You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 10:54 pm Title: Chapter 20

A *very* interesting choice here. I'm wondering if this is an exploration of Pam's still fragile mental state or just a very effective gaslighting job by Kenny, and I'm looking forward to finding out.

In other news, having Jim stay with her like this feels like a step forward. And having Pam get to be the strong one for HIM feels like a HUGE bit of growth for her. Terrible for Jim, but maybe what she needs to understand they're in this together.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 05:58 pm Title: Chapter 20

That was an interesting chapter to be sure. Sadly I've known cops like that. To long on the job that they've become jaded and are only still on the beat because they're waiting for retirement. Makes sense that Jim and Pam would have a bit of a tiff. She's still going through a lot and at zero-dark thirty it's hard for anyone to be at their best. Still it's nice that they can make up and enjoy each other's presence in bed.

The morning now brings a new set of challenges. As if there's not enough going on, now we have Halpert family drauma. Though I think it's telling that Pam is right there to be with Jim. She's not letting him walk a hard road alone, just like he didn't let her walk a hard road alone. Love that. Looking forward to more as always.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2021 09:37 pm Title: Chapter 19

Poor Pam. It totally makes sense that this would be a setback from all her progress, she's being dragged right back into that place and feeling like there's no way to control Roy, hearing his voice in her head all over again. But still, hard to read.

Not making a request or anything, but I would love to see both Roy and Kenny get their full-on comeuppance in this story. The level of impunity Kenny in particular is experiencing right now is infuriating (and infuriatingly realistic). I love that Jim knows just the right buttons to push to help her keep in control at this moment, though.

Too bad they didn't get to enjoy Jim's prank more, that sounded like a clever one.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2021 03:52 pm Title: Chapter 19

I'm right there with Jim. Ready for all this to be done. Seems like a bit of a backslide for Pam here. Just when it feels like she's gotten some strength in her it comes down again. I get why. I am hoping she finds that strength again. Finds a fire in her to burn Roy to the ground for what he did to her. Though Dwight's comment there seems interesting. The when the hunter becomes the hunted is when the hunter knows fear. Could serve to foreshadow something? I really hope so at least. Really looking forward to where we go from here.

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2021 03:27 pm Title: Chapter 19

Your writing is just so powerful. I'm still reading. Take as much or as little to tell the story. Cliffhangers are not necessarily a bad thing.

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2021 02:00 pm Title: Chapter 19

Wow, crazy chapter. Lot happened. We are really getting into the good stuff. But I do have a question. I’m a little confused on why Mrs.Beesly has to testify. Why doesn’t she have a choice?

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2021 01:54 pm Title: Chapter 19

Don’t think anyone has started to stop reading! We are all loving it!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2021 09:24 am Title: Chapter 18

Slowly but steadily, Pam is still making progress – she’s clearly TRYING to work through the scars Roy left and be the kind of partner she wants to be. It’s tough to read how it’s all tied up with the damage she’s trying to repair, though, the way she doesn’t quite feel she *deserves* what Jim is giving her and feels the need to make up for it. You’ve written it as intertwined and complex, which makes it feel real.

This dinner scene was cute, but I’m glad they touched on the incident with Karen. That feels like it demanded a certain amount of follow-up between the two of them, just to acknowledge that it happened.

You made some interesting choices in the sex scene. I think I like it. Like there’s obviously not much question in our minds that Jim is going to respect her and provide the comfort and security she needs, but especially after the mess on their trip it does feel like Pam needs to see that for herself, and what she’s doing here makes emotional sense.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2021 04:51 pm Title: Chapter 18

Loved their fancy dinner together. Especially with the Fancy New Beesly nickname coming it. Their banter over dinner about everything was a fun way to get some of those issues out and to reaffirm their bond together. I really liked it.

Also loving how Pam is getting more and more bold. She's taking more steps with Jim. He's great that he still lets her take the lead and only goes with what she's comfortable with. When she says stop, he stops. That she falls even more in love with him when he does that no questions asked and just pulls her into his arms is so wonderful. Beautiful job with this one.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 30, 2020 04:11 pm Title: Chapter 17

Karen is pretty awful throughout this fic, but wow. She is just peak hellacious here. Screw her and the horse she rode in on. That being said, you having Pam refusing to flee with Jim's support and then confronting Karen right to her face made it all worth it. I love seeing Pam with this kind of fire again.

And then she plans a romantic evening with Jim! She's feeling more confident, she's standing up for herself, she's stepping up in her relationship. Especially after everything that happened on her trip, it's just lovely.

Although the way you left it off gives me a terrible feeling about what's coming. Please update soon.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 29, 2020 09:56 am Title: Chapter 17

I like the set-up with the typical kind of office antics. Micheal behaving like a petulant child in any meeting he didn't organize rings true. Especially one that Toby is leading. Jim's jokes did the trick in getting Pam to smile and I love him for that. He's being the same fun loving joke cracking guy he always is and that bit of normallity seems to be doing great for Pam.

Karen though is being a real jerk. She can play dumb all she wants, but she knows exactly what she's doing. I am so glad you wrote Pam standing up for herself. Not only standing up for herself, but seeking Karen out to put a stop to Karen's behavior. A while back in this story's timeline there's no way Pam would have had the courage to do somthing like that. It's great to see her growth and that she's not going to let anyone walk all over her anymore. Great job.

Pam setting up a romantic evening sounds just lovely. Really looking forward to seeing what kind of effect all her primping and planning have on Jim. Hopefully I still have a jellybean to leave for this chapter because it's really great.

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 28, 2020 06:29 pm Title: Chapter 17

Thank God that Pam finally told off Karen. Anyone who’s reading this - know that sexual assault is not the result of being too ‘weak’ or not making yourself ‘equal’ to a man, or a woman. Victim-blaming is irrational and horrible.

That said, I enjoyed this chapter thoroughly and I am excited to see just how Pam’s surprise for Jim works out.

BlindManCassidy

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2020 08:32 pm Title: Chapter 16

Okay, Jim, that’s much more like it. He’s recognizing when he screws up and trying to do what’s right for her. You really feel for him here – you know he desperately wants to be perfect for her, and he wants to do what’s best for her and be what she needs, and he wants justice for her, and he’s trying to wrestle with everything that’s going on and his own feelings at the same time. It’s a lot. And the fact that he’s actually consulting an expert as opposed to trying to feel his way through it on his own is important.

This scene in the car is just moving, and feels like a moment of genuine progress for both of them. I do think they both need to hear the message that they’re a team right now.

And as always I appreciate you working a little lightness and humor there. That’s going to be an awkward bit for Michael.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 17, 2020 05:31 pm Title: Chapter 16

You're really going to town on these heavy hitter type chapters. Jim's introspection seemed warranted. I like that he has the wherewithal to take a step back and shelve his own agenda. He's here for her, to support and love her. Not to fighter her battles or be the knight riding in to save the day. It's not easy to realize that even your good intentions were misplaced. So good for him to call the hotline and get some better info on how to handle things.

More honesty in the car there. Seems like the thing Pam really needs to hear. So now she can really let it go. And Jim's still there. Well done Jim.

Nice way to lighten the mood too. A quick phone prank to get a smile and laughter out of Pam again. That's your ticket Jim. Just be the same fun loving, bantering, prank loving guy. That's what she needs and its wonderful that he's stepping up in that regard.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 15, 2020 02:51 pm Title: Chapter 15

You really let us feel Pam’s terror and warped sense of self here, and how that terror pervades everything – her path forward with Jim, her efforts to deal with what’s happened to her. The description of the Roy-smell clinging to her and triggering her is powerful.

The call with Helene was lovely, particularly in the sense that she thought to make it – you can see her reforming the support structure that’s been kept away from her. “You can still have all of those things, you deserve them all” is important for her to hear right now.

I’d love Jim to be a little gentler with her about bringing the sexual abuse Roy inflicted on her to light – I get where he’s coming from and his message seems right, but it does feel like he’s losing the discipline he had in The Other Pam about making sure she feels like she’s the one making the decisions without being pushed too hard.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 05:35 pm Title: Chapter 15

Another powerful chapter. I like that Pam has more than one person she trust to talk to about hard things like this. Her Mom has proven she can be relied on. I also really liked that Helene gave Pam some gentle but still needed tough love. To have Pam verbally acknowledge she knows what Jim feels for her. Sometimes we need to say things out loud in order to start processing them like that.

Clearly Pam's scared that she's damaged the precious relationship she has with Jim. There's still a lot of fear in her. Slowly those fears are starting to go away, but they're still there. In some ways they seem even stronger. She has this great new relationship and while she knows and loves it, she's conditioned to expect things to go wrong. So there's fear there that the slightest mistep will cause the whole stack of cards to fall.

But Jim is no stack of cards. His love is proving a strong foundation that will weather any storm. Not that the winds won't blow or few drops of rain might seep in from time to time, but the foundation and walls protecting Pam are solid. I love that. Feels like Pam is really starting to realize that too.

Also loved that Jim wanted to get her the bracelet. A tangible sign that "this is how its supposed to be and you do deserve this." Wonderful.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2020 07:51 am Title: Chapter 14

Many jellybeans

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2020 12:08 am Title: Chapter 14

I'm glad we got to start this with a bit of light. It's lovely seeing them enjoy each other - and the Dwight dialogue was well done. And it's great seeing another milestone in Pam building up her strength and experiencing some joy, including some joy in physically interacting with Jim.

That being said, you set up Pam's flashbacks well - it was a sweet moment, but I was definitely wincing a little at the idea of Jim pinning her down, and it seems like it would clearly follow that might stir things up in her mind no matter how different it is. I think it's important that you're digging into the consequences of Roy's sexual violence specifically - I feel like that still gets downplayed when it happens in the context of an existing relationship. And if she has to go through that, I'm glad Jim is there with her to ease some of her pain and talk her through some of her assumptions about what it means for her life. With his help, she is getting better, even if that just means being able to acknowledge how bad things were.

Author's Response:

Awww thank you x the reasoning behind the Jim/Pam wrestling thing was simply that he wanted to let her overpower him, he was showing her she could win against him ie no danger/no force x 

And obv set up the last bit as well x  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 05:04 pm Title: Chapter 14

Loved to see the first parts of their weekend away. The Dwight imitation, room service, friendly roughhouseing, all lovely.

Then the shoe drops and drops hard. This feels like the last big thing for Pam to let go of. Especially those kinds of memories. I'm sure for years she had to endure all the horrors Roy put her through and more than likely started to believe some of his lies. However through this all, Jim has been building up his own strength. Strength to care and to help lift the burden from her. For him to call her a treasure is probably the best thing she could have ever heard. She is loved, she's wanted, she's respected, she's cared for, she's not alone, she's trusted. All the things she was lacking she now has with Jim. I also like that Jim doesn't back down. Sometimes you have to get a little tough, but when done out of love, as seen here, the message breaks through.

Hopefully with this weight off her shoulders, she can start to really forge and temper the steel building in her spine and let what's-his-name have it in court so he never hurts anyone again.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 09:18 pm Title: Chapter 13

Always nice to see an update for this one. I also think it's good to see a little tension between Jim and Pam. It shows that they can be real with each other. Not just some image or fantasy but their own real selves, including things that might make them a bit upset with the other one.

Of course that small misunderstanding is made up for by Jim being sweet and Pam telling him what he means to her. Really glad to see that kind of thing. I also like Pam starting to associate past memories with good times. I'm sure a lot of her past memories aren't so pleasant, so to see a good one like that seems to speak volumes for how she's progressing.

The weekend away also sounds lovely. I do like that Jim suggests separate rooms. He's not trying to push anything and is still the gentleman. Though methinks Pam might be on the verge of stepping things up a notch or two. Should be fun to watch it play out.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 08:59 pm Title: Chapter 13

Interesting to see Kenny's release serving as a source of stress for Jim and Pam's relationship. Seems like Pam is still struggling with the idea that Jim WANTS to be part of her life even when it brings potential trouble.

The fake-lost-item kiss was darn cute - and I'm excited to see that while she might want want Jim serving as her guardian and protector, she's actually okay with a more normal couple-going-away-for-the-weekend situation (even if it just so happens to keep her out of Kenny's way).

The story about Jim searching for the necklace is lovely - and especially wrenching in hindsight, knowing what his going the extra mile probably saved her from.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 04:45 am Title: Chapter 12

Bit of a rollercoaster this time around. Karen is still being not-so-subtle in her via for Jim's affections. That's a thread that keeps popping up and and I wonder where it's going to lead.

Lovely to see Jim and Pam being more like their canon selves in the office. Partners in crime and just having fun with each other. They really bring out the best in each other and that came through here.

Betsy showing up was a lovely touch. She's warm, loving, and patient. Another person in Pam's corner and that's a great thing. After so many years of thinking she was alone, the more people she can gather round her who love and support her, the better.

Foreboding news about Kenny. He always seemed more like Roy's lackey than anything, but him being free doesn't sound good. Still some insecurites there at the end with Pam. As much as I'd love her to be really free from everything, by now, her feeling do ring true to real life though. Getting over everything she's been through will take a long time regardless of how great her support system is. Especially when there are constant reminders of everything.

Still doing a great job with this one.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2020 05:15 pm Title: Chapter 12

I love the ease between Pam and Betsy here, and the kindness Betsy shows here - clearly, part of what has made Jim such a good partner for Pam in this story is that he's been raised right.

I really liked the comic relief here too - you do such a good job mixing that in. The reference to the balloon is a great Easter egg.

Tough to have an otherwise pretty solid day end with such ugly news. Very worried about how Kenny's going to react now that he's out in the world again.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2020 08:17 pm Title: Chapter 11

Nice to have a chapter like this. A nice bit of levity where there's nothing more serious than watching Michael's crazy antics.

Pam is lovely here. She is such a sweet and kind soul. Despite everything she's gone through that part of her has remained constant and it's lovely.

Likewise with Jim talking to his Mom. Delightful way to have them interact. Like I said with all the heaviness that sometimes surrounds this story, it was very refreshing to take a break from all that.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2020 06:52 pm Title: Chapter 11

I like seeing Pam feeling a little more free to crack jokes and help Jim mess with Michael and Dwight again - it feels like a real milestone on her road to recovery.

It hadn't occurred to me before this chapter that we've seen a lot of Jim integrating himself into Pam's world but not all that much of Pam connecting with Jim's yet - this seems like a promising start. You made the "accidental meeting" trope seem pretty natural, and it's lovely that you've given Pam a chance to impress Betsy without her knowing she was doing so - just Pam being Pam.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans