You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Sam Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2021 09:22 am Title: “How would he have gotten in the wall? How would he get stuck in there?” – Angela Kinsey

This was great fun. The characters felt spot-on and the dialogue was great.
And this is 100% what would happen if Dwight got stuck in a wall.

Author's Response: Thanks, Sam! Glad you enjoyed it... and appreciate you taking the time to read and review!

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 09:48 pm Title: Then again, the actual B-story in The Deposition is about how Jim can’t play ping-pong. So.

You can almost see the vision of JIM acting out stories for their kids in her head.
😭😭😭😭😭😭

DJC this was so good. So much humor and soul and everything I want from an office B-roll. (That rhymed, which was unintentional.)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it, even if it did mess up your class schedule... and I appreciate you taking the time to review!

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 09:45 pm Title: It just doesn’t really fit “small, real, relatable” well, you know?

Turns out even years as a witness can’t prepare you for having Dwight as your deskmate.
Ain’t that the truth.

Jim and Pam acting as office parents here to Dwight is just ridiculously adorable, and I don’t know how you did that. It’s such a sweet, hilarious element of this trio’s dynamic that we don’t see as often as we should.

Author's Response: Plus side, this was a great preview for her move post-Michael Scott Paper Company, so she's probably better prepared now.

I do enjoy a good Jim-Pam-Dwight friendship moment. I understand why the show wouldn't want to go to that well too often, but no one's going to stop me from turning it into fic.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 09:40 pm Title: Seriously, that’s the whole pitch. “Dwight gets stuck in the wall.”

ANGELA huffs. Sure, she’s getting what she wanted, but it’d be nice if he felt that strongly about not hurting other people’s pets, too.
LOL!!!!!

I loved the Michael/Dwight vs Toby argument. That was so good.

Author's Response: Poor Angela. Rough season for her, really.

Lol, thank you. I'm always nervous about how these talking-over-each-other moments are going to translate written.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 09:37 pm Title: “How would he have gotten in the wall? How would he get stuck in there?” – Angela Kinsey

I read this chapter, snort-laughed while in class and on camera, and decided I should read the rest at a less critical time. This was uproariously funny. The image of Dwight handling a sales call as though this were just another day at the office is just perfect.

Author's Response: A snort laugh! This is the greatest honor I have ever received. I am proud to have disrupted your education. Also, thank you.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 05:41 pm Title: Then again, the actual B-story in The Deposition is about how Jim can’t play ping-pong. So.

Awwhh - loved the Jim/Dwight reading moment- really loved the way you described it - Jim reading to kids - got me right in the feels. -as did the little note about Angela.

I might have to agree with the network here - too much there for a cold open - and they've got a budget too - a few pieces of post-it probably was a lot more budget friendly for a 2 minute bit.

A lot of fun with this one- as with all your stuff. I love the humor of your writing and yet you still tug where I want to be tugged in a good fan fic.

Author's Response: This is all very much inspired by Dwight reading Harry Potter to them in Money, and by a week on the beach with my nephew and nieces in which I read "Pizza and Taco's Super-Awesome Comic" waaaaaay too many times.

It's true. This would have been a rough episode for Phil Shea.

Really glad you enjoyed this one... thank you as always for taking the time to review!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 05:30 pm Title: It just doesn’t really fit “small, real, relatable” well, you know?

Nobody appreciates Mom Pam quite as much as I do so you know I love that part. And nothing is more annoying than someone telling you how to play solitaire, except when that someone is Dwight.

Good thing we've got Jim to the rescue. Book not my genre but totally Dwight's and Jim was probably enjoying it a bit too.

Let's see why this thing can't work (as per the execs).

Author's Response: Pam was the most prepared Mom in all of television. And hey, Jim managed to make it charming, so maybe Dwight could too. Under different circumstances.

This seemed like the sort of pop culture where Jim and Dwight could easily find common ground.

There are actually a bunch of reasons... in particular I have Michael and Toby in the second beat, which wouldn't have worked with The Deposition at all. Writing's hard.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 05:20 pm Title: Seriously, that’s the whole pitch. “Dwight gets stuck in the wall.”

Chapter titles - they often get overlooked but not this one - I thought it was brilliant - so so funny.
How Michael turns this against Toby well that seemed about right.
Pam and Jim are just enjoying this so much too. Field day for Jim - although since it's maybe a little too easy for him- wouldn't that negate some of the enjoyment -nah - still fun.
Oh popcorn a nice touch too.

Author's Response: One of the fun things about breaking this up into beats was the chance to do a whole separate line of jokes with the chapter titles. This was neat.

Oh, Toby. You'd feel bad for him, except this is Season 4, and also he's just blatantly giving up on doing his job.

I do think there's not much sport in this one for Jim... but he does get the fun bonus of Dwight being completely unable to respond, so that helps.

Popcarn.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 03:50 pm Title: “How would he have gotten in the wall? How would he get stuck in there?” – Angela Kinsey

Ok - what I didn't realized when I saw this at work was that it was chapters - plural, so an extra special treat...so here's what brought me joy in the first one -

The Concept - how did this not become an A Plot or a B plot or at least a cold open. Well in some ways glad it didn't so you could do it. TWSS

Busting in with a classic disclaimer - lot of fun there.

OK this description was spot on - all-smiles JIM and PAM, a concerned PHYLLIS, a confused-even-for-him KEVIN and a mentally-updating-his-resume OSCAR.

And of course Michael thinks the guys downstairs have a chainsaw (wait, don't they?) but the way Darryl responds I can just see it.

And Angela's line -well done. More reviewing to come after I start on dinner...

Author's Response: Re: The Concept - I actually came to see how this card got left on the table in the course of writing this. Like, there's a point at which you can no longer suspend disbelief that no one would do anything about this. Even for an office this crazy, it's just not quite real enough. (Then again, remember when Dwight gave Stanley a heart attack and suffered zero consequences?)

This disclaimer may well be my favorite yet.

I'm glad you thought Angela played... she's important there, and I felt like I was a step or two to the side of where I wanted to be on her talking heads.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 03:03 pm Title: “How would he have gotten in the wall? How would he get stuck in there?” – Angela Kinsey

I think I need to reread without the Negroni I had after dinner tonight :D

Author's Response: I mean, if this fic can't be enjoyed after a Negroni, what's even the point???

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 02:50 pm Title: Then again, the actual B-story in The Deposition is about how Jim can’t play ping-pong. So.

This was hilarious! And slightly confusing! And hilarious!

Author's Response: Well hilarious is good... where did I lose you?

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 12:38 pm Title: Then again, the actual B-story in The Deposition is about how Jim can’t play ping-pong. So.

Another entertaining Disclaimer, but yet once again, I agree with the suits, and I don't like that (said in my best DeAngelo accent). B-story for another episode because Michael's in NY for The Deposition.

Good onya for the whole thing. It was LOL from start to finish.

Author's Response: Yeah, that would have been a problem here. I decided to go with comedy over making it fit with the episode. It occurs to me now that nothing that Michael (or for that matter Toby) does in this episode couldn't have been accomplished by speaker phone, but it feels too late to switch that up.

Really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 12:30 pm Title: It just doesn’t really fit “small, real, relatable” well, you know?

Jim's change from mocking to investment in the zombie book fits. Once Jim gets involved he commits without irony.

Congratulations on finding new ways to describe Pam's doe eyes towards Jim. "pure-spun sugar" is cotton candy, and given Pam's penchant for wearing pink, it is a nice tie in. Pam's parenting style is nicely developing with both Michael and Dwight.

Author's Response: That's always the thing with Jim and Dwight - they actually have a relatively decent amount of common ground! The Venn Diagram of things that both Dwight and Jim could really get into is quite large. (The challenge here was finding something that was also timely *and* that I had a copy of already.)

I will never tire of writing descriptions of Pam giving Jim heart eyes.

Cece and Phil had nothing on Dwight and Michael. Pam was the readiest person to be a mom in television history.

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 12:16 pm Title: Seriously, that’s the whole pitch. “Dwight gets stuck in the wall.”

Michael and Dwight talking over each other! It takes both of them to complete one side of a two way conversation.

Toby making sure his butt is covered and evidence is maintained to assign legal liability. Toby has such high hopes his testimony will eventually end up in a SCOTUS decision.

Author's Response: Glad you felt like that worked! I can always hear those really clearly in my head, but I'm not sure it translates on paper.

Oh, Toby. He was truly checked out during this season.

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 12:02 pm Title: “How would he have gotten in the wall? How would he get stuck in there?” – Angela Kinsey

I love your cold opens! Drawing inspiration from the podcast is genius. Writing instead of counting sheep is Dwight level creative.

I would have gotten on this review quicker, but I got lost in reviewing maps of Dingman's Ferry and its surrounds. The waterfall looks lovely.

Your economic descriptions of Michael, Darryl, Lonnie, Jim, Pam, Phyllis, Kevin, and Oscar are as funny as they are accurate. Dwight gassing Disneyland is just heresy, however. Angela wishing for frozen French fries is nicely retro and diabolical.

Good onya

Author's Response: Dwight level creative, but unfortunately also Dwight level effective. Not a great sleep solution. But I thought this pitch was gold the second I heard it. It's a shame, really.

Mainly I just thought Dwight would sound funny saying "Dingman." Now I kind of want to go.

Yeah, that was my attempt at at an all-time Dwight line. Not sure it really played.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 11:33 am Title: Then again, the actual B-story in The Deposition is about how Jim can’t play ping-pong. So.

One does feel a bit for Angela there. She's still got a lot going on under all the prissiness.

Dwight hanging on each and every one of Jim's words fits so very much. Same that eventually Pam just gave up and watched with glee.

Great job with this one. Really REALLY enjoyed every word of it.

Author's Response: Angela is so mean to Andy over the course of Season 4 that it gets a little lost by this point in the narrative, but you do have to have sympathy for her. Dwight broke her heart, such as it is.

This is all very much inspired by Dwight reading Harry Potter to them in Money. I love a nice Jim-Dwight-Pam friendship moment.

Really glad you liked this one so much! Thanks as always for taking the time to read and review!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 11:29 am Title: It just doesn’t really fit “small, real, relatable” well, you know?

Question! "Decade of the Dead" is that the genaric version of the book "World War Z?" I seem to remember in "World War Z," a Canadian Special Forces team stumbling on a horde of zombies as well as the recollection of the defense of coastal areas.

Loved that Pam is using her Mom voice on Dwight and that it's working. I mean I love everything about this story so far, but those are highlights of this chapter.

Author's Response: It *is*! I was just going to use excerpts all the way through, but except for the Paris catacombs I couldn't really find ones that stood on their own out of context. Also, it seemed like the exact sort of thing Jim could unironically bond with Dwight about.

There is so much comic potential in Pam's mom voice. Cece and Phil are a picnic compared to Michael and Dwight.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 11:27 am Title: Then again, the actual B-story in The Deposition is about how Jim can’t play ping-pong. So.

Well, my friend, you did it justice.

*LONNIE: …no.
DARRYL: No, Mike. We don’t… we don’t have chainsaws on hand in case someone gets stuck in a wall.*

*JIM (in voiceover): Turns out even years as a witness can’t prepare you for having Dwight as your deskmate.*

These lines particularly tickled me.

*PAM (CECE will have flashbacks watching this): Did I say “touch one more file and no cell phone charger for the rest of the day”?*

This reminded me of that time Jenna said something about how she used to talk to Michael how she talks to her kids now. Amazing.

...And I've said this before, but I really love the way you write Angela.

Well done!

Author's Response: Pam is absolutely Michael's mom, and I think that could easily transition to Dwight in certain circumstances.

I'm glad Angela worked for you here! Her thread is basically the only thing giving this any weight whatsoever, and I'm not completely satisfied with her last talking head. Ms. Kinsey is doing a lot of the work for me there, I think.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 11:22 am Title: Seriously, that’s the whole pitch. “Dwight gets stuck in the wall.”

I LOVE that Jim and Pam are sitting there eating popcorn. Also that Jim keeps grabbing things from Dwight's pockets and such. Such a classic Jim thing to do. Kind of like when he "pranked" Dwight by pushing him over when Dwight had a cane hidden in his trousers during the standing desk phase. Simple but effective.

So much great fun with this one.

Author's Response: Oh, yeah. This one doesn't require much creativity on this part, I think. Dwight's pranked himself, Jim's just picking low hanging fruit. Like his attempt to train his feet.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 11:18 am Title: “How would he have gotten in the wall? How would he get stuck in there?” – Angela Kinsey

This is already gold. From the opening disclaimer to all the events leading to Dwight being stuck in the wall. Perfect characterization throughout. Just 100% spot on. On to more.

Author's Response: I mean... Dwight's explanation for *how* he got stuck in the wall would have been a classic Dwight Schrute talking head. *sigh* If only. And this may well be my favorite disclaimer I've ever written.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2021 10:59 am Title: Then again, the actual B-story in The Deposition is about how Jim can’t play ping-pong. So.

First of all, your disclaimer. Actual genius. When are you going to start writing mine?

Secondly, this couldnt have been better. I was dying the entire time and I disagree with the network, this should have made the cut. Love me a “Hiya, Buddy” and bad ping pong, but this is what I need.

Author's Response: NGL: this is my favorite disclaimer yet.

I mean, I think we all know this was just way too *edgy* for network TV. Maybe if The Office was on HBO.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans