You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 07:45 pm Title: Pickles and Swiss Cheese

Okay, there are some AMAZING and creative remixes of canon here - you've got The Fire, you've got Office Olympics, you've got Michael's Birthday, you've got The Alliance, you've got the iconic head-on-the-shoulder-kiss-to-the-top-of-the-head - really fun stuff, and well done. I like the idea of them as this still very functional but passive-aggressive and sniping little team, and that they're still finding ways to play the same games.

I like the reference to Jim being a stuck high school jock - someone's working out some frustrations with other people on Jim. And there were some good notes of Jim's humanity here, comforting Kevin and knowing him well enough to know his favorite number and his favorite lunch. (I also really appreciate Pam seeing through his Bad Boy side... Jim really is Bug Bunny-ish.)

HE KNOWS HER FAVORITE TEA. And his Anne Hathaway movies. Please tell me that's going to be a running gag.

The Jim-Larissa dynamic was cute. And I am eager to watch the inevitable falling in love play itself out. You've laid the groundwork well!

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 03:38 am Title: Pickles and Swiss Cheese

I'm loving this so much. Kelly continues to be hilarious in the flashback, and I really like how you've flipped some of the stuff from canon like the hot sauce and the 69 noodles to make them slightly more antagonistic for this fic (but still cute). And the iceskating scene was so sweet. (Also, Roy stealing the 'get you in the tub' line, which I always found a bit gross, is genius). And then so much happening in the present day! Larissa is fantastic here, I really enjoyed this glimpse into her and Jim's relationship. And then the deal!! And Jim buying Pam lingerie, and Pam buying him the birthday cake he actually wanted - plus the comic book and his genuine joy about both of them. Just so great. I really can't wait to see how the next 6 weeks pan out...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 09, 2021 10:15 am Title: Pickles and Swiss Cheese

You're really setting this up with some rom-com tropes you know that right? Firs the flashback. Nice way to bring in a bunch of situations from canon but adding twists. That was fun. It really felt like despite everything, Pam is someone Jim really cares about.

Larissa was a hoot and a half. Loved how she just steamrolled over everything like that. Great use of the character.

Again the feeling that despite some rough edges they do sincerly care about each other. Also feels like there are deeper feelings lying under the surface but they're both not quite willing to explore them...yet.

Kind of fun to see the conditions they set for the "fake dating." That should be fun going forward. "Dont fall in love with me." Right.

Nice job with this one.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2021 06:29 pm Title: A 10-Second Birthday Hug

This is an interesting take on what Pam's life in the office might look like without Jim... she's a little closer and a little more favorably inclined towards everyone else. Hmmmm.

I love their relationship establishing its post-reveal bounds. You can tell Jim is a little trying to be friendly but also a little hurt and it's coming out as aggressive, and Pam is guarded but interested in bantering despite herself. I also love the way you grounded Roy's concerns about Jim in envy here.

The birthday party was great. She still notices the little details about him!

""Jim, I would really appreciate it if you get the fuck off my desk."" I like this line bcause it's something I can actually also picture canon Pam saying with a gigantic smile on her face.

Awww. Danny finds her awkwardness charming.

This ending is delightfully trope-y and I love it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Yeah, I think with Pam, she'll naturally gravitate towards other people. It's the same with anyone starting a new job. They feel awkward around everyone first but eventually warm up to them. So yeah, and there's no Jim to distract her.
 
The back and forth between the two is very real. It's almost like they're enjoying getting a rise out of the other. With Roy, yeah I try to make it obvious that he's jealous of 'Halpert' and you will see why down the road.
 
The funny thing about the love-hate dynamic is they still notice these little things about each other even though they don't necessarily like being around each other. Well, especially for Pam. But yeah, it would make sense for her to know these things.
 
Danny and Pam. Ooooh boy, how will manwhore Jim ever win against someone like him right? 
 
The ending is definitely trope-y and it will lead to a lot of things moving forward. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2021 03:01 am Title: A 10-Second Birthday Hug

Hehe, Pam and Jim’s digs at each other throughout the flashback were great: I also loved her throwing the ‘are you jealous’ back in his face in the present day. And her catching him and Katy in the supply closet! And the fact that she is both disgusted and just a little bit flustered.

Cathy taking over and getting Jim a boring present and cake, in contrast with how well Pam knows him, is a really nice touch. (As is the fact that Pam did actually get him a present!) I’m also really enjoying how you’re writing Danny in this - he seems like a nice guy who is genuinely interested in Pam, and it’s refreshing to have someone who is a) normal and b) into Pam as a contender for Jim. It definitely makes things more interesting.

And then Larissa at the end AND Jim pretending Pam is his girlfriend...I really can’t wait for the next chapter!

I’m also all out of jellybeans :(

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, it's really a somewhat charming back and forth between the two of them. Jim mostly wins but I like it when Pam has her moments. The 'Are you jealous' in the present day was really awesome for me because Jim obviously wanted that painting.

With Cathy, I have already written 3 chapters where she is just insane. The funny thing is they're not even together and she still took charge of his birthday. 

With Danny, yeah, I was initially thinking of making him to be a "What the hell does Pam see in this guy?" type of character but I decided to make him into someone who genuinely likes Pam. Of course, even I'm rooting for Jim (and he's a douche here) so we'll see how it plays out.

Rissa and Duncan. That's going to be interesting to say the least. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2021 02:56 am Title: Not a Bad Week

Ok, I take it back - Jim’s disappointment in the flashback here may actually be even more crushing than Pam’s in the previous chapter! Although: Jim pulling the whole ‘pranks are unprofessional’ on Pam in the show annoyed me so much that it’s pretty satisfying seeing her use it on him here 😏 I like that Pam felt bad for it even in the flashback though. And then that she continues to feel bad in the present day, and realises she doesn’t actually want him to leave her alone at all. Cathy’s super passive aggressive apology made me laugh/dislike her even more. And a Holly sighting, and Jim helping Michael get there! I really like Jim using his powers for good here, both with Michael and with Pam/Danny (even though obviously I don’t actually want the Pam/Danny to work out, lol). The ending of this chapter, with Jim coming to Pam just as she’s about to come to him, and them settling down to watch a movie, was just perfection.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, I kinda felt for Jim in this flashback. No one really likes being judged automatically but it does happen on a regular basis. And he did want to form a genuine relationship with Pam. Alas, it was not meant to be.

With Pam, I think it was pretty much summed up at the end of the chapter. Jim had bugged her so much that it really left a void. It's almost like how Jim and Dwight can't stand each other but don't really know what to do if the other wasn't there. 

Cathy is officially one of my favorites to write because she is just all types of crazy. 

I don't think I'll be using Holly a lot but I just wanted to include Michael's soup snake. 

I almost didn't include the ending because of length but it had to be there because I wanted a feel good ending for them. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2021 02:50 am Title: Slow Train from Philly

Ok, I was v excited when I discovered that I’ve got 3 chapters to catch up on this 😀 the flashback in this one is so sad - Pam goes from being so excited and happy to so disappointed, I also love the use of the engaged ain’t married line in a totally different context. (And Kelly’s names for the previous receptionists cracked me up, especially the Twilight reference). I loved that Pam and Jim have a whole routine with his one night stands, including her disapproving head shake. I’m also now intrigued about when she moved in next to him - was she there while she was living with Roy?

Cathy is the actual worst - although I really enjoyed the Ryan dialogue (including the ‘don’t interrupt’), this was him at his douchiest and it fits so well here for Cathy. Ugh and the video - poor Pam. I really like that Jim’s immediate reaction is to comfort/defend her (and maybe this is good if it’s the catalyst for him finally being done with Cathy?) I think Pam’s comment that he gets away with that behaviour and she doesn’t is pretty fair, even if it does lead to Jim leaving her alone :( I am very on board with things better from here haha, if only because I feel for both of them a lot in this chapter.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! And I'm really trying to find time to catch up with your latest story because I read the first chapter (and half of the second) and I was hooked!

I really hated doing the flashback because it does tarnish the relationship between Jim and Pam but without it, I don't really have a story to write sooooooo

Anything with Kelly, I really go to Twilight because I always think about the poster Jim gave to her. 

With them being neighbors, I can reveal that Pam and Roy were living elsewhere so Pam becomes Jim neighbor after they ended things.

With Cathy, I just really go all out. The bitchier, the better but what I can say is she definitely is a crazy ex-girlfriend.

I really wanted Pam's behavior to be justified somewhat here because at the end of it, it's her character that was getting tarnished. Jim really did get away with it scot free. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 04, 2021 05:23 pm Title: A 10-Second Birthday Hug

Interesting to see how Pam figured out how to start returning Jim's fire at her. Makes sense that this Jim would make those kinds of moves on Katy.

Really not liking Cathy. I mean she's really just trying to ruin everything isn't she.

So Pam and Danny are heading out for a date. Sounds interesting to say the least.

Though that end there with Larissa and how Jim treats Pam is really the interesting thing. Larissa assuming Pam is the girlfriend. Jim greeting Pam with a kiss and an arm around the waist. Nice twist to the story

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I think with Pam, she just eventually learned how to play along with Jim's banter. Sometimes she'd win, most of the time she'd lose because she really does get easily flustered (eg, finding Jim in the supply closet)

I think I'd done my job if everyone really hated this version of Cathy. I mean there is 100% nothing redeemable about her. She also ruined Jim's birthday!

 Yeah, with Pam and Danny, we'll see their relationship build down the road. The underlying question there would be, how does it work out for them?

 I can't give out too much about the dynamic between Jim and Larissa but it's interesting to say the least. Which you can read about in the next chapter because it is out! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2021 07:48 pm Title: Not a Bad Week

So this one starts out as interesting. Pam distancing herself from Jim. After what she's learned I get it. She's engaged and has found out that Jim is probably just trying to get in her pants. Considering his reaction when she lets slip about his reputation, I wonder if he kinda forgot about all that and was truly trying to form a more canon style friendship. Her rejection of that made him continue to act in the Mr. Cool version of himself.

Moving past that I think it's really interesting to get more of Jim's perspective. Him thinking that his relationship with her was more older brother teasing the younger sister kind of thing. I also think there's something off about him. After four years you'd think he'd be well aware of his reputation by now. Yet it kind of feels like it's coming as a shock to him that he's perceived as a player by people. Maybe it's me but I'm having a hard time pinning him down. In his apartment he has nerdy things like a Captian America shield, pictures of his family, and wants a genuine friendship with Pam. Yet theres also this side of him that I've been calling Mr. Cool. Wiling to flirt with just about any attractive woman and has no qualms about one night stands. His revelation to Danny that no he doesn't sleep with clients and that it's Angela being judgemental Angela does cut through some of that. So it'll be interesting to see where we go from here.

Pam is also kind of fascinating here. I think it's telling that she feels dissapointed when it's Danny that shows up at her desk. Yeah there was attraction at first, but it feels like that's staring to wane a bit. I think it was good for Izzy to give her some good advice. She did tell Jim to leave her alone and he did. However now she also knows what she's missing. Someone who keeps her on her toes.

Ending things with them repairing a lot of the tension over the week seemed good. It wasn't quick, it took some time, and both of them had to do some soul searching. However now that they've mended some fences, I think it's telling that they seek each other out rather than anyone else. Nice writing to bring that out.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I think with Jim, he's self aware but at the same time, he was hoping to form just a genuine friendship with Pam. And at the end of it, nobody really likes hearing the truth about themselves especially from someone they like. It's more like, "Okay, I know that but thanks for rubbing it in my face even further." 

I think the reason why it's hard to pin him down is because there really are two sides of him but he only has one side that he's explicitly showing to people. Even the ones in his room, it's really just Pam who sees him for who he is (or was). Well, we also have to assume other women have seen his room but let's just say they don't thoroughly examine it they was Pam does. 

Pam definitely misses Jim more than she realizes and is probably unaware of how big an impact he has on her. We'll see how that plays out.

 The six day timespan was hard to write but I really wanted it written that way so whoever was reading this could see the agony they were in while they were "apart" 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2021 12:05 pm Title: Not a Bad Week

UGH. Heartbreak. They're so on the same page and they still can't get it together. This seems like this was good for them, though - Jim needs to reflect on how he's treating people, and Pam needs to accept his actual place in her life. (And I love that they're still actually Jim and Pam, just... the combative version.)

I do appreciate that you've made Jim not quite as bad as his reputation, although he's kinda done this to himself.

Ah, Jim. You are a pretty good wingman when you want to be, for Pam and Michael both. Also, HOLLY SIGHTING.

Another really fun chapter, especially with the callbacks at the end!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

What I'm extra careful about with this story is I don't want it to look like they're about to enter into something toxic. So I really want to make sure that they also both grow from this...well whatever it is they're doing. So I'm really trying to balance out Jim here in particular. We know he's a douche but I still have to make him rootable.

He's definitely the definition of "You do something and all the rumors about you are assumed to be true."

As much as I love Holly, she'll mostly be background here but I do love adding her from time to time. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 01, 2021 11:50 am Title: Slow Train from Philly

This is actually pretty depressing. They have the same connection as in canon, but Jim's reputation and personal flaws keep him apart from the one person who maybe could bring out something better in him. The repurposing of engaged ain't married is clever - taken out of the context of TRUE LOVE it is pretty deeply morally questionable, and I like that you engaged with that.

This is also an interesting twist on canon Jim. They're mainly being held back not by how he treats HER, but how he treats other people... which is striking in light of canon Jim's treatment of most of his non-Pam love interests. Clever stuff.

Ugh. Cathy is the WORST. (The names in the chat were a nice touch - Grey's Anatomy, Airplane! *and* Luanne the extra united as they always should have been.)

Well. I suppose we have to earn our happy endings, and maybe this Jim in particular needs to do more to earn it than most Jims.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, I feel like it's the same dynamic but at the same time, Jim's a gigantic tool in this so it becomes more complicated in terms of answering, "How do they make this work?". And I agree, BFD can end up so bad so why not have douchey Jim say it?

With Jim, yeah there were times in canon when he could have really treated people better and this story just exaggerated it so much. But yes, he really has a soft spot for Pam. This is a JAM story after all.

Cathy, I'm sorry. I don't think she'll have any redeeming qualities by the end of this, lol. Which kinda goes with canon. I mean, who really likes Cathy?

Douchey Jim will definitely have to work twice as hard. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 08:25 pm Title: Slow Train from Philly

So first I was kind of expecting Roy to be off on his assessment of Jim. But it does seem to be confirmed by what Kelly and Angela said there in the flashback.

Wow, Cathy is a B here. Leading Pam away for the video to upload like that. Deliberately causing a scene. I mean she's deluded if she thinks that she and Jim are soulmates, especially after a stunt like that.

Ouch, rough for Pam. To be accosted by everyone in the office, online, and by Roy. No wonder she wanted to haul off on Jim. Now I mean it's not like it's not deserved. You've been portraying him as quite the jerk so he's probably in need of a good slap like that.

Does make me wonder how he and Pam are going to recover from this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 
Yeah, Jim is unfortunately officially a douche in this story but in terms of what is true and what isn't, we'll see.
 
I was initially going to write Karen to be the bitch in the story but Cathy barely gets written so I decided on Cathy.
 
With Pam, I think with the particular incident, she did kind of lash out at Jim even when it wasn't his fault but she's finally at wits end with him so she ended up blaming him for everything.
 
 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 11:28 pm Title: Best Pizza in Town

The parallel Cugino's lunches is a nice touch. I love Jim being fully aware of why the receptionists leave and telling Pam he thinks she's going to stick around! He's smitten, poor guy. Feels like there's more to his backstory there.

I like how even douchey Jim just kinda gets Pam on a certain level. Their banter here is fun ("a male version of Phyllis") and Pam's lousy flirting skills clearly benefit from exposure to Jim. And you managed to create a vintage awkward JAM moment!

Yeah, I'm just really enjoying this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 
He really is smitten, isn't he? I think it plays on how they have this instant connection which unfortunately won't pan out the way he'd want to given his...lifestyle.
 
Male version of Phyllis was my favorite line so far. He's really a gigantic douche. 

Reviewer: Moonstream05 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 26, 2021 08:39 am Title: Best Pizza in Town

I really enjoyed this chapter, the contrasting Cugino 'dates' were great. 

I'm also really liking this Jim here, like how even when he first met her, he was very encouraging of her art, and that he knew a lot more about her and Roy's relationship than he let on. I am also very intrigued onto why he left Philadelphia and Athlead, so I'm really excited to find out more about that. I also like how he is still very supportive of her now, and that he stopped laughing and tried to comfort her when he saw she was put down.

I also really like Pam here too, she seems to be calming down on her 'hatred' and seems to be going for a more laid back disdain. And her opening pick up line was brilliant, that had me laughing quite a bit.

Also Jim choking about Michael and Dwight saying those things was great.

I also kinda hope that this newly developed Jim and Pam friendship follows through to the office.

Anyway, I'm really enjoying this story so far, it's really interesting and entertaining!

:) 



Author's Response: Thank you so much!

The first date was really a play on how sweet Jim can be and his intentions were entirely pure. What I did want to show on the second date was he really does care for her on a certain level. He just has his own douchey way of showing it.
 
With Pam, I think she doesn't hate him as much as she lets herself believe. Granted, she really does think that he's a douche but she has a soft spot for him.
 
We'll see how long I can keep this friendship up *wink* 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 25, 2021 01:22 pm Title: Best Pizza in Town

Gah, I loved so many things about this chapter! Their first Cugino's lunch, and Pam drawing Jim, was just so sweet (I also lol'd at Jim spluttering over why all the previous receptionists left, I'm really enjoying that running gag) - and I'm now very intrigued about the backstory for him doing a reverse Philly Jim. And then present day Cugino's! Jim asking Pam what she liked in Danny was great - I really liked her spelling out that it was just him being a nice guy and a decent human being (but obviously the 'just tell me seeing him really turns you on' line was then incredible). And then Jim and Pam daring each other to ask people out was just perfect, and Pam first disastrous attempt ('aftermath' cracked me up) - I'm really glad for her that she did then succeed though. And then she hugged him! Combined with an awkward high five, which feels very them. I also feel like Jim is maybe a bit more bothered by Pam's numerous rejections of him than he's letting on...

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


I needed art to come into play at some point since it's Pam's forte and I wanted it to be a sweet moment between her and Jim.
 
Philly Jim I have a rough idea of how it will come into play but I'm not sure when to execute it.
 
Hands down, the scene with Jim asking Pam what she liked about Danny had me cracking up. It just seemed so funny to have Jim be that douchey.
 
I was planning to have Jim comfort Pam all through the day but I figured it was best for Pam to manage fine by herself. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 24, 2021 10:29 am Title: Best Pizza in Town

so it really felt like the antagonism Pam feels for Jim has eased off here. She's still not his biggest fan, but this felt more like friendly teasing rather than outright loathing on her end. Again her words are going one way but her actions another. She says she wants to get to know Danny, but she still spends her time with Jim. She's even the one to instigate that hug there.

Jim seemed to have toned himself down a bit too. Granted he's still trying, and bascially succeeding to be Mr. Cool, but it's Pam he's really paying attention to.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  

Pam still does continue to have that internal struggle. It's like that "I hate you but I don't" type of thing. I think she has a soft spot for him which she continuously denies.

Jim, I just love writing him up as a douche but I hope I still get to bring out that sweet side of him. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2021 10:50 am Title: Sprinkle of Cinnamon

Haha, Michael’s bucket list! (I especially loved the ‘travel back in time?’) Brilliant. Their first meeting continues to be very sweet - and then Jim dragging her off to lunch at Cugino’s as Dwight finds out about the stapler was perfect.

And then so many great things back in the present - Pam’s first thought being that he’s a douche for keeping a picture of himself before she realises she’s in his bed was hilarious, and I really like the notes that he left her (especially the last one), and the whole ‘take a picture’ exchange, plus Jim being so turned on by her in his shirt. And they kissed!! And she immediately threw up, lol. I love the way you’ve woven all the flashbacks into this.

Basically, I’m just loving this whole story - can’t wait for their second Cugino’s lunch!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

 Michael's bucket list was a gem for me. I kept asking myself, what ridiculous thing would Michael ask Pam to do in 2011? And I went with it. 

 The picture of Jim in the bedroom was also funny. I was also thinking about what's the douchiest thing he could have in his bedroom. That was it.

 The kiss, I almost backed out on but I just remembered how cute the kiss at the Dundies (in the show) and I wanted to have something resembling that.

And with the flashbacks, I got a lot of inspiration from when I read your story (It would've been you). I mean it's one of my favorite stories here and I loved how you integrated it all together and that's what I hope to achieve here as well.

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2021 08:06 am Title: Sprinkle of Cinnamon

The Captain America shield did make me smile. There are many more of us MCU fans than I thought. LOL

I don't think Reed Richards is is going to happen. The first nail in the coffin was just how long the negotiations had gone on.
Marvel has indicated that they want a more diverse cast. They did cast a black actor as one of Richards future descendants in Phase 4 or 5. Sorry, I didn't save the link where I read it online as that was the second nail in the coffin for me. I gave up hope even though I made sure to watch Wandavision for any clues (what a disappointment that was).
Here's the third nail. Blunt is supposedly out. https://bgr.com/2021/03/21/marvel-movies-fantastic-four-cast-emily-blunt/ Her reason raises more questions for me. A peek at IMDB Pro doesn't shed any light on the matter. No, I didn't subscribe to it just for this. I grew up in LA, and it's a way to keep up with old friends whom I've lost touch with over the years; it's cheaper, more targeted, and more accurate than subscriptions to Variety and Hollywood Reporter.
At least we have that wonderful fan art of Krasinski as Mr. Fantastic

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yes! I am a huge MCU fan and then I became a huge Office fan.

It's so sad if Emily is really out but I was half expecting that the two of them won't do it at the same time given it will be too time consuming.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 03:43 pm Title: Sprinkle of Cinnamon

A really interesting chapter to be sure. The flashback still seems par for canon though. I'm guessing Pam's going to find out that this Jim is doing his thing gets upset because she thinks he just sees her as the latest addition to his number of conquests. They really do seem to hit it off there in the start.

Her annoyance at everything as she wakes up was really interesting. Here's the thing for me. The persona Jim seems to have outside his place and how you've described things here seem at odds. The Mr. Cool bed every woman he can salesman outside the office and the dorky family guy Jim one might expect from canon there in his room. To me it seems like there's two different guys there. Especially with how he takes care of her. Clearly this Jim knows quite a bit about Pam.

His thoughts after her drunken kiss seem to lead me to believe that that love lorn longing glances Jim we know from canon is somewhere under all the layers of Mr. Cool. Should be interesting to see where we go from here.

Also once more Pam decides against Danny and turns to Jim. She may say she hates him, but her choices and actions keep saying something else. Good writing to bring that out.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Yup, the flashback is in line with canon. But you're also right in a sense that it won't last, but how exactly it'll happen remains to be seen.
 
I still make sure that even with this version of Jim, it's still the Jim Halpert we know and love. Just extra douchey. In my initial drafts, I always go all out and just make him so unlikeable and then I tone it down in the editing.
 
Yeah, with Pam, I think she thinks that she knows what she wants but her actions really are telling her otherwise. I wonder what's causing that? 

Reviewer: Guten Schriftsteller Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 12:40 pm Title: Sprinkle of Cinnamon

Interesting that you start the chapter with what we know was Pam’s first moment where she realized she likes Jim, yet later she clearly has a disdain for him, I can’t wait to see where the rift came from.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

 Yeah, I decided to use that element but given my characterization of Jim for this story, it won't end well. I have the storyline for it ready, it just has to be written. 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 12:26 pm Title: Sprinkle of Cinnamon

I love this story so much! I can’t help but think of Van Halen’s Running with the Devil every time I see the title. It should be the soundtrack to this great fic 😁
Many jellybeans

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I actually listened to the song and it's awesome! Thanks for introducing me to it!

 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 12:16 pm Title: Sprinkle of Cinnamon

HA! He grew the beard at her suggestion. Oh, Jim. Even when you're a douche, you're still a sap.

Okay, I love the touch with the post-it notes, and the details in Jim's room are good. (Hoping that box is going to come around again.) The "Take a picture, it'll last longer" exchanges are hilarious. Pam just can't seem to get the upper hand here.

Wonder how long it'll take her to remember the kiss???

Author's Response: Thank you much for the review (and catching up on the story)


Yea, I just laughed at the thought that he grew a beard and it was all Pam's fault.
 
The box is definitely a setup for something, although it remains to be seen. The "Take a picture" moments were definitely my favorite and it's an ode to the time Ryan was watching Hannah breastfeed.
 
As for the kiss, we'll see. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 12:04 pm Title: Hottest in the Office

Hoping the supply closet is foreshadowing.

Interesting to see Jim and Pam clicking on their first day as well here... and the little incidents of Jim failing at flirting with someone he's actually invested in.

Again, I just really like this tenser version of Jim and Pam banter - and you've done well giving us a sense that in Jim's case there's some real affection there. This is just really entertaining.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


The supply closet will definitely play into the story soon, that much I can say.
 
With Jim, I really have to strike a balance between sweet/dorky and douchey (which is basically 80% douchey lol). He's so confident in himself but he has a heart in there, somewhere.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 21, 2021 11:36 am Title: Photocopies and Jellybeans

Look, I'm here because I'm a sucker for best-friends-with-unrequited-mutual-longing... but I am really entertained by this version of belligerent-sexual-tension JAM. It's fun seeing their gentle teasing in a different context, along with Jim using his charm in a less charming manner. Should be a fun ride!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Cocky Jim has been my most favorite creation since I have to come up with ways to make him likable despite his personality. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 18, 2021 02:22 pm Title: Hottest in the Office

I loved the flashback to their first meeting (and Pam assuming literally everyone she meets is the reason previous receptionists have quit, lol) - I'm intrigued to know when/how she stopped thinking Jim could be her friend. And then the Dundies! And Jim in his maroon suit winning hottest in the office 😍 I also really enjoyed the small moment of Ryan pretending to be embarrassed and both Jim and Pam catching it. And I agree with another review here, you did a really good job of showing how awkward she is around Danny (I always wondered how their dates on the show went and how he decided she was a dork, and I feel like the way you've written it here is really realistic), and then how much more herself she is with Jim, even with their antagonism. And then the ending, with Jim helping her out of the bar, giving her a piggyback to his car, their exchange at the end, was just perfect!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I have multiple reasons as to why they won't be friends. Well, at least in Pam's mind because Jim does care.

I remember how Danny won that award in the show over Ryan so I just figured why not use it and have Jim win it?

I'm still working out how the Danny thing will play out but yes, Pam tries too hard with him and it doesn't have that same natural flow with Jim, as much as she feels like she hates him.

The ending, I needed Jim to show his soft side because I don't want to go too far on the other spectrum where he's this bad boy/player stereotype. I still need him to be nice Jim.

 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans