You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2022 09:28 am Title: Pam Pong and An Impossible Shot

Meredith is the queen of TMI, and Angela is gloriously mean and Pam is giving her sass right back, and I enjoy the heck out of it. "The only outlier was Meredith guessing ten as she could have sworn it was the total number of times she remembered seeing Danny's butt that day." I chortled.

Of course Pam is into mussed-hair, tie-loose, sleeves-rolled-up Danny. Oh, you poor soul. You never had a chance. Although you're still Timothy Olyphant so I think you'll get by.

The Dundies bouncer making an appearance was a nice touch.

"She didn't have the heart to tell him that she was sure she had seen that exact waitress one Saturday morning, shamefully walking out of Jim's apartment." Lol. Ryan.

Jim visiting Pam's desk 19 times in a single day would not be a Pam Pong record, imho. Although I bet you Pam would insist it was. Those two are too cute.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, I really wanted to do the Pam Pong bit because I want to bring out more color into a Meredith or an Angela so I had a lot of fun thinking about scenes that would totally be them.

With the Danny thing, it just amused me that he'd end up somewhat like Jim after a fun night out. Pam would definitely find it attractive... I wonder why. Hehe.

With Ryan, I mean I just had to do it. It's so easy to make him such a second-rate version of Jim.

And yeah, with the Pam Pong thing, 19's probably still a small number but with Pam so in denial in this story, she'd probably believe her own truth. Wishing the two of them the best! Maybe they'll kiss again... *gasps* 

Reviewer: pollyplummer Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2022 02:12 pm Title: Pam Pong and An Impossible Shot

What are you doing to me? Why do I love manwhore Jim so much? What is happening?! Seriously, I would not have expected to find this version of Jim I'm anyway endearing, and yet...here I am.

And fake dating? Yes please!

Author's Response:

Aww thank you so much!!

I was honestly so scared of how people would react when I turned Jim into such a sleazebag (with a touch of humanity) but I’m glad people found him to still be endearing.

I’m about to get into more of that fake dating fun! Stay tuned! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2022 09:48 am Title: Pam Pong and An Impossible Shot

Pam still has me confused here. Clearly she's somewhat attracted to Danny. Danny clearly is attracted to her and other people are logging that too. However, more and more it feels like Pam's attraction to Danny is really only surface level. Yeah, they've had some deeper conversations, but she never seems to get hung up on Danny besides physical appearance.

Contrast that with Jim. She's had some very deep conversations and interactions with him. She's got this whole fake relationship thing going with him. Rather than just focusing on flirting, her talks with Jim feel like they have more substance. Now we know that Pam is very good at denying her feelings. We saw that in canon for the first two seasons. Still getting that vibe here. She does have feelings for Jim even if she doesn't' want to admit it. Kinda feels like she's getting a few more clues that Jim has similar feelings for her. From last chapter we know he does.

Speaking of Jim, he's got a lot of feelings buried too. We know he's pining for Pam, yet he's got this whole persona going on. In unguarded moments he lets it drop. Or in other ways he hints at how he really feels. Like that text message.

Both of them need a big wake up call and/or a big moment like Casino Night of Beach Day to really put it out there how they feel about the other one. It'll probably be messy too. Even more so the longer they walk this tightrope they're both on.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!

 With Danny, I feel like it alludes a lot to her relationship with Roy. With Danny, she sees a guy who wants to give her everything, something that she has been craving for after years of being neglected. The question is whether she truly wants it or is she just too enamored by the allure of Mr. Perfect.

This version of Jim, I think Pam can't get herself to look past his general vibe. In her head, he's that one friend who's such a dick but she also can't help but love in her own special way. But then, she's been seeing him a new light though, so... *shrugs*

They're walking a very fine line and well... we'll see how far they can go without getting things messy.

Reviewer: FireGuy Signed [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2022 05:44 pm Title: Photocopies and Jellybeans

I loooove this story and I hope that Jim and Pam are going to end up together! I feel you hit all of the other characters spot on. Update soon! 😁

Author's Response:

Aww man. This is actually a Jim and Cathy fic. Really hate to break it to you. Kidding.

Thank you so much and I hope to have an update real soon!! 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2022 10:45 am Title: Pam Pong and An Impossible Shot

This chapter was a lot of fun!
"Okay, settle down gentlemen," Oscar said as he approached the two of them and offered his own congratulations. Loved this call back to Company Picnic
“March Madness is definitely not in September.” Again, nice call back to canon. God Cathy is an idiot
‘Old Pam would probably be shocked to hear that she had been taking dating advice from Jim Halpert, the man responsible for fifty percent of Scranton's condom consumption.’ This made me laugh so much
Gah I can hear the cogs in Pam’s head turning at the end of the chapter!!
Nice work :)

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!

I cannot resist adding a Jwight moment in my stories. Probably my biggest guilty pressure when writing. 

Lots more Cathy to come in this story. And no plans to make her redeemable so far.  (Or maybe… nope I really don’t have plans)

Smug and cocky manwhore Jim. I’m gonna miss him when I (eventually) finish writing this story. 

Reviewer: FireGuy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2022 03:24 pm Title: Photocopies and Jellybeans

I can’t wait to see what happens!!! On the edge of my seat to have Pam win over the manwhore and make him domesticated. Maybe? 😊

Reviewer: FireGuy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2022 09:16 am Title: Photocopies and Jellybeans

I can’t wait to see what happens!!! On the edge of my seat to have Pam win over the manwhore and make him domesticated. Maybe? 😊

Reviewer: FireGuy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2022 12:30 pm Title: Photocopies and Jellybeans

I can’t wait to see what happens!!! On the edge of my seat to have Pam win over the manwhore and make him domesticated. Maybe? 😊

Reviewer: FireGuy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2022 07:20 am Title: Photocopies and Jellybeans

I can’t wait to see what happens!!! On the edge of my seat to have Pam win over the manwhore and make him domesticated. Maybe? 😊

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Hmm, will she really end up with him? I’m kind of rooting for Ryan to end up with her (???) We’ll see.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2022 11:08 am Title: Inside the Mind of a Manwhore

Please don't apologize, we all know there's a real life outside of MTT, and having one is something to be proud of. Especially if you're going to come back with an update like this.?

Kelly sniffing Jim is hilarious and very Kelly, in all timelines, as is her completely ignoring the end of Romeo and Juliet because Leo and Claire Danes looked good in?it. I love her little look down in shame - she knows she's done wrong, she just can't help herself.

"I think you're a kind, generous, thoughtful, and loving person who's had some bad luck in the love department. You're a real gentleman and any girl would be lucky to have you."
"Aww, thanks Kel."
"And you're really hot. Like really, really hot." THIS IS SO KELLY.

"And if it were like any other day, Michael would kick her out in one minute and say?"12:15 gonna have me some sardine"?even though he never brought sardines for lunch." Yep, that's our Michael.

Jim's POV on his potential future with Pam is adorable. Oooof, though - him watching someone else fulfill his canon role as "turner of all bad things into good" hurts to think about.

Also, congrats on your Dundies nominations!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I’m so shocked by the Dundies nomination but really thankful for all the support and reviews! 

Kelly was so much fun to write, she may actually be my favorite to write because I can go as absurd as I want to with her. She’s probably like my female version of Michael.

 It’s been fun writing Jim in this light. I really hope I can bring this story to justice.

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 17, 2022 03:57 pm Title: Inside the Mind of a Manwhore

An interesting look into Jim's mind for sure. At least we clearly know who he really is pining after. Though considering his history in this story and also with Danny being so clearly in the picture, it feels like there's going to be a few more ups and downs before everything is settled. Nice to get an update for this one for sure though.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review, as always!

 It’s definitely going to be long journey for Jim in this fic. I hope it’ll be a happy ending for him. 

Reviewer: FireGuy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2022 05:51 pm Title: A Horror Film and A Rom-Com

On the edge of my seat for an update. I love this story!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2022 07:17 am Title: A Horror Film and A Rom-Com

Interesting to see Danny and Pam hitting it off so well. However I think it's really setting up a pretty big point of conflict. Especially since Pam can't seem to really be 100% truthful with Danny. Seems like that won't bode well. Same with her hesitation to say Danny's her boyfriend. On paper, Danny is pretty much the ideal guy and clearly she enjoys being with him on certain levels. However, Jim is always there in her mind. Regardless of how nice it is with Danny, it still seems like Jim is the one she wants to be with and the one she can let down her guard with.

I'm also fully on board with Pam in one aspect. Jim needs to clearly and firmly end everything with Cathy in no uncertain terms. For all of this Jim's posturing, he still has some of the scared wishy-washy tendencies from canon. At least that's how I read it.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2022 12:04 pm Title: A Horror Film and A Rom-Com

YAY! Very happy to see this one return! Even if it is with Pam/Danny fluff. She deserves to be pretty right by someone, even if it's not Jim... and especially someone who finds her fundamental awkwardness and goofball energy as charming as it is.

Oooof. He's setting himself up for some trouble unintentionally though. Poor Danny. He keeps comparing himself to Jim and falling just... a little... short. And it's such an interesting contrast to canon, where Jim is "competing" for Pam's affections with someone who's so blatantly WRONG for her on paper. Seeing him up against someone who checks so many of Pam's boxes is a fun twist.

Oh, this conversation in the apartment stings. Poor Jim. He's trying so hard.

Also, Michael trying to use the eggplant emoji in an entirely appropriate way was a fun detail.

Will be holding you to your solemn and unbreakable pledge of weekly updates...

Reviewer: Christabro Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 03, 2021 06:32 am Title: A New Year's Resolution and A Couple of Tickets

Can’t wait for this story to be updated! It’s so good!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2021 10:19 am Title: A New Year's Resolution and A Couple of Tickets

Personally, I love the flashback, especially the way you put the button on it to bring it back to the Danny date.

I know it's not the heart of the bad date, but Pam being so surprised by how nicely Roy is treating her at the beginning and suspecting he's screwed up is just ooooof. Like... come on, Pam. It's time. This is not "trying."

(Love Kelly's New Year's resolution. SO Kelly, always down to be a rom com heroine. And her self-identification with Cher is perfect.)

You also put Roy's weird, very high school combination of jealousy and envy and loathing of Jim to good use here... Roy so badly wants to impress Jim that he ends up being wildly insensitive to Pam. He's got a lot of growing up to do. What a tool. (And speaking of tools, I appreciate you including both Jim going to support Kevin's band *and* Jim completely forgetting where Nelly works, or at least how to pronounce it, in the same exchange. He has potential, that dirtbag Jim, and not just if he thinks you're cute.)

Oh my gosh. This is SO MUCH WORSE THAN THE HOCKEY GAME. Like, there at least Kenny was there in the first place. And he came back for her in canon. Dear lorde. What a baboon. AND HE FORGOT HER NEW YEAR'S RESOLUTION SO COMPLETELY HE THOUGHT HE CAME UP WITH IT HIMSELF. Dead man walking.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 01, 2021 10:08 am Title: A New Year's Resolution and A Couple of Tickets

So Roy is an ass. Really makes me wonder why she stayed with him as long as she did. Clearly at that point in their relationship she was having doubts about the guy. But to just abandon her at a restruant like that? Dick move Roy. I don't care if he was waiting for her, it's clear he didn't really value her. Same with all the sniping at Jim. Pam's right, they're not in high school anymore, Roy needs to grow up. No wonder she says it was her worst date ever.

I liked the way Jim was acting. I get the fact from Pam's perspective he was kind of being his arrogant Mr. Cool Jim self, but there's hints of something else. Saying anyone should be glad to spend their life with Pam. Giving her a ride home. A shoulder to lean on and so on.

So Pam and Danny are at the drive in? Interesting choice to be sure. We'll see how that goes.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 30, 2021 11:40 pm Title: A Horrible Date and Some Magic

Ohh Jim, what you said to Kelly is almost certain to come back and bite you in the ass. We'll be sure to buckle up for that one. The banter he and Pam share though was great fun to read. Lots of emotional undertones even without that kiss. Feels like things are about to get a lot more complicated that's for sure.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I'm honestly looking forward to see Cathy and Jim interacting after she inevitably finds out about the lie.

One of my challenges right now is how to keep this Jim and Pam banter afloat since they're not really in a relationship so I can't add too much love stuff. So I'm really glad that you're still enjoying them.

Let's see where the ride takes us. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2021 02:32 pm Title: A Horrible Date and Some Magic

Yay, I’m always so excited to see an update for this fic! Jim’s Kelly date really was…everything you could ever hope for from a Jim and Kelly date. I love her trying to complement every inch of his pink outfit. And Jim loading up on whisky to try to cope with her non-stop talk, LOL. Also this line: "Really?" he gulped, "How chatty exactly?” So good.

I really enjoyed the insight into Jim’s perspective and his outlook on not being a complainer - also him being confronted with some of the less likeable aspects of his personality after Ryan’s earlier nastiness, and it being Dwight of all people to give him a more accurate perspective. Dwight gathering information on everyone is also just very Dwight.

Pam genuinely being worried about Jim being mad and sending him 30 messages is very sweet, as is finding out what he was actually worried about…and her sending him the pictures and helping her with the dress 😍 And then the scene at the end!! And the kiss!! I loved the call-back to him giving her his jacket too. Both of their reactions after the kiss are adorable. I love the way you’re writing them slowly inching towards each other and trying to brush it off for their deal.

And oh no Jim, I feel like this Cathy lie is going to come back to haunt him, especially if Kelly’s involved…

Very much looking forward to Pam’s date with Danny!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! My favorite line from that date was also the "How chatty exactly?". I just found it amusing to write how Kelly never saw herself as talkative.

I just really wanted an excuse to include Dwight in the chapter, lol. But in all seriousness, I wanted to make sure that Jim is not this cocky person that people make him out to be. He also has feelings and he can be hurt especially by the people he cares about.

The kiss, I was really afraid of but I went with it and I'm so glad you liked it. Maybe a few chapters more and it will be a full blown making out session (kidding)

Well, Dwight did say that someone commented that Jim was kind of dumb. The Cathy lie was not his brightest moment.

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 25, 2021 06:12 pm Title: A Horrible Date and Some Magic

Love this chapter (though I'd like to knock Jim & Pam's heads together so they wake up). There is enough of sweet caring Jim mixed in with slutty Jim to keep me from disliking him. The date with Kelly was hilarious, Jim is probably going to hate himself for the Cathy comments. Kelly WILL talk and adding Cathy back into the mix will be another layer for Pam & Jim to get through if they are ever going to be together. The banter in Pam & Jim's messages is so we'll done.

Very excited to see what happens next, especially after the kiss. I have the feeling these two are headed for some choppy waters, but I'm hopeful they figure it all out.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! 

I'm really happy that you don't dislike slutty Jim. He really has a heart of gold despite his... activities. Oh, Kelly will definitely talk. We'll just have to see how big of an impact the news will have.

With their banter, glad you liked it because admittedly, one of the hardest things I've come to realize in writing is imagining a conversation happening in my head. Especially anticipating how two people would react to each other. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 24, 2021 10:40 am Title: A Horrible Date and Some Magic

Some more intriguing hints of what led our darling Jim to this place in his life, both in terms of his history and what it meant to him, how it might have created a different Jim, and I thought it was placed well here as context for his sensitivity about Ryan's comments. (And I *love* that Dwight is the one who makes him feel better.) Really looking forward to the reveal.

"So I take it sex is off the table?" Oh, Kelly. I love you. I am a bigger Jim/Kelly shipper than the average bear (as in I've occasionally thought about why there isn't more Jim/Kelly), but your case for why they'd be just a terrible couple is well made here. I appreciate Kelly openly admitting she's just trying to make Ryan jealous and becoming a cheerleader for Jim/Cathy. She was a lot of fun here.

AND THE ACCIDENTAL KISS. This is wonderfully trope-y and awkward and very them. Squealing noises.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!

I like adding little hints as to why there's a reverse Philly Jim happening here, and I hope I get to the meat of it soon (if I can just get myself to write faster *brings out treadmill*). I also just can't help but sprinkle Jim and Dwight if I see that it can fit in the chapter. They have officially become my favorite couple (after JAM of course)

Hmmm, I really wish I could've written more about Kelly and Jim but I had to end it (and unfortunately bring more Cathy in the fold). I had so much fun thinking about what pop culture references were there in 2015.

The kiss, I almost chickened out of it, but 17 chapters in and I was like okay, let's go for it. Make them kiss. Even if they would blatantly deny the meaning behind it. Lol. Glad you liked it!! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2021 03:15 pm Title: Three Wins and Four Men Yelling

Look, it's a guilty pleasure, but I really do enjoy the heck out of watching Ryan fall on his ass here... and his total inability to acknowledge how bad he is at this makes that much better. It's the sort of comeuppance I always wanted for him. And naturally he immediately goes in for the low blows. Very much the guy we know. The bastard. (I also love Ryan and Cathy as the Dark Jim and Pam, in the way that Ryan and Kelly were the Toxic Jim and Pam.)

Jim's air guitar solo was beautiful and I'd like to see that filmed. I also love the image of Michael having to police both the Jim-Ryan and Dwight-Danny fights while Kelly and Cathy pull Jim into their drama - feels very much like canon-style humor.

Michael's idea of a win-win-win is apparently catastrophically silly in all universes. But I love Jim and Pam's IM banter, and the growing little signs of jealousy with Pam. I continue to think it was a good choice to make Danny seem like a viable option here... adds some tension to the whole situation.

Looking forward to seeing how the various dates go!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! In canon, I've hated Ryan from the moment he gave Jim a formal warning out of pettiness so it just feels awesome to write him in the most awful way possible. Combine him with Crazy Cathy and you really got yourself a match made in hell.

Jim doing an air guitar solo kind of reminded me of Barney Stinson, I just feel like this Jim would find him to be a really cool guy. Then the ensuing fights, I almost wish I wrote I dialogue for it but I didn't want to end up with a 10k word chapter.

Pam and Danny, oh man, I almost regret making him so nice, to be honest, knowing the inevitable (??) outcome.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 05, 2021 08:50 am Title: Three Wins and Four Men Yelling

This was another really fun chapter! I love the way you’ve mixed up the ensemble here. I enjoyed having Jim’s POV at the start (and his name for Pam on his phone, aww) - their text banter was very sweet and funny too (Pam is protesting a *little* bit too much about Jim being a close second I think 😏). Ryan is so classically Ryan here, I love him accidentally insulting the client’s daughters and then trying to pretend it was all part of his sales strategy. And then having the cheek to get annoyed with Jim. Him and Cathy actually sound like a very well-suited pair. And then Danny and Dwight! Amazing. The whole thing culminating in the four of them then having a shouting match in Michael’s office is brilliant too, although I do really feel for Jim in this :( And I enjoyed the small hint of Pam’s potential jealousy at the end - I’m greatly looking forward to Kelly and Jim’s date (which is a sentence I never thought I’d write, lol).

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!

 
I really love incorporating different dynamics (like a Ryan and Jim rivalry or Pam being stuck in a room with Kelly/Cathy) so if there are characters outside of Jim and Pam that I feel like I can use to drive the storyline, I just run with it. 
 
Whenever I write Pam here, I just have a Kat Dennings voice in my head for some reason so she ends up kind of being snarkier than the timid Pam on the show, which I kind of like because the banter/flirtation just keeps on going between her and Jim. Bumblebeesly, I don't know why I thought of a Transformers reference but it kinda works? Jim is kind of a dork in spite of all the douche that I injected in his personality.
 
Ugh, Ryan. I'm pretty sure we've all had that coworker or teammate who is so deluded about his own abilities and faults you if he messes up. That's my whole thing for him.
 
Jim and Kelly? We'll have to see what happens there. Lol. 

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 07:15 pm Title: Three Wins and Four Men Yelling

This chapter was engrossing and fun to read. Sometimes the journey to the destination is 75% of the fun.

You really brought out the characters' personalities and interactions well.
Ryan having no idea how inept and insulting he is at sales and then landing low blow after low blow on Jim, manwhore though he may be.
Dwight being the one having a complaint filed on him instead of him doing the formal complaint on someone else was a refreshing change.
I really liked the three negotiating the detente though I wanted to bash Michael for not defending his two best salesmen, but I often feel like bashing him. When left to his own devices, Michael will choose the worst possible solution to any given situation.
Nice way to slip in Crazy!Cathy. Just a reminder of her character.

There were three other characters in this chapter -- Snap, Crackle, and Pop. This posting was full to the rim with them. I'd give you a bowl of Rice Krispies if I could. A jelly bean will have to stand in.

Good onya

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! And thank you for the Rice Krispies haha

To be honest, I was really scared adding this chapter because it wasn't in my original outline but I ended up having so much fun writing it. I was just in that mindset of making all of these people (outside of Pam and Danny... and Jim to an extent but he is inherently a douche in this story) be as ridiculously awful as possible.

Ryan was definitely the worst of the bunch. He just wanted to get Jim riled up to the point where he was genuinely hurt by his comments. He was a literal high school bully here. I mean if he can make someone like Dwight, who literally locked someone in a coffin, turn out to be a more decent human being then that's saying something.

 With Michael, although yes, it was a terrible decision from his end (I mean obviously Jim would be upset), he just wants everyone to get along which was always his downfall.

Cathy is literally just a crazy ex-girlfriend through and through. I don't think I'll be able to find a way to redeem her by the time I finish this.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 06:41 pm Title: Three Wins and Four Men Yelling

You're really writing both Cathy and Ryan as love-to-hate characters. Ryan thinking he's all that but in reality he's just a cocky little scumbag that deflects everything on Jim. Cathy being the jealous clingy ex. I do really hope that one of these days Pam doesn't just take her down a peg, but pulls all the pegs off the wall with such verve that Cathy never recovers. Nice way to get Ryan into the closest too.

Will sparks fly between Jim and Kelly? I doubt it. Kelly may be excited and Jim is going to be nice for sure, but I doubt anythings going to come of it.

Same for Pam and Danny. Yeah he's a nice guy and I'm sure he'll treat her decently. But her thoughts betry her. Something tells me she'll be thinking of Jim the whole time which will have an effect on the date. Might be the same for Jim. Time will tell I'm sure.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Ryan, I always think about him in a way that he hates Jim so much because he secretly wishes he was living his playboy and self-confident lifestyle but he's so deluded about his own abilities. But he does know how to push Jim's buttons, so maybe we'll see what happens with these two (or I can just have Ryan magically fall of a cliff)

Cathy, I was gonna have something bigger for her but I just doused the entire chapter with Ryan's awfulness that I decided to dial back. But yeah, even in small doses, she's terrible.

With the upcoming dates, we'll really see where true feelings lie. Will any truth come out of it? I'm kinda excited to be writing it now. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans