You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2021 06:11 pm Title: Chapter 30

This is a lovely way to bring back the vibe of the yearbook picture bonding them!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2021 06:08 pm Title: Chapter 29

Some really good Pam moments here - loved seeing her tough it out with Roy's mom and ride out the opening statements. I think you've hit on something important with the fact that whatever the law says, it certainly *feels* like the burden of proof is on her.

As always you did well mixing in the humor. Jim needing to deter Michael from hitting on Pam's relatives right before Roy's trial or interrupting her tender moment with his mom with a TWSS is very Office humor.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 14, 2021 06:33 pm Title: Chapter 30

Roy’s lawyer is a real ass. It’s no wonder
he defends people like Roy. The taxi cab driver is clueless about Pam’s condition that night.
It’s completely clear that she was in shock.
Even if, by chance, Pam was cheating with Jim,
it doesn’t excuse the abuse Roy did to her.
Also what about when Roy screamed at Pam in the last time they were in court?
There were witnesses to that. So couldn’t the prosecutor use that against Roy?

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2021 07:29 am Title: Chapter 30

The analytical part of me wants Murphy to intrurupt with a ton of objections to the line of questioning with the taxi cab driver.

"What did you think happened to her at the time?"
"Objection! Calls for speculation!"

"Did you believe she needed medical treatment?"
"Objection! Witness is not a healthcare professional."

Now while some of the things the cabbie said might have helped her case, if Murphy can get it into the mind of the jury that the defense attourney doesn't know what he's doing because he can't follow the rules of evidence it's a point in Pam's favor. Might also start to get Roy mad since his lawyer can't keep it together, which will give further evidence of his temper. Just something that stood out to me.

I get why Pam starts to feel somewhat cold like that while in the courtroom. It was torture living with Roy like she did and she's having to remember it all. However she also has the warmth of the love of Jim waiting for her afterwards.

You mentioned asking about anything we'd like to see answered. Having Pam with the combined front of Jim, her parents and the Betsy lay into Roy's Mom would be good. Pam can't take out her frustration on Roy, but she can tell off Roy's Mom. Or at least get some kind of resolution for the way Roy's Mom went off on her before the trial.

Other than that I'm just looking forward to seeing Roy being led away by the deputies after all is said and done.

Nice job as always.

Author's Response:

Interesting. Thanks so much. I'm not legally trained in any way, it's lovely to have your very insightful eyes. I like your suggestions regarding objections. Sometimes you just need to have someone lay these stones out for you to be able to follow them on the right path. Thank you xxxx much much appreciated.

 Other suggestions noted and while I hate spoiling things I will say, on the right track. Thanks again 

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2021 08:49 pm Title: Chapter 1

I’m a little sad to hear that the end is near, but it’s been a journey. Since you are accepting requests:
Everything Merria said, with emphasis on Pam’s emotional journey. It’s obviously going to take Pam time to recover and the trial and Roy being locked up are not going to solve all of her problems.
Was the abuse that Pam talked about in Chapter 16 sexual abuse? If so, I NEED to see Roy get his comeuppance for this. He deserves it for everything else, but god, that just makes me shake with anger.
I want to see Roy’s mom’s reaction to the reality that her son really did abuse Pam. Adding onto that, perhaps Roy could explode with anger and seal his own fate?

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response:

Hi. Thanks again for reading and your lovely comments. You always leave such nice/supportive messages. I like the idea of a few chapters on healing (as Merria suggested as well) Suggestion all noted and thank you so much. 

Chapter 16. I purposely did leave it ambiguous. Was walking a line without being too triggering on one side with being delicate with the topic on the other as well, I wanted to handle it very carefully and let people come to their own conclusions. That way if it's too hard for some people to experience this in the stor along side of Pam - and I truly understand that would be not be easy for everyone to read, then a reader would have the option of deciding the meaning for themselves, however they absorb it emotionally. 

But yes, to your question. yes. There are references - subtle or unsubtle depending on the person - from the very first chapter of the first story regarding the extent of the abuse. I hope that made some sort of sense. Thanks again so much.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2021 08:36 pm Title: Chapter 30

What a lovely ending to this chapter. And I love that Betsy Halpert was able to bring a smile to Pam’s face.
Since you’re accepting requests, here are mine:
1. Obviously Roy needs to get his comeuppance. I hope that Pam’s attorney rips him a new one, and that Roy’s defense isn’t too harsh on Pam
2. I think all the other Dunder Mifflinites owe Pam a huge apology. There were all just judgemental jerks. I’d love to read a scene where they’re all just mortified and ashamed at their behavior.
3. Karen. Could you bring her up again just to see what happened with her? Of course, I hope she also gets what she deserves.
4. Lastly, Jim and Pam deserve the fluffiest, happiest ending. I hope you can dedicate a few chapters to Pam’s emotional healing and her finding true happiness

I’ve been following this story since The Other Pam. The title reminds me of Frida Khalo’s painting The Other Frida. I wonder if that was your inspiration?
Your writing is beautiful and has kept me coming back chapter after chapter. This story has been a emotional roller coaster. I’m looking forward to reading where this ends up.

Many, many jellybeans

Author's Response:

Thank you so much. Yes... #1 definitely. #2 Excellent suggestion. #3 Karen... I will definitely think that over. #4 I had anticipated 5 chapters left but I think still will stretch longer.. I have a habit of picking up more story along the way when I write and you've given some great ideas. 

I actually wanted to say thank you as well - no I had not seen the painting of The Other Frida, and had no relevance to the title of the first part of this story. That being said, I googled the painting this morning and I saw another work of Frida Khalo which was so striking and appropriate. It was "the Two Fridas". This must be kismet because if there ever was an art image for this story, than the Two Fridas is it. I also really loved the painting on sight, and the emotion it presents. Thank you for nudging me to find it!

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 03, 2021 02:24 pm Title: Chapter 29

Roy’s mom is awful. It’s no wonder he turned out the way he did. I don’t think that Roy’s defense lawyer came of as being very convincing in his opening statement. The issue that makes me a bit nervous is that Roy is using JAM’s relationship to
come off as the wounded party.
I love how Jim’s mom came to support Pam.
Also how is Jim’s dad doing? Does he know about what is going with JAM?
Also what about how Kenny and Roy attacked Jim at the office in front of the warehouse people?
Why would that not be used in the trial?
You’re doing a really good job of showing how Pam is getting her strength through these challenges she is going through.
I love Pam’s memories of her night with Jim, especially since she is the one that took charge by starting it. Once the trial is over Pam should go back to the office and shove it in Karen’s face. 😂

Author's Response: Hello. Thank you for still reading. Yes - the attack on Jim comes up naturally in the trial. There was a specific part of the attack that is used and comes up at a few places soon/there are questions. Thank you for reading, and since this is leading to the wrap up, feel free to ask anything you want answered before the end.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 07:47 pm Title: Chapter 29

So it begins. Very good look into her mental state here. She's as prepared as she can be. Now that they're at the trial though, it's no longer waiting or practicing. It's time for the truth to come out.

You could feel her resolve be tested during the opening statements. Same when Roy's mother started in on her. This will probably be the hardest thing she's gone through since getting out of that situation. I think she's ready.

Especially now that she has Jim with her in the way he is. Feels like that's going to be big for her.

Lastly, oh Michael.

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 02, 2021 06:25 pm Title: Chapter 29

That was... too real.

From Pam wanting to escape, to her parents, to Jim’s mom, to *Roy’s* mom... too real. It just makes me feel cold.

And seeing all of this through Pam’s eyes just sucks. It makes me sick - how the defense attorney defends Roy and makes it seem like it’s Pam felt when we know it’s not. It sucks to know that there are people like this. And I feel like this isn’t just Pam - it’s you too. And I’m so sorry for whatever you went through.

I’m just glad that Pam has Jim. It’s not just his love that’s keeping her afloat, but it seems to me like it’s a damn big part of her state of mind. I hope you have someone like that too.

I will say that Michael kept this chapter from being *too* depressing. Obviously he doesn’t understand the weight that this trial has, so he’s just trying to make jokes; regular old Michael. At least he’s been a constant. And I’m glad Jim’s mom came. It’s so sweet that she’d want to be there for Pam.

Anyways, I’m very interested in reading on to see the witness stands and what Roy and Pam have to say, though I do feel like blood eagling the former.

BlindManCassidy

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 11:08 pm Title: Chapter 28

Okay, I loved this breakthrough moment for Pam and how far she's come. Lot of great imagery in this chapter, and I feel much better going into the courtroom scenes knowing that she's had this moment and just taken this big step forward and feels good about it.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 10:19 pm Title: Chapter 28

Here I was thinking that again you're putting off the courtroom drama. But no! Not at all and I'm so glad to be proven wrong. I was wondering how long it would take Pam to trust Jim enough to go forward with something more physical. Especially considering what you've been implying.

When she gets there however, it doesn't feel rushed, or forced or anything. It feels like the culmination of a lot of healing on her part. Of her truly learning that she can trust Jim. And that she has found that spine of steel that will get her through the trials to come. Marvelous writing to bring that all out.

Well done Jim on letting her take the lead. Never demanding but going along with her. Bravo. It really does read as two people making intimate love rather than just physical pleasure.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 12:37 pm Title: Chapter 27

I really love this moment of Jim helping Pam through her nightmare, and knowing what to say to help her get calmed down. Very sweet.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2021 05:51 am Title: Chapter 27

As always Jim is great. I like the end here. Feels like desite the fact there's still a big hurdle to get over, she's ready to finally let go of her past. She just wants to focus on the future and everything that entails. Good for her. Kind of looking forward to the trial. There's been a lot of buildup for it and it'll be interesting to see how it all plays out. Likewise hopefully for Pam to finally put a definitive nail in her past.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2021 07:58 am Title: Chapter 26

You did some interesting work here exploring the different sorts of manipulations she lived through, and how awful it is for her to have to relive this.

I love this coded moment in the parking lot, and Pam's willingness to trust Jim and let him help.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2021 07:26 pm Title: Chapter 25

You did a really good job with this chapter showing some of Pam's growth. She feels at the beginning like canon Pam in a way that her abuse hasn't allowed her to for the most part in this story. And the callbacks to The Other Pam were effective in reminding us that this Pam is a lot stronger and better prepared for what's ahead. She's healing, enough to be honest with Jim, and enough to look back into the horrors of her past.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 10, 2021 07:01 am Title: Chapter 26

Pam reliving even parts of her life with the monster is always tough. I mean you paint the picture of the monster so adept at controlling Pam. Playing off her guilt and insecurities for his own selfish reasons. It's good, as it's real, but it's tough.

I LOVED the quick conversation Jim and Pam have as they walk into meeting. Great use of a metaphor. Jim's right. Cutting away the dead branches helps the tree not only survive, but grow stronger and more full of life. Hopefully Pam realizes this too.

Good on them for getting good advice. Just answer yes or no and let the lawyer do his job. I get why Pam would want the monster to own up to what he's done. Maybe all this time in jail will have made him realize that. I kind of doubt it though. My thinking is all that time behind bars would have made him resent Pam even more and try to formulate even more ways for him to try and get back at her.

And then there goes Jim being just the best. Not only with the roses, but saying he wants to be there with her. He gets she has said she needs time to be on her own, but he also knows the toll this is all taking on her so he offers to be there with her. Protecting her not because she's weak, but because she's important. Well done Jim. Just the perfect kind of thing a good man should do.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 01, 2021 05:02 pm Title: Chapter 25

And here we go. As tough as it's going to be, I'm glad that Murphy looks to be on Pam's side. He's getting her prepped for everything to come. Sounds like a good strategy. Hopefully one that will pay off and send what-his-face away for long time.

As always Jim just being there for her is wonderful. Likewise her saying she feels so safe even by his aroma. They're come a long way, grown together, time to face the dragon and put it down once and for all.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: February 23, 2021 04:24 pm Title: Chapter 24

I continue to really appreciate the way you've built the light moments into this very heavy story.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2021 10:00 pm Title: Chapter 24

Very nice to have a lighter chapter after several heavy ones. Jim's thoughts in bed were very sweet. The prank was classic JAM messing with Dwight. The conversation at lunch showed how far they've come in regards to having more open communication. I really liked this one. Nice job.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 21, 2021 06:58 pm Title: Chapter 24

So does Michael’s call with Utica mean that Karen
will soon be out of the way?
It was nice to see JAM doing something normal
like playing pranks on Dwight, and having a little fun. I agree that Pam should call for help even if she’s mistaken. It’s better to be safe than sorry given her history of trauma.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2021 05:17 am Title: Chapter 23

I liked this chapter. It's great seeing Pam strong enough and comfortable enough to push, and to actually tell Jim something he needs to hear, which is that he *did* help her just by being there.

And this allows Jim to get some things off his chest he obviously very much needs to with his worries about his dad, and his worries about Pam pulling away from him, which in turn gives her the opportunity to let him know he won't.

I like the note at the end about how when you care about someone so deeply their pain becomes yours. That feels like a really fundamental part of their relationship.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 15, 2021 05:51 am Title: Chapter 23

Loved this heart to heart conversation. They've been having a lot of them true, but considering everything they've gone through, it makes complete sense that they'd need a lot of time and talks to get through everything.

It seems that Jim still wants to be the knight riding to the rescue. Pam though seesm to be saying that while she appreciates the gesture, she doesn't need a hero she just needs him. Then beautifully tells him how just by being him he's already made things better for her.

It's conversations like these that are the mark of a really healthy relationship. To be open and honest with everything. Including the hard things. Espeically the hard things. Feels like a lot of progress was made into strengthening their relationship with this one. Great job.

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2021 06:41 pm Title: Chapter 22

"The fog began to clear, reality took shape. Suddenly everything looked bright, real." is such a lovely way to express Pam turning another corner.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2021 08:57 pm Title: Chapter 22

Obviously some big on-paper milestones in their relationship happening here, and some fraught ones for anyone that are then exacerbated by Pam's experience with Roy. I thought you did a good job playing with how her history heightens the tension of these moments like their meal with his douchey brothers... they'd be unpleasant under most circumstances, but they are really walking through minefields here.

There's some interesting work being done in Jim and Pam's confrontation at the end I think? Jim really needs to see Pam as an equal partner who he *can* lean on in these moments, and before now he really hasn't been there, and that gets drawn out a little. And in the end, it ends up doing them some real good... seeing him vulnerable and needing her makes Pam feel a little stronger and helps her continue to grow.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 07, 2021 10:23 pm Title: Chapter 22

Another powerful chapter here. To think it was Tom and Pete being their slightly crass that was the catalyst for all this. Jim's had a ton of pent up emotions though this whole ordeal and he finally lets them out. He's frustrated and upset, but he also trusts Pam with that side of him. It feels like that's something Pam has never seen before. Truly open and honest vulnerability and what's more is that she realizes she can have hand in protecting that side of Jim too. As you brilliantly put it the fog clears, she can love again, and she also has a purpose. To love Jim and be there for him as he has been there for her.

Really looking forward to seeing what kinds of effects this has on them as we continue. Great job.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans