You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 23, 2020 08:44 am Title: Vs. The King of Forwards

I like this chapter a lot. I agree with you that this piece isn't that simple as it might seem. Your interpretation makes a lot of sense, though the timing of Jim's daydreaming is terrible (to be honest, I feel like I simply don't know the way guys' brains function, and if (random) fantasy could appear even in a wrong moment, my remark is irrelevant; I'm sorry if this my comment is confusing a little, hope you understand what I meant).
I remembered that I cringed a lot watching earlier seasons, and sometimes I feel like there is no particular connection between episodes (like, in one episode, characters could have a huge fight, and in another — act as if nothing happened at all). And I feel like the show that started as painfully realistic and awkward turned into something milder and more comfortable to look at (though a little less realistic). I explained to myself the change in Pam-Michael's dynamic that way.
The other explanation is that Pam is a saint, and she, luckily, not.
And I like that Jim isn't perfect either.
Thank you for your thought-provoking chapter, and looking forward to the next one!

Author's Response: No, I get what you're saying - speaking as a guy, I do feel like the idea that Michael talking about Pam performing a sexual act would put certain images in Jim's head is, unpleasantly, realistic. It's a reflex, not something to be proud of, but something that happens. I definitely agree that the show got deliberately more comfortable as time went on, and that showed up in some of the relationships that would have been tested by the more realistic and awkward version. It is always a fun challenge to try to explain those challenges and the lack of connection between episodes in fanfiction though! I'm glad you liked this one... the next one is, um, in progress. ::sweats::

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: October 22, 2020 06:08 pm Title: Vs. The King of Forwards

The last line did it for me. The line that had me smiling and satisfied.

Michael was extremely cringe in the interaction with Pam and so glad to see Jim retaliate even if it meant putting himself in harms way to do it. Anything for Pam, right. the little fantasy in his mind was different for Jim but he also was playing with the blow up doll this episode so I'll buy it.

Author's Response: I would say something about how I felt that even in Jim's head, he probably tries to change the subject with a joke sometimes, but honestly that line just made me laugh. Michael definitely needed to be brought in line in this episode - I don't know that this was the writers' intention or anything, but it was always striking to me that Jim does something so short-sighted so soon afterwards just to tweak Michael. I think the fantasy is pretty realistic. He's great, but not a saint. I'm just not sure that including the objectification of Pam undercuts the point of a chapter about the objectification of Pam. ::shrugs::

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 22, 2020 05:14 pm Title: Vs. The King of Forwards

So an interesting chapter to be sure. I agree that Michael crossed many lines during his course on the show. In today's actual real world he would have been fired for so many different things. However in the fantasy of TV he can get away with it. It's not always right but there you go.

Early season Pam let Michael get away with it too. However as the show progressed it's my impression she was less tolerant of such behavior. Part of the growth of her character.

Not bad with Jim. You're right, he's not perfect. Also in this phase of their relationship I'm sure he's got many a fantasy about her. Part of the pining after the girl who's not mine. I'd like to think that as Jim grows as a character he'd realize that reality with Pam is better than any fantasy he might have had.

Author's Response: That's always an interesting question about fic, isn't it? How much you want to try to address the conflicts between the rules of this fictional universe and our world? Opens up a lot of potential. (Someone from a listicle website should definitely do a rewatch of the series and mark every time a character does something that would have gotten them fired in the real world.) I do think Pam stands up to him more as time goes on (and I think their relationship is also not that close at this point in the season), but it is hard to avoid the idea that this is a lot about deliberate choices in the writers' room - they're still in the process of transitioning away from American David Brent to Steve Carell's more personally appealing version of a boss here. I'm glad this version of Jim worked for you - and I agree that down the road he's going to eyeroll at this stage of himself.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 22, 2020 02:56 pm Title: Vs. The King of Forwards

I liked this. As someone who only started watching The Office in 2020, I found Michael's constant sexual harassment of Pam...difficult to watch. And I agree that Jim should have called him out on it more (although also, the awkward no one saying anything was probably quite accurate for the time). And I think this is realistic - Jim's not perfect. His redeeming feature for me in Sexual Harassment was how much he hated Todd Packer (and I find any scene with Todd Packer in really, really difficult to watch and verging on not funny at all).

But back to this chapter - I think it's very well-written and you get the balance/conflict between Jim as Pam's best friend and Jim fantasising about Pam exactly right. One of things I really liked about S2 Jim is that he only ever talks about Pam's personality when he's trying to explain what he likes about her - but...clearly that's not the only thing he's noticed. So the internal dialogue and the way he catches himself and feels guilty about it feel spot on.

Author's Response: It really is unpleasant, and especially given how often we're asked to sympathize with Michael immediately after he does something genuinely abhorrent because he gets embarrassed when someone pushes back. I do think that Jim/the rest of the ensemble not commenting is realistic to the timeframe, but it's definitely Very Noticeable. And oooof. Yes. Packer is unwatchable. (Naturally, he is an inciting incident in a future chapter of this fic.) Yeah, it is very clear that Jim's love for Pam is pure... but I don't think it's chaste, and I'm glad the conflicts that arise from that work for you.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 20, 2020 02:27 pm Title: Vs. Your Deskmate Dwight, Who You Will Never Go Back to The Time Before You Met

Dwight really does always win big against Jim the few times that he does. I was a bit appalled about the client stealing. This is another great chapter (please please write more of these!) - I think Jim's aside about how he should lose a big client every week might be my favourite line. I also loved Jim initially being too embarrassed to tell she was angry, and the fact that Pam knows straight away who Deckerd are and how much they love Jim, and the little flashes of his concern when Dwight goes for her, and that she could get fired.

Author's Response: It's just such a low Dwight moment - especially because it's him screwing up Jim when he's actually *trying* to work for a change. The aside about him feeling like he should lose a big client every week is what I started with and built everything else around, so I'm glad you keyed in on that. And I definitely appreciate you noticing the little show-not-tell touches about where they are in their relationship at this point. There are definitely more of these coming - this should be seven parts overall, although the next one is pretty short. Hope you continue to enjoy!

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 20, 2020 02:14 pm Title: Vs. The World’s Best Boss

I loved this! I really want to see more of Jim and Pam's alliance and this was perfect. Jim hanging around in case she needed a rescue, Pam's Todd Packer face, Jim knowing he might end up feeling bad for Michael even though he's annoyed, and the fact that Jim quite likes the cameras and know that Pam won't - there are so many nice touches in this. It also made me go back and rewatch the pilot (they are weirdly awkward in that scene!), and I'm unbelievably slow because I didn't twig that Jim pranked Michael directly after what he did to Pam...so thank you for pointing that out. Amazing!

Author's Response: The friendship that underlies their romance is such a big part of what makes Jim/Pam appealing to me, so I'm happy to provide a little more of them fighting for each other like friends (albeit friends who are totally secretly pining for each other). And I'm glad you picked up on some of those details! Yeah, I ended up rewatching the pilot a bunch while writing this for timing purposes (getting everyone where they needed to be in between Roy coming up to the office and Roy beeping at her was a little tricky), and there's definitely some early installment weirdness that it was interesting to try to explain through fic. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Author's Response: The friendship that underlies their romance is such a big part of what makes Jim/Pam appealing to me, so I'm happy to provide a little more of them fighting for each other like friends (albeit friends who are totally secretly pining for each other). And I'm glad you picked up on some of those details! Yeah, I ended up rewatching the pilot a bunch while writing this for timing purposes (getting everyone where they needed to be in between Roy coming up to the office and Roy beeping at her was a little tricky), and there's definitely some early installment weirdness that it was interesting to try to explain through fic. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 19, 2020 12:50 am Title: Vs. Your Deskmate Dwight, Who You Will Never Go Back to The Time Before You Met

I love it. From the first line to the last, it's fantastic!
I really, really, really like the way Pam got her revenge. What could be more pleasing than a cheater getting the taste of his own medicine? Lovely!
And though the whole story was more about friendship and mutual help, I enjoyed these little romantic snippets. 'But he’s done way stupider things than splurge on a Big Mac to make Pam happy,' — this one is one big pure 'awww!'
Thank you so much for this wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Yeah, this is one of Dwight's worst moments, and it always irritated me that they never came back to it - I do think that a Pam sublimating her feelings for Jim would have gone all in to get revenge. That is part of the fun of this story for me - developing the friendship that's at the bedrock of their romance and offering little hints of how it's becoming more. (The next few chapters are still very much in the in-progress stage, but I'd like to say the evolution will show up a little more strongly as we go along.) Thank you for reading and reviewing it!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2020 03:28 pm Title: Vs. Your Deskmate Dwight, Who You Will Never Go Back to The Time Before You Met

SO first I have to say this - Pam IS a football fan - she even has a touchdown dance!

OK let's start at the beginning - could not understand why you started with the quote from a much later episode until I did and it was perfect.

The caper - how it all worked - A+. The redirected sales the unread memos all smoothly came together - the choreography was wonderful.


Lines I loved:
“No. I mean, who doesn’t like a nice googi-googi?”

“Yep. It’s gonna be a good year over at Schrute Farms. Bet Mose will be sporting the finest overalls and straw hat in all Lackawanna County come summer.”

I just love your office scenes - always fun and an inspiration.

Can't wait for what is next!

Author's Response: At the very least, she's definitely a fan of the touchdown dance! It's a nice bonus for me that this (largely unintentionally) redeems my girl Phyllis a bit. There's some history behind that shot at Pam now. The other quote I thought about starting this one with was Jim's from The Alliance about no one knowing more about the office than Pam - her access and the fact that people don't pay enough attention to her give her delightfully evil mind plenty of options. Very pleased you caught the Mose line, that was a favorite of mine. Thanks as always for your kind words - glad you're enjoying these!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2020 10:30 am Title: Vs. Your Deskmate Dwight, Who You Will Never Go Back to The Time Before You Met

This was delightful. I love that Pam is instantly on Jim's side. Yeah, Dwight was simply being petty in poaching that client. He did it specifically to screw with Jim but not in the funny prankser way Jim screws with Dwight.

Pam is lovely with everything here. She's already more than equal to Jim in her schemeing. Even moreso since she knows she has the paper trail to have things go her way. Jim being gobsmacked by it all was a great touch.

Love this look into their dynamic.

Author's Response: Very dislikable Dwight moment in this episode - especially because his motive is basically that Jim is trying to work and is upset with Dwight for disturbing him, which is not at all something Dwight should be getting upset about. Oh, Pam's got some game in her own right that she's just not prepared to acknowledge, and of course Jim adores it. Glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2020 01:44 am Title: Vs. The World’s Best Boss

I really like this more proactive Jim! And great premise - really looking forward to reading more. The fake firing deserves more attention than it ever got on the show...
Thanks!

Author's Response: It really does - one of Michael's worst moments, and it always felt like something they should've followed up on. Hope you enjoy a more proactive Pam too, because that's coming...

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 16, 2020 12:37 am Title: Vs. The World’s Best Boss

I like it a lot! I can't pinpoint the exact moments I enjoyed the most; the whole story feels like the one absolutely seamless moment from the original show (I don't know how you do that, but please, continue!). But the moments when Jim fell in that pit of 'get over Pam,' was dragged back with a ping of IM, and thrown back with a mention of Roy... that was hurtful.
And I like that Jim wasn't so perfect and flawless here, I like that you showed that he could be cruel (the reason for it was quite noble, and yet...)
Thank you! Looking forward to the next chapters!

Author's Response: Yeah, Jim's kind of on a roller coaster ride in this one - I think an upset Pam puts him in some bad places, and Season 1 is kind of a hopeless moment for him. And he's definitely taking out his inability to push back against Roy on Michael here - although honestly, Michael's pretty awful in this episode.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 15, 2020 06:37 pm Title: Vs. The World’s Best Boss

I always love when scenes/moments like this get a deep dive and expanded upon! I’m excited to read more. :)

Author's Response: Then you will enjoy the next chapter in particular!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: October 15, 2020 05:39 pm Title: Vs. The World’s Best Boss

First off, I love that you are digging into the different reactions to the new film crew. It's great insight to how they were on day one compared to how normal it becomes for them as time goes on.

It's a nice tie back how he talks about this boring job in episode one and how at the end everything he owes to the same job (you know the line I don't have to repeat it for you)

Very astute line "like they’re saving the rainforest instead of killing it"
and a fun one
He had needed to let off some steam right away, and his supplies were already on-hand. Since he couldn’t stick Michael’s beloved World’s Best Boss mug where he’d have liked to stick it, into the Jello it went.

I like the new twist on how it really began with Jan. Clever. The long con, huh? That he doing it for Pam's honor makes it even better.

Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Yeah, as we've talked about before - there's a lot to be said about the way the documentary crew impacts what's going on onscreen. I felt like that was particularly important for this episode, where Jim and Pam seem noticeably more distant from each other than they'll be even in Diversity Day and Health Care, and other than the presence of the cameras it's hard for me to identify a reason why. Really, imagine Jim and Pam in an office where they actually had to WORK most of the time. Who knows what their story would've looked like? I'm glad you flagged those lines - I feel like Jim would have been very lost as to what exactly the documentary crew was doing there at that point. And the thing about the mug just made me giggle. And it all paid off! Mainly at Jan's expense! (Although also a little bit at Pam's.) Poor Jan. I felt bad, but really, I didn't do anything to her TPTB didn't already do.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 15, 2020 04:04 pm Title: Vs. The World’s Best Boss

I like this expansion of that scene. How distressed Pam was about the fake firing and Jim's reaction to it too. Glad to see Jim just on Pam's side no questions asked. Also that he would have a secondary prank set up, almost as if the mug-in-jello is a decoy prank to distract from the real thing. This looks like it'll be an interesting ride. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Next couple of chapters should come relatively shortly.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans