Reviews For Calm Like You
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2021 04:24 pm Title: Chapter 12

I love Jim for actually kinda rooting for Danny not to be quite as dirty as he looks for Pam's sake. That's very Jim. As is him coming to grips with not having been there for her at these crucial moments.

Some really good casting here - Creed as the sketchy small-town bar owner is a given, but Meredith as the drunk angry townie is the role she was born to play in AUs. (And awwww. She stood up for Jim!)

I love the parallels with Jim and Pam here both realizing feelings that they've been pushing to the back of their minds and can't ignore anymore. Once again, this moment of realization about Danny feels like something that very much could have been about Roy, Pam not quite accepting how much of her unhappiness was about HIM and not just the situation they're in.

So they didn't want to drill near the house, then there was an explosion, and now they're drilling under the house. Hmmmm. Nothing suspicious there, DANNY.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2021 06:34 pm Title: Chapter 12

This feels like the death knell for the Danny and Pam relationship and I am 100% here for it. He doesn't respect her, has no idea who she really is, only sees her as an object, blatantly lies to her face, and has had her childhood home torn down for nothing more than to make money. I'm really hoping the next time Pam sees Danny she tears that god-awful ring off her finger and throws it right in his smug face. But that's also coming from the heart of an irredeemable JAM shipper.

Interesting to see how the townsfolk still regard Pam. I'm not sure if you've told us how long its been since the explosion, but it seems there are still deep wounds.

Love that she's finally in a place to allow Jim to really comfort her like that. Feels like after exploring outside her cage for a bit she turned to look back at it and really saw how awful it was. It's a shock to be sure which explains how she reacts there at the motel.

Lots of shades of the pining for Pam Jim we remember from canon. Even after he moved away he never forgot her. He may have tried but she was always there in his mind. Now that they're really re-connected and discovering what they have it feels like he's going to try and hold onto that connection in a way he never did before in order to keep it strong. Also I love that he's just there for her. Not trying to diminish what she's feeling or trying to white knight her pain away. She's had enough of that. So he's just there for her. Wonderful image.

Should really be interesting to see what unfolds when they get back to the big city.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! And yes haha, I was intending this chapter to be a death knell of sorts, so really glad that came across. My thinking on the length of time between the accident was roughly 2-3 years - but yeah, I think this is one of those things where in a small town, with something so catastrophic, the consequences would be felt for a while. 


And yes! My thoughts on the Jim pining was that it wouldn’t be quite as intense as on the show (in as much as I don’t think 12-13 is an age where you can fully fall in love with someone lol), but the connection is still very much there.
 
 And I totally agree on the white knighting her pain away, I think the just being there is much more important. 

I can confirm things will happen once they’re back to the city 😏
 
Thanks so much for reviewing!  

 

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2021 04:52 pm Title: Chapter 12

...

That was a lot of emotion. There wasn’t a terrible amount of action, but a lot of emotion.

I’ve gone back to work last week, which means seeing someone who I know I can’t have. So Jim reminiscing on his thoughts of Pam, even as he desperately tried to forget her, is something I can really relate to. Moving on is hard, and sometimes it takes forever, especially when you see people you know living the life you want (like Pete.)

And now we finally have some info on the big accident that killed Meredith’s husband and isolated the Beeslys. Being an outsider in your own home must suck, especially when you’re being held accountable for things you didn’t do. (Of course, Meredith has to flirt with Jim while she’s at it.)

And then we see what Danny has done.

Recently, I drove by my childhood home. The playground has been torn down and replaced with a shed; I built that playground with my father. I have memories in that playground that were lost with the destruction. I could not imagine losing the house in its entirety.

And to have my soon-to-be-spouse contribute to that destruction while lying to my face, scheming behind my back... The betrayal would be equivalent to literally being stabbed in the back.

You portrayed that raw emotion excellently here, just as you did in the college story when Pam’s mother died. Grief and betrayal are often accomplices; both are a loss of something that used to be. Pam’s vulnerability matched with Jim’s silent comfort is just perfect. He knows what she needs.

I must say, I’m a little nervous to see the two of them spooning in a hotel bedroom. I can only imagine what will follow.

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) Ah, I’m really sorry to hear about that on going back to work: I can really empathise, that is definitely a double edged sword of being back in that environment. And about the playground too - I really would struggle with something like that. 


I’m so glad you enjoyed the Jim and Pam interaction here though, thank you. And I agree on grief and betrayal! I’m hoping the follow on from the spooning won’t disappoint, haha. 

Thanks so much as ever for your feedback!  

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2021 08:09 am Title: Chapter 12

Ugh, I'm gonna kill Danny. I was right alongside Jim and half hoping that if they found anything, Danny wouldn't know about it. But he knows and has been so condescending and lying and I'm gonna kill him. But this did make Pam ask Jim to stay with her and honestly? Might be worth it. I can't wait to see what their next move is. I want them to just destroy Danny and everything he is.

Author's Response:

Haha, thanks so much! Yeah, I feel like I may have gone a *tad* canon divergent again with this awful version of Danny, but...it is fun to write. (And handy for getting Jim and Pam together).  Thank you so much for reviewing, I’m really glad you’re enjoying it! 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 13, 2021 05:33 am Title: Chapter 12

Basscop, are you a fellow Brit? This was fab BTW, finally they are alone together for a cuddle! And the truth is out about Danny! Loving it!

Author's Response:

Haha, I am! Hope you also got (/will soon get) the joy of huddling in a pub garden in a group of 6 at slight freezing temperatures 😁

And thanks so much! Yeah, I thought it was about time...thank you so much for reading and taking the time to leave a review, I really appreciate it! 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2021 11:56 pm Title: Chapter 11

Wow. I am gripped. And every chapter seems to be getting more cliff-hangery. This is absolutely awesome.

Author's Response:

Ah, thank you so much!! That’s so amazing to hear - I’m really glad you’re enjoying it :)   

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2021 10:07 am Title: Chapter 11

She doesnt want to marry Danny. Thats basically all I got out of this chapter and really its all I need. But for real, this was such a fun chapter. I love that Jim and Dwight joined in on Pam and Angela’s mission. How much Jim is just trusting Pam with whatever she needs to do. Their moments in the truck just about killed me. They fell asleep together and held hands multiple times and she never moved. Dead. Also Gabe being the head of the farm Im dying. I absolutely cannot wait for them to sneak back in!

Author's Response: Haha - I mean, that's pretty much the crux of it...? Pretty much insert that for the whole story. But thank you so much, I'm really glad you enjoyed this one! And the Gabe lol: I was trying to work out who the worst character was that you'd want in charge of the Beesley's farm and...thank you, Gabe.  Thanks so much for reviewing :) 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 12, 2021 06:40 am Title: Chapter 11

Nice to finally get going on unconvering some of the mysteries of everything Robert and Danny are up to. Shift buisness types like them who are only out to turn a profit. Makes sense they'd want to keep things under wraps.

Love how the connection between Jim and Pam keeps growing. They're clearly getting more and more comfortable just being around each other. Revisting their old hometown with all the memories I'm sure is helping that along nicely.

Big development for Pam. At least finally admitting to herself she doesn't want to be with Danny anymore. I'm sure there's still a bit to go down that path, but it's a big development. Rather than just poking her head out of her old cage, she's taken some figurative and literal steps out of it. Seems like she's also discovering there's a much better world outside of it for her too.

Love that Jim is just on her side. I've got a feeling that he's still committed to not writing the article he had planned. That is unless a certian someone tells him he should. Great job as usual.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much! And yeah, I slightly realised in writing this that I'm maybe not cunning enough to come up with a super sneaky/elaborate plot from Robert and Danny that's also vaguely believable...so I think a future as a shifty business type may not be in the cards for me, lol. But I'm hoping there is at least enough mystery to keep it interesting!

And Pam is getting there on the cage, haha. You may be right on your hunch about Jim and his article...

Thanks so much for reviewing :)  

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2021 08:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

Soo... I went on a bit of a hiatus and missed two chapters of this story. It’s currently 10:36 and I’m exhausted, so this review will be more general and cover both chapters 10 and 11.

I’m glad we finally got to understand what happened with Dwight. He’s always been a little weird in terms of confidence, especially when it comes to Jim, who is constantly undermining him. In a way, I can understand why he got so upset. This is such a big story.

It’s good to see him and Angela bonding well, and it was adorable how flustered he got when Jim brought her up( super adorable that both men are falling HARD for the women they were supposed to be seducing) and when he tried to compliment her when he was with Pam. The subtle awkwardness suits him and Angela.

And we’re finally seeing a mutual - affection, I guess?- being acknowledged between Jim and Pam. Even if they can’t act on it, it’s good to know that they do care about each other in a special way. This was especially prevalent when Pam recognized his fear of heights (and oh my GOD, when he reached for her because he thought she was falling) and got both of them down without him having to admit it and THEN managed to cheer him up afterwards.

There were just so many scenes of them comforting each other that it gave me hope for their future. Pam literally said (thought) that she didn’t want to marry Danny, and she almost told Jim. Jesus, I’ve never felt so awful for a character. How terrible it must be to just feel stuck, to never have someone on your side, and the one person who is on your side can’t be with you. Jenna Fischer said this about the scene in Boys and Girls where Pam and Jim get into their first fight, and it rings so true here. It just pierced this stone heart.

I am ready for these two to get together. And I am ready for the Californias to be torn apart, and I am ready for Pam to destroy her engagement to Danny.

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response:

Haha oh no I'm sorry, thanks so much for taking the time to leave feedback anyway though! :D 

And yeah, I am a big Dwight and Angela fan, so I'm really gad you enjoyed that - and that was my initial plan when I first started writing this lol, that Dwight and Jim would go in with the idea of seducing them and...end up getting seduced, basically.  

Yes! That Boys and Girls scene and what she said is just heart-breaking. I just think that would be so awful.  

And ha, things might be getting torn apart by Jim and Pam very soon...  

Thanks so much for reviewing :)  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2021 07:22 am Title: Chapter 11

I love the rental shop dialogue. Very easy to hear all their voices there, and I appreciate you acknowledging the pretty heavy burdens Pam and Angela might have faced as women investigators at this particular moment.

Anna Karenina *does* do a lot of almost fainting, doesn't she? But regardless: I liked their subtle physical reactions to each other here. I do think that sort of hyper-awareness of each other works for this story and at this juncture in their relationship. Their dynamic here is great - they're saying a lot without saying much, and they're able to pick up each other's signals in a way that makes sense with two people who used to be so close. AND you worked in her falling asleep on his shoulder!

The Dwangela here is deeply entertaining as always.

I think the idea of Danny not being on her side is important, in particular because it establishes that even if Danny isn't up to something nefarious, he's still just... not the partner Pam wants, and he's never going to be.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I really enjoyed writing the rental shop dialogue, I feel like we need more Dwangela + Jam scenes in general. 

(And I mean, she really does?! Don't even get me started on what happens every time she gets on a train in that book). I'm really glad you think their physical reactions worked here though - them being able to pick up each other's signals on the show is something I always love.

And yes, I sort of wanted some nefarious hijinks in the plot, but I also didn't want that to be the only reason she picked Jim...I wanted it to be a genuine partnership.    

Thanks so much, as ever, for your review! :)  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 08:42 pm Title: Chapter 10

I love the way they're looking out for each other here - noticing each other's discomfort, stepping up to protect each other and doing it in a way that Angela and Dwight and Frank won't notice. Lovely. The shower scene was adorable.

You're just a really good writer. You really effectively made us feel the physical dynamic and the undercurrent between them in this escape from their routines and their usual place in the world. Really well done.

Author's Response:

Ah, thank you so much! That is really kind of you to say, I’m really pleased you enjoyed it :)  Tbh I was worried it was starting to read as a bit much with all the flushing and Pam getting hot and dizzy (I recently tried to make my way through Anna Karenina and couldn’t with the amount of times she fainted from being overcome with the heat and/or desire, so that may have crept across…)  But I’m relieved to hear it was ok here!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 08:23 pm Title: Chapter 9

Not just a Karen cameo, but an Andy sighting! Wonderful.

Again, I love the way you're playing with the Pam dynamic with her fiancee with the ring - she's got a set of anxieties built up about it that are the total reverse of how (at least I imagine) she would have felt about her chintzy ring from Roy.

After your last adventure with Karen, I'm glad to see you've made her such a supportive figure for Pam this time around. I love the story of how she meets her Dan... and how she recontextualizes Danny's manipulations of Pam in a way that she can maybe start to recognize them as about something other than her inadequacies.

You did a good job in this chapter filling out the connection between them - the way Pam has never really replaced it, hasn't found a new confidante, and the way Jim still feels obliged to put his faith in her.

"Almost. But not quite. Because they’re grown up now, and what if this is earth-shattering for her? Because talking to Jim about any doubts that she might have about Danny feels both like betraying her fiancé, and like - well, there’s just something terrifying about it. Like if she tells Jim, he’ll know, and then it will be real." In addition to being a wonderful paragraph, this also feels a lot like something Pam would've had on her mind between Booze Cruise and Casino Night.

I have a growing sense Danny knows, either instinctively or through subtle inquiries to Mama Beesly, about the dynamic between the two of them. Also, look, I'm not saying Danny caused The Accident. But Danny caused The Accident.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! And yes haha, Andy in small doses I can handle. I’m really glad you like the ring/reversal with Roy stuff, I agree it’s a different sort of dread to what she would have felt with Roy’s ring. I was interested in the idea of her getting on the surface everything she might want, but it still not being right because it’s still not the right person. 


I did feel like I owed Karen more after dragging her through mud in my last fic, lol. Including giving her happiness here, although I then realised her husband in canon had the same name, so…I’m glad you enjoyed that! 


And yes! on the Booze Cruise and Casino Night: I think it’s that, she can’t pretend with Jim and that’s slightly terrifying thing. 


Danny is very good at reading people. And ha - I can neither confirm nor deny on his involvement in The Accident… 


Thank you so much as ever for your feedback, it’s really appreciated and I always love reading it :) 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 10:47 am Title: Chapter 10

I... I don't know if there's something sweeter than Jam taking care of each other. That's so tender and sincere, and I'm just melting into a puddle.
(Also, that was hot. I don't feel much comfortable around mature content, but... wow. Very much wow.)
And your writing is fantastic, and I want to tell you about that over and over again :)
P.S. Have no idea about these rig things, but I'm scared of height so very much... can relate to poor Jim here.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! That's really kind :) I have a big soft spot for Jam taking care of each other. And haha, I'm definitely not great at the mature content, so am in two minds about how far to try to take it in this fic...but I'm really glad you liked this bit here. Thanks so much for your lovely feedback, I really appreciate it! 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2021 08:34 pm Title: Chapter 10

I am obsessed with this story! You write the tension between them so well! Can’t wait for more

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! That's so lovely to hear, I'm really glad :) Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, I really appreciate it! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2021 04:08 pm Title: Chapter 10

Still tons of tension, but it feels different. Like with memories of childhood they're actively trying to re-establish the connection they once shared. The passive forms of connection are only getting stronger. I really like seeing how they can just react to each other non-verbally and pick up on everything.

Pam at least has a clear idea of what she really wants know. She wants Jim. However she's still trapped based on her situation. However it also feels like she's starting to change that.

I also like that Jim can finally fire back at Dwight a bit. Call him out for some of his more annoying habits. Seems to work too. I also really like that line Dwight had about how he wouldn't want Angela to work for a corrupt company. Feels like it could be the spark that lights a fire under Jim's butt to get to the bottom of everything going on.

Great job as per usual.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! I'm glad you're still enjoying the tension haha, and that it's at least varied...and yeah, my thinking was that it would be that bit easier for them to reconnect once they're out of Houston and away from all the other stuff. (Basically, I love a good bonding on a road trip story). And lol - Jim probably does need a fire up his butt. I can promise that Dwight will get less annoying as the story progresses. Hopefully. 

Thanks so much for reviewing :)  

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2021 02:02 pm Title: Chapter 10

These two are going to be the death of me. Jim being so concerned for Pam and then Pam helping him with his fear of heights. And then their shower “together.” And then when they felt like how they used to out on the balcony. Jim pointing out that Pam didnt say “see you in the morning” has me concerned, I know theyre planning on sneaking out but I hope nothing happens. Ugh. I need 100 more chapters of this at least

Author's Response: Haha, sorry about that - thank you so much! It was very nearly a shower together, lol. My plan on writing this fic was not to make it quite as angsty/painful, but...I'm not sure I've succeeded so far. It was meant to be a fun oil story, whoops. I can promise that I'll try to resolve the 'see you in the morning' relatively quickly though :D Thanks so much for reviewing, I always love reading your feedback! 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 08, 2021 02:00 pm Title: Chapter 10

Very behind with reviews but just wanted to show appreciation of how much I am loving this story.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! That's so great to hear, I'm really glad you're enjoying it: really appreciate you leaving a review! :) 

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2021 09:03 am Title: Chapter 9

Yay! I was happy to see your update and an amazing one!
I don't know where to start, but it was nice to witness Pam and Karen's interaction. I guess Karen already guessed who Pam really was... and Pam's choice of pseudo is lovely :)
Also, I like that girls took everything into their hands. Curious to see what they will find out!
(I can't get rid of the impression that Danny is trying to put Pam into Jim's bed to distract him from the article and California's; that makes him even more disgusting).
Thank you for sharing this story with us!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks so much! :) So I think Karen is astute enough to maybe recognise someone else that's caught up with Danny...and hehe, I am all about the girls taking things into their own hands. (I will also say that Danny's motivations will eventually be revealed). Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked this one! 

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2021 06:21 pm Title: Chapter 9

yay, thank you for the update! I'm glad Pam is investigating on her own and I like how you've written Karen! Looking forward to the overnight, although I'm sure it will be angsty!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to leave feedback! And for reading - I'm really thrilled you're enjoying this :) So I was originally intending for this fic to be a bit less angsty haha, but I think I've slightly failed... 

Reviewer: BlindManCassidy Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2021 10:04 pm Title: Chapter 1

You’re back!!!

So it’s nearly midnight here, but I saw that this story was posted and had to write a review.

Firstly, I am glad that Pam decided to go through with her investigation. I think it’s really important that she found out what was going on behind her back or what Danny was shielding her from. I love Karen here, which is rare, but she was so blunt and simultaneously comforting at the same time.

And, of course, she was very informative. Pam needed to hear that Danny is indeed an asshole; I think that the information coming from someone who dated him is really important, especially since he seems to have a track record of treating his SOs poorly. It definitely sucks to hear your fiancé is using you for your land to help his screwed-up boss, but I’m glad she heard it before they tied the knot. I can honestly say now that I don’t think Pam really loves him anymore, or if she does, it’s not showing at all.

Now I’m a little confused as to why she didn’t want to tell Angela what she knew about Danny and instead was very vague, but I’m sure that will be sorted later.

I was happy to see that Pam does want to totally destroy Danny now. It’s good to know that Jim was committed to not writing the story, but I’m glad that Pam wants him to. Time for Danny to receive his comeuppance.

Lastly, I think it’s so cute that Jim would say out loud that Pam flirting with him leaves him helpless. He obviously was just thinking it and then accidentally let it slip, and it’s even better when Pam doesn’t pull away. I’m glad that their story isn’t over yet and that Jim isn’t just leaving.

Sleep deprived,

BlindManCassidy

Author's Response:

Ahh, thank you so much! (And sorry, haha). I'm really glad to hear you liked this one :) And Karen lol - I felt like I owed her a fic where I didn't write her as awful. And yeah, I thought Pam did need to hear from someone else who could relate to what Danny was like.

So the Pam not telling Angela everything was more because she doesn't know 100% at this stage whether Danny is using her - she just suspects. But wants to find out for definite...

Really glad you liked Jim's accidental slip too :D Thanks so much, as ever, for your feedback!   

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2021 08:48 pm Title: Chapter 9

Really like that Pam is starting to take a more active role in how things are going in her life. Her seeking Karen out like that is a great way to show that. Also to get some outside perspective. Nice way to show Karen as a no-nonsense kind of lady. She's honest and frank. Methinks she also probably saw though some of what Pam was telling her. So she also knows enough to keep her head and not push Pam away. Giving Pam her business card seems like it could come up again if Pam still needs some more perspective.

Speaking of Pam, the fact she's relieved to take off her engagement ring is very telling. It's the big gaudy thing that is just Danny throwing his style and charm around. But again he doesn't know or care to know who Pam is. Seems like she's starting to get a more clear sense of that.

Time for roiling thoughts of Jim. He wants to honor his promise to Pam. Yet it seems he can't. One because Danny keeps deflecting him and two because of how Pam is talking to him.

Their dance was great. Their embrace in the storm was the big moment to get a lot of feelings out. The dance is the more subtle way of communicating. It really felt like they're reaching back for the connection they used to share and to their surprise it's still in place. They can read each other. Great way to bring out all those confusing feelings.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I am all for Pam taking a more active role in her life haha - I'm so glad you liked Karen here. And yeah, I think Karen might have a bit of an inkling...the business card may come in handy later 😏

I realise that I've somehow managed to sneak a lot of Jim/Pam dancing into my fics, not entirely deliberately lol - but really pleased you liked this one!  Thanks so much as ever for reviewing, I always love reading your feedback :) 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2021 08:11 pm Title: Chapter 8

Hmmmm. I'm wondering when we're going to get a better sense of what Jim thinks Danny and the Californias are up to. I'm very curious now. And I increasingly suspect Bill Beesly was set up. (That was a very nice way to work in Danny not calling her back, by the way.)

Again, I'm struck by Dwight's suspicion here. Obviously we know this is 150% wrong and very much about Dwight and Michael insisting that Jim is following a seduction strategy he's told them repeatedly he's not using... but again, I do appreciate that you're giving Jim a chance to reflect on whether maybe he is in fact a changed man just as Pam starts to consider whether he's changed as much as she thinks.

You just did a lot of really good, subtle work here, especially with how Pam doesn't really realize how much she's been manipulated about the house.

"Jim would say the guy has a pretty good read on her, only he doesn’t mention her sense of humour. He doesn’t once say that she’s funny" is a classic Jam line in any universe.

Looking forward to seeing how Ms. Filippelli gets herself involved in all this...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked the Danny not calling her back mention, hehe. I sort of got that he was doing it to preserve her feelings/avoid awkwardness on the show, but the trying to make someone question their own recollection of something also struck me a bit shitty and manipulative. And yeah, I did write this with the idea that Dwight's suspicion wasn't wholly unfounded based on past experience...even if Jim wasn't fully aware of it at the time. Thanks so much for reviewing!  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: March 31, 2021 09:54 pm Title: Chapter 7

"He reminds himself that a daisy is not a diamond and knocks at the front door." I don't know why I like that sentence so much, but I do. I just feel like it says a lot about where they are right now without saying too much. (And "He’d known even then that there was no way anyone would never want to speak to Pam Beesley again" is just sweet.)

I like what you're doing with Pam here. Her not being willing to trash him to Helene and Penny and not quite being able to come clean with herself about what it means that she isn't.

You do really well with the contrast between Jim and Danny here - the way Pam and her family are still very much on something akin to first date behavior with someone they really should be comfortable with by now, and the way Pam spends so much of her life in a context where she's the one out of place that it hasn't really occurred to her that Danny's world doesn't really fit in with her. The changing context of the dress was a nice metaphor.

I am increasingly curious about the true cause of The Accident. #BillWasFramed

So I'm cheating a little, because I've already read the next chapter, but I think you're doing some fun things with the question of how much Jim has changed. This suggests that he hasn't nearly as much as Pam seems to think... and the next chapter ends up with Jim considering that maybe he's changed more than he's given himself credit for. And I like that you're touching on the harder-to-resolve question - even if Jim is someone who cares for Pam and who she can trust, even a trustworthy Jim can end up hurting her on his way to the truth. Which does not make them natural allies. And opens her up for a new ally. Say... an Italian researcher.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm really thrilled you liked those lines :) (I can't say I'd normally be a fan of writing Jim/Pam as kids, but: I do feel like Jim would have been a particularly sweet kid). 

And yeah, I do think the not being able to trash someone to people you care about/whose opinions matter to you is telling. 

I feel like I go on about it, but one of my favourite things about Jim/Pam's relationship is that she always seems much more herself around him, and happy to be herself - so I was interested in that compared to Danny (in some ways I think Danny would have been an even worse partner for her than Roy, in that he not only doesn't really get her, but also thinks he's a bit too cool for her, which...sounds soul-destroying, basically).

Haha, we are going to get the bottom of the accident. And any framing..

I'm really glad you're enjoying the how much Jim has changed question - I think that he's a character that is not immune to trying to reinvent himself, or to getting swept up in his environment (even if he stays the same guy underneath), so that was definitely something I wanted to explore in a scenario where Jim and Pam ended up separating and going off on slightly different tracks. 

One Italian researcher coming up :D

Thanks so much for reviewing!  

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 11:49 am Title: Chapter 8

Oh my... there're so many moments I adore, and each of them is so powerful that they felt like gunshots. Jim doubting himself? Bam! Pam's dream about a house with a terrace, that almost came true and felt so wrong? Bam! The rain scene? Bam, bam, bam! I'm dead (but in the best possible way!)
Without a doubt, I'm going to re-read this story many times.
And I like how you added those tiny moments to the other layer of the story — the oil one. So many things intertwined here, I'm not even going to try to guess what's going on. Only one thing — is Pam going to meet (talk to) Karen? I'm already thrilled about this interaction :)
Thank you so much for your story (and for the regular updates!)

Author's Response:

Ahaha thanks so much! That's really lovely to read :) And yep - Pam is going to talk to Karen...

 Thank you so much for reviewing! (And sorry lol, realise I've not been as regular with my latest update). I'm so glad you're enjoying it though! 

 

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2021 10:17 pm Title: Chapter 8

How do you do it? How do you make each chapter so amazing and well done and beautiful? Pam's confessions on the terrace were heartbreaking. You just know that she has been waiting to say all of those things for so long and she was finally able to let them out. I'm so glad that she let Jim comfort her. I'm also glad that Jim is deciding to stop the story, though it seems as though maybe Pam won't want him to anymore because of her father's farm. I know I say this every chapter but I cannot wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Ah thank you so much, that's so kind to say! :) I'm so glad to hear you liked it. I can confirm that Jim and Pam may now be going opposite ways on the story, lol. Thanks so much for reviewing!! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans