Reviews For Calm Like You
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2021 10:14 am Title: Chapter 1

That was a great ending to a great story! I was really caught up in the intrigue all the way through, and I loved the world you painted for a super AU.
Thanks!

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 03:14 pm Title: Chapter 1

What a great ending.

Honestly, I’m glad Jim didn’t propose. Even though they’re great together, I think that they need to spend some time living together before they jump into marriage.

I’m glad Pam got the job! That’s huge for her, seeing as Danny was controlling and didn’t believe in her having a job since many women were looked down on in that time period for having jobs. Good for her.

Well done, as always.

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I’m so pleased you like the ending - and yeah, I was sort of going with the idea that people proposed sooner back then, but I’m with you on that maybe being a bit sooner than is comfortable…so I did want to go to with the job thing instead!

 

Thank you so much for reading, and as ever for all your lovely reviews throughout this: they’ve been so great to read, and I really appreciate it :) 

Reviewer: Wilbk Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 03, 2021 04:05 pm Title: Chapter 1

This story was great!

Author's Response:

Ah, thank you so much! I’m really glad you enjoyed it - thanks very much for reading and leaving a review :)

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2021 11:54 pm Title: Chapter 25

I feel an urge to cry right now because it's so pure and sweet, and perfect... and so, so them. I love everything about this, and I desperately need another 20+ chapters story about their life in Austin. Thank you so much for writing this amazing story and for sharing it with us! Thank you

Author's Response:

Aw, thank you so much! I’m so pleased you’ve enjoyed this, that’s amazing to hear :) Thank you very much for reading, and for taking the time to leave such lovely reviews - I really appreciate it! (I could also probably quite happily write another 20+ chapters about their life in Austin, but….I may need to come up with an actual storyline first, lol). 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2021 10:10 am Title: Chapter 24

Oh my gosh, what a ride here! For some time, I was sure that there would be more dangers for our heroes from Robert's side, and that was... tense. And I can't even describe my joy at the end! So, so, wonderful!
Also, if you were trying to make us feel (a little) sorry for Danny... congratulations, it worked in my case!
And Oscar! Oscar!!! We definitely need more Oscar)
I'm happy with such a final, but also sad because this story comes to an end... I'm selfishly don't want it to end :( But, I see that there's one more chapter, and I have a hard time deciding — do I want to swallow it immediately too or safe for later...
Anyway, thank you so much!!! I genuinely love this AU and your vision of heroes and everything else that filled this world. Love it!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! And haha no, I decided I’d put them through enough danger by this point. That is also actually great to hear on Danny: I wanted to make him bad but not a total villain (but I struggled because a lot of this is from Pam’s POV, and I don’t think he deserves her pity after what he did to her…) So I’m glad you at least felt a little sorry for him! 


I can also never get enough Oscar, so I’m pleased you enjoyed him here :D 


And thanks so much, that’s so kind of you to say! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2021 11:50 am Title: Chapter 25

Returning to the small farm town where they were happy to find themselves again! Perfect. Only way to bring this one to a close.

I don't know. Plot seems pretty well done, I just enjoyed the way you tied up the lose ends with Jim and Pam here - rediscovering themselves and making the decisions they'll need to make for their life together and just being together again. It's just all very sweet.

ANYHOW. As usual, you blew this one out of the park and should probably be shopping things to publishing houses as opposed to smiling down on us with your work, but I am VERY much looking forward to seeing what you come up with next.

Author's Response:

Ahh, thanks so much! So I have to admit I was briefly considering a different ending where Jim moved back to Austin and then realised he was missing Pam and came back…but then I figured enough with the angst. And yeah, I felt like they both needed to go back for closure. So I’m really pleased you thought that worked! 


That’s incredibly kind of you to say - thank you so much for reading, and for all of your reviews - they are (as always) so so great to read, I really appreciate it! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2021 11:37 am Title: Chapter 24

Danny *seeing* Pam for the first time is a good choice. Probably wishes he'd tried to understand her earlier. His genuine fear of Robert is also something I liked a lot, and something you did a good job foreshadowing without overdoing. (I have the *vaguest* hint I know what Danny might be hiding, but since I'm late here I'll just wait to see if it's confirmed in the next chapter.)

Ugh. D'Angelo seems very much like you'd imagine a 60s era Texas lawman to be. And well cast for it. Throwing in the juggling was a fun touch, and Michael's ability to get through to him, but it's hard to say whether I'm more furious with D'Angelo or Danny here.

The feds going after Robert for tax fraud is perfect and so historically sound, as is Oscar being the only one who's excited about it.

I liked the use of Jim's mis-imprisonment to let him some more answers out of Danny, and let us see a little more of the guy underneath the smoothness, at least what there is of him.

Noting again the catch that the Beesly marriage is maybe not so healthy... but honestly, this one was all about this sweet ending. Those two kids deserve it after all they've been through.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! So…I have a feeling your hint about what Danny’s hiding may be right (you usually are) - but I couldn’t find an organic way to spell it out in the story without it feeling like over-exposition. Especially since this is all from Jim and Pam’s POVs. So, sorry for the lack of reveal in the next chapter! I think there is something about Pam not really understanding Danny any more than he understood her, though. 


And really glad you think D’Angelo worked (/was awful) here haha - I was originally trying to decide between him and Todd Packer for the sheriff. But I actually hate Todd Packer so much that I couldn’t. Glad you enjoyed the tax fraud too lol, I felt like Oscar needed a moment to shine. (I would also definitely read a Catch Me If You Can style fic with Oscar as the lead). 


Thanks so much for reviewing! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2021 09:34 am Title: Chapter 25

That's a fun way to wrap this all up. Jim dropping everything in Austin to be with her tracks well. He's spent years kind of drifting through life. Then after everything he went through with Pam there's no more drifting. There's only facing fear and doubt to be with the one woman who makes it all worthwhile.

But you're right. They've grown past their childhood home. While nice to reconnect with their roots for sure, they're bigger people than that right now. Really glad to bring that out.

Love the idea of dual surprises that both also got a bit off-kilter. Still it's all very sweet. They've got each other and now they're set to move on through life with each other. Loved it.

Another remarkable story from you. It was a ton of fun following along with this one. Can't wait to see what comes next.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! Also, I’m not sure that your reviews are meant to be making me feel emotional, but the drifting and the one woman who makes it all worthwhile - yes and yes 😍 And yeah, I did want that growth for them, I’m really glad you liked that part! 


As a side note on the off-kilter surprises, writing this made me think of that old story about the couple who get each other Christmas gifts (I think she sells her hair to get him a watch case, and he sells his watch to get her some combs for her hair)…and I don’t know, it’s just the kind of thing I could just see Jam doing. 


But I digress - thank you so much for reading this, and as ever for taking the time to leave such kind and insightful reviews throughout! I really appreciate it :) 

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2021 08:00 am Title: Chapter 25

I am currently going through the stages of grief since this story is over. It’s been a rollercoaster, but the best one I have ever been on.

This story was fantastic. How you wrote the characters, the storyline, the twists and turns along the way, the steaminess, all of it. I dropped everything when a new chapter was posted. You are such a talented writer who has us all just so absorbed in your worlds, I am truly in awe. (Also can we be bffs cuz i love you)

Thank you for this story, it was unbelievable from start to finish. I will be (not so) patiently waiting for your next story!!

Author's Response:

Aw, thank you so much - that’s incredible to hear, I’m so thrilled you enjoyed it!! (And haha, thanks - also yes!) Thanks so much for reading, and for your really kind words :) 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: July 28, 2021 10:00 pm Title: Chapter 24

I was just thinking that this Story should go on forever, and then I saw that there might only be one chapter left :(
Could we have a sequel?

Author's Response: Haha, thanks so much! (and sorry). I've not currently got a sequel planned, but I have really enjoyed writing this universe so wouldn't rule out ever doing one...

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: July 28, 2021 05:27 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh my god! This chapter was so good!

I’ll admit, I’m surprised that Danny didn’t try to worm his way out of the situation. But I don’t feel any pity for him regardless of how scared he is - he’s part of the reason people were killed, and all for oil, and then he let others take the fall. Not to mention he treated his fiancée horribly.

I didn’t even notice until you mentioned at the end that Officer Martinez was Oscar - that’s the best little cameo ever. It’s such an Oscar thing to be excited about tax fraud.

I just have one question - will the neighborhood end up forgiving William, now that they know the truth? And will we hear from Robert at all?

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it :) And yeah, I figured Danny would know when he was beat (/might have had enough after years of his lies caught up with him). But no, not much pity for him. 

Haha, the Oscar cameo was fun to write - there may have been another small cameo there from the sheriff too...

And you will find out about the neighbourhood in the next chapter - I wasn't planning to spend any more time on Robert, though, so this chapter is (sadly?) the last you'll hear from him.  

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed [Report This]
Date: July 28, 2021 08:37 am Title: Chapter 24

Just have to tell you again how much I've loved this. I've been engrossed from chapter one. The characters are so well done and it is such a unique intriguing story. I am going to be very sorry when it is over.

Maybe...there will be a sequel in the future?

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! That's so lovely to hear, I'm really glad you've enjoyed it :) Thanks very much for reading, and for taking the time to review. I'm not currently planning a sequel, but wouldn't rule out maybe doing one in the future! 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 28, 2021 08:12 am Title: Chapter 24

OMG this is a triumph. And I love that you are going to have a wrap-up chapter.

That sheriff though - grrrrrrrrr. I wanted to slap him! Does remind us of the period the story is set in. And go Oscar! I love that he had a part to play in this turning out the right way.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! And haha yes - so I knew I wanted an actual competent police officer in there, and then realised I hadn't used Oscar's character at all, so... 

The sheriff *might* be a character you also know (and also one that was pretty sexist, even in today's time).

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 28, 2021 06:24 am Title: Chapter 24

Got me going there for a minute thinking Robert was going to walk. Danny shows his true colors here. A coward who in the end only thinks of himself and only sees people as how he can use them for his own gain. People are objects to him. Pieces on a chess board to move around and play with. So especially when Pam shows up and confronts him he's left with nothing but his fear.

Really glad that Jim grilled him there. Must have been great for Jim to let out some of that tension. That Danny seems to have no idea how to even respond to Jim's interogation just proves how much of a weasle Danny really is.

Love that Oscar is the voice of reason here. Having to deal with an incompatant Sherrif like that must have been rough. Especially when said Sherrif throws Jim in too. Then to bring in the FBI? Yeah, Roberts going away for a long time.

Nice quick wrap up there with the trials to get it all done and out of the way. Then of course Jim makes the right decision. He's not running or hiding anymore. Love it love it love it.

Can't wait to see how it all wraps up.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And haha no, I definitely wasn't going to let Robert walk...but yeah, Danny is pretty much a coward in this. I briefly considered dragging the trial out, but then I figured the Beesleys had gone through enough (also, not actually sure how I'd write a courtroom drama). Thanks so much for your review! :) 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2021 07:55 am Title: Chapter 23

Wow. Wow, wow, WOW!
I read this chapter with a knot in my chest, but it was worth it!
I like it so much that we didn't know the whole plan immediately, and I like how it unfolded. Also... Pam and Danny's conversation is absolutely fantastic! For the tiniest bit of time, I even felt sorry for him... that was all his devilish charm and your mastery :)
Thank you! I'm looking forward to the following chapters so much!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it :D And haha, I'm sort of trying not to make Danny entirely hateable, but...he's not the best. Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: July 20, 2021 03:32 pm Title: Chapter 1

Wow.

I have never been more satisfied in my life than to see how deer in headlights Danny was. I’m really interested to see how he tries to worm his way out of this one, especially when he realizes that Jim and Karen have it all on record. It must have been so satisfying for Pam to finally get the answers she wanted, to finally confront this man who’s ruined her family.

Although, I can imagine that it’s a little bit sad, too, letting go of something that she’d had for so long and fully understanding just how bad of a person she almost married.

Question; what did he mean when he said that he never let Robert get to Pam?

Anyways, well done. Well done.

Author's Response:

Ah, thank you so much! That Danny scene was actually deeply satisfying to write, so I'm so pleased you enjoyed it :) And yeah, I think still not easy for Pam even if there must be some satisfaction there. The next chapter hopefully answers your question a bit too...

Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to review!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2021 10:07 pm Title: Chapter 23

Oh wow, where to start! The start of this very much feels like the calm before the storm. To quote the movie "Return of the King," the deep breath before the plunge. Great buildup with it all too. To not reveal the plan prior to it being carried out was a masterstroke. It was great fun to go along for the ride as it all unfolded. But I'm also getting a little ahead of myself here.

Nice that Jim and Pam had one more quiet moment before heading back. A quick time to steel their nerves before jumping into the fray. Nice little heart to heart Pam and Penny shared too.

Then we jump right in. We're really seeing the progression of Pam's character here. Before Jim came back there's no way she would have had the courage to do anything like that. She's found a lot of strength in her and I love watching it play out.

The fact that Danny has no answer to this Fancy New Beesly is even more delightful to read. For so long he had her in lockstep with everything. Turn on the smile, she'll play her part, and everything works out. When he tries those same tricks on her and they fail so hard is glorious. She's doing everything he never thought she would do. Standing up for herself, calling him out on his BS, driving herself, taking out some of her frustrations on his car, not backing down. It's so easy to see that he's left spinning that he falls into the trap so quickly. Then to have Jim and Karen step out like that, having recorded everything. Brilliant! Can't wait to see where we go from here.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Haha, that deep breath before the plunge is probably one of my favourite build-ups ever. I dithered on how to write the plan for a while (I had a vague idea of how I wanted it to go, but not how to execute it), so that's really great to hear :) And yeah - I always love Pam character development, I think that has been one of my favourite parts to write. Fancy New Beesley ftw! Thanks so much for the review! 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2021 10:05 pm Title: Chapter 23

I don’t know how you do it. Another amazing chapter!
What a rollercoaster. From intimate talks between sisters, fluffiness with Jim, and the edge-of-your-seat plan, it was perfect. I was hoping it ended as it did.
Many jellybeans!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much! I was slightly struggling to balance the plan with some quieter moments, especially between the two sisters, so I'm so glad you liked it :) 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2021 03:04 pm Title: Chapter 23

Ooooh this was so cool! I love that Danny has finally got his comeuppance, but guessing we're not out of the woods with Robert (and evil henchman Frank) just yet...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :) And Robert and Frank's fates are coming up in the next chapter... 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2021 02:21 pm Title: Chapter 23

I continue to really enjoy your use of Pam's unique touch with Michael throughout this story. She'll be good as their cartoonist.

There were two absolutely terrific lines about their relationship here I really wanted to highlight: "...he tries to work out when anything has ever felt this right. He’s not sure it has, since he left her all those years ago. So maybe the problem was never moving to Austin. Maybe it was just moving away from her" and then “I think that when you’re in love with someone, you should be completely yourself.” Very Jam-my and gorgeously written. I also thought you effectively drew out something that gets short shrift in canon, which is that the models Pam has for relationships turn out not to be the best, and that leads her into some unhappiness.

The plan sequence was really well-written. Very tense. And I appreciate you giving Pam the chance to hit Danny where it hurts: in his paint job.

We really get a good look at the Danny underneath the performer here, and yikes. Not much there. You can see how much he's convinced himself he's doing the right thing under the circumstances - he's so effective at sales he's managed to sell himself. There's someone who's going to get what he deserves.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you're enjoying the Michael and Pam, they are a lot of fun to write. And really pleased you enjoyed those lines! And yeah, I'm always so interested in how Helene and Bill's relationship might have influenced Pam's approach to Roy in canon. Hehe, Danny's paint job did have it coming. I'm sort of trying not to make Danny an entirely 2D villain here, but...yeah, I don't feel like his character does have much substance. Thanks so much for the review! 

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 13, 2021 05:35 pm Title: Chapter 22

Thanks you so much for the quick update !!
And I really love that you write long chapters and that's just one of many things I like about your work.
I loved the cow talk. Never heard cow being used in a romantic exchange so that was a first.
Michael was so sweet with Pam. He was still Michael but yet in an Alternate Universe, several decades back he was still amongst the first to acknowledge and cheer her art. He is great.
Dwight and Angela are..well them..can't help it but just an amazing duo who makes me forget that office was not set in your era.
Final verdict - This was awesome :)

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much! :) And hehe I'm really glad you enjoyed the cow talk. (Honestly, I might be worried if you said you had heard it being used in a romantic exchange before). And yeah, sweet supportive Michael is my favourite! Glad you're enjoying Dwight and Angela too, they do seem to fit this era weirdly well lol. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review! 

Reviewer: Trish Tinkerbell Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 13, 2021 05:35 pm Title: Chapter 22

Thanks you so much for the quick update !!
And I really love that you write long chapters and that's just one of many things I like about your work.
I loved the cow talk. Never heard cow being used in a romantic exchange so that was a first.
Michael was so sweet with Pam. He was still Michael but yet in an Alternate Universe, several decades back he was still amongst the first to acknowledge and cheer her art. He is great.
Dwight and Angela are..well them..can't help it but just an amazing duo who makes me forget that office was not set in your era.
Final verdict - This was awesome :)

Reviewer: WishYouWould Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2021 08:09 pm Title: Chapter 1

I tore through all 22 chapters in one evening and cannot wait to see how this gets wrapped up. I could happily read the rest of their lives, please know how amazing this is. You’re a fantastic writer, I’d read this as a stand-alone romance novel with OCs too! Bravo, fantastic!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so thrilled you're enjoying it - that's amazing to hear :) Thanks so much for reading, and taking the time to leave such a lovely review! 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2021 02:50 pm Title: Chapter 22

Reading each of these chapters is like drinking a fine wine - the more you read, the more you want. There is so much actual story going on here and yet you still manage to cram in so much JAM goodness. I am savouring every word.

Author's Response: Ahaha thank you so much - that's so kind! :) I'm so thrilled you're enjoying it (also, my aim for this story was to have slightly more JAM goodness and less JAM angst, so I'm glad that's worked). Thanks so much! 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: July 10, 2021 07:01 am Title: Chapter 22

Lovely chapter! I feel slightly anxious about the gang returning to Houston, but I still very much like to see how the plan unfolds!
And I hope that Pam's 'not interested' concerning the job was just 'at the moment.'
Also, I like Pam's observance here, both about great things and sad. And I hope that, after all, they meet the Halperts...
Thank you very much for writing! Your story's fantastic, and I'll never grow tired of repeating that :)
(About the previous chapter — my excitement wasn't about the plane sex (though it was unexpected and cool) but about virgin Jam :) I think them sharing their first time with each other is incredibly sweet. Thanks again for bringing it!)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm hoping not too much anxiety about the Houston return haha...and on the job, let's just say Michael did definitely pick up on the 'at the moment' part 😏 And aw yes, virgin Jam - I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reviewing :) 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans