Reviews For folklore
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Thats what she said Signed [Report This]
Date: April 29, 2022 08:43 pm Title: the lakes

I have read several stories with angry Jim and Pam having a confrontation after Casino Night, but angry sex? Wow! That was SO HOT!!! And I love that Jim somehow has the strength to bump her fist afterwards like a version of their high-fives. LOL Awesome!

Reviewer: SwissCheese Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 24, 2021 12:38 pm Title: epiphany

How did I miss all these! This is amazing. The costume idea is so hot and you did such a great job. I love this one.

Reviewer: SwissCheese Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 24, 2021 12:27 pm Title: everything has changed

I can’t believe I missed this! Thank you for mentioning it in evermore.
This is a great version of Jim and Pam and I feel as though I could get lost in this world forever. You make it feel so real! I love the evermore version of this too. I hope you plan on continuing this story!

Reviewer: PBJ sandwich Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 09:11 pm Title: our song

WTF. I'm not crying, wait yes I am 😭😭😭

Reviewer: PBJ sandwich Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 06:10 am Title: this is me trying

Serious "Notebook" vibes. LOVE IT

Reviewer: PBJ sandwich Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 06, 2021 05:56 am Title: august

Jimmy G is such a hottie. Go Niners lol

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2021 10:24 am Title: out of the woods

I really liked this; interesting - and sexy - to see Jim actually make that trip (and not jump to the wrong conclusion. You had me worried... :o) )
Thanks!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2021 08:31 am Title: everything has changed

Fabulous! I loved this.

Author's Response: Thank you! 

Reviewer: Coley Signed [Report This]
Date: January 15, 2021 08:12 am Title: invisible string

Honestly, how dare you? Here are the moments of this chapter that kill me each and every time I read it.

"And I am so glad I came home to you."
The elevator scene. Just... the elevator scene.
""When I never think about this, you usually take it off.""
Pam noticing Jim's calendar while being bent over the desk.
"It had been weeks since they had done this, visited a place with less than fond memories and made it their own. Their rethreading making him realize that fate wove through every corner of their lives, some more pleasant than others but ends always found each other, the fibers of their past twisting together with the promise of what was always just the two of them." One day, let's talk about other places they've reclaimed. For science.
"Do you think anyone can see us?" "I hope so." Listen, I don't mind the sass.

Bored. This is so beautifully written and you captured one of my favorite songs from the album perfectly and I'm just really happy you wrote it.

Author's Response: I really love that enjoyed this chapter because it was so fun to write. Honestly, I would love to write about many, many reclaimed places. ;) Thank you, as always, friend! 

Reviewer: Bayjb Signed [Report This]
Date: December 26, 2020 01:41 pm Title: everything has changed

I cannot believe I never left a review of this chapter because I LOVE it so much and re-read it often. Truly, so perfect and enjoyable. You do such a great job of telling this little meet cute in London and it feeling totally real. I really love how you weave in these little details and nuances and details of him falling so in love with her that I miss sometimes on a first read but find nuggets of on a second or third. It is all tasteful and real and so vividly done. Honestly I’d read a full fic on it. Truly truly wonderful chapter. I could not love it more.

Author's Response:

Wow, thank you SO much! It delights me to hear that the little things are noticed because I often think I spend too much mental energy on details that likely no one will pick up on. 

You might enjoying knowing that there will be a continuation of this story in the upcoming evermore collab so definitely stay tuned. ;)

Thanks again, bayjb! 

 

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2020 04:00 pm Title: mirrorball

Well the short version of my review is I love everything about this. Long version: great backstories for the items. Pam's inner dilemma about the shoes was so funny (and later when Jim said keep them on, claiming them as for him instead of that other guy was damn hot). Your Pam and Jim voices, especially Pam are always so fun. Of course the money part of this is muy caliente, but I also laughed at the visual of Jim being like "so we using this tie? Maybe? No?". And of course that sweet ending, with the fun foreshadowing of their eventual wedding. Just great work, Coley.

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2020 10:36 am Title: my tears ricochet

You should have seen me when I was like “Marcie, whose Marcie?” And then I realized, oh that sneaky Isabel!

The friendship between Isabel and Pam is great stuff (and what Pam deserved way more of on the show). “She doesn’t have time to murder Isabel, because Jim is all of three feet away from her.” I love this line XD

Small thing but you always do such a good job of portraying Roy as not a horrible person but just the kind guy making no effort that we have a tendency to tolerate too long when we’re young.

A big yes to everything in the bedroom scene, that’s exactly how this conversation would have gone down, and of course the rest of it. I like your line at the start that Pam is a wait and see kind of girl but then she finally breaks out of it and makes things happen.

The childhood flashback is so good (I think we all had that moment happen to us) and the way you tie it in with the present, beautiful.

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2020 03:48 am Title: exile

This is my favorite track so I went into this with unreasonably high expectations but of course you exceeded them. Your reign as the queen of writing Karen continues, you always manage to make her so bold and cool and flawed and real. Jim and Karen being friends with benefits makes so much sense I’m now surprised I don’t see it more in fic (and the mention of Karen and Wallace made me simultaneously say “Oh honey no” and “Get it girl” XD). You took me back (waaay back) to the chaos of college house parties with such amazing vivid writing, not to mention everyone’s “role” at the party being so flawlessly cast. The 7 or rather 14 minutes in heaven, guh, so hot and intimate and yet heartbreaking. Like other reviews have said, when it’s revealed this is hardly Pam and Jim’s first time having sex its such a good little twist, suddenly all my assumtions of their backstory was out the window and I needed to go back to reread and reconsider the dynamic. I’m afraid you’d be ashamed of me for how late in the story I picked up on the Normal People vibes XD. And like NP you left it with that ambiguous ending where you want to believe they’re going to work it out but the nagging feeling they just never will. It hurts, I love it T_T

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2020 03:42 am Title: cardigan

I’ll try to be coherent in this review. I just adore everything about this concept, that Pam’s “homemade sexy sweater” (as Angela Kinsey would call it) ended up tossed in the corner and almost forgotten.

“Maybe Peter and Wendy, except he’s the one that grew up and left” Such a perfect way to include that lyric.

I love a good “addressing our past angst” conversation between Jim and Pam. Then Jim asking Pam to wear the cardigan for him was so sweet, and then she undresses before putting it on and (Andy voice) TUNA!!! DAYUM!! *incoherent noises for 5 minutes* And then that last line, amazing. Gray cardigan redemption!

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed [Report This]
Date: December 11, 2020 03:37 am Title: the 1

Well I thought for sure I’d get around to reviewing this before TS dropped another album but I thought wrong! XD

Anyway, Great way to start things off! Already loving the little subtle weave ins of the lyrics. That passage where Jim goes back and forth wanting Pam to be happy but kind of hoping she’s miserable is so good (haven’t we all had that dilemma??). “Even her hair seemed happier” - I thought this line was so cute. Loved the NEVER CALL THIS NUMBER bit, Jim would totally be unable to delete Pam’s number and I could see him changing the name instead. The phone call was great and something I can imagine easily. And while they definitely needed to talk through some things, Jim coming over leading almost immediately to kissing and then to bed is also something I can imagine. The steam? Good stuff. Love it!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2020 04:05 pm Title: out of the woods

So Jim did end up driving to New York that night. Interesting take on it all. Espeically coming off the heels of the encounter with Roy.

Tipsy/Drunk Pam was really cute. She's just at that stage where she can keep a handle on the conversation, but she's also pleasantly buzzing.

Always nice to envision Jim and Pam spending the night together. Likewise them waking up in each other's arms. Even better without a hangover. You wrote them very sweet together. Loved it.

Thank you to all seven of you ladies for these stories. There has been a huge range of emotions with every one of them. Phenominal job with them all.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2020 12:16 pm Title: out of the woods

Jenna.

This is incredibly rude.

There is just so much to love about this chapter. While I appreciate the point they were making on the show, the distinction that he was not anything like Roy, that he trusted her, I REALLY like that you have him driving up there anyway. Not out of insecure jealousy, but because he needed to be near her. This is beautifully played out here and I love it so much.

Then. THEN. You have drunk being all adorable and he being all Jim and I died a little. And I'm going to quote my favorite two lines again because I can:

“I’ll make it worth it,” his tone has that husky richness that comes when he’s in the mood. It has anticipation unfurling in her abdomen like a sunflower greeting the dawn. --Stop. Just STOP. This is the Jim we all deserve.

"She wraps her hand around his base because he’s long and lean and there’s only so much of him that’s ever going to fit in her throat and that’s on physics." And THAT is one of my fave lines ever.

You know how I feel about your writing and this is just all sorts of perfect. I can't think of a better finishing chapter for our little project.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2020 11:22 am Title: out of the woods

I love this whole concept, frankly - it's obviously not great (and unfortunately natural) for Jim to feel a little insecure about Pam being in New York, but it always struck me that Jim just showing up to see her would've been pretty well received in the moment, and I really liked seeing a sort of more positive take on that whole encounter.

I love the little tidbits showing just how much she really missed him - the idea that she keeps wanting to share what's she's enjoying with him, that she hasn't gotten used to not having him by her side is just lovely.

This is also just great Drunk!Pam dialogue - and who doesn't love a good Drunk!Pam incident!

The line about Jim not having the brain capacity to imagine what it's really like to kiss Pam is lovely, and the sense they had in their first months together that it wasn't quite real sounds VERY real. (Plus, hat-tip for working in a Living in Color reference.)

The joke about sex as a hangover cure was hilarious and well-timed. And I'm glad they got a chance to have a serious talk after all that - and one that acknowledges that their history was always a bit more complicated than Pam accepted at the time.

Well done with this one!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2020 10:42 am Title: out of the woods

this killed me dead and that’s on physics

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: November 10, 2020 06:24 am Title: out of the woods

Fun fact: I can get tipsy just smelling alcohol (that's why I don't drink even if I want to...). And reading this story, I feel almost all its symptoms — lightheadedness, giddiness, giggliness, warmth, and happiness (not the sleepiness, hurray!). I love your stories and the effect they have on me ;)
Thank you so much, and I can't wait to read more from you!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 11:01 pm Title: this is me trying

Ah, man. This is just poetry in a prose costume.

Author's Response: What a lovely compliment! Thank you! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 02:37 pm Title: the lakes

Well. Yep. Yep, that was the angry sex Jim and Pam deserved and maybe didn't know they needed. Well done.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 02:09 pm Title: everything has changed

Wow, this story just took me away. To London with the vivid imagery you painted but to a state of such joy in reading the words you magically put together. What an incredible talent you have.

Your characters never seemed to stray from what we know of them yet the story felt new but with the familiarity that comforts. The sprinkles of dialogue so natural here as if they were part of this first and repurposed on the show instead of the other way around. Is it enough to say I loved it? It was pure music. Bravo.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Max! I'm thrilled you loved my characterization. It's always a risk in this sort of AU so I'm so glad it translated well. Thank you for taking the time to review and letting me know you enjoyed it! :) 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 02:08 pm Title: our song

Funny to find out you're not a Taylor Swift fan at the end of this chapter, because I definitely opened it thinking "hey! someone finally wrote one of these about a song I actually know!"

There are just a lot of really great little moments in this chapter - I loved the Roy and Pam subfolder, because Jim absolutely would have semi-against his will, semi-to be a good friend/confidante to Pam ended up with a lot of useless information about Roy in his head.

The fact that she wrote what he said down is amazing, and very Pam - and wonderful to see her actually putting it to use right when she knew Jim would've needed it. And of course he picked up on the little mentions of their future together - he focused on the marriage one, but honestly I was happiest about her mentioning that they'd get a house together, which makes me feel that much better about him buying the house without asking her.

Anyhow, this was just a great little moment in their relationship!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 01:45 pm Title: last great american dynasty, chapter 2

Holy crap. I'm so glad you wrote a sequel to this - and what a sequel! You've really put this story in a distinct context of the time in history it's playing out and used it to your advantage - with all the ugliness with Roy and the Beeslys that implies. And it's just wonderful to see Pam doing exactly what she needed to do at the moment she needed it most. I'm thrilled they got a happy ending!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans