You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed [Report This]
Date: October 30, 2021 05:10 pm Title: Chapter 6

This was another great chapter, mixing laughs and heavy issues to keep me invested in the progress (or lack there of) of each couple.

Each chapter fleshes out the relationships and the strengths and weaknesses of each pair are becoming more in focus.

Mark & Isabel may seem the furthest apart or to have the most serious issues but it feels that they are the closest to a breakthrough because they are allowing their emotions to surface.

Jam, on the other hand, is still not addressing their actual issues which will continue to grow until they're too heavy for the relationship to bear. I have every confidence that won't happen. I mean I'm pretty sure. Jim! Lose the freaking phone.

Cannot wait for the next installment! I need more Jam, Mizzy, and Dwangela!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: October 20, 2021 06:11 pm Title: Chapter 6

Sorry you had such a busy time last few weeks but glad to see you back!

Lots of fun with what's known on this side of the pond as "The Newlywed Game"...Michael is pretty funny with his frustration no one gets his Carson routine but Holly. And i'm just loving those two - hoping they have as much of a happy ending as I hope is in store for our other couples (or at least Jam and Mizzy).

Speaking of Mizzy - wow, you really got me with their biggest fears -each one scared to lose the other. But as much as they are still fighting, at least it means they still care enough to fight. I'm really hoping they can see that, with Oscar's help and maybe even Michel's.

I'm finding myself strangely more invested in them that even Pam and Jim who seem to be doing a little better in these scenes (now if he would just stop with the the damn blackberry).

Clever bit with the swapping of the envelopes - but hope they don't miss out on being able to discuss their biggest fears. Seems like they should. (Angela and Dwight too).

Looking forward to what is next.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 18, 2021 07:04 am Title: Chapter 6

I feel you on crazy work and life, all good.

You have this so perfect - such a great balance with the funny and the angst. The relationships - I am so feeling for Mark and Isabel right now, making my heart break that they just can't connect. I know Pam and Jim are going to be OK. And as for Holly and Michael, I sense that this has got some way to run. Same for Dwight and Angela. I loved the mixed up notes. Told us so much. Really nicely done.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2021 03:55 pm Title: Chapter 6

Ok so there's a lot to love here. Tons of stuff from the show. Michael and Holly being okay with getting rained on was a great call back to his proposal in canon. Jim and Pam having a nice morning. Michael in a crazy costume of some kind. Dwight following every direction of Michael to the letter. Lots of fun there.

Peeling back some of the layers with Izzy and Mark. I think Oscar is on to something there in that they're not sure how to talk to each other if they're not fighting, even if in jest. Though something strikes me here. Mark is taking this seriously, not cracking jokes, and Izzy is still mad at him for it. Now granted it's also a heavy conversation, but Mark has a point. How are they supposed to have a deep conversation if Izzy runs away?

Kind of funny and yet kind of sad that Jim and Pam's answers got mixed up. It probably would have done some good to hear what the other one said about each other. Kind of feels like two steps forward one step back though. Throw that damn Blackberry into the ocean Jim. Your job is not more important than your wife. Especially if they're calling you with basically a nothing call like that. Either that of man up and tell them to take care of it themselves. Glad to see this one return.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 17, 2021 11:55 am Title: Chapter 6

Sorry to hear things have been crazy... but really glad to see this one updated!

You did some really fun stuff in this chapter. The chaos with the envelopes and the ultimate mixing up of Dwight and Angela's with Jim and Pam's to delay another confrontation seemed pretty organic... and also emblematic of Jim and Pam's issues about delaying any confrontation of their problems. You really see clearly again here how they got into this mess... their ability to make each other happy on command shields them from having to address how often they're not doing so. (And simultaneously you managed to humanize Dwight and Angela here... Angela being convinced that Dwight fears nothing even as he worries about infertility is brutal. Also, Angela's favorite color is eggshell, because of course it is.)

On the other hand, I'm feeling a little better about my beloved Misabel ship. They're a nice contrast with Jim and Pam - things look darker for them right now because they're actually starting to get real. It's progress! Slow, painful progress. :/

P.S. POOR SADIQ. Sadiq deserved better, dammit.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 29, 2021 04:42 am Title: Chapter 5

I LOVED this chapter- so well written and such an intimate look at these couples. Thank you for giving us that look at Mark and Isabel - I'm really invested in them even though they were such peripherals on the show.

 

'Some people - people like Jim and Pam, maybe, who tend to overthink themselves into circles - think that Iz is the type of person who jumps without looking. Mark can see how it might seem that way to them. He knows better. He knows that she jumps, sure, but she does always look.

So he knows he never has to look when he jumps after her.'

This was just beautiful and so telling into Isabel and I totally see it about her. It seems and I hope they are making a small progression.

 

That you could humanize Angela and actually make me feel bad for her is another triumph here. The fact she is thinking of and praying for interesting - not lost on me that Isabel had been with Dwight even if that was not in this universe.

Even the Kelly and Ryan bit had it's moments of tenderness and had me sympathetic to a character I usually loathe.

And of course Pam and Jim, love the picture you painted here and the ice sculpture - well that was perfectly placed.

Really great job.

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you so much! I'm so thrilled to hear that - this was definitely a chapter I was more nervous about with writing the other characters' POVs, and adding some backstory for Mark and Isabel. So I'm really relieved you thought it worked! 

And haha, yes - I sort of wanted to get a bit of a reference to the Dwight/Isabel relationship from the show into here. I do love the scenes on the show that humanise Angela, I think they're all the more powerful given her general state as a character. 

And glad you even enjoyed the Kelly and Ryan! I struggle to find anything too likeable about their relationship, lol, but they are fun to write.

Thanks so much for your kind words! 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: September 27, 2021 07:18 pm Title: Chapter 4

I've been very behind on reviews - I read this when you first posted but not had a chance to share thoughts.

“Sometimes,” Dr Flax is saying, “We get so caught up in our lives that we forget to just be with each other. To appreciate the small things, like touching each other. Something as simple as holding your partner’s hand.”

This really resonated with me. Really loved her message and methods and can totally see Holly as a therapist - her helping Michael choreograph the dance is so cute too.

I enjoyed the new backstory for Pam and Jim and that Pam was the initiated of the kiss here - but still got the line - I’ve wanted to do that for a long time. It was too bad she never got her teapot.

The romantic Jim gesture -awww - and think I got a little, You bought me a house vibe in the "I love it" I only wish she hadn't been thinking he was busy with work - that she wasn't thinking the worse when he really was trying so hard.

I also am hoping some of the re-connection our Jam is experiencing will rub off on Mizzy. I know they're not our main focus characters but I'm kinda routing for them too.

Author's Response:

I am even more behind on replying to reviews (and most things on this site, it is catch up time now) - but thank you so much! I'm really glad you're enjoying Holly as a therapist, it didn't feel like a huge stretch for me either, so glad it's making sense here :) And I know, I did actually feel a bit bad about doing that to the teapot, haha. I was thinking about the house-buying scene with this one too! Also so pleased to hear you're routing for Mark and Isabel, I'm really enjoying writing them. I can promise each couple will sort of have their own journey... 

Thanks so much as ever for the review!  

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2021 01:32 am Title: Chapter 5

(Reposted as of the glaring typo of “locked” not “loved” 2 words in!)

I loved the way you’ve painted a brilliant miniature of each couple in the space of this one chapter. You don’t compare them directly but you don’t need to - as the readers we get everything we need to know about them in each section and where they are right now. Bravo!

Author's Response:

Haha, I feel you on the typos in reviews - I struggle. But thank you so much! I’m really pleased you liked this, I’m generally v used to writing Jim/Pam’s POVs so this felt like branching out a bit…I’m relieved you thought it worked! Thanks so much for taking the time to review :) 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 25, 2021 05:51 pm Title: Chapter 5

Awww, man. I love this chapter. Like a lot. A lot a lot.

I'm particularly impressed by how well you managed to find the humanity in the very real struggle of a deeply-cartoonish Dwight and Angela. They feel like fully realized human beings who are still consistent with the judgmental religious hypocrite and crazed beet farmer we see on screen and on the beach. This line about Angela appreciating his rigid resistance to her Christianity really encapsulates a lot of his appeal to her, and you've done well bringing in their very particular ideas of the roles of men and women and how that can cost them.

And as a Misabel shipper, very much appreciate the look behind closed doors. I'm feeling much better about the two of them now, and have a better idea of what made them tick in the first place. They're a couple who has relied a lot on nonverbal communication to express their love for each other beneath the tempestuousness, and that nonverbal communication has been failing them as of late.

Ryan is wonderfully obnoxious. And Jim and Pam really feel like they're headed back on the right track, even if they still clearly have a lot of road ahead of them. A great update!

Author's Response:

Ah, thank you so much - that’s so great to hear! :) I was slightly nervous about getting Angela’s voice right, and about the Mark/Isabel bit - so I’m relieved they came out ok! 


I do find it interesting that Dwight and Angela (as far as I know) never bring up their religious differences on the show, other than that great throwaway line about Dwight driving Angela to church afterwards. Which I thought was pretty sweet. I also really appreciate you being a Misabel shipper, haha. It’s fun (/mildly terrifying) having a bit of a blank sheet for them, so I’m hoping their relationship will feel as realistic as the other ones where all the hard work has basically been done for me…. 


Thank you so much for your review! 

Reviewer: HazyGirl Signed [Report This]
Date: September 25, 2021 11:02 am Title: Chapter 1

I was so happy to see an update this morning!I am really enjoying the way this story is developing. Looking forward to the next installment.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! That’s so lovely to hear, I’m delighted you’re enjoying it :) Thanks very much for reading, and for taking the time to leave feedback - I really appreciate it! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 25, 2021 10:57 am Title: Chapter 5

Really interesting take on the four couples here.

Feels like maybe Mark is starting to get it a little. That a joke isn't always the best way to go. True communication may be a bit hard, but it's the way forward. Almost felt like the ice between him and Izzy started to crack there a bit. Still a lot of ice left between them but it's a start.

Angela's worries seem to run true. She's got a huge stick up her butt about everything. Her holier-than-thou attidute really comes across well in all those thoughts of hers. But she's also feeling distant with Dwight. A bit of self-realization there too.

Ryan is of course a jerk. Very much feels like he thinks he's perfect and thus deserves a chance at the singles resort. Espeically with that line of him not wanting Kelly to be with anyone else but he's chomping at the bit to leave her for a night or two. Yeah, he stayed with her that night, but out of competition not out of actually wanting to be with his wife.

Then of course what feels like the best connection Jim and Pam have had during this trip. Not only do they connect physically, but they're still sharing some jokes and laughter. Lovely to see. I can still see where some progress needs to be made though. It's not just about holding her or surprising her Jim. It's about getting to the reason you need to come back to holding her and suprising her. Methinks he'll get there though.

Nice work as always.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I’m really glad you enjoyed this one. Yeah, Mark and Isabel are taking some baby steps…and Oscar’s therapy might be working slightly better on Angela than she thinks, haha. I always love writing Ryan’s jerkiness, especially when it comes to his relationship with Angela (I did briefly consider giving them a real issue to work through, but then I figured: it’s Ryan and Kelly). And yes! on Jim needing to do slightly more than just surprising Pam. He has also had the advantage of not being interrupted as much by Athleap…so far.  Thanks so much for your review!

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2021 03:53 pm Title: Chapter 4

Actually read this very early this morning. This is absolutely wonderful. How you’ve set this up and followed through with the characters - perfect!

Author's Response: Ah, thanks very much! I'm so thrilled you're enjoying it (I'm having a lot of fun writing it, especially with the different characters). Thanks so much for the review! 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2021 04:00 am Title: Chapter 3

Major Minor - now that is good! And getting Charles into the mix here - mwahh. Love Idris Elba (although not the character he played on show - fan from watching The Wire) But the way you had him give Jim a hard time here was a perfect parallel to the conflict on the show.
Don't really blame Angela and Kelly reactions here (and again written very true to their characters.)

Glad Jim realizing he is missing things Pam is doing as he is busy with job - but glad he hold his ground (pose) and stays with Pam through Baby Pose and of course in classic Jim- makes Pam laugh.

Onto next chapter!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! And haha, I'm really glad you enjoyed the Major Minor and Charles - his character was awful on the show, but I did still love the episodes he was on/the different ways everyone reacted to him. (I also love Idris Elba, but mainly from Luther). And Jim is getting there...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2021 05:47 pm Title: Chapter 4

This feels like more progress has been made. Really like the flashback of how they met and their early relationship. Kind of a shame that they lost the teapot and the note. However the losing it also led to their first kiss so it evens out a bit. Nice tactic from Holly. Just be with each other. Seems to be working too.

Kind of interesting conversations in the spa. As much progress as Jim and Pam are having, I'm not sure we can say the same about Izzy and Mark. I did like how Izzy put Angela in her place though.

Kinda figured Jim was up to something. It makes sense that Pam would think he's back checking in on workstuff with the Blackberry. However the reveal of the romantic hot tub was beautiful. A big Jim gesture worthy of canon. The set up with everything last chapter and in this one paved the way for the end here really well. Wonderful to see them reconnect like this. There may still be a few bumps coming, but this feels really good. Great job.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed the flashback - and yeah, they are getting there with the progress, I'm glad you liked Holly's advice too :) Although I will say my plan is for the different couples to move at different paces/have their ups and downs...so, more to come! 

I'm really pleased you liked the Jim gesture, it was a lot of fun to write. And I thought time for him to step up a bit.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 22, 2021 05:45 pm Title: Chapter 4

"Dwight over-shared in graphic detail when Michel asked each of them to rap a truth about themselves to the beat of the bongos." WRITE. THIS. RAP.

No, but seriously, Pam's attitude here is just perfect and such a reflection of both canon and in-universe JAM - two people who love each other so much it's actually creating obstacles to dealing with their problems. So obviously they're going to enjoy Michel's weird exercises and dread the part where they have to communicate like adults. (In many ways, they really could have benefited from couples therapy way before it came up...) In that sense, the combo of approaches might be perfect for them... letting them exercising and get joy from their strengths and having that help confront their weaknesses.

And this is such a gorgeous rendering of their history. They're such cute kids! Oooof, the loss of the Secret Santa sack leading both of them (I'm assuming) to hunt around in the trash and that ultimately producing their first kiss is lovely... as is the shadow that memory casts over Jim. So nice to see him come through for Pam in this chapter.
I don't know whether the way Mark and Isabel seem to be on the same page about being on a different page should make me hopeful or worried they're just heading towards a relatively uncontested and calm divorce. #Misabel4LYFE

Author's Response:

I nearly posted this as a review of my own instead of a reply to yours, whoops, but thanks very much! And haha - in my head the rap definitely involves Dwight trying to rhyme something with scrotum. That's so true on Jim/Pam loving each other too much actually causing problems, they really could have done with couples therapy sooner. I do sort of wonder how their season 9 drama might have played out if Michael was there and still super invested in their relationship...

I'm glad you enjoyed the backstory in this one! Pam may indeed have been hunting for something similar 😏 And haha, keep the faith on the Misabel4lyfe. Honest. Thanks so much for reviewing! :)        

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2021 06:44 am Title: Chapter 3

This was a fun chapter after the angst. The way you've managed to keep everyone in character while dropping them in this AU is impressive.

Great to see some progress with Jim. It's sad and encouraging that he's realizing that he has missed things about Pam and also that he hasn't really been noticing her, seeing her.

Not going to lie, I found myself smiling when Charles picked on Jim. Jim's got work ahead of him before he is totally back in my good graces.

Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! Yeah, I didn't want it be angst all the time (especially as the movie's actually a comedy, lol - but I find it v hard to do Jam with no angst). And a little bit of progress with Jim! He does have work ahead of him though, you're right. I also feel like mean season 9 Philly Jim maybe needed a Charles to calm him down on the show...

Thank you so much for reading, I'm really glad you're enjoying it - and for taking the time to review!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2021 07:08 pm Title: Chapter 3

Lots of great call backs to the show here. Charles seeming to target in on Jim. A bit unfairly I always thought. Yeah, Jim could have done more, but I always thought Charles was a bit of a bully to Jim. Also in the show I wished Jim would have stood up to Charles a bit more. So I really liked it when Jim wouldn't let Charles but in on him when he was helping Pam. Same when Pam wouldn't let Jim be batted away.

Feels like there was some good progress made here. Jim realizing there's an entire part of Pam he doesn't know. And it's because of his job. Feels like a bit of a revelation there.

Also feels like a small return to form for him and Pam. They're joking with each other. Smiling at each other. Bonding over a common annoying personality. Some of the hallmarks of the JAM relationship. Really nice to see that brought out.

Of course Kelly is milking it for all she's worth. Was that a bit of Office Ladies trivia in there? Angela Kinsey ran cross-country so Angela Martin-Schrute has good running form. Nice touch if so.

Great update.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I definitely though Charles targeted Jim unfairly - but I also really enjoyed the dynamic of someone coming in who didn't automatically love Jim (/actually preferred Dwight, at lest initially), it did make for great TV. But yeah: Jim also should've stood up to him more! Jim in this fic is very slowly getting there...but maybe not quite all the way there yet. And haha, I loved the Kelly/Angela rivalry over Charles on the show, so I wanted to bring that out here. It is a bit of Office Ladies trivia! Well, I remember them commenting that Angela was actually doing proper running form, so it was fun to include here. Thanks so much for reading, and for the review :) 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2021 03:29 pm Title: Chapter 3

This banter at the beginning is so them and so bittersweet - you can really feel how unusual this very familiar moment is for them right now. And the first date! Ouch. So near and yet so far. It is nice to get a taste of them (and even Mark and Isabel) being on the same side here in the face of Charles Miner, who I thought was well used. (Also, Mark and Jim are right, Major Miner is a joke that needed to be acknowledged.) Much like in canon, it seems a lot more clear that Charles knows what he's doing than Michael on the surface, even as you desperately don't want to be around him.

As always, you've just a really good ear for the voices of these characters, from top to bottom. The entire ensemble sounds on point in this chapter. ("Jim wonders when, exactly, the guy watched a Richard Gere romance. And at what point he’d realised the movie was a romance and not a war film." Again, something that definitely happened to canon Dwight. And Angela being too tight to do yoga is a nice detail.)

Fun use of Charles Miner. (I'm with Mark and Jim, Major Miner is too good a joke to let go.)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! And yeah, having come to the show late, I was 1) shocked to see Idris Elba, but also to your point: shocked at how thoroughly unlikeable he was as Charles, lol. But I love the conflicts his character brought out for different people - I thought it was way more interesting than the ‘here’s a weird senior guy that everyone will just be weirded out by’ for some of the other guest stars. (Basically: I’ve been v keen for an excuse to work Charles into one of my fics for a while, so I’m really glad you enjoyed it here!) And glad you’re enjoying the ensemble too! I feel there must be a list of films Dwight (and Michael, obviously) have watched thinking they were something else… 


Thank you so much for your review! 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2021 04:17 am Title: Chapter 2

This chapter got all sorts of interesting.

Now I don't know if the whole disrobing scene was from the movie or your creation, however I am surprised that Angela didn't haul off and smack Michael or Michel at the mere suggestion of it but I did like where you went with Pam's insecurity and her feeling as if Jim had evolved even physically, while she had stayed the same. But thanks for the image of Jim in his boxers, enjoyed that.
Oh and classic that Ryan was commando.

The therapy sessions were interesting and I'm actually very drawn in by the Mark/Isabel conflicts (which reminds me how I loved the earlier part where Pam notices how Jim seemed to be concerned for his friends due to his caring nature).

The way Holly seems to be drawing out the problems that do exist but weren't yet at the surface (at least not until that blackberry came along) sets us up for more conflict but I'm here for that (as long as it gets fixed).

I will say I am sad that Pam didn't get her art school experience in this world but I guess that adds to the issues.

Author's Response:

Thanks very much! And haha, the disrobing scene was lifted from the movie (but I thought fit well for Michael / also wanted an excuse for Jim in his boxers). For Angela, I was sort of going with, she was ok with following Michel’s instructions up to a certain point…until he went too far. But yeah, she 100% would have smacked Michael Scott for that on the show. I’m really glad you’re enjoying the Mark/Isabel conflicts! I know they’re not Jam or any canon relationship, which is always a bit trickier to get into - but I’m having fun writing them. And yeah, I was interested in the conflict of Jim getting his dreams with Pam not quite getting all of hers…but the art school thing still felt a bit mean. Although I’m not saying she won’t ever get those dreams here! 


Thanks so much for reviewing :) 

Reviewer: lesser Signed [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2021 04:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

I'm so here for this. Love the small things Jim is noticing too. Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response:

Ah, thank you so much! I’m really glad you’re enjoying it so far - thanks for reading and taking the time to leave a review :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2021 09:24 pm Title: Chapter 2

Curious developments here that's for sure. Clearly Jim and Pam still love each other. That much is evident in the way their thoughts go when they look at each other on the beach. However there's still a divide between them. I think you hit the nail on the head with the trust fall exercise. As much as they love each other, they're also scared. In that fear of losing just about everything they've built up, they're also scared to really communicate. What they want to say sounds harsh especially with Mark and Iz sniping at each other that they just clam up. At least Jim didn't pull out the blackberry. He's got that going for him at least.

Also I'm kinda with Iz. If your marriage is in that kind of trouble Mark, enough with the jokes and take it seriously. Especially when she straight up tells you that. Feels like he needs to learn time and place. The other two couples are also a hoot to read.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! And yeah, it’s possible the trust fall exercise might be slightly more of a symbol of Jim’s relationship than he’s hoping, lol…but that point about Pam clamming up because she thinks that what she wants to say is too harsh was something I found really interesting in season 9, so I’m really glad it came across here! I am also slightly with Iz. Although in Mark’s defence, I think he does know that, and is potentially a bit scared about what happens when it actually gets serious…thank you so much for reading and reviewing! 

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2021 03:57 pm Title: Chapter 2

So many good things here. Starting with a great AU with the characters we love still recognizable.

Dwight, Angela, and Andy are hilarious. Michael a bit cringy yet his heart is in the right place Interesting that Jim can see what Mark is doing wrong but is oblivious when it comes to his own situation.

My heart broke for Pam when she spied his blackberry poking out of his shorts. They seem to be sliding further away from each other and into stormy seas. The fact that they still are not connecting (too tired to have sex on vacation oof) is sad and scary.

You even managed to flesh out Holly & Oscar.

I can't wait to read the next installment and I love the longer chapters. This story is really resonating with me.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I’m really glad you’re enjoying the Dwangela and Andy haha, they’re a lot of fun to write. And yeah, I was interested in the Mark/Isabel and Jim/Pam differences (it’s possible that Mark is not quite so oblivious to what Jim’s doing wrong, either…) But don’t worry, they do have Michael to help them with their stormy seas :D Glad you liked the Holly and Oscar too, writing from other characters’ POVs is still a bit new for me, so hopefully doesn’t go too wrong…


Thanks so much for reading, and your lovely review! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2021 02:32 am Title: Chapter 2

I think you've done well in this chapter finding the balance in the Jam relationship issues - you can see both the deep and still-present affection and love for each other living alongside the problems that are cropping up, and the way they exist in relationship to each other. This is a relationship where you don't have to take their word for it that there's something there worth saving or that they still like each other. And you've found some really interesting ways to bring in a dynamic I think is a HUGE missed opportunity in canon - wherein Jim gets to succeed at his dreams and Pam doesn't get to succeed at hers. (Pam not being able to do a trust fall is surprisingly painful to read. And JFC Jim. LEAVE THE GODDAMN PHONE.)

Definitely thinking a lot in watching Mark and Isabel about the challenges to that type of relationship. If a lot of your communication is cheerfully sniping at each other, it must be difficult to tell when the sniping becomes... not so cheerful. Poor kids. #Misabel4Lyfe And the reveal that the doctor's orders are a requirement of fertility treatments is a really smart choice, I think - a realistic way to get them there and something you can both imagine this kind of cartoonish couple going through and find some pathos in, and I'm looking forward to seeing how you plan to use Oscar.

"The eternal question is whether nurture or nature will help you survive the apocalypse" is absolutely a canon Dwight line that should've happened. And I absolutely love the runner with the musical accompaniment. Well worth making it a running gag.

(Also, thank you for sparing It Would've Been You Jim and Pam from this.)

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! And yes! to the missed opportunity in canon: it really felt like that should have been at least mentioned in season 9. (It’s also why I found Jim helping Pam get an identical office job in Philly a bit jarring. I get it, the Bob Odenkirk gag was funny. But also, ouch).   


Haha, #Misabel4Lyfe will continue, I promise. I was interested in that different relationship dynamic / how two characters who are the opposite of Jam in terms of their ability to communicate could go wrong…so glad you’re enjoying that so far!


It turns out that fine line between cartoonish and pathos for Dwight and Angela, plus Oscar, is a bit tougher to write - but I’m hoping it’ll work out ok, gulp. 


I figured I couldn’t have Andy without some kind of musical accompaniment, it felt too good to miss. 


Thank you so much, as ever, for reading and reviewing!  

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 05:45 am Title: Chapter 1

I've only seen bit and pieces of Couple's Retreat -it comes on Comedy Central and I watch scenes from middle- so don't know exactly the story, how it begins or ends but have the basic premise.
Besides, you are going to work you magic and twist it up to work for these characters so I needn't worry about knowing the whole plot.

This was a really fun start to get the ball rolling.

I wish my kids had/would remind my husband it's been a while since he's taken me on a vacation (COVID in part to blame here) but my kids are clueless in that regard. Great of Cece to be that kid.

Interesting to bring a little of season 9 tension in here, on the surface they seem fine and happy but maybe all is not what it seems at first.

And I adore that Holly is there with Michael. A great start to what I'm sure is going to be a fun ride.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! So I did actually catch the tail end of the movie on TV the other week haha, which is what reminded me of it and gave me the idea for this story. And I mean, I’m probably attributing too much wisdom to a 7 year old, but artistic licence. (I also feel you on the holiday, I’m not sure it’s a coincidence that this is my second fic this year to feature a nice hot destination with a beach…) 


And yeah, I’ve not really written Holly and Michael before, so am looking forward to that! 


Thanks so much for your review :) 

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 10, 2021 10:11 am Title: Chapter 1

This is so freaking good. Its hilarious but you can also feel the tension between Jim and Pam. The way they think their marriage is great but we have already seen that theres issues already, ugh. I already know this story is going to wreck me, and I cant wait.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! Haha, I’m sort of trying to go for comedy rather than loads of angst, but…I think Jam are just naturally angstier than Vince Vaughn/Jason Bateman? It’s a struggle. Thank you so much for your review! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans