Reviews For The New Guy
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2022 09:53 pm Title: Faded Star

So I binged this now that it's done and DANG! I love the choices you made in the final chapter, and using the teapot that way was beautiful. Great story!

Author's Response: The joys of AU. Being able to change things around a bit for the better.  It was a lot of fun creating the wrap up for this one. Thanks for the review. 

Reviewer: Sam Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2022 10:22 am Title: Full Circle

Well, that was lovely!
Thanks for posting it - and it's just the right read for Valentine's Day.

Author's Response: I had a lot of fun writing it. Nice job reading it today. Glad it felt up to the spirit of the day. Thanks for all the great reviews. 

Reviewer: Sam Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2022 09:48 am Title: Bella Notte

First of all, sorry it's taken me so long to get round to finishing this. Lots of boring things got in the way.
This is extremely sweet, warm and colourful. I thought the meal sounded fantastic, and I really felt the combination of nervousness and excitement of their first official date.
Thought the Aristocats spaghetti moment was lovely too.
Thanks!
P.S. All of the options sounded great, but I'd have picked the seafood...

Author's Response: No worries about the length of time for reviews. Life can get in the way for sure. Glad you liked it all. It was a ton of fun to bring it all together like this. Quick point of order it was Lady and the Tramp, not Aristocats, but they're both Disney movies with talking animals so we're good. 

Reviewer: Sam Signed [Report This]
Date: February 01, 2022 11:09 am Title: Polished

Great fun and banter in section 1, and I loved the competition between them. I'm particularly enjoying sensible and supportive cousin Johnathan, pointing Jim in the right direction, and souped-up Jim in the final part sounds spot on.
Do we get to see the date? Hope so!

Author's Response: The banter at the mini-golf and go karting was a favorite part to write for sure. Same with adding in Johnathan. Jim's style did get better through the years, I'm just hitting fast forward. And yes, we see the date. Thanks.

Reviewer: Sam Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2022 08:20 am Title: Closure

That was great! I loved the Roy / Dwight conflict, and I thought the Darryl / Roy conversation was excellent. Your Darryl is very realistic as a voice of reason but also an exasperated friend. Nice to see an expanded version of the Pam/Roy 'closure' chat over tea.
I'm really enjoying this - thanks!

Author's Response: Glad you liked how everything went down between Roy, Dwight, and Darryl. I wanted to show that Roy is willing to listen, but only to someone he really respects. Darryl as his boss fits that bill since clearly Darryl is in a position of authority over Roy. Considering in canon Roy does smooth out some edges I wanted to bring that in too.

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2022 07:56 am Title: Good Taste

I'm loving the cooking, and the gentle evolution of Pam and Jim's relationship, as mentored by Izzy. She seems like a sensible lass.
And Roy!! Looking forward to seeing what happens next...
(P.S.... I'm going to make that sandwich - sounds lovely! I've actually done something like the camping tin-foil packages, but you've inspired me to haul out the gas barbecue and pretend it's not grey and miserable out.)

Author's Response: Glad you liked how things are going with Jim and Pam. Yes, Izzy is sensible but she's also willing to give Pam a needed push. Hope you like the sandwiches. They've become a favorite around our house.

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2022 07:43 am Title: First Cuts

This is really nice storytelling. I like the inclusion of Izzy and Johnathan), and I loved Jim being useful in a kitchen! Excited to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Welcome back to this one. Izzy and Johnathan have been a lot of fun. I've used them as the sounding boards I think Pam and Jim needed but didn't get pre-camera and early seasons.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 11:19 am Title: Full Circle

Well THAT was a proposal and a half! Wowzer! Could not have been more different from Roy’s ‘proposal’. This is the kind of thing Jim should have done, you smashed it out the park. Such a sweet fluffy fluff of a story. I loved it! Wish I could give you more jellybeans!!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. I 100% wanted to draw comparisons between the two proposals and which one Pam would say yes too. Glad it paid off for you. Fun to write Jim using his creativity for good rather than just pranks. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 09:45 am Title: Bella Notte

Loved their date! And it was so sweet it was at Christopher’s, that was a fun crossover. Glad these kids are finally there!!

Author's Response: Max was kind enough to let me borrow her character and setting. I wanted to do it justice because I love that place so much. Glad you liked their date.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 09:24 am Title: Polished

Hurrayyy they have a date!!!
Loved Jim’s narration of the mini golf and excellent advice from Jonathan. Fun chapter!

Author's Response: That's what happens when you take good advice Jim, things work out well. Playful flirty JAM is always a treat to write for sure.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 09:01 am Title: Closure

Great advice from Darryl there! Glad Roy listened to him. I was holding my breath for a little there as I thought Pam was going to cave in or Roy was gonna try and win her back. But PHEW!!!

Author's Response: Figured if Roy wouldn't listen to Pam, he would listen to a guy he actually respects. Seemed to stick too. Also, it was a nice way to bring in more lines from canon. But no, Pam's done with Roy now that she's had a taste of something much better.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 08:42 am Title: Good Taste

Noooo what is Roy doing back?!

Author's Response: What's Roy doing back? Not listening to Pam that's what.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 08:09 am Title: First Cuts

Eshk Jim listen to Jonathan, slow down! I like that you’ve made Jim a foodie here, very sweet

Author's Response: Yup, good advice from the cousin. Cooking with Jim has been a favorite in this story. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 04:18 am Title: Fancy Dinner

Ahh Jonathan is here!! This makes me happy! I’m so glad Pam broke it off with Roy, I just hope it sticks and he leaves her alone!

Author's Response: Cousin Johnathan to the rescue indeed. There's no way the overgrown teenager that is Roy has any chance against a man like Johnathan here. It was fun to write a much more assertive Pam here too.

Reviewer: Yellowberry22 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 04:02 am Title: Full Circle

I’ve enjoyed this story so much. I was manifesting a new chapter and you really came through. Thank you for this delightful read, I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve read the cooking scene. Absolutely perfect - as usual!

Author's Response: I'm thrilled you liked it so much. It was a ton of fun to write so I'm very glad it was so well received. Cooking with Jim is one of my favorite parts too.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 03:29 am Title: Full Circle

Right off the bat, I see what you did here and it was so delightfully clever, making us think it was the next day instead of a full year later. You know how I feel about time jumping and this was *chef's kiss* perfect.

Launching right into another scavenger hunt - how romantic and how Jim (these elaborate plans are so much better when used to show Pam how much he loves hers than to send Dwight on a chase for the DM grail).

I adored all the tokens - from the canon of your own story and from the canon of the show - both equally magical. Including all the friends and family was a nice touch too - and I loved your use of Jim's niece and bouncing on his heels nephew (and the way little Jason almost gave it away).

Nice touch to give us a taste of what their year was like. More cleverness in getting her to Larissa's so she could get glammed up by the sisters buying Jim time to set up the big reveal - at CHRISTOPHER's!!! Love that this is where you had him not only give her the canon teapot but ask the question ON THE BRIDGE...oh and your description of the bridge and area was exactly how I see it.

ahem - circularity - another of my favorites in storytelling and the spider rings to get her size - loved it. 

Having the whole gang there to celebrate was beautiful and loved all the canon speeches and of course, Beth's comments about the points (though only a select few might know what that is about -you might be overestimating my readership)

Of course Jim hit everything on her list! Having her move in at the end was like a little bonus gift for us.

And the last line was a great way to bring it full circle and close up this delightful story.

Not sure i have any Jellybeans left but you deserve a bunch more for this one.

Bravo - well done! 



Author's Response: Loved that you picked up on that detail from the opening of this one. Always kind of fun to play a trick on the reader like that. Jim's turn to set up a scavenger hunt for Pam this time around. He can use his pranking powers for good and that's what we're seeing here. Glad the new set of Bonus Gifts landed well. It's the same spirit of the originals, but as we're AU we can create some new memories this time. Also, a fun way to fill in the gaps of the previous year. I'm really glad to have done Christopher's justice. Thanks once more for letting me borrow that wonderful location.

I figured you'd catch Beth's comment there. How could I not have her mention the game they play? Yup, Jim hit everything on the list without Pam having to tell him. Always fun to write them so in tune with each other.

Thanks as always for all your great and very detailed reviews. I always look forward to them.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 01:52 am Title: Wine, Coins, and Crayons

Great work from Izzy there to get Pam to think clearly, I use the same trick too! And cute messages from Jim getting Pam all happy and flustered, love it

Author's Response: The coin flip trick comes right from Jenna Fisher. She mentioned it in an episode of "Office Ladies," and I had the perfect opportunity to use it. Izzy has been a delight in this story too.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 12:49 am Title: Faded Star

Great first chapter to kick this off! Loved the ‘proposal’, felt very much like how they probably would have got engaged. Amazing that Roy has no clue was he’s done wrong, very canon like.

Author's Response: Thanks for being here. Yeah, Roy's his usual oafish self to start out here. Not really proposing because he wants to get married, but to save his own wounded pride. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2022 05:40 pm Title: Full Circle

This was just delightfully fluffy and romantic and I loved it all.

*Izzy just smiled at her friend. “Good thing you two are so adorable together. Makes all this bearable.*

Well isn’t that just Jim and Pam in a nutshell.

*Reverently Jim reached into the teapot to pull out the small velvet box resting within. “I know it’s only been a year since our first official date. I also know that was the last first date I ever want to go on.”*

This is such a great line. And how you pulled in the teapot and everything was so sweet.

Lovely ending for a lovely story!

Author's Response: Thank you. I had a ton of fun writing everything. I've heard of JAM fans using teapots in proposals, so I figured it would be fun to add that element in here. Glad you liked it. Jim at his best is a romantic and I loved leaning into that. Glad to have you here for this one and that you liked it so much.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2022 01:41 pm Title: Full Circle

Ah, this is a lovely way to wrap this one up. Charmingly fluffy and very Jam, and a great journey back through their memories - both the ones we got to see and the ones we didn't. And pulling their friends and family in is a great touch for the *official* start of their lives together. (Jason nearly spilling the beans about the end of the night was *very* appropriate.)

Oh, and Jim managing to check all the boxes on Pam's perfect proposal list was too sweet.

Really well done on this one, my friend.

Author's Response: Thanks DJC! Glad I could keep it all fun and fluffy. It was a great time creating another memory lane scavenger hunt for our favorite couple. Thanks as ever for your support.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2022 12:12 pm Title: Full Circle

You warned me about the fluff level of this chapter, and WOW you were not kidding. I love that Jim makes a scavenger hunt for Pam. It’s not what they did in the show, but it still feels very *them.* And you I’ve said this before, but I seriously love all the thought you put into Pam’s outfits. Haha it’s such a great touch, and I always appreciate the visuals.

This story was so great! Such a cool premise and obviously tons of fluff. My favorite.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it all so much. Yes, bonus gifts are different than canon, but the same spirit is there. Thanks for all the great comments as this one progressed. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2021 02:45 pm Title: Bella Notte

I feel you on the trying and failing to write shorter chapters, but - I’m very glad this one was this length! And longer chapters are always a treat, really. I really enjoyed Pam and Izzy’s conversation at the beginning of this (and Izzy pointing out that they’ve already been on several dates, which: thank you!) The dress Pam ends up picking sounds gorgeous (as is the image of Jim in a vest), and I loved this line for his reaction to her - ‘it made her feel warm, like velvet brushing against her skin’. Their entire date is just lovely from start to finish, I love that she got to meet Jonathon too. And then her pulling him into her apartment by the tie!! As much as I love Jim being a perfect gentleman, I’m very glad that Izzy was right, haha - this was a brilliant ending. Amazing chapter!

Author's Response: I got to writing this one and found I just wanted to get it all out there without breaking it up. Izzy has been a ton of fun throughtout this story. The sounding board and girl friend Pam really needed early on. Izzy is able to see through all the excuses Pam offers up. Glad you liked the dress descriptions. I left a link on Discord that shows what it really looks like in case you're interested. The date was a ton of fun to write. As was writing Pam just going for what and who she wants. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2021 02:50 am Title: Faded Star

I have no idea how I missed this story, Warrior. Great start.

Author's Response: I'm glad you've made you made your way here. Hope you continue to enjoy.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 04:53 pm Title: Bella Notte

GET IT, PAM

This has been a delightful way to spend my afternoon. Fluffy and wonderful. I could read an entire fic with sommelier George (who, incidentally, I pictured as Tony from L&tT anyway, haha)

Looking forward to the er, resolution. ;)

Author's Response: I'm delighted you spend the afternoon exploring this and left such wonderful reviews. George was a lot of fun to write, but now I'm kicking myself that I didn't directly put Tony from L&tT there. It should be a lot of fun with what I have planned for the last chapter. Thanks again for your comments.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 04:22 pm Title: Closure

* “Hey Pam,” Toby had approached the table.
“Yeah?” She looked up and tried to keep her voice even.
“It’s just if you and Roy aren’t in a relationship anymore, you’ll have to update your disclosure form.”*

Omg, NOT NOW, TOBY!! (channeling Jim) seriously though Toby, pick a better time lol

I love the way you write Darryl. I can hear Craig delivering those lines. Bravo!

(Also, love the origin story of the groobah)

Author's Response: Yeah not a great time Toby. Probably why he never really had a chance with her. Not great with timing that one. Glad you liked Darryl. I figured if anyone was going to get through to Roy it would have been him. It was fun to add the fluffy bits too like the groobah.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans