Reviews For Blocked Up
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 10:13 am Title: Love Never Fails

I love that Chili's is strictly enforcing the ban on Pam.

That's some solid insight from Michael, and is something that cuts to the quick of why I think it's good that you're exploring this - it makes total sense that Jim would choose Pam over Athlead in a heartbeat, but in real life there would be some regrets over having to make that choice, and Pam's worry about that causing problems in the long run would probably not be so easily dispelled.

I thought the voicemail was a nice touch. This was your strongest chapter yet I think.

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 09:00 am Title: Love Never Fails

The dialog in this chapter snapped and flowed. You had Michael, Helene, and drunk Jim's voices spot on.

Excellent choice on drunk Jim having to leave a voice mail.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 22, 2021 08:33 am Title: Love Never Fails

Love the tough love from Michael. Yes, he's off the walls crazy and rarely has the mental capacity of more than a 6 year old, but he's also very insightful. He's also known Jim and Pam for a long time and had a good seat to their romance. So I think it's great that he says what he does to Jim.

Glad Pam could open up to her Mom too. Feels like they both need it. To let out their feelings and have someone outside their marriage who does care about them to tell them what they need to hear.

Then to have Jim call her right after she hears "have faith in him." I liked that. So as hard as it seems for Jim to have up and left, I think the distance has given them both some clarity and perspective. Looking forward to seeing where we go from here.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 05:21 pm Title: Love Endures All Things

Feels like some of the stress is starting to ease off. That was a great moment with Michael joking about his kids names. Feels very much like something he would do. Nice to get some perspective from Holly as well.

Pam pranking Dwight was fun. Feels like she's starting to get back to herself too. Though the conversation with Darryl does seem like a bit of step back.

Still doing a great job with this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Holly, I feel like, is a really toned down version of Michael so she has a better pick up on social cues. I feel like she would be someone to distract Michael so she can get to the root of the problem so I wrote that part about her telling Michael to get the dog.
 
I try to lighten the mood on Pam because I don't want her to be downer throughout the entire story. But I still have to squeeze in that one tiny bit of doubt in her because her problems aren't really solved. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2021 11:30 am Title: Love Endures All Things

There are a lot of fun details in this! The Michael-Holly relationship seems right (the too-long kiss, the innuendo, the dog's name) and I loved the prank with the kids' names.

Plus the Dwight line about how it's totally a different situation even though it does involve a lot of the same people and his comforting Pam were very much in Dwight's voice.

Author's Response:

Thank you! The one quality I want to retain when writing Holly is she really gets Michael when everyone else is like, "Who the hell is this guy?"

I tried to balance Dwight because I know he's always had a soft spot for Pam, I think he would have played along with Pam's prank regardless if Jim begged him to because he knows Pam has been having a rough few days.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2021 10:08 pm Title: Love Hopes All Things

There's some quality Michael and ensemble dialogue in this chapter!

Author's Response:

Thank you!

 I try as much as possible to include at least one regular character interaction with Pam since she's the one in the office so I try my best to stay truthful to what the character would probably say in that one small conversation.

 With Michael, it's just free for all basically, I just think of the most ridiculous things for him to do so it makes writing him so much fun. 

Reviewer: EosinY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2021 06:20 pm Title: Love Suffers Long

Yup, that's Michael Scott. Initially, I was annoyed when he texted the whole office but you really can't argue with his logic. That kind of impulsive but well-intentioned behavior is a hallmark of canon so I applaud you for it. Hopefully, the time apart does them some good!

Author's Response:

Thank you! 

Yeah, Michael cannot keep a secret to save his life so I knew the moment that Jim would visit him in Colorado that he would be too excited to not tell anyone.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2021 05:51 pm Title: Love Hopes All Things

Pam-orama is 100% a good way for Michael to refer to Pam. You got his character spot on here I think. He gets even a little attention (that he didn't generate himself) and he HAS to spread it far and wide. He does have his own family now, but his Dunder-Mifflin family will always be important to him and that comes across.

Feels like maybe the beginning of a reconciliation between Jim and Pam. He's starting to crack jokes. She's not mad, just relieved.

And what I really liked was that you brought out the Michael that has a heart of gold. Great to see that. Nice job.

Author's Response:

Thank you! 

 I spent so much time thinking on the nickname so I'm glad you liked it. I really had fun writing Michael's character because the possibilities are limitless with him. And his heart is always in the right place, it just doesn't translate properly into actions.

 With Jim and Pam, I had to pick a point where Pam would slowly open herself up to him. I wanted it to be in a way that she thinks Jim came through for him by not being in Philly.

Reviewer: Maggie94 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 18, 2021 05:56 am Title: Love Believes All Things

This story is honestly one of the best one I have ever read in all the fandoms I am part of.
It's so so good. The characters are amazingly written and I can't wait for the next updates. It's really really good!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I wasn't exactly sure how this would be perceived when I first started so I'm just happy to see that there are people out there who like it.

I just submitted my next chapter so it should be up soon.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 11:18 pm Title: Love Believes All Things

The moment with Phyllis and Pam's poll of the Dunder Mifflinites was very much in the show's style of humor. And the twist!!!! Looking forward to seeing what Jim's up to, but I love that you're bringing Michael into it.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I actually had a fun time writing the part about Phyllis because I 100% believe that she was the biggest b-word in the show so if anyone were to make snide remarks, it'll probably be her.

Yeah, as far as Colorado is concerned, I'm still trying to figure out how to write it but I think it'll be fun since Michael is such an eccentric character. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 10:59 pm Title: Love Bears All Things

Yeah, this is interesting, seeing this moment happen at a time when Jim and Pam are still in conflict and how the context totally changes it - Pam's fear of resentment feels a lot harder to dispel here.

I love this moment on the couch. I feel like we needed the reminder that these two people are both heartbroken by where things are right now.

Author's Response:

Thank you!

 One aspect of Pam that I touched on was that she was proud of speaking up at the beach because she ended up getting the guy. But she suddenly stops believing in herself again due to the troubles in their marriage. It remains to be seen if she'll find the courage again.

I wrote Jim in the couch scene in a way that he really does put his family over anything else. He's made mistakes definitely, particularly with the dance recital which is why I brought it back. Even with the fight, Pam was trapping Jim in a corner so he deserved to get mad. But with the couch scene, he still manages to come through for her.

Reviewer: EosinY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 09:44 pm Title: Love Suffers Long

...woah.

Every chapter is like a stab through my heart. But in a good way, because I thrive on angst. Both of their thoughts are very true to the characters and the callbacks are a delight. Can’t wait to see your take on Michael!

Author's Response:

Thank you! I have achieved my goal if people feel uncomfortable reading this because it's like watching a "will they or won't they story" except the question is will they get a divorce?

I try as much as possible to bring nostalgia because I need the two of them to realize they've had really great moments together. As far as Michael is concerned, well Jim should know what he signed up for. He is Michael Scott after all. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 05:28 pm Title: Love Believes All Things

Now that's a real interesting turn of events. I'm very surprised and I like it. To seek out Micheal is a spot of genius. "Never, ever, ever give up." If there's one person in their lives has always been rooting for the two of them it's Micheal. Really looking forward to seeing where we go with this.

Also all of Pam's thoughts about everything ring true as well. She's still got a lot of emotial content to get through, but it fits.

Looking forward to seeing where we go from here.

Author's Response:

Thank you! 

Jim and Michael were my favorite tandem from the show and I feel like Jim looks up to him more than he could admit. So it was always my plan to bring Jim to Colorado, but I had to make it seem realistic. I don't think Jim would have left if things were looking like they were getting better so I had to bring in the fight from the previous chapter.

Pam's inner struggle for me is always about trying to be more honest. I think what's preventing her from doing it is her fear of losing Jim in the process but she doesn't know that it is what's destroying them. We'll see in the next chapters how they'll deal with this communication problem especially since Jim is away.

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 05:22 pm Title: Love Bears All Things

Yeah that's a bit of a hit for sure. Though from how you've been writing this story it's also right where Jim and Pam are. They're not on the same page and it shows. Jim sees a problem and he's tring to fix it. However I don't think Pam want the problem fixed, she just wants him. Though I get why he'd be frustrated. He's trying to give her that and she still snaps at him. So he feels like damned if I do, damned if I don't. Anything I do will be wrong.

But then Cece appears. In her little Cece way she show wat it means to really be a family. Loved the image of them curled up on the couch like that. Jim with his girls on him. There's still a lot of heartbreak, but even with the fight there's still a glimmer of hope. Great writing to bring that out.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review! I've been writing it in such a way that Jim wants to give everything to Pam but she doesn't believe he will come through for him. So the underlying question then would be, will Jim eventually give it up? It was really intense for me to have Pam accuse that he's only doing it to save face which was a gigantic slap in the face to Jim.

 I knew it had to lead to an even bigger fight so I ended it with the scene with Cece. I remember the episode 'Safety Training' and I heard they wrote it in a way that Jim and Pam were this divorced couple (They were at odds during that time since Jim was with Karen), but they had to team up together to keep their child (Michael) from doing something stupid. That was my inspiration for bringing Cece in the fold because they still had to keep the illusion that everything was okay for their child. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 06:34 am Title: Love is Not Proud

Don't be an idiot - that was the perfect thing for Dwight to say - he's not really a sentimentalist but his hearts there.

Author's Response: Yup! I try to retain the actual personalities in the show so as much as I want Jim and Dwight to be best friends, I don't expect them to do insane heart to heart conversations (at least not yet)

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: January 17, 2021 06:30 am Title: Love is Kind

Of course he didn't leave - I'm so glad but all the talk of divorce must have him really freaked out.
Sweet scene with Nelly. And I like how you flipped the Dwight/Jim scene.

But at the heart it's a tough situation for both of them, Jim thinking he's doing something that will benefit the family not realizing how she doesn't need it or want it and just wants him to be there for the now. Pam not seeing that he is trying to make a change for their future, and that they (her and the kids) are the reason he's doing it.

They have fallen back into their days of miscommunication and that's when things go bad for them. TALK you fools.

Author's Response:

Thank you! 

Yes, I'm writing it in a way that Jim refuses to give up on Pam but Pam is unintentionally making it hard for him. It's really a communication breakdown at its finest. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 15, 2021 02:24 pm Title: Love is Not Proud

I love the life-changing advice from Dwight here. Michael's legacy lives on!

I love the echoes of Casino Night here from an older, wiser Jim who knows that he needs to give Pam some space.

Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, I don't like going too mushy on Dwight and Jim because I know that's not what their relationship is like. So I really thought hard about what advice Dwight would give Jim that would make the most sense. That, and "Don't be an idiot" is too classic of a line to not use.

 As far as Jim is concerned, I took it back to when Pam told Nellie that he shouldn't always be rewarded for the big decisions that he makes without telling her. I'm pretty sure they already started airing out problems when they started marriage counseling so Jim should know that she should listen to what Pam wants this time. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 15, 2021 01:22 pm Title: Love is Not Proud

This seems to be progress. Still really liking the Jim and Dwight friendship. It seems very in keeping with them at the end there. I do like that Jim came home. There's still a lot of love between the two of them. That she enjoys the kiss shows that.

Jim having difficulties being vulnerable, especially considering his past when hard time with Pam showed up does feel about right. But with his earlier hug and his telling her he'll give her time, it seems like he's getting a better handle on that.

The glimmer of hope has me feeling optomistic. Remains to be seen what kinds of decisions they'll both make going forward.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review!

 I remember watching a video explaining how Jim uses his wit and humor as a defense mechanism for masking his insecurities so I wanted to incorporate that. I try not to deviate too much from their actual personalities because I want to remain faithful to the way they were developed in the show.

 We'll see how it goes moving forward. I have a lot of content in my mind. 

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 15, 2021 05:24 am Title: Love is Kind

OUCH AGAIN!
I like that Dwight’s now consoling Jim rather than Pam. It’s a nice change.
But OOF my heart! I loved this so much. Can’t wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Thanks!

 Yeah, I really planned the chapter to turn out in a way that Jim would end up in the stairwell with Dwight so it took me a while to plan out how it would occur.

I'm writing the third chapter as I respond to this review so it shouldn't take long. 

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 14, 2021 06:25 pm Title: Love is Kind

He needs to make her understand. Please let him make her understand. I can’t watch them get divorced.

I wish I had more to say, but I can only say that. There’s nothing else to say. This is amazing. Too many emotions.

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response:

Thank you! In terms of how this will end, it's literally a work in progress. I also have no idea how this will end up.

It's a lot of emotions. I actually have to go to straight to bed after writing because it is emotionally taxing.  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 14, 2021 12:00 pm Title: Love is Kind

Again, I really like you making the connection between this and the failure of Pam's relationship with Roy, not to mention her parents' divorce. It's very good context to remind us that Pam *knows* that relationships that people are committed to and badly want to succeed fail anyways - so of course she's not quite as confident that love is enough to get them through as Jim is. The idea of him changing his mind seems very plausible to her.

And the choice of having Dwight offer him the support Jim gave Dwight in Money was a nice touch.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! The divorce especially, I remember what Pam's father said about Jim telling him that she was the woman that he wants to spend the rest of his life with. It's definitely love. But she now has that internal struggle on how far that love can take them.

I know the last two seasons get a lot of hate but they got the closure on Jim and Dwight perfectly. Wouldn't have it any other way. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 14, 2021 10:59 am Title: Love is Kind

Nice to get Pam's perspective to be sure. Really glad Jim didn't leave for Philly. However I get why he's freaked out based on what he heard in the hallway. Nellie talking to Pam and Dwight talking to Jim rings true to me. Pam has gone to Nellie in the past so they have some history there. It's a nice way to show the friendship that Jim and Dwight have at this point with Dwight being there for Jim.

Still not sure where we're going to go from here, but your writing is very compelling.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

 Yes, I wanted to touch more on the relationships that the show had already developed so it would seem more genuine. Jim and Dwight, definitely towards the end, had that brotherly connection so it was something I wanted to incorporate.

 I have a written down plan already for the next two chapters, but as for how the rest of the story will go, it's really up in the air at moment. I thought I had an idea of how I wanted it to end but it's constant back and forth. We shall see. 

Reviewer: Purplemind06 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 14, 2021 12:23 am Title: Love Suffers Long

I personally look forward for any fic that is about S9. The turn you did to my favorite scene is a real pain, but I get it.

I'm excited to see more of this story

Author's Response: I feel you. I actually look for more Season 9 stories but since I can't really find a lot, I decided to write one. Thanks!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2021 08:41 pm Title: Love Suffers Long

You know, this moment in canon IS a little tropey. I mean, they're Jim and Pam and we know they love each other, but they've got some real conflicts here, and one desperate hug and one flashback aren't necessarily going to cut it as far as setting them back on the right path. I like that you're exploring how it would've looked if Pam hadn't been ready to accept whatever Jim is offering in that scene.

I also thought the callback to Pam's history with Roy was important - it does feel like useful context that Pam has been in a relationship where she felt "blocked" before, and ended up moving on from it because it didn't work for her.

Interested to see where you go with this next.

Congrats on posting your first story! Welcome to MTT!

Author's Response:

Yeah! I completely agree to this. I really wanted this storyline to be expanded to 2 seasons instead of one. That would've totally blown me away! 

Thanks for the review!! Similar to Pam, I just needed some courage to post my first story.

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 13, 2021 08:26 pm Title: Love Suffers Long

Ooh, I love angst and I love season 9 for it. I can't wait to see where you take this!

Author's Response: Yes! Season 9 was not bad and I stand by it. Thanks!!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans