You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 16, 2021 07:22 pm Title: Chapter 1

Okay, I liked this a LOT. You really captured the 1950s aesthetic AND you fit the song really well without making it seemed forced.

PLUS you found a lot of creative ways to reference canon - them slowing to just swaying at the dance, the mash-up of Casino Night and the Job at the end of their walk, recasting Pam playing with her ring as something she does when she can't hold his hand... and of course Dwight hooking up with Isabel. Heh.

"They had been going steady for a couple of months now and she wasn’t sure if she would always feel this way when she saw him, but she hoped she would." - both a lovely canon reference and a nice line.

I really enjoyed the little written montage of them falling in love... and they say it for the first time at the drive-in! SO 50s.

Them nearly getting caught and having to scramble for their clothes is adorable and appropriately trope-y, and the generational thing, Pam meeting his father and picturing their laugh being passed down, is a nice image.

THE PUZZLE PROPOSAL. AMAZING. And I'm stealing it if I ever propose. To someone who likes puzzles.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 05, 2021 07:32 am Title: Chapter 1

This is so sweet from start to finish! It's actually just really lovely to read a fic where they don't have stupid obstacles or an inability to admit their feelings in their way (I say this as someone who is slightly incapable of writing them without some kind of obstacle) - it feels like it fits the song and the time period really well. I loved their first meeting, and Jim both teasing her and putting her at ease, the steaminess in the middle, her nerves about meeting his family, and then the callback to the truck. I loved all of it, basically!

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2021 11:13 am Title: Chapter 1

Oh, Aly, this is amazing! I'm giggled, blushed, and grinned (not speaking of constant awws) all the time while reading — I love that version of them. Beautiful writing, and so, so warm.
Thank you so much for sharing!!!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2021 10:37 am Title: Chapter 1

Well this was just the sweetest. How charming can Jim be at the dance and the way he assured her as they danced was so Jim.

I’m in love with the romance you built for them and I was just laughing at the scenes where they had to dress quickly as her parents came home.

The proposal was just too sweet. I happen to be in the middle of a jigsaw puzzle my family began the night of our holiday so there’s that.

Thanks for sharing this sweetness with us.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 30, 2021 10:37 am Title: Chapter 1

Well this was just the sweetest. How charming can Jim be at the dance and the way he assured her as they danced was so Jim.

I’m in love with the romance you built for them and I was just laughing at the scenes where they had to dress quickly as her parents came home.

The proposal was just too sweet. I happen to be in the middle of a jigsaw puzzle my family began the night of our holiday so there’s that.

Thanks for sharing this sweetness with us.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 10:36 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was just so delightful! From the first dance, to the drive in where they said I love you, the their first tryst in her room, meeting the Halpert clan, and of course finally the proposal. All of it just amazing. I'd try to single some stuff out, but it's all pure gold. Love it. Great job and the time setting was even more fun to imagine.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 09:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

You already know my adoration of this story. You captured this time period SO WELL but still kept it the Jam we all know and love. The fluff was soooo cute and perfect, the image of Jim in a letterman jacket now lives rent free in my mind, and every part of this was just...*chefs kiss* Now excuse me while I recover from the wonderful sugar coma you have induced.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 04:56 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was so wonderfully perfect! Even before you revealed it, I felt it was very 50’s. It immediately had that atmosphere, which speaks to the great writing. Such a fun, light story and you did a fantastic job encompassing all that makes them jam.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 08:55 am Title: Chapter 1

Oh my goodness nmt. This is one of the sweetest stories I have ever read. You capture those adorable little interactions between Jim and Pam SUPERBLY well. I mean:

"When he stops on the side of the dance floor instead of bringing her to the center like most men have done, she wonders if he could tell how much she didn’t want to be here in the first place."

Of course he can tell. He's Jim freaking Halpert and she's Pam freaking Beesly. Just WOW, a hundred times over.

As the queen of fluff, I hereby dub you princess.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 08:17 am Title: Chapter 1

“And remind me to thank Beth for introducing me to you a year ago”

ALY. ALY. THIS WAS BEAUTIFUL!
This Pam gave me “Anna of Arrendale” vibes at the ball, especially when she straightened up upon hearing Jim’s voice.

What a beautiful 50’s piece! I loved the letterman jacket reference as well.

AND THAT SCENE GIRL. I didn’t know you had that in you, congrats!!

I loved this!!

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 29, 2021 06:12 am Title: Chapter 1

I'm not crying. I'm not crying. This was freaking fantastic!!!!! Oh my goshhhh.

I have nothing but omg omg omg in my mind right now.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans