

Always lovely to get a scene like this. Hints of steam, good times with the family, and a nice tie in joke with the fire alarms to bring it full circle.

Great job with this story. It's been a lot of fun to read and explore.

Fortes Fortuan Adiuvat

Author's Response: As always, thank you for your reviews!! I like writing chapters like this after a few emotional angsty chapters. :) Iím glad you enjoyed reading the story!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 01:44 pm Title: Chapter 5: The Floodgates

At first this felt a little like Pam was backsliding. She's had all this courage to try and forge ahead with a friendship with Jim, she calls him out on his not talking to Karen, then she's the one to run away.

However I get it. Change takes time and there will often be a few steps backwards. However her being away did give Jim time to figure things out for himself as well.

Love that he shows up with the soup she likes. A very honest and heart-to-heart conversation. I really liked it. Took a little time, but when they're honest with each other the rewards are often so very worth it. The same was true here. Excellent job with getting all that out.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 11:10 am Title: Chapter 4: The Dirty Truth About Coming Clean

Ooh, lots of heavy emotions with this one. You really captured Pam's nervousness well at the start of the day. Which led easily to annoyance and anger as she realized Jim had wimped out again. Like others have said, I like that she gets upset at Jim. It feels kinda odd to say that, but it's true. She's fighting for herself and inso doing fighting for them. Not letting Jim off the hook, standing by her feelings. Great to see.

This is just all sorts of Wishy-Washy Jim. Saying he wants to tell Karen but "I don't know how." Yeah that's a cop out. He knows it, Pam knows it and she rightfully calls him out on it. Yeah maybe hitting below the belt a little, but often times the truth hurts.

Then because they're not guarding their thoughts more of the truth starts to come out and then BAM in a trope worthy of any sitcom, just as it looks like they're about to kiss, Karen walks in. Nicely done for keeping with the sitcom trope feel with that.

Looking forward to seeing where this goes from here.

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 07:15 am Title: Chapter 4: The Dirty Truth About Coming Clean

Ooof, that line that Pam throws at Jim- "Maybe you should tell her in a parking lot after a work party and then flee the state." It makes sense something like that would be blurted out in a heated moment.
I hope these crazy kids finally start talking to each other!

Author's Response: As much as I love writing fluffy JAM, thereís something cathartic about writing scenes like this where they get to air all their issues. Haha as long as they figure it out in the end. ;) Thank you for your review!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2020 02:47 am Title: Chapter 4: The Dirty Truth About Coming Clean

Oh, I like this Pam, and I'm happy to see her so strong and not miserable! I like Jim here a little less than usual, though I can totally see why he kept silent about things... maybe, Pam could lend him some of her strength, couldn't she?
And, the thing I like the most is Pam's attitude towards Karen. Not a rival, but a 'lucky girl' who deserved to know the truth. I cross my finger and hope that Karen won't be hurt... or, at least, won't be hurt very much.
Thank you!

Author's Response: Iíve always wished we got to explore Pam and Karen more in the series, so I tried to write a little of it here. I never hated Karen, just wanted her gone. Haha thank you!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 06:05 pm Title: Chapter 3: The Elephant in the Apartment Complex

That's an interesting way to take this and I like it. Jim and Pam being a lot more friendly post-Merger than what is normally seen. Granted living right down the hall and Pam not really wanting to give up on him probably has a lot to do with that.

There's Jim (and Pam's) old nemisis non-communication coming up again. This time though it seems Jim is the one not telling Karen. Though that's also somewhat in keeping with canon. Pam pushing Jim to reveal everything to Jim is new though. Really interested to seeing how that turns out.

Nice job with this one.

Author's Response: Thank you! Jim not telling Karen right away is definitely inspired by canon but it all gets more complicated since here he lives down the hall from Pam and canít help but get sucked into their friendship again. And I was always intrigued by the Pam/Karen friendship so I wanted to pull on that a little more here.

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 04:00 pm Title: Chapter 3: The Elephant in the Apartment Complex

Your version of Pam is lovely. She feels slightly protective of Karen and actively pushes Jim to be completely honest about their history. Women looking out for women- amazing! Their small scene together was great. I wish more fics explored the Karen/Pam friendship in this way.

Author's Response: Thatís exactly what I was going for with Pam/Karen, so Iím glad it came through! Thank you! :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2020 01:18 pm Title: Chapter 3: The Elephant in the Apartment Complex

What do I think? I think Jim is being more of a jerk than usual if he's still dating Karen and being besties with Pam without telling Karen. Like, I guess, more of a jerk to Karen and less to Pam than usual? Also I respect the heck out of this version of Pam. Nice work, and yes I am very eager to see your cliffhanger resolve.

Author's Response: I did make him kind of a jerk, huh? It was just hard to imagine that he wouldnít get sucked right back into his friendship with Pam if she was only down the hall all the time. And I added a little ďgirl power PamĒ because Iíve kind always felt bad for both Pam AND Karen in season 3.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 01:53 pm Title: Chapter 2: Sisters Know Best

Oh, a Larissa appearance? Awesome. One of my favorite characters to play with. Really liked your take on her. And now the Karen card is out in the open ... Enjoying this a lot, keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you! Iíve never written her into a story and it was really fun to explore her instant friendship with Pam as well as her relationship with Jim. I really want her to make another cameo somewhere in the story. ;)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 09:26 am Title: Chapter 2: Sisters Know Best

I liked this update a lot. I love that Pam is doing her best to overcome the distance between her and Jim. And using cookies too. After all the saying, "the way to a man's heart is through is stomach," is a thing for for a reason.

Lovely to have a Larissa sighting. Makes it a lot easier to help Pam's courage, especially there when Larissa tells Pam to not give up. Loved that.

Also really liked that Jim and Pam had a little moment there at the door. It felt very sweet. Interesting reaction when Karen calls. Jim seems apologetic to Pam and almost dismissive to Karen. Listing to the pull on those heartstrings Jim. And there Pam goes at the end. A nice subtle reminder to Jim that she's still there. Loved it.

Reviewer: PoliteZombie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 09:12 am Title: Chapter 2: Sisters Know Best

I am loving your take on this challenge.

Larissa is such a great addition to the plot. This line made me smile- "She’s already seen you half-naked, so the least you can do is buy her dinner." I love her fast friendship with Pam and that moment of encouragement in the parking lot was lovely.

The tension you built up near the end- so good! My heart sunk when Karen called and interrupted.

I'm excited to see where take this story.

Author's Response: Thank you! Iím hoping to have Larissa make another appearance somewhere in the story. She was fun to write. :)

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2020 08:58 am Title: Chapter 2: Sisters Know Best

I for one will not object to more chapters! The Pam and Larissa interactions were great, and I really liked how Larissa coerced an putting for them, as well as her parting words of encouragement. Great job there.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2020 11:00 pm Title: Chapter 1: Smoke Before Flames

“Her shoulders ached from carrying the weight of the day on them” This is The Merger all over. Lovely description.
I really like this challenge - I look forward to seeing what you do with it. This is a really nice start!

Author's Response: Thank you!! :) Hopefully you enjoy whatís to come!

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2020 08:22 pm Title: Chapter 1: Smoke Before Flames

I love the premise of the apartment challenge, and I can't wait to see where you go with it. Pam's knowledge of her neighbors and her sharing some of it with Jim regardless of the cool persona he's giving her were quite endearing.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2020 05:13 pm Title: Chapter 1: Smoke Before Flames

I like the set up. You captured Pam's feelings of disappointment in Merger Day really well. Nice scene setting with the old apartment, fire alarms, and upstairs neighbor. This seems like it could get really interesting.

Author's Response: Thank you! I lived in a building in college that was prone to fire alarms, so thatís what inspired that plot. Haha

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2020 03:44 pm Title: Chapter 1: Smoke Before Flames

Oh, I love this prompt (not that I've ever written for it myself) so I'm so glad you took it up! I'm excited to see where you go with it!

Author's Response: Thank you! Hopefully I donít let you down! ;)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans