Reviews For Grow As We Go
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 06, 2022 10:47 am Title: Want You Stealing My Time Even Though I Said I Wanna Be Alone

“Just let me do it, okay? She’s gotten used to me doing it.” Who do you think you are. What gives you the right.

"She’s praying and hoping that dropping the kids off at their dad’s won't be a normal occurrence, but at this point, she’s not sure, and she hates that." Thanks, I hate it too.

Okay. Ow. Why are you doing this to me. Ow.

Congratulations on managing to turn steam into a bummer, btw.

"She’s never had a one night stand, was never interested in sleeping with some random guy she met in a bar just for the fun of it, but she imagines the walk to her car is similar to what the walk of shame might feel like." wtfaly.gif

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2022 01:57 pm Title: Want You Stealing My Time Even Though I Said I Wanna Be Alone

It’s interesting that Pam felt like their current situation is like what it was in season three
because that’s how I always felt it was as well.
As much as I love JAM it always drove me crazy with their lack of communication. At least the Pam in this story is being upfront with her feelings and boundaries.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2022 12:16 pm Title: Want You Stealing My Time Even Though I Said I Wanna Be Alone

"He starts to pull back but she doesn’t let him, figuring that she’d rather suffocate this way than how she would if he stopped." EXCUSE ME?! Who gave you the right?

This was so fullllll of beautiful angst and my heart hurts. I hate watching them realize how far apart they have grown but I trust you will fix that. Or I might have to disown you as a soul sister.

Ow. Let me go ice my feelings.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2022 09:59 am Title: Want You Stealing My Time Even Though I Said I Wanna Be Alone

Ouch. I want to say so close and they're making progress, but there's still so much hurt and pain. Clearly they still need and want each other, but Pam's right nothing's fixed. However this time I'm putting the responsibility on Pam. Jim was there offering to talk, to listen, to be with her. And she leaves this time. So yeah, that's a much worse walk of shame at the end. I get that she's hurt, but she's also giving off huge mixed signals. Telling Jim everything she wants and when he offers to start working on it, she turns away from him.

So maybe a tiny step forward, but they're still a long way away from fixed.

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2022 09:32 am Title: Want You Stealing My Time Even Though I Said I Wanna Be Alone

Just stab us in the heart, why don’t you?!?! OMG the angst! I’ve recently been watching these episodes and they are SO. DAMN. HEAVY. and this chapter is no less!! Pam dropping the kids off at Jim’s Philly apartment? Waaaayy too similar to a routine kid exchange if they were divorced. Her pulling Jim
back up because she “couldn’t be with her thoughts alone”?!?!? Pam having to leave before the morning?!?!? Them both not saying I love you?!?! Baby Phil in a pack and play and little Cece in a giant bed at not their home?!?! Killing us here! Please say it gets better! Pleeeeeease?!?!

Reviewer: Yeza Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2022 01:58 am Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

I love the stories that happen in season 9. I'm pro Pam the whole series, even during all her failures (Roy, Pratt, Michael Scott Paper Company), but I'm mostly pro Pam in season 9. Maybe because we live those disappointments in our daily lives and I saw myself reflected, or maybe because Jim showed how selfish and idiotic he is, something we already knew, but it was especially seen in season 9.
All this to tell you that I like your story. I like Pam who is determined and fights for what she wants, and I like that Jim got what he deserved. I hope you continue it.

Reviewer: Jemy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2022 07:39 am Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

My heart just broke and it hurts … I can really imagine them both as it would have happened . This is so good . Wow … brilliant !

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2021 05:20 am Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

I somehow missed there was another chapter of this! And an even more heart-breaking one. Jim not knowing the latest with Pam's routine is such a good (and sad) nod to them not being quite in sync at the moment, and the fact that he's not been listening to her lately like he usually does. I really like that Pam stands up for herself on the phone with him - even though I feel for him - because it's important for her to call him out for some of this stuff (which I sort of wish we'd seen on the show). Him almost going to her and then making a u-turn, but for very different reasons to the last time he did, is so hard to read (in the best possible way). I also love, love Pam's moment with Dwight at the end. I really need this to have a happy ending though because that last line has killed me!

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2021 08:19 pm Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

Yeah, I have a lot of questions

Number one how dare you

(This is beautiful and sad and very real and you are doing an amazing job of breaking my heart, keep it up. Also Dwight made me teary eyed and I never thought I’d say that.)

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 08:50 pm Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

Aly, why must you hurt us like this?



Keep doing it, but OUCH!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 08:46 pm Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

*wtfaly.gif*

Ugh, the detail at the beginning of Jim having totally missed how Pam is running the house without him there stings. A lot.

You're continuing to do a good job with the ways their past in coming into play here - the way some of the unresolved resentments from their earlier years are rearing their ugly head and the way they've declined from some of their more adorable moments. And I think you're doing well portraying them even-handedly here - Pam wants impossible and unrealistic things, but she's also been forced into a situation with no good options; Jim has completely reasonable desires, but is basically asking Pam to trust him when he doesn't have a lot of deposits to withdraw from the trust bank.

I love a good Dwight-Pam moment. *sigh*

Update soon. Please don't leave Pam crying alone at Reception for too long.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 03:11 pm Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

The thing that really struck me here is that Jim, who once knew everything about her, was unaware of the change in the schedule, even after she'd told him. That shows how very far he strayed from the man he once was.

Back when it was about not trusting the solidness of their relationship, the right thing to do was to turn the car around (which has got me thinking of a song here my musical friend- can you name it?) but this time I wished he'd kept going.

The little bit with Dwight was uplifting but the vision of Pam crying in the empty office - how could you leave us like that?

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 12:29 pm Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

Oof. Seems the only thing going for them here is that Pam was really able to get some things out in the open to him. She's right. This isn't the Jim she fell in love with. The Jim who would pay attention to every little detail about her. Espcially if he's forgetting important things like arrangments with the kids. Hard to see them like this, that's for sure.

Dwight is offering a sliver of hope though. Knowing that she is the best thing for him and acknowledging her hurt. Nice to see that aspect of the Dwight/Pam friendship.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 10:18 am Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

“She wonders when her life turned into the kind of movie she just wants to turn off.”

This is a really nice line, it compliments what she says in the finale about never wanting to put the book of their story down.

I love the little interludes she has with Dwight, they’re the teeny bright spot in this angstfest (loving it btw)

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 10:12 am Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

Oh my god you’re killing me with this.

(Also, I love that Cece has a crush on a Michael)

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 10:12 am Title: Do Me a Favor, and Hang Up the Phone

*sigh* You guys are getting really good at getting me to read angst.

You did such a good job with this phone call, aly. The way Jim is thinking about Roy is just so painful and real and I love how you hinted at it in the beginning and then had Jim make that statement: “Like you did with Roy.” Brilliant.

This might not be the right conclusion to draw, but I actually think Jim made the right decision on the U-turn. It was a beautiful, angsty parallel and you did such a good job with it.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 11, 2021 02:02 pm Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

This is definitely breaking my heart a bit - the chapter title alone - but it's so so good! Pam not answering his calls and not talking to him on the phone with Cece is just gut-wrenching, and I love the way you've written Jim's genuine confusion and fear (and the fact that they've never gone to bed angry or upset with each other before, which is a really nice - and heart-breaking - touch). I am enjoying Pam standing up for herself though. Really interested to see where this goes!

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2021 06:48 pm Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

ALYSSA. WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK IS THIS?! YOU ARE OUT HERE, TRYING TO BREAK US ALL!!

But in all seriousness, this was brilliant. I am ready, ready for you to hurt me again with this next chapter!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2021 03:09 pm Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

Well that left me a little broken. Pam must really be afraid of what she is feeling and how she will react to keep herself from even talking to him. That's rough...anxious to see how and if they can resolve things.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2021 01:33 pm Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

It's a nice touch to have Pam not be too sure about this, and on some level kind of gutted by the fact that Jim took her word for it... this is a shattering experience and a hard choice for her, and probably not one where she was likely to experience the calm of knowing she's made a decision afterwards. She's handling this imperfectly, but she's in a terrible spot here, and getting what she asked for is going to have a cost of its own.

Dwight missing Jim too! :'(

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2021 08:38 am Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

It’s interesting how Jim isn’t liking his job in Philly
that much. I’m still proud of Pam for standing up for herself, however, if she’s not careful she could end up just being stubborn, which won’t help their situation. Jim and Pam both have a history of being stubborn (in canon) which caused a lot lot heartbreak for both of them. Looking forward to seeing the next chapter.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2021 12:07 am Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

Wow, I gotta say I'm not really a fan of Pam here. I mean I know she's hurting and scared and confused, but to just give him the cold shoulder so hard like this? Just wow. To tell Jim he can only call to say goodnight to the kids? And when Cece asks when he'll be home and he has to tell her he does't know? I mean, just rip out my heart and stomp on it. Again, I know Pam is hurting and I know Jim has caused a lot of that pain, but still.

Great writing to bring all that out.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2021 10:05 pm Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

I almost stopped reading twice, and that’s when you know you’ve got it made in the angst world.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2021 08:33 pm Title: And You're Not Here, To Get Me Through It All

"He can hear her cooing to Phil, and he thinks he can hear water running. He wonders if she’s doing dishes or about to give the kids a bath. He wishes he didn’t have to wonder."

Watch your feet, my heart is shattered on the floor.

I think you did a really good job of showing that Pam needs space and time but also that she's sad and still a little unsure. But ooooof, it hurts!! I'm so excited and nervous to see where this one goes next.

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2021 07:24 am Title: You Don't Ever Have to Leave, If to Change is What You Need

"The suffocating silence is back. It surrounds her like a fog, the only thing visible is Jim and his tear-stained cheeks." This is just gorgeous.

Oh, this painfully real and heartbreaking. I can't wait to read more. So good, Aly!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans