Reviews For Murder in Savannah
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2021 08:12 pm Title: Chapter 17

I’ve essentially forgotten how to read fic, but I need you to know that in the one moment I’ve had where I’ve felt lucid enough to function I wanted to catch up on my fave Savannah murder mystery.
This was perfect.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2021 10:15 am Title: Chapter 17

Starting out with a scene of genral chaos and for it to be brought to an end with Michael's man-child ways was just the touch of levity and call back to canon that was needed. Though I also had images of Steve's character in the movie "Evan Almighty," when Jim Carey's character is forcing Steve's character to speak gibberish on the air as a newscaster. I digress.

Very much feels like something out of a Poirot novel there in the libray. Jim figures out the picture and lays out the case. Finally it all makes sense and the truth is more tragic than anything. My heart breaks for Erin, what she'd gone through and what led her to do what she did.

Then yet another twist. Toby. Really he's just the worst here isn't he? If he's been undercover this long and everything that had been going on with Erin had been going on as long as it seems, it stands he could have broken cover quite a while ago and been able to get Packer on any number of charges. But no, he waits till Erin is at this low point to slap cuffs on her? Dick move of him for sure. And saying he's acting under the authority of Philly PD? You're a long way out of your juristidition there pal.

Also there are three dead men. Packer and Roy we know what happened to them. What about Creed? I may be mistaken, but have we figured out happened to him too? I may just need to go back and re-read, oh the horrors, to figure that one out.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2021 12:29 am Title: Chapter 17

Ooooh! BIG chapter. Very engrossing read.

Reviewer: radontestkit Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2021 06:22 pm Title: Chapter 17

Like Jim, I felt a huge sense of relief when we found out that the killer wasn't Pam. All these twists and turns have me on the edge of my seat! I can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: 3vasectomies Signed [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2021 12:59 pm Title: Chapter 17

Okay, I didn't review last chapter because I was and still am busy, but after this... I have feelings. Good feelings, though.

I usually save this to the end, but... Erin. Holy balls. The motive, the method, the breakdown, it all makes sense. So much for my crackpot theories. That on top of her fate just tears my heart, the poor girl never had a chance, and it makes Packer out to be an even bigger POS, as it's something so in-character that no one thinks about. I love Erin in general so I'm just here hoping the best for her, like a reduced sentence or something. The moment with Meredith tugged on my heartstrings, as well.

And we finally get to Phyllis and Andy's deals. It's interesting you kept Andy/Angela for this, and her conveying the awkwardness of that tidbit was great. Michael and Dwight are, of course, a treat, and Michael talking over Stanley was a very subdued but appreciated S4 callback.

Toby: Undercover Cop was genius. As I read on, I figured he'd be a red herring, but not only does this contextualize his actions but also his treatment of Jim, the *investigative reporter*. Someone who could possibly sensationalize the situation to sell papers, an action he'd find repugnant. Question: considering he's the Mr. Greene of this story, *will* he go home and sleep with his wife?

Lastly, my favorite moment of stories in this genre is the culprit reveal, and Jim's poise, tact, and logical deduction was a great time. And, gotta admit, relieved it wasn't Pam. Hopefully they'll live happily ever after.

Like darjeelingandcoke, I look forward to Creed. Honestly, I'd love it if it wasn't Roy or Ryan and Kelly or any of them, just an explanation that is inherently Creed Bratton.

Can't wait to see how this wraps up!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2021 11:05 am Title: Chapter 17

Okay, so first things first - we're going to ignore all the guesses I got wrong, and focus on the fact that a) I predicted the staff's involvement VERY early, b) honed in on Erin early (although I then forgot about it) and c) I caught the hint that Packer had been sexually exploiting the staff. He's the worst and the world is better off without him, even in fictional form.

I thought this was a good twist - you clearly laid out all the information we needed to know it beforehand and provided a thoroughly in-character motive without making it obvious who you were pointing to... and her making such a public confession felt like it made emotional sense in a way that they sometimes don't in this genre.

This was a good use of Michael, I thought - comically buffoonish, but with a good heart. Just, one that he can only express through comic buffoonery. Dwight is charmingly Dwight-ish, too - I can easily picture his holding up this key piece of evidence and then getting flustered when no one else grasps the significance, and his immediately shifting away from his sense that Pam and Jim are guilty as soon as evidence is presented that reasonably suggests otherwise fits with his fundamental sense of honor.

Look, I'm Team Erin here - but Toby being an undercover cop actually makes me feel a bit better about some of his earlier actions. Turns out it was less petty and more a guy trying to do his job. Which is a new leaf for Toby! Also: in addition to not knowing what Packer was up to, the fact that Creed's death has not been explained has not escaped my notice. I'm on a roll, so I'm gonna go back to my suspicions of Schoolboy Rowe. Or possibly Kelly and Ryan? They seem like they're up to something. (Oooooh... or maybe Pam killed Creed! Not for any reason, just to see if she could!)

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2021 07:17 pm Title: Chapter 17

OMG!!! This chapter was intense, and that ending was NOT what I expected. I love how you've woven this story together. I expect the next chapter will be just as shocking. Can't wait!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: November 14, 2021 04:46 pm Title: Chapter 17

ERIN?? Sweet, little, doesnt know how a camera works, Erin?? Literally the last person I expected, but that made the reveal so much better. But now I need the next chapter immediately because I also did NOT expect Toby to be a cop and for him to arrest her! What is happening and how do I get more of it?

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2021 09:34 am Title: Chapter 16

I know I’ve probably said this before but the way you weave all of these details together and make it all so gripping and compelling is just so, so talented.

I’m literally holding my breath waiting to see what new twist or turn you are going to throw at us. I love it so much.

Also the rollercoaster of emotions Jim goes through in this chapter is brutal but that natural protective thing that kicks in at the end is absolutely delicious. I just adore this story.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 08, 2021 07:30 pm Title: Chapter 16

Twists, turns, twists, turns, and of course all the JAM angst and grief to go along with it. Along with a good dose of Office shenanigans.

Makes sense that Jim would be hesitant right then with Pam. He's trying to figure things out while also balancing his feelings for her. It's enough to make anyone feel a bit faint.

Interesting backstory with Meredith too. Packer clearly was an ass and had his mitts into all sorts of things. Lots of reasons why any number of people would want to off him.

Dwight there you go throwing a wrench into things as is your want. Though I really liked Jim's snarky comeback to Angela there. Nice to see her get back some of the grief she gives everyone else.

Jim punches Dwight! Then of course Dwight blurts out what he thinks has happened. Why does that feel like when he was trying to figure out who smoked the joint in the parking lot and coming to all the wrong conclusions. Being strong about it yet wrong about it all the same. Still this also feels like the stakes have ramped up once more. Especially if everyone is aware of Jim and Pam as portrayed here. Great job as always.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 06, 2021 07:59 am Title: Chapter 16

Great to see this back again, a gripping read as usual; and well, that was a bit of a twist! Or, is it a red herring…?

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2021 10:10 pm Title: Chapter 16

I dont know why but I became suspicious of Kelly during this chapter. Honestly couldnt really tell you why, but Im keeping an eye on her. And also it figures that once I tell you that Im going to suspect Meredith you make it seem like its not Meredith. But honestly at this point who knows. Maybe it was one of the horses who came back for revenge. If its Pam just let her get away with it pls

Author's Response: how’d you know that it was a horse

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2021 09:20 pm Title: Chapter 16

"He had a hard time imagining Stanley working up the energy to strangle a man" - undeniably true.

Meredith's an interesting candidate I haven't thought much about. Certainly both in canon and in this universe, she seems like the sort of person who might have a certain degree of darkness at her core, and also with a greater degree of savvy than you might detect at first glance. You did really well establishing her as a legitimate threat than declawing her a bit in relatively swift fashion. (And the prostitution bit makes me think Kelly had been asked to provide a different "service" to Packer that she was thinking of when she glanced at Jim's unmade bed. Ugh.)

Oooof. Brutal spot to leave this on. A split in the all-too-tenuous Dwight-Jim alliance... although I appreciate you giving Dwight a win here. Although I'm guessing the fact that he's making the reveal at this point means it's probably not Pam. Sigh. The dream of #PammeFatale lives on. And I love the subtle hint earlier that Dwight's going to reach that conclusion with Jim briefly considering that Dwight might be hunting for the murderer to put folks off the scent.

Also, thank you for in all universes making Ryan the absolute worst.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2021 04:00 pm Title: Prologue

I'm so behind with this review, my apologies.

This story just keeps better and better. The Pam of this story is so mysterious. We know she likes Jim, but we really don't know much more about her. So this most recent chapter makes things extra juicy. I'm on the edge of my seat for what happens next.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: August 21, 2021 11:12 pm Title: Chapter 15

BT. bt. B. T.
How do you keep ending chapters like this & expecting me to just be chill about it?! There is no chill here. Zero. Please update yesterday. I can’t deal.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 18, 2021 03:27 am Title: Chapter 15

YAY. I'M SO HAPPY TO SEE THIS UPDATED. *BLOWS HORN*

There's some really great writing in here depicting Pam and Jim as frail, flawed humans who would certainly LIKE to not have their first reaction to Roy's death be about what it means for them, but who can't avoid thinking about it. The need for comfort and closeness and full expression of life in the face of death comes across as organic here.

Hmmmmm. Feels like we ruled out a couple of suspects in this one. Feels like the reveal of the rope is too early for it to actually be Pam (although as I'm writing this, it occurs to me you might find something similar in everyone's room, and maybe the real killer just replaced theirs with Pam's... easy enough to do if you have staff help). The dream of Pamme Fatale is gone, but not forgotten. Although it does raise the question of whether or not someone is trying to specifically frame Pam. Same with Toby's accusation - if it's really him, it's early in the game still for him to be playing this card. (Although as Toby points out, complications with her family's future aside these deaths are breaking in a *very* convenient way for Pam. Hmmmmmmmmmm.)

Erin on the other hand is all sorts of suspicious here once again. (Her wanting Jim's shirt has me narrowing my eyes.) Is she covering for Jim, or herself? Feels unlikely she'd be working on her own if it's her - more like she's been pulled into something and is in over her head... My new guess? Michael. He's the person I most medium suspect.

Reviewer: 3vasectomies Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2021 07:57 pm Title: Chapter 15

Jim's taking a lot of this on. His mind is at too many places at once to focus on anything. It's great that he's there for Pam and they've confessed their feelings, but what now? He doesn't have the money or life that Roy sustained. He's just a journalist. He still lied to her, it was to protect her feelings sure, but what happens if she learns the truth? As much as I want to root for these two and hope they make it, there're too many indicators that this'll probably lead to a tragic conclusion. Hopefully justice and love will win in the end.

The Rope! This was a step in the right direction to be sure, but the fact it was in Pam's room, coupled with his notebook... Pam being the killer is a popular theory (since Jim deduced it at the start of the whole thing) but there's also the fact that there's more than a single killer thanks to Roy's drunken confession and eventual murder, but given all the motivations, the connections that they have not only with Packer but also with *each other*, the monumental risks of the public finding out their secrets... the person behind all this must be a master manipulator. Maybe performing some sort of "domino effect" or something to that effect by having them kill each other off one by one, leaving their tracks clean. So yeah, Pam could easily be screwing with his mind by placing clues by her, or the mastermind is doing it, *or* the mastermind is sending *others* to plant the evidence for them by threatening the multiple killers that they'll reveal of their secrets if they don't comply. So yeah, even though Toby couldn't possibly be the murderer at that moment, who's to say he's not pulling the strings? Or Pam? Or even Phyllis? I need to reread to see who *Roy's* killer could possibly be, and why they were blackmailed/motivated to do so.

Well-written as always!

Reviewer: HazyGirl Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2021 06:40 pm Title: Prologue

I was so happy to see a new chapter was posted! The intrigue continues . . . 🙂

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2021 04:31 pm Title: Chapter 15

Yeah, like Jim I don't think we're any closer to figuring out whodunit. Toby discovering Roy dead at Jim's feet like that, especially this harder, angrier Toby certainly is something to consider. Jim is just blown all over the place. Feeling guilty about Roy, angry about Toby, scared for Pam, and of course somehow he still feels like he's the one that needs to figure all this out.

Makes sense that with his feelings for Pam going the way they are that he'd want to run to her arms. However she shuts him out at first. There could be host of reasons for that to be sure. Then of course the big twist there at the end. Packer's murder weapon seems to have come from Pam's room. That's big and I'm sure will only feed into the whirling thoughts spinning around Jim's mind.

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2021 08:00 am Title: Chapter 15

BT NO, you can’t leave me this way! As soon as Jim couldn’t find the other tie I automatically started scanning ahead to see Jim make the connection. Ahhhh. I really didn’t want Pam to be the murderer because that would mean she’s been deceiving Jim this whole time. :’c I’m just going to hope that Aly is right and somebody is sleepwalking!

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2021 06:41 am Title: Prologue

So happy to see a new chapter! I may have read it at 2:30am and it may have prompted me to have some very strange dreams but it's totally with it.

I have more questions than ever now. Why are the employees still working like maniacs with Packer gone? Who is the murderer? I have a theory. Everyone in the house! We need to talk.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2021 10:15 pm Title: Chapter 15

The GASP i just let out at the end. What the HECK does that mean?! Did Roy kill packer?? Or pam?? Or someone trying to frame them?? I mention this every time but im still not letting go of the slim possibility that its sleepwalking jim. Im shocked, confused, and needing the next chapter last week please.

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2021 06:00 am Title: Chapter 14

I'm catching up on jam fics but wow so many questions about motivations and secrets in this update! This fic just keeps getting better and better!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 27, 2021 11:12 am Title: Chapter 12

You know what you did with that bathtub scene and I am in belief that you are, in fact, the murderer. I hope you’re proud.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: June 18, 2021 03:13 pm Title: Chapter 14

Oooh, that’s an answer to the Roy backstory that I definitely wasn’t expecting. You are so good at this.
“ Maybe they could just forget it all and stay locked in his bedroom, sustaining only on each other, and when someone came for them at the end of the week they could say “there’s been a murder? We didn’t know, we’ve been too busy here.”” Would also read this story, not going to lie.
Okay. Okay. Okay. Never before has a storyline about Roy been so damn interesting. I am concerned that the implication will be that Jim pushed him down the stairs & all of a sudden will be suspect number one for everything…
As always, your writing is flawless & I am in awe of your talent.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans