Reviews For Murder in Savannah
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 27, 2020 02:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh BT! What a glorious setting of the scene. Your writing is so vivid, I feel like I’m the one stepping into the Savannah humidity. I’m already very intrigued to see where this is going - and to end it like that?! How dare you.
(But also, maybe I’m now a little glad that I have been so damn unforgivably slow to read this so that I can keep reading it immediately!)

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: December 27, 2020 12:08 pm Title: Chapter 7

Not only you killed one of your secondary characters (side note: yay!), but you also killed me.
I'd like to die like that a million times again, though.
And, perhaps, that's the only review my damaged brain could form, sorry.
P.S. Nope, not the only one. My bets on Toby!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: December 27, 2020 11:23 am Title: Chapter 6

A quick stop on my reading:
"he was born to do just that."
My heart exploded. The whole 'cuddling together' scene is the sweetest, the most tender thing ever, and I want to save it in eternity and let you know that this is genius.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: December 27, 2020 10:27 am Title: Chapter 7

Where do I even start?? I totally get why Jim would be upset after waking up alone. It definitely would have seemed like Pam was going to him for comfort because she knew he wouldnt turn her down. But then finding out what actually happened? I was seeing red right there with Jim. I dont even care, thank GOODNESS Packer is dead. Good riddance. I am nervous tho that Pam is gonna be a suspect because of that situation. I wonder what Jim will think.

But more importantly, their confessions on the dock. Ugh. I am so glad that Pam admitted her feelings as well. And that she was the one to initiate the kiss.

As of right now my guess for the murderer is Creed or, wild card, Bob Vance (Vance Refrigeration). We’ll see how utterly wrong i am eventually. Again, this story is amazing and so captivating.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 22, 2020 03:38 am Title: Chapter 6

"Once again he reminded himself that he was here to work, damnit, not find the love of his life." Weeelll, too late Jim.

I love this so much. The bath. The bed! All of it.

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: December 20, 2020 05:37 pm Title: Chapter 6

I never want this fic to end!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 20, 2020 10:42 am Title: Chapter 6

Ooh, the plot thickens. Why was Pam roaming around in the night, cold and damp? And the fact that she knocked on Jim's door and asked to sleep with him in his bed? Wow. I love how you're drawing out the tension here.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 19, 2020 04:51 pm Title: Chapter 6

More and more layers added. Now Creed is in play with a grudge and saying to a reporter that he would like to kill Packer. Kevin seemingly being set up as the dim-witted fall guy seems to make sense too. Just when it feels like we get a few more piece to this puzzle out pop a few more with more and more questions raised.

And under it all is Jim pining after Pam. And then there she is. There's that crystal bridge again and there goes Jim walking out on it. Though this time Pam sought him out. There are still so many questions about everything going on. Can't wait to see where it all goes.

Until then I'll just bask in the image of Jim and Pam snuggled up in bed like that.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: December 19, 2020 01:38 pm Title: Chapter 6

A breakthrough! And courtesy of Kevin of all people! I adore this version of Kevin and how the Kevin-Jim bond shines through. You really nailed his voice.

Fixing games and possible ties to organized crimes? Something mysterious with horses? Packer has his fingers in a lot of different pies.

I love you giving a human dimension to Creed here. Poor guy. He's definitely heading for a false arrest for murder, though. And maybe a totally legitimate arrest for the growing of marijuana.

Oh, Toby.

This scene with Pam at the end is incredibly sweet. Poor girl! At least she's got someone there to get her through the night now. (Actually, were this not fanfic, I might be kinda suspicious of Pam, too. If, say, Roy were to turn up dead, she's taking a lot of the steps she'd need to get Jim sent up for it.)

You know, if I were Jim at this point and discovering all the ways Packer is corrupt and everything he has on everyone he invited, I might be starting to get a liiiiiiiittle concerned about what he might have on David Wallace.

New theory: victim is Packer, killer is Phyllis, but indirectly. (She called Bob, who is secretly for a killer for hire. You know, Bob Vance, Vance Assassinations.)

Reviewer: 3vasectomies Signed [Report This]
Date: December 19, 2020 12:00 pm Title: Chapter 6

I called Kevin's role, I CALLED it! Poor guy's just down on his luck and being taken advantage of because he's slow. It's like the canon but much more intense.

Stanley has more of a temper here than he does in the show. I love how you heightened his infidelity with the addition of Teri's CANCER, it makes him that much more unlikable. Not expected, but I dig it, especially considering it gives him a motive. His conversation with Phyllis only heightens things, and I wonder how she plays into all this.

A lot of neat interactions here. I love seeing Erin happy, that's always a treat. And even though we don't get a good look at Andy yet, you've got him down pat.

On Creed... this is the sanest he's ever been. The job you gave him was perfect, and his backstory is so friggin' sad. I hope there are some Creed-isms for us to enjoy soon!

I am LIVING for all these roles that the background characters have. Both Ed Truck and Jan a few chapters ago got me thinking of other characters and their place in this universe. Like Katy can be a successful singer on par with Andy (Amy Adams can sing and has played a role as such before) and Karen can be a fellow journalist working her way to the top, further hindered by her gender.

Ryan and Kelly's joke of a relationship is still there, and you're clearly having fun with it. Good.

Okay, it's Toby. I'm obviously taking a guess here, but he's only shown up twice and he makes my skin crawl. While in canon it can be argued that his creepiness is the result of his life being a wreck and him not doing anything about it resulting in his solemn, pathetic cadence, this Toby just frightens me. He's just... snippy with Jim for no reason. Maybe because Jim is everything he wants to be? And, oh dear Lord, I fear for Pam.

On that subject, I appreciate that you're making Jim hypervigilant when it comes to his job. He still has his aspirations as a big-time journalist, so he can't let Pam completely take over when he has a story to chase. That being said, their friendship is to the point where they trust one another, so at the very least he's made a friend. The ending moment of this chapter is pure feel-good fluff and it's an indication that they're gonna make it out of this and live happily ever after. Again, I could be wrong, but I know that I and the rest of the readership wants a positive outcome out of all of this.

This is the second time I've read a subtle "Casino Night" dress slip-in, nice.

This fic is so engrossing and dammit you got me, hook line, and sinker. I patiently await the murders!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: December 19, 2020 09:47 am Title: Chapter 6

BT. I really just want to know what Packer is up to, who's going to die (my guess is Packer), and what is going on. Every story you share in this draws me further in, I love it. I genuinely felt bad for Creed when he said that Packer had sold the horses. I hope Creed is able to get them back/get new ones soon. And then the ending with Pam wanting Jim to hold her? Jim truly must have been dying in the best way possible, because I know I was. I wonder what had happened to make her do that, but really who cares if it means we get a special scene like that. I can't wait to see what happens in the morning.

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 16, 2020 04:49 am Title: Chapter 5

Fantastic! That's the word I can describe this chapter. So many moments I like — an overheard conversation in the library (I cackled at the line about 'John' — what a lovely touch!) and Jim/Pam bathroom exchange and his thoughts (oh, I had goosebumps when I read that part! love it!). And colliding with Toby... I like Toby here (even if he turns out to be a murderer — always watch the quietest ones), and even more, I like that Jim had another perspective on his own deeds.
Thank you so much for your wonderful story and excellent writing!
P.S. I'm sure Stanley was talking with Phyllis. I know you won't give out anything, but I still like to make assumptions.
P. P. S. I feel that the next time Jim saw Packer, he was a corpse :) I can’t say that I’m sad about that, though…

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 06:56 pm Title: Chapter 5

“I don’t want to intrude.” That was a lie, he wanted very much to intrude in whatever way she would allow.
I mean. Ya. You got him there.

"He could have sworn he felt his heart explode before stitching itself back into the shape of her."
I just...I can't. I--
How do you words? That's fuckin' beautiful.

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 06:26 pm Title: Chapter 5

“Love Amid the Spanish Moss”

MA'AM

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 06:21 pm Title: Chapter 4

"Before Jim knew what was happening, Michael propped his foot up on the table next to Jim’s chair and leaned into it, almost like a lunge, but very close to Jim’s face."

ma'am. stop that.

"Jim stared at his clasped hands, afraid that if he took his eyes off of them they’d do something stupid like rub down Pam’s back or trace a finger down her cheek."

*ma'am*
*stop that*

The entire scene in the rain? Where he's staring at her and she's staring at him and--
How? Are you?? So fucking poetic???

This whole entire thing is about MURDER and I just--

You are an AU kween. Never stop (despite what I demanded earlier in this review).

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 05:20 pm Title: Chapter 5

More and more layers coming into everything here. Sounds like Stanley, and was that Phyllis in the library, are also under Packer's thumb. Toby showing up like that is also quite interesting. I got it! It was the butler, in the dining room, with the candlestick! Or was that supposed to be Colonel Mustard? Not sure I never really played a lot of Clue.

Then of course to add to everything swirling in Jim's thoughts is the image of Pam just on the other side of the door naked in the tub. Considering the connection they've built up and his total enamoration with her, yeah that would be quite a bit more than distracting. Though well done Jim for staying the gentleman.

Ominous last line there. It feels like Packer is about to meet his fate, however it's also enigmatic enough that it could be something else. Still loving this story. Considering it's a murder-mystery story and we haven't had a murder yet, it proves how skilled a writer you are to keep this all so compelling.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 04:15 pm Title: Chapter 5

Happy to see this week’s edition!

I love this version of Stanley. No matter what the universe, he remains an intense cruciverbalist, an insatiable adulterer, and someone doesn’t give a hoot about your feelings. Certainly he’s a man with plenty of secrets he might kill to keep… if he could summon up the energy.

Nice seeing Jim getting more and more aware of Packer’s strings, and I’m glad he’s taking better care of his notebook… although I fear it’s too late.

This is a good use of Toby – being Packer’s much-maligned staff manager is basically this universe’s version of running H.R. in Scranton. I’m guessing it’s not Toby, in tribute to Toby not being the Scranton Strangler.

I love this very sweet and very sexy moment with Pam in the bath and Jim’s mind essentially needing to reboot, and Jim trying to work while the moment invades his senses. It’s just very well written. And his use of the fine arts to discuss how he would describe his first sight of her is a nice touch.

I am eagerly awaiting the next chapter after that ending. New theory: Murder on the Orient Express. The victim will be Packer, and the murder will be a conspiracy of virtually everyone.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 12:46 pm Title: Chapter 5

I just love this story so much, BT. It’s written so well (no surprise) and so intriguing!

“He could have sworn he felt his heart explode before stitching itself back into the shape of her.” This might be my favorite sentence ever. Beautiful description.

Can’t wait for more!!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 12:16 pm Title: Chapter 5

This was a very interesting chapter. Lots of information and ugh... really getting hot in the end.
I'm looking forward to the next one. Thanks a lot for sharing

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 14, 2020 10:50 am Title: Chapter 5

That last sentence made me audibly gasp. Oh man, this is just getting better and better. Jim's reaction to Pam being in the bath and her trusting him to stay was perfect. It almost reminded me of Jim reacting to Pam in his bedroom during his BBQ, just on a whole other level. Your description of Toby was perfect as well. I'm glad you've included him!! This is a great story, BT!!

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 07, 2020 01:29 am Title: Chapter 4

I love that the balcony is their little respite where they really connect and that you tied in the ‘not a bad day’ absolutely perfectly. All these little threads of information and characterization are beginning to wind together wonderfully and I can’t wait to see the end result.

Author's Response: Bored, thank you so much! I knew right away that I wanted there to be a balcony and have it be one of the places that they really got to know each other and develop that relationship. I'm so glad you like it! Your reviews and compliments always mean so much!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 04:47 am Title: Chapter 4

I enjoy your storytelling so much! The beauty of the picture you're painting (rain and thunderstorm — love it! that's probably one of my favorite romantic places — under the rain), these hints on crimes that have been done and that about to happen... and, of course, all the nods to the canon that you weaved into the events of the different era with such excellence.
Can't wait to see the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Dernhelm! I'm a sucker for romantic tropes and I'm so glad to see that you're enjoying them. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2020 07:12 am Title: Chapter 4

Ooh this is so good! The scene on the porch was hot - thank you for bringing wet Jim into things. I love how the mystery is unfolding with Packer and Michael and Roy. Great set up.

Author's Response: Is it too controversial to say that wet Jim is the best Jim? Hmm...maybe my next AU will be a mermaid story so that we can have wet Jim all the time, lol!

Reviewer: 3vasectomies Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2020 02:10 pm Title: Chapter 4

I'm gonna sparse out my reviews with multiple chapters, so I'll cover what I've read so far.

First off, Dwight/Oscar/Angela/Senator Lipton material. I knew it was gonna be there from Chapter 1, but I love how you did it. The fact that both Lipton and Oscar both have a position in government makes the dynamic all the more crushing for Angela, and her bitter resentment towards Dwight contributing to Lipton's campaign is something I didn't expect. Appreciate the Angela/Andy nod as well. Jim's immediate annoyance with Dwight fits with his character and him and Pam bonding over his intricacies makes their story feel straight out of The Office.

Speaking of which, this is a JAM story through and through and I love their portrayal. I think you've accurately translated how one would conversate during this time, and seeing all of these familiar lines and moments executed differently is interesting to see. Jim's line about marriage is very him, and her reaction of contemplative silence is very her. Their connection is there and it's obvious, and to me, it feels a bit more forward than their friendship was in canon (especially with this chapter) but they're not quite there yet; them sharing a connected bedroom only heightens this.

Also, hi Kelly. Figured she'd be a staff member, but I love how you characterized her as absolutely done with everything. You've truly captured the Business Bitch.

Roy is similar and different in a lot of ways. Him being a gambler and it affecting his own business in the process is an angle I never would have expected but makes sense in this setting. His possessiveness under the guise of reliance on her to work is very in-character, and Pam wanting to marry him solely for financial security reminded me of *Lee and Dawn's* dynamic from The Office UK. His befriending Packer adds a new level of unlikability and is an indicator that he may not make it.

Speaking of which, there's the Pack-Man himself. It's easy to see why he was a salesman in-canon, despite how uncouth he is in general; he knows just what to say and I could hear and see David Koechner be charmingly slimy as this version of Packer. Also, he wanted a reporter? Guess he's going after that sweet clout. “There’s a story in everything, isn’t there? You just pay attention and you’ll find it.” I love the irony that the pseudo-villain gives the most profound and thematic line in the story. And his friendship with Michael is right on point. THIS GUY!

And, last but not least, Michael. I love how you kept both his charm and his absolute cluelessness. It's interesting that he owns his own supply company and actually made it a success, like if the Michael Scott Paper Company really did run Dunder Mifflin out of business. It's Britney, Bitch. The Jan reference adds a whole new layer to their workplace relationship since they become business rivals, which won't be touched on again, but it's neat. Finally, as much as Jim is put off by Michael, it warms my heart that he does find him enduring and considers him a good man, despite his many faults.

I'm curious when the Muhduhs in Suhvayanuh commence, and I'm looking forward to when that ball starts rolling.

Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I love that you went so in depth with this review. Your Lee and Dawn comparison is so spot on, I have recently rewatched the UK Office and definitely drew inspiration from the way they interacted more than I did the US Office. I didn't want there to be any romantic ties that kept Jim and Pam from getting together, so it made sense to me to have their arrangement be less love and more stability. As for her relationship with Jim being a bit more forward I'd also agree with that, and that was done in order to fit the entire story into one week. They have to meet, develop feelings, and then see where that takes them in the timespan of the story, so it's moving pretty quickly. I don't think any of us here mind that, though, lol! Anyway this review was so lovely to read and I am so appreciative of you being so thorough with it. Thank you SO much! I hope you keep enjoying!

Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2020 02:37 am Title: Chapter 4

Your writing is very evocative, BT. In the settings and the characters and their relationships, it's all very colourful and alive. Also loved the metaphor with the fragile bridge.
Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Sam!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans