Reviews For The New Guy
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 08:01 am Title: Wine, Coins, and Crayons

I always enjoy a good Isabel-as-the-voice-of-reason story - and this does a particularly good job illustrating how Pam could have benefited from having that perspective on her life during this time period. I love the use of the coin flip exercise - and the way Isabel ends up making her apply it to Jim, too.

This is a different sort of backstory for the beginning of Roy and Pam's relationship, too. Normally she's portrayed as this sort of Cinderella figure shocked that the King of Valley View High has noticed her... in some ways this feels more realistic to what we know of their relationship, that there were some distinct pros to it that didn't have to do with the relationship itself. Explains a little better why she would've gone out with him again after the the hockey game debacle.

And I think you've used Jim well so far. At this point, Jim is sort of this flashy new thing in her life, and Roy is an established institution. Jim might be the spark behind all this, but it makes a lot of sense that he's sort of a side character amidst the REAL major change in her life - dispensing with Roy.

Can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for this very in depth review. Yup, you got basically everything I was going for in this chapter. Pam having more of a sounding board for Roy's foibles. A better grasp on their entire relationship. And the spark of something new and some perspective on that newness too. I'd love to talk more about everything, but it'll all come out as we move forwards. Thanks again for the great review.

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2020 11:07 am Title: Faded Star

Aww! Such a promising start!
Roy being Roy, meaning that he somewhat cares but not enough to actually do something meaningful about it. And then Kenny... ugh. I hate his guts!
Anyway, I'm glad there's chapter to! Wonderful job, as always!

Author's Response: Wonderful to hear from you again Kuri. Yeah we kinda go off on Roy here. It's kind of a not so guilty pleasure of mine, Roy bashing. Glad you liked this chapter.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2020 05:37 pm Title: Wine, Coins, and Crayons

Someone's been listening to Office Ladies.

Great use of the coin toss  -I really do like her method and seeing how it works in here was a great demonstration. But go back and check the line - seems there may be a typo to fix (exercised). 

Of course, Izzy sees what she doesn't quite know yet - sometimes the best mirror is a best friend. That Pam is drawing more with Jim's appearance is one of those details that really speak to what he brings out in her unlike Roy who it seems she is with out of habit and comfort and sticking with the status quo. Sometimes, a little shake-up is what is needed to bring the bubbles to the surface but sometimes the shake-up can result in a explosion. 

True that - change is often short-lived. Double true- break-ups always suck. And sometimes when the reason to stay together doesn't exist any more, what's left? Memories aren't a reason to stay together.

Love the prank (I'm a sucker for good pranks and I know how hard they are to come up with) and I love this for way it gives Jim an excuse to get in touch and give her a gift that would be meaningful to her.

A great chapter - but what else would I expect from you. 

 

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

I have a 45 minute drive to work. When a new Office Ladies episode drops it's one half on the way there, the other half on the way home. I'm really glad everyone's been liking the coin toss. It just really seemed to fit. Thanks for the heads up on the typo. Thanks for that great insight to Izzy and her being a mirror. Very much what I was going for.

I wish I could take credit for that prank, but it's from the show. The scene where Dwight and Jim are across the conference table from each other and Michael is reading off a bunch of old pranks, the crayons for pens one is in there. But seriously, Jim uses art supplies for a prank and doesn't involve Pam somehow? I doubt it. And of course you're right it gives him a reason to do something nice for her.

Thanks for the great review as always. 

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2020 03:38 pm Title: Wine, Coins, and Crayons

This second chapter did not disappoint! I loved the incorporation of the coin tosses and how they make Pam really focus on her feelings instead of her thoughts. I’m curious as to how the breakup with Roy will go, and I so look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thanks TPB! When I heard of that coin toss technique I thought it would be perfect for Pam. Her feelings and her thoughts are very often at odds so I loved being able to bring in a way for her to focus more on her feelings. The future Roy interactions should be very interesting to be sure.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2020 08:09 am Title: Wine, Coins, and Crayons

I was so happy to see that little nugget from Office Ladies hidden in there! It fit perfectly.

Another great chapter and I always love an Izzy appearance. :) Can’t wait for more!

Author's Response: Glad you like the chapter and the nugget. I really liked that idea when I heard in on the pod and I'm glad it's come across well here too.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 04, 2020 07:32 am Title: Wine, Coins, and Crayons

Perhaps, every one of us should have such a friend as Izzy. Usually, I don't like it when people are curious much about personal life, but not in this case.
And I really, really, really like the coin exercise. I've never read about something like that before, and I think that's amazing detail! Also, Pam's reactions to it are very nice.
Thank you for the great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for a great review. I wish I could claim credit for the coin exercise. That however came right from the source. Last week on Office Laides, Jenna Fichsher said she'll use that technique to help her make desicsions. Glad you liked this one.

Reviewer: MCapps Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2020 07:57 pm Title: Faded Star

I’m not too sure why I thought this was just a one shot. I got to the end and was so disappointed that it was ending...but thankfully I was wrong!! Whew! I was instantly drawn into this and as always found myself visualizing each scene. You always do such a great job with that. I’m curious as to how long Pam will put up with Roy’s crap. Who proposes like that?! Only Roy haha. Glad she stood up for herself though and love the timing of Jim’s text. Looking forward to another great adventure from you Warrior! 🤞🏻

Author's Response: Thanks MCapps. Glad you liked everything. This probably won't be another 20+ chapter epic, but it still should be fun to explore. Glad to have you hear for this one too.

Reviewer: late2theprty Signed [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2020 03:27 pm Title: Faded Star

Nice start. A different take on the Pam/Roy story. Let's see where you go with this one.

Author's Response: Thank you. It's fun to mix things up sometimes. Glad you like it.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 08:59 pm Title: Faded Star

I like how Pam actually stood up for herself against Roy.
That’s the one thing that drove me crazy when she was with him. I do think that her relationship with Roy was stuck mode in high school, even as they became adults. It took P&R to be with other people to have an adult relationship.

Author's Response: Thank you. Pam does stand up for herself against Roy in canon prior to S3. As I've mentioned to others, she had the fight with him during the Dundies and came back to sit with Jim. Still it is very refreshing to write her as more assertive earlier on. Glad you liked it and thanks for the review.

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 06:13 pm Title: Faded Star

Yes, pal! It felt really great that Pam stuck up for herself and I think you nailed her language cadence. Digging this new one!

Author's Response: Thank you. It's a lot of fun to write Assertive Pam like this. Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 06:08 pm Title: Faded Star

First off how am I going to keep up? I finally dove into Silver Wings and now you've added this my reading list (and I too am amidst writing about 3 different fics ). But seriously, so excited to get into another story from you. Always a captivating and layered story from you.


So Roy seems even worse than ever here, hasn't matured at all since high school, takes his girlfriend for granted, doesn't seem to get her at all and is more concerned with what his friends think than her. A real buffoon. But I really like seeing Pam being able to stand up for herself but I do wonder is this the first time she is or is this in reaction to his spontaneous proposal (if you can call it that) or could it have something to do with her "lunch date" ?

The interaction between Roy and Dwight rings very true. In high school, a Roy would never even bother to converse or be civil with a Dwight type but here he kind of has being they work together to and since he's trying get information. But it does seem tough for him to have a normal interaction with someone he'd rather not.


Like the warehouse banter and it seems very on. I always thought Darryl was a lot smarter/more savvy than a lot of his crew and sorta acted less so in the warehouse company. He "code switched" when he needed to. Definitely comes off that way here too.


Oh and to answer how Michael got to be manager .... You may have heard of the Peter Principle but check out Alan Bensons study Promotions and the Peter Principle. It could be a study on the Office.

Was the blue angels comment a nod to season 8 Halloween episode?

So I was my regular wordy self so I've leave it at great first chapter and looking forward to more.

Author's Response:

How to keep up? Just do what I do and not sleep. It's great fun, especially when the hallucinations start talking back. Kidding of course.

Thanks for this great review. I've long held that Roy is the kind of guy who peaked in high school and didn't really progress much from there. Thus his behavior here. More concerned with his own status than the needs or wants of those around him. Thanks for the vote of confidence with the warehouse workers. That was kind of fun to bring to light.

The Peter Principle does seem to fit Micheal well.

Nice catch with the Blue Angles. We'll have to explore that a bit more in upcoming chapters.

Thanks for the review. I always love hearing your thoughts.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 09:24 am Title: Faded Star

Awww, I already love this! What could be better than watching Pam standing her ground and not tolerating Roy's terrible treatment? I'd like to think that he learned the lesson... nah, I wouldn't. I'd like to think that Pam starts to drift from him (and maybe toward the new guy).
Fonderful start and I can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you. It's a lot of fun to play with them like this. Though remember the night of Dundies? Pam does stand up to Roy so that's kind of where I got that inspiration. This should be a lot of fun. Glad you're here for it.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 08:51 am Title: Faded Star

This was cathartic to read because it’s everything we all wanted Pam to say and do for much of seasons 1 and 2. I love when Pam has a backbone! Haha

Very excited to see where this one goes! :)

Author's Response: Thanks WW. I'm looking forward to seeing how this all play out too. Assertive Pam is one of the best Pams. Glad you like it.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 08:28 am Title: Faded Star

You definitely have my attention with this one! A Pam who has found her voice a lot earlier, and in particular a Pam who was finding her voice just as and maybe in response to Jim coming into her life, is an intriguing concept.

This is a really solid Roy voice - he comes through clearly as not a Bad Person, but definitely a guy who is miles from the partner that Pam deserves. The fact that he got the idea to propose from Darryl, and that his motivation is very much to prove something to his friends is very on point - especially paired with the idea that marriage isn't really something he wants to do. That's a guy who takes three years to set a date. (Although props to Darryl here - that's a guy who knows what's up. Maybe in canon he also explained to Roy how a proposal is supposed to work.)

And the individual moments - promising to have food ready and instead providing Pam with a microwave dinner that she has to make herself, the proposal which honestly seems like something he might have planned in advance... I mean, it's so lousy it's hilarious. (I'm also getting strong The Client and Diwali vibes from some of this.)

I'm really looking forward to where you go with this one and seeing how things develop between a Pam who is a little more capable of/prone to standing up for herself and her new friend.

Author's Response:

Thanks darjeeling for this really in depth review. Even in canon Pam has moments where she stands up to Roy. Most notably the night of the Dundies where she comes back to sit next to Jim. So there's healthy dose of that Pam coming through. The rest will be revealed in time, but I'm glad you're here for it.

Thanks for the comments about Roy. I've long held that early Roy is the kind of guy who peaked in high school. That may have worked for a while, but as we'll see it won't work anymore. Glad you liked it. 

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 08:06 am Title: Faded Star

Okay I have to admit that my favorite part of this was Roy’s reaction to Dwight. “Great, the geek.” LOL! But wow I love this premise. Roy’s stupidity seems more off putting than in canon, and I hope Pam can break it off sooner since there’s not a ring on her finger! (I mean, come on, Roy!)

Author's Response: Thank you. Of course Roy thinks that about Dwight. It should be a lot of fun to see where we go with this. Glad to have you here.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 08:02 am Title: Faded Star

I really enjoyed Pam's rendition of the riot act. Roy's clueless buffoonery is so well portrayed in this and I'm glad that's the route you went. The implications of the lunch with Jim were wonderful, and I can't wait to see how you unfold this all!

Author's Response: Thank you. As much as it sometimes seems Pam lets Roy walk all over her, there are times she stands up for herself. See her fight with Roy on the night of the Dundies. Glad you seem to have caught what I was going for with the lunch there. This should be fun.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 07:59 am Title: Faded Star

What a surprise update! You really nailed the whole Roy being a tool personality trait. Then that text message from Jim just calms Pam right down.

I already love the way that this is heading!

Author's Response: Thank you. It's one of my (no-so) guilty pleasures. Dumping on Roy. Glad you liked it.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans