You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: jessgregory Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 10:17 pm Title: Chapter 23

Hello Basscop. Here, take all my jellybeans.
I definitely should've left a review when this fic was first uploaded because you've been making my day whenever you update this. Where do I begin...
I love how you've managed to seamlessly include flashbacks from college--everything they do (and did) is so in character. They seem to be in an opposite situation from canon and this focus on Pam's self-consciousness is quite eye-opening! It wasn't addressed as much in the show so this has been heartbreaking but familiar:(
I'm a sucker for angst. Especially the angst in the earlier chapters. Happy to see that Jim and Pam are finally acknowledging things they've been avoiding for years. Can't wait to see how Iz and Mark will nudge *shove* them into finally getting together and turn wishy-washy Jim (@officeladiespod) into teapot-gifting Jim.
Anyways, thank you for keeping the updates frequent! It really helps maintain the flow and tension of the fic:)

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 08:29 pm Title: Chapter 23

This might be one of my top favorite chapters so far. I love the tension between everyone with the comic relief that Michael provided. The stockroom scene was amazing. I love how they do feel bad about doing this to Karen and he wants to do the right thing by breaking up with her but they both don't want Karen to be hurt more than she needs to be and ugh. All of it is just SO good. And then Pam having to watch Jim and Karen kiss and make plans right in front of her, that hurt. My soul hurts. But I love it.

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 10:20 am Title: Chapter 23

Ooooooh this is getting really interesting and intense, and fun with the Micheal's entry. I am looking forward to the weekend camping, if you are planning to actually do that.

I love love love Pam in this chapter. She's stood up to Karen twice, been the only sensible person during lunch, and at the same time protect Karen by telling Jim to stall- very in line for Pam's charatcer, but I like that it has been juxtaposed with her strength with Karen in other situations.

And ofc, happy to see the strength in both Pam and Jim as well, for not backing down, and being more honest with each other than they have EVER been. I mean, they still have a long way to go [the little moments of doubt, esp on Jim's part, were a good choice and kpet it real], but this determination still counts A LOT.

It will be really interesting to see how the naviagte this really delicate stage of thier equation with all the hiding and guilt and desperation.

10/10 for the Dwnagela bit!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 10:02 am Title: Chapter 23

Ooooooof. It's like watching a car wreck in slow motion. Road to hell paved with, etc.

Again, I love that they're not backing down from this, and they're talking to each other. It's an awful situation they've put themselves in, but at least they're being honest. (Mostly... let's see if Jim has the guts to stick to his schedule.) I also appreciate that they've had this breakthrough but they're still them, in the sense of being pretty passive in the face of their challenges.

The Karen-Michael co-manager situation is pure Office-style cringe humor. Not quite sure how Jan thought this could possibly work. She's kind of lucky Karen's feeling so vulnerable about this, because if she had her fighting spirits up this would be carnage.

Not quite sure how I feel about this last Karen-Pam conversation. In some ways it's the most respectful she's ever been of Pam, and she clearly *does* feel a little threatened by her, but it still feels condescending.

Ryan getting some comeuppance was lovely. Michael having been Dwight's longtime sales nemesis is a great twist on canon. And while I'm not sure I *appreciate* the Dwight-Angela dialogue, I give you credit for being willing to go there.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 08:19 am Title: Chapter 23

Karen's control is slipping. Now granted Michael in full on Michael mode and not being used to that could make anyone go a little insane. However all that it's doing is making Karen slip. If Michael hadn't been there I don't think there would have been anyway she would have told Pam she invited Ryan to the party to try and get him to take Pam away from Jim. Also to admit that? That she's intentionally manipulating her employees like that? That's got to be against some ethics rule. Granted Dunder Mifflin has never had the best track record of calling people out on ethics violations, but still. Even as she's slipping she's also realizing there's more to Pam. Her telling Pam she knows Pam likes Jim proves that. She's still blind to what Jim wants though because she has only ever seen in Jim what she wants to see, not what's actually there.

Pam standing up for herself is great too. Pam telling Karen that it was Ryan who was acting unprofessional at the party, demanding to know why she invited Ryan, saying she's not doing her job out of pity, but because it's her job show the steel in her spine is growing too.

I really like the conversation Jim and Pam have in the stock room. Jim is right though. There's never a good time to break up with someone. I get why they agree to delay things, but it's only prolonging the agony.

The parts that I really found interesting is with Dwight. He catches Jim at Pam's desk and wants to know what's going on. He catches Pam and Jim in the stock room. Dwight may be gullible but he's not stupid. He can and does figure things out in his own Dwight-ish way and often tries to use that for his own advantage. In an odd twist Dwight doesn't like Micheal. So we have a character who is not a fan of Jim. Has caught Jim in two potentially suspicious circumstances. And has an axe to gring against the new manager. Feels like the set up for something there.

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 06:01 am Title: Chapter 23

Wow, a lot to unpack here. You wrote Michael perfectly. And the way you wrote Jan’s frustration towards him was spot on. Karen is at the breaking point. I don’t blame her, all heck is breaking loose right now. The scene with Karen and Pam was amazing!

“And I’m not going to tell Jim, so you don’t have to worry about that.” Bit too late for that sister. And “I know Jim is fond of you.” Yeah a bit too fond. And try to get over it?? Pam already tried that and failed.

That scene was hilarious but it’s even more funny that she has no suspicion of Jim’s feelings. Also, I love how you are writing their feelings about cheating. It is interesting how they aren’t fully speaking their feelings, not even saying “love”, but they understand each other perfectly. I can’t believe you are gonna force another week out of us. Just get them together, please....

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2021 08:51 am Title: Chapter 22

Ooooof. That's a beautiful follow up to the much awaited revelation. The entire first half of the chapter is so cleverly laced with right amounts of love, desperation, relief and regret.


"He thinks of years of wanting to kiss her, years of pretending he didn’t. Years of thinking that his last kiss with her was the one before he’d fallen asleep that night, when he’d been so sure he’d have time in the morning; years of thinking that if he’d known that night, maybe he would have kissed her for longer, maybe he would have kissed her all night." DAMN this hit so hard; perfectly capture the longingness and regret of all these years.

I'm really excited about Micheal as manager and Jim/Pam and Karen in the office. I'm sure you have amazing stuff lined up. I'm so glad Jim didn't mess up in this chapter and kept at it with clarity; his determination to just finally set it right is good to read. Really looking forward to see where you take this now!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's so lovely to read :) I'm really glad you thought it worked. And yes haha, I thought it was time for Jim not to mess something up for once...thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 09:27 pm Title: Chapter 22

Not a long chapter, but a meaty one!

I think you really effectively portrayed how shattering a moment this is for them and how confused and overwhelmed they are. They weren't really aware they were building up for this and they've got a ton of repressed longing coming out in a less than ideal situation, and it really comes through clearly without you spoon-feeding it to us.

And I'm glad that you acknowledged that there's sadness here in the recognition of what they've missed out on, both because of the realism, and also because it led to lines like this: "He thinks of years of wanting to kiss her, years of pretending he didn’t. Years of thinking that his last kiss with her was the one before he’d fallen asleep that night, when he’d been so sure he’d have time in the morning; years of thinking that if he’d known that night, maybe he would have kissed her for longer, maybe he would have kissed her all night."

LOVED the subtle notes in here - Jim referring to it as Karen's apartment, Pam (I think for the first time explicitly?) confirming that her stopping to him Jim that morning was what cost her her Chili's job.

Jim's sense that he's been cheating for years is an interesting idea. You've mentioned that Karen's at her worst when she's insecure, and it is telling that Karen has never had Jim's whole heart, and maybe on some level that's driving Karen's awfulness.

OOOF. The forces of the universe strike again. What a terrible night for Karen.

Just as a reader, I'm happy you didn't let them totally botch this difficult conversation. Of course given the flaws of these particular characters we have now arranged all the pieces for an ACTUAL affair. So. Hmmmm.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!! I'm really glad to hear you think the shattering/sadness of the moment came across. I read somewhere that Casino Night was basically Jim crashing a car into their relationship, which I thought this was a bit like too (but with Pam in a slightly better place than Casino Night). And yep, that's right on Chilli's (although to be fair, the firing was also because Henri's awful). 

And haha yes, I thought it was time for them to have a conversation about this stuff that wasn't totally botched. The ACTUAL affair angle is also something I've gone backwards and forwards on. And how far it's consistent Jim and Pam's characters (I think Pam in particular has quite a strong moral centre, and Jim is pretty decisive once he actually admits what he wants). So...   

Thank you for reviewing! :)  

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 06:18 pm Title: Chapter 22

I've reread this three times already. I've been waitingggggg for this one. Of course getting together can't be easy, but I have HOPE. I'm prepared for that hope to be crushed into a million pieces, but for now, im holding on tight. SO GOOD.

Author's Response: Haha thank you!! I'm so glad you enjoyed it :) And there is, after 22 chapters, finally some hope lol. Thanks so much for reviewing! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 04:06 pm Title: Chapter 22

At last it really feels like Jim and Pam are on the same page. Maybe at opposite ends of the page, but they're getting a lot closer that's for sure. All the kisses and almost handholds as they came down from the roof were a treat to imagine.

Uhg, there's always something. It's the curse of having a kind heart. It's hard to pile on more pain. At least Karen admitted she was wrong with what she was trying to do with Pam and Ryan. I doubt that kind of contriteness is going to last very long.

Really glad Jim pressed forward and told Pam exactly why he couldn't break it off right then. That's the kind of forthright communication they need. Really glad to see they're getting better at it too.

Seems like its going to be all sorts of awkward around the office for a bit. However it also feels like the steel that's been growing in Jim's spine is starting to harden some more. He now knows where his heart truly lies and it feels like he is going to be a lot more focused on how to get there. Great to see.

Author's Response: Thank you! And yes, haha I think opposite ends of the same page is an amazing description of them. I thought it was time, on the forthright communication, for them to actually have a conversation where they didn't let misinterpretation win lol. And Jim is getting some steel! Thanks so much for reviewing :)  

Reviewer: SaveBandit Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 04:05 pm Title: Chapter 22

We're so clooooose. I love this story. I'm always excited to see what comes next. I mostly hope it's about 20 chapters of fluff after this amazing uphill battle.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! And thanks for reading, I'm so pleased to hear you're enjoying it :) And lol yes, I realise we are now onto 22 chapters of angst...

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 02:56 pm Title: Chapter 22

I really let myself think that they could get together without at least one more roadblock...

But I’m excited to see Michael. I love the way you’ve written him so far. And I can’t wait to see how Ryan reacts.

As for Karen... I can’t say that I feel bad for her. She’s been horrible to everyone throughout this entire story. And I don’t think she deserves to be cheated on, but honestly, she’s been treating Jim terribly. He deserves someone better.

Lastly, I am glad that Jim didn’t screw up with Pam. They’ve acknowledged their feelings for one another, and they’ve kissed. Multiple times.

Can’t wait to see how it all comes together.

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response:

Ha yes, sorry about that... 

And thank you! Writing Michael is always fun. I'm really glad you're enjoying it :) I thought it was time Jim and Pam had at least one conversation where they didn't completely screw things up, lol. Thanks so much for reviewing!  

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 01:36 pm Title: Chapter 22

MICHAEL IS MANAGER!!!!! When you had Karen crying about Michael, I knew what was about to happen. I literally thought to myself, if Jim postpones this to be nice to Karen, I will drop kick Jim into oblivion. And I can neither confirm nor deny whether that happened. Even though it didn’t happen then, I still feel hopeful. The two of them aren’t directly addressing it, but at the same time are addressing it without words. So, I’m hopeful for tomorrow. I’m sure it will be very interesting with Michael coming and the Pam and Jim storyline.

Author's Response: Haha, I couldn't leave Michael out forever. And lol, drop kicking Jim! Hopefully you can forgive him, especially now that he called Pam...Thanks so much for reviewing :) 

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 01:30 pm Title: Chapter 22

I've been trying to get caught up with this for a while now, and you are doing a fantastic job with this story. But this chapter?

This chapter is very, very good.

I can't wait to see how you wrap all this up!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm thrilled to hear you're enjoying it, and really glad you liked this chapter :) Thanks you! 

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 04:48 am Title: Chapter 1

This chapter is hitting me in layers:

- the fact that Pam encourage him regarding Athleap just before the slip; nicely inspired from the Something Borrowed scene. and the gradually getting tipsy.

- "when we first started" obviosuly gives you full JAM feels and that heartbreaking kitchen scene.

- “No. I didn’t.” He’s stopped laughing." need i say more, ugh

- “It was ages ago. Like, ages.” again, Jim S2 hits.

- “He’s looking at her, now, like nothing makes sense. Which is why they don’t talk about this." i am just gonna be quoting the whole chapter now because every sentnece is so craftfully done.

- “Pam,” he says raggedly, “Do you have any idea how much I-”
take my heart.

and Pam just being so clueless about Jim's reaction until- “You could never be a rebound" again, nicely inspired from the "not wedding jitters" scene; and Pam brining up that night! I love how even in this scene, when Pam is messing up (good for us), she's the one taking charge.

- “I’m…it’s cold. I’m gonna go in.” AND WE HAVE BOOZE CRUISE TOO! pure genius ok.

sorry for the spam, but like I always say, BRILLIANT writing there. the desperation, the frustration, the absolute cluelesness and helplesness; all has been so perfectly conveyed by cleverly drawing on the most amazing JAM moments. love it. kudos max.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! And no seriously, thank you for taking the time to leave these reviews - they're so amazing to read, and so incredible to see the parts you picked up on :)  I really appreciate it! 

And yeah, I wanted a do-over of the heart-breaking kitchen scene where one of them wasn't quite so good at lying and got caught out...   

Thank you!! 

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 04:33 am Title: Chapter 21

OMG. Well, I have a cliffhnager either way.

WOW. So.

I had been waiting for you to use this something borrowed ref, and you have done it ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFULLY. Pam blurting out about the crush; can totally imagine Jim's stricked expression; can feel Pam's world spinning on its head. UGH. the whole rooftop setting just adds to the angsty magic that this chapter is.

“You were all I thought about, Pam.” my heart.

and then you merge it with Casino Night and just pull out an ace- genius. Thank you for writing this.

CANNOT wait to see where you take this!

I don't have anymore jellybeans- but here's verbal JELLYBEAN - no, 100 of them for you, for this amazingly exectued chapter.

Author's Response:

Haha, sorry about that... 

And thank you so much! That's so kind of you to say, and just really amazing to read. I started this fic with the idea for this chapter in my head...it's just taken me a while to actually get there haha. But I'm so thrilled to hear you liked it. Thank you!! 

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 04:25 am Title: Chapter 20

I am so glad I am reading this a bit late so that I can skip the hangover- roofdate I have a good feeling!
Writing a multi-character chapter is hard, and you have aced it. Esp love Micheal and Ryan, oh Ryan. why are you like this.
the tension has bounced of the screen in this one.

Author's Response: Thank you - I'm thrilled to hear that! They are hard to write lol, but some of my favourite. Especially when Michael is involved. And Ryan when he's being awful. Thanks for reviewing! 

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 04:24 am Title: Chapter 19

oh also missed mentioning this- Pam finally telling Iz, finally saying it out loud- beautifully executed and written.

Author's Response: Thanks very much!! That's so great to hear :) 

Reviewer: bottomlesschampagne Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2021 04:22 am Title: Chapter 19

UGH COME ON JIM!
I really like how you have written Jim here, how messed up and confused and close to breaking he is. Him going back to Karen is painfully reminiscint of S2/S3 Pam with Roy, so you are acing the role reversal.

The whole reunion, until Karen arrived, is so cute. Love how you have shown both Jim and Pam finally feeling at home. LOVE THE ATHLEAP TROPE just genius; love that Mark and Iz hook that song up. love everything. hate the ending but love the story basically.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yeah, I did wonder at some points if I was making Jim a bit too frustrating (especially in this chapter) but S2/S3 Pam and Roy was also very frustrating haha. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the reunion! Minus the Karen, lol. Thank you for reviewing all of these!! 

Reviewer: Clover Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 03:02 pm Title: Chapter 21

All, all, ALL the jellybeans. Love this SO MUCH. You are an amazing writer. You are owed a beautiful, detailed, descriptive, point-by-point cataloging of your mastery, but for now, I'll I can do is give you ALL my jellybeans!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you - and thank you for all your jellybeans! - that's so kind of you to say :) I'm really thrilled to hear you're enjoying it! 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 11:18 am Title: Chapter 21

Oh no!!! We’ve been waiting for this moments for 21 chapters and you leave us with a cliffhanger 🤣

Author's Response: Hahaha sorry! Next chapter is coming :D Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 09:34 am Title: Chapter 21

A shorter chapter but boy it packs a punch! A little liquid courage and FINALLY they really start to open up to each other. Yeah it's kind of akward because there's still a lot of emotional baggage to wade through, but this feel like the start of something big.

While I'm not really familiar with Something Borrowed, there's tons of callbacks to classic S2 episodes. Booze Cruise, The Secret, and of course Casino Night. Well done.

You can tell they're still scared about going down this path of real honesty. But if feels like their connection is still there strong as ever.

Then for him to find her like that and lean in for the kiss? BIG progress there. Really looking forward to what happens now.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And yes on the emotional baggage haha. (For reference, Something Borrowed begins with the female lead telling the guy that she had a crush on him in college, on the assumption that he knew (he didn't).  So that was basically the idea I had going into this...it just took me 21 chapters to get there). Thank you for reviewing - really glad to hear you're looking forward to what happens next! :)   

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 08:40 am Title: Chapter 21

FREAKING FINALLY. I have been WAITING for this day. You really had me going for a while there with her nor admitting it and then using the booze cruise im cold line. I was literally about to scream. BUT THEN
the freaking dark staircase and he KISSED HER. I'm not even angry about the cliffhanger because HE FINALLY KISSED HER. But also i need the next chapter like yesterday please.

Author's Response:

Haha thank you! I'm very glad to hear that :) And yeah, I figured they'd probably had enough missed opportunities/moments of not going after each other after 21 chapters...

Thanks so much for reviewing! Next chapter is coming haha.  

 

Reviewer: GreenyshEyed Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 08:19 am Title: Chapter 21

Gahhhhhhh!!!! Killing me!!!!!

Author's Response: Hahaha sorry - next chapter is coming!  Thanks for reviewing :)  

Reviewer: Ravens8 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 08:07 am Title: Chapter 21

OH MY GOODNESS! Let the bells of Dunder Mifflin chime out their love! This story is just something. I hate angst, lets be clear. But it is all worth it for this chapter. This chapter was perfection. God, I loved this chapter. But I gotta say, this is a Casino Night ending, so if you continue down that path and don’t bring them together, I don’t know what I’ll do if that happens.

Author's Response: Haha - thank you!! That's amazing to hear, I'm really glad you liked it :) I can promise that the next chapter is not going to be a play-by-play of Gay Witch Hunt, if that helps? :D Thanks so much for reviewing! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans