Reviews For The Other Pam
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: oncelet Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 09:20 pm Title: Chapter 42

This is such a beautiful, compelling story--I absolutely loved every bit of it. Thank you so much for writing it and bringing it to MTT!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2020 04:00 pm Title: Chapter 42

Okay, now that this one is all up and posted here on MTT, I'm going to do a kind of quick wrap up with it all.

Throughout everything this has been a hugely powerful story. The very real feelings of loathing for this Roy, the pride in Pam as she finally gets away from that, the admiration for Jim in standing by her side and everything in between.

Really glad the judge didn't buy any of Roy's BS there in the courtroom. Especially there at the end as the sentance was handed down and Roy starts screaming again. Roy showed his true colors there and it showed.

Moving onto other things, the kiss in the art gallery was all sorts of lovely, but then it comes kind of crashing down due to the remergence of Casino Night lines.

However I did apprciate that Pam showed back up to explain a few things. Sad she still left, but it's also understandable. She needs some time away to process things. That was a lot of trauma she was dealing with so getting some distance makes sense.

Glad there's a sequel already in the works because this ending just begs for a resolution. Great writing with everything here.

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 05:18 pm Title: Chapter 42

This is one of the best written stories I've ever read. Beautifully done.

Author's Response: Well, thank you very much. x

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 05:11 pm Title: Chapter 42

So when I read this on FFN I was genuinely gutted by the idea of it ending there. SO happy you elected to give this journey another volume.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 05:09 pm Title: Chapter 41

Fill my heart up and then break it right away, why don't you?

(Also, I thought this was a strong choice with Jim pushing back at her a little about dropping the charges - he's addressing this more effectively than her parents did and in a way that addresses the broader question of what it means that she wants to do this, as opposed to whether or not it's a good idea.)

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 05:05 pm Title: Chapter 40

Ugh. I'm glad this chapter ended well, but I *really* wanted the judge or counsel to just flat out trash Roy.

Author's Response: Oh... now that is something I definitely should have added. I might even sneak in a new paragraph adding the judge's thoughts. Thank you for mentioning that - definitely had I thought of it I would have done it. !!!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 04:18 pm Title: Chapter 39

This chapter does a good job with the psychological impact that abuse has had on Pam, and also by illustrating how fundamentally *embarrassing* this whole process is, especially for someone as shy as her in the first plae.

I again appreciate that you managed to sneak in some very canon-sounding Office lightness in the midst of this with the Michael-Toby bickering.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:58 pm Title: Chapter 36

Again, very in-character with Michael here, and some very sweet Jim-Pam moments.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:55 pm Title: Chapter 35

It amazes me that you managed to find room for a genuinely funny moment of Kevin wondering if Pam had sex with Bill Clinton in the middle of this really disturbing chapter. Kudos.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:52 pm Title: Chapter 34

One thing I'm curious about is the flow of information in the office - it seems like people really don't find out Roy's been fired because Pam has a restraining order on him until he actually shows up and attacks Jim. Did you have a reason in mind how that keeps from getting out to people like Darryl?

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:47 pm Title: Chapter 33

The scene of the police accidentally arresting Jim is one of the more frightening in this entire story.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:23 pm Title: Chapter 31

I was really struck on first read by how comforted Pam is by sleeping in Jim's bed, which is both sweet and on point as well as being a solid nod to canon and Pam being so comfortable in Jim's space in Email Surveillance. I'm struck by it again now.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:20 pm Title: Chapter 30

Ugh, come on, William. You were doing so well right up until the end there.

It is nice to see that however susceptible Helene is to Roy's lies she is still firmly in Pam's corner.

The Jim-Pam banter about the mess is spot on.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:16 pm Title: Chapter 29

Again, just varsity-level emotional manipulation from Roy.

I like the chance for Pam to let her inner monologue out that Rosie provides, and the Jim-Pam scene here is notably touching.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 03:14 pm Title: Chapter 28

I thought Michael actually came off very Michael-like in this chapter. This also seems very much like Dwight - he obviously wants to be there for Pam and just doesn't really have the slightest clue how to do it. Angela and Kevin are dead on.

I'm less sure about Phyllis, just because at this point in Office canon she seems like enough of a JAM shipper that she might find this all romantic rather than unethical, but she's also pretty hard on Pam a lot of the time, and her voice sounds right.

Reviewer: Punkybear Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 01:42 pm Title: Chapter 1

This story is so great. I finished chapter 35 and almost hate to read it now that it says finished. I dont want to be done with it. You did a great job with characterization. :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 11:30 am Title: Chapter 33

Super annoying but realistic about the situation with the cops there. I've talked to women who were in similiar situations and they often felt like the police and courts not only couldn't but wouldn't do anything to help them. It left them feeling even more helpless. So I'm glad here that Pam is able to convince the cops that Jim is not Roy and get that settled.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 11:27 am Title: Chapter 32

Lots of guilt feeling with William there. I'd probably feel the same if I were in his shoes.

Roy remains the absolute worst.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2020 11:25 am Title: Chapter 31

Oh Micheal. Why do you have to be so Micheal from time to time. I really like that her parents showed up. To make it clear they're on her side and in her corner. Really glad she is started to get more people supporting her.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2020 10:39 am Title: Chapter 30

Good for Pam here to tell the truth to her parents. It's a big relief that they switch sides to support her. William wanting to protect his daughter rings really true. Nice chapter here.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2020 10:31 am Title: Chapter 29

I like Rosie. She's doing a great job of pulling things out of Pam in a way that feels designed to heal, cope, and progress. That can be challenging.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2020 10:28 am Title: Chapter 28

I think you got Micheal pretty good here. The whole trying to be funny, but it comes out wrong aspect of him seems on point.

Really don't like Angela or Phyillis here. Angela of course since she's just adding salt to Pam's wounds with her holier-than-thou judgemental hypocisy. Same for Phyillis but to a lesser extent. Now of course they don't know the whole story, but it's still mean of them to assume they do and attack like that.

Jim continues to be wonderful.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 10:51 pm Title: Chapter 24

Again, the emotional manipulation Roy performs with Pam's friends and family is just absolutely brutal to read. Poor girl. I'm glad she has someone in her corner.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 10:43 pm Title: Chapter 19

The sections of this with Pam's mom before she accepts that Roy is abusing her are really just so difficult to read.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2020 10:33 pm Title: Chapter 11

Very much appreciate you having Jim make the choice to work to prepare himself to be as much of a resource to Pam as he can here, as opposed to letting him just stumble onto the right answers.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans