Reviews For Housewarming
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Yeza Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 24, 2022 01:37 am Title: Chapter 1

OMG! What a story! It's perfect. It is so well written and developed. I had a lot of fun reading it, and it's going straight into my ebook.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2022 08:47 pm Title: Chapter 5

So glad the two of them worked that out. Thanks for the story!

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2022 08:40 pm Title: Chapter 4

They really don't talk do they? But you do a great job of showing that too.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2022 08:34 pm Title: Chapter 3

Well...I'm always one for awful Ryan because he is indeed awful but holy shit.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2022 08:19 pm Title: Chapter 2

"Dwight says he knows an ex-cop in Dunmore who will off someone for you, no questions, for $500 and six bottles of Tennessee whiskey. Just saying."

Not that the rest of this wasn't great in its horrifying awkwardness but that's my favorite line.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 21, 2022 07:50 pm Title: Chapter 1

So perfect. Like Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf but the Office.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 11, 2022 10:31 pm Title: Chapter 5

I just spent my evening devouring this and I can’t think of a better way to have spent it. You’re an amazing writer, your characterization is on point, and I loved every moment of this story. Fantastic work!

Author's Response: You're extremely kind, and I'm so glad you enjoyed reading. I really struggled to get this one written, so I'm particularly glad you think it worked. Many thanks!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2022 06:33 pm Title: Chapter 5

"he got waterboarded by reality." "What he actually looks like? A total flake who is genuinely concerned he might pass out with nervous anticipation." "he feels like a guy who’s just crawled clear of an explosion in a munitions factory on his hands and knees, all stupefied and bedraggled." Your knack for description remains as dynamite as ever.

The banter between them is fun here! They're in that space where they're semi on familiar ground and semi REALLY not, and that comes through clearly. Them both desperately trying not to laugh at a TWSS is classic, and they're very sweet when they get serious.

"which is decorated with a map of Maine and a cheerful lobster tucking into a pan of mussels, which just seems… wrong?" This is... a perfect example of Maine tourist kitsch.

In my head I'm making Jim's Boy Scout troop leader Isabel's new boss, and I won't hear anything otherwise. Also I'm now determined to convince my nephew to get a dentistry merit badge.

"They could actually keep going on like this until the end of time." Which has always been part of their problem, hasn't it?

Have I ever mentioned how much I appreciate your relentless destruction of Ryan? Like the portrayal of him as a guy too incompetent to run an extortion racket is amazing. And so in character.

"and then she’s grabbing his hair and writhing and groaning like her name’s Delicious MacLusty or something." Write THAT fic next.

"Breakup-by-Ryan." Yet another thing he's terrible at! He can do other people's breakups for him but not his own!

Jim's secret delight at Roy being intimidated by him is fun. And I also buy it. Very particular idea of masculinity from Roy that I can easily see him not wanting to puncture by putting it directly up against Jim's.

"Absolutely too early to be thinking about whether she’d prefer a single diamond or a cluster. Or maybe she rather have sapphires… That’ll definitely have to wait until the end of the week. He’s not an obsessive freak." Exactly, Jim. Make her work for it.

The ending line! Fabulous.

Sam, I enjoyed the heck out of this. Your work here is always appreciated and I hope we won't have long to wait before your next project!

Author's Response:

As I've said before (hopefully!), I really appreciate the time and effort you put into your thoughtful revies - it's much appreciated!

I very much enjoyed dismantling Ryan! I can definitely see him as a kind of incompetent plotter who is eaten up with resentment. An embittered, barely useful loser, basically. Anyway, it was fun.

I also enjoyed the idea of Roy being intimidated by Jim, and kind of wish I'd given Jim an opportunity to have some fun with it. Some hard stares, a last minute body-swerve with a wink... Roy becoming increasingly freaked-out... :o)

Thanks! 

Reviewer: Makeda526 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2022 08:26 pm Title: Chapter 5

Loved!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing - much appreciated!

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2022 02:07 pm Title: Chapter 5

I'm not sure how you turned me into Kelly, one of the characters I have the least in common with, but I positively SQUEALED when I saw this was updated!

This was a blast from start to finish. Not a dull moment, not a thought or word out of character, funny, smart, cute, nerve-wracking, angst fueled, smutty goodness.

Instantly one of my favorites. Can't wait to see what you write next b

Author's Response: You're being incredibly (too!) kind here, and I really appreciate it. I found this a struggle, so I'm really glad you think it worked, and enjoyed it. Thanks!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2022 11:05 am Title: Chapter 5

Dentistry was not one of the Merit Badges I earned when I was in scouts. I had other interests. First Aid Merit Badge though? It was literally the first one I earned. Good thing too considering my future career path. First Aid is also one of the badges one must earn in order to earn the rank of Eagle Scout so a lot of scouts earn that badge, but I digress.

Loved how they had their heart-to-heart conversation here. It felt like a nice continuation of their discussions from earlier. However, most of the heat and anger from earlier is gone. Probably due to the physical exertion of just getting there. I also liked how it started out kind of like their phone call. Dancing on safe flirty topics to start out with. However, when the opportunity arises they don't shy away from the big issues this time. Good thing too, because at long last they're finally both honest about their real feelings for each other. Once that's out all bets (and clothes) are off.

Love how they shift into a physical relationship like that. How it feels natural and wonderful and like coming home for the both of them. Then a few more revelations before round two to really cement things in nicely. Great way to bring it all in for a landing.

Once more you wrote us an amazing story. Filled with tons of huge emotions that all came across as 100% believable. Great job with it all.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat.

Author's Response:

There are some great badge options on the list! I did Brownies and Girl Guides, both with barely interested leaders, and managed a grand total of one badge. This involved me having to prepare and serve tea and biscuits for an elderly neighbour, and wash up. And vacuum her front room. Not exactly one for the resumé

Really glad you enjoyed this and thanks, as ever, for your detailed reviews. Much appreciated!

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2022 06:53 am Title: Chapter 5

I’m so happy you’re back and that this is completed!! It’s been such a great little story!
You definitely fixed season 3 for sure and I was not sad about Karen’s apartment getting trashed at all.
I’m so happy the epilogue got these two together, and look at Jim already wanting to get her ring.
But really, this whole chapter was about Delicious MacLusty. Amazing.
Great job with this one, loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks - I'm really glad you've enjoyed it. Hopefully as much as I enjoyed trashing Karen's apartment!

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 27, 2022 01:50 pm Title: Chapter 4

Wow, I wish I could have seen Roy kick Ryan’s ass. 😂
Typical Kelly being completely out of touch with everyone. She’s totally blind to Karen not
waiting her to be there. I still have little sympathy
for Karen. She used this dinner party as a way to shove her relationship with Jim in Pam’s face, and it backfired on her. Karen’s apartment is as messy as her relationship with Jim. Both ended in disaster.
It was good to see JAM finally communicate with each other, even in the pouring rain. I think Jim deserved to feel left out when Pam was telling him how the others in the office took care of her when she was injured. I think that given Jim’s attitude towards Pam, she probably knew that she would not have been able to rely on Jim even if he hadn’t moved to Stamford.
I think that the way the others in the office helped Pam showed Michael was right to call them a family.
Looking forward to to the next chapter.

Author's Response:

I think you're right (and also Michael!) about them being a family - albeit a kind of dysfunctional one. 

Really pleased you're enjoying the story - thanks very much for taking the time to read and review!

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 26, 2022 10:54 am Title: Chapter 4

Yay new chapter! Samantha is a character I'd love to see again.

As much of a complete and utter fool/tool Ryan is here, he's kind of right, they may want to thank him later. He forced everyone to be honest with themselves and each other by throwing a bomb in the middle of the party.

So many important revelations come out of Pam's ankle injury. Jim learns a bit about how difficult it was for Pam after he left, physically, emotionally and logistically. We get a wonderful glimpse of the changes in Pam's relationship with Dwight and the rest of the office. They had her back when Jim did not.

He was suffering but so was she. It always boggles my mind that he never seemed to consider that.

Way to go FNB! Old Pammy is getting what she wants. Excited for the epilogue but will be sad to see this one end.

Author's Response:

Yes, Ryan is loathsome here, but not necessarily wrong. Still deserved getting his face punched... :0)

 I agree that it's odd that Jim doesn't seem to have realised the trauma Pam would have gone through in the aftermath of her called-off wedding, and his confession and all. And also that Pam didn't give him, at the very least, an in-roads, because it would clearly have been difficult for him to make the first move. But I'm not in charge...  :o)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing - it's much appreciated! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2022 08:24 pm Title: Chapter 4

Loving Samantha in this chapter. She's going to have quite the story for her next dinner party. And even moreso when the documentary comes out.

Okay, props to you for writing a Ryan whose neck I would like to literally wring. Way to be the actual worst to literally everyone around you at all times. He had such a horrible day and he earned literally all of it.

The pastry chef convention was a nice touch, as is all of their befuddlement at it. And apparently totally necessary to make Jim and Pam finally deal with everything. The image of them kinda running back and forth over the same stretch of sidewalk is great... I imagine Samantha watching from her window while eating popcorn.

Oooof. This ankle injury of Pam's. Very sweet moment of Jim helping her, but also really well constructed to both guilt the hell out of Jim and make me extremely sad for desperately lonely Pam.

Speaking of desperate, I will be waiting with bated breath for the epilogue...

Author's Response:

I wish I'd thought about having Samantha watch from her window! Maybe with another figure, shadowy and indistinguishable, standing a bit further back... Damn :o)

It seemed fitting that the thing that eventually forces them into each other's company should be a bit random and ridiculous (absolutely no disrespect to the world of pastry cheffery intended...) so, pastry.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing - I really appreciate it! 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2022 04:51 pm Title: Chapter 4

So, starting off, the obvious. Ryan is a 100% complete and utter tool. To try and get Kelly to take care of him because his mommy isn't in town and then to say what he did as he left? Just a complete ass. Loved the way that Samantha just stared him down. The only thing he could do was tuck tail. Good riddance.

We can still feel the tension there as they clean up what they can. The eye of the storm has passed, but there still a lot of waves bouncing them around.

Good onya Jim for not leaving her alone. Superb job with the anger they're both feeling. A lot of angry truths there that needed to be said for sure.

Then Pam hurts her ankle and there's good guy Jim once more. Though we can again feel his anguish when she tells him about how everyone else, not her supposed best friend, helped to take care of her.

Then the rain starts. It feels like a healing kind of rain. The kind of rain that washes away some of the anger and helps to help thing start anew. Also, I love the image of Jim carrying Pam home in the rain. Also also the guilty pleasure of both Roy and Ryan (especially with his face kicked in) sitting the back of patrol cars.

Then the end. THE END! There's Fancy New Beesly finally going for what she wants. Or at least it really feels like it. Bravo!

Author's Response:

Have to say, I didn't feel any guilt about enjoying the end to Roy and Ryan's evening! :o)

Thank you so much for reading, and for your kind review. Glad you're enjoying it. 

Reviewer: FireGuy Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2022 03:54 pm Title: Chapter 4

Eeek! I love angsty Jim and Pam sooo much!

She can’t picture them without feeling the burn of the imprints on her back where he held her the last time.

Picturing Jim taking care of Pam is so sweet in this new chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! Really glad you liked it, and thanks for reading.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 25, 2022 02:49 pm Title: Chapter 4

Obviously another great chapter here. Such a sweet moment with them in the rain, loved how you wrote that part. And eshkk she wants to go to Jim’s house!!
So glad Ryan got his face bashed in. He definitely deserved it.
“Sometimes she fixes it; she’ll say, ‘Me too, Jim. But you need to give me time.’ Because, really, it was as stupidly simple as it was stupidly complicated. She just had to pick.“ LOVED this so much.
Can’t wait for the epilogue, but sad that means this is almost over!!

Author's Response: Ryan totally deserved his face bashed in, and more. Really glad you're enjoying it - thanks very much for reading!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 01, 2022 06:56 pm Title: Chapter 3

As soon as I read something about Ryan and a camera I knew he was in possession of Jim and Pam on Casino Night. There aren't words for the loathing I feel for him right now which is testament to your great writing. Yeah he deserved to be thrown up on.

Karen's not the best either. Intentionally trying to bait just about everyone there. Yeah I think she does feel better than everyone and wanted to show it to them. Well Karma's a thing and it just took a big bite out of her.

Jim's self loathing feels spot on as does Pam feeling trapped. I did like that they had a glimpse of a moment before it all went sideways.

I'm actually kinda surprised that all Roy did was flip a table. Considering how drunk he is and what we know of his temper, I think they all got off easy with him.

Well, there's a lot to clean up now. Not just broken plates and glasses too.

Also Ryan deserves every ounce and inch of ire that comes his way. Great job making me hate him so much.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much (again!) for a really kind and thoughtful review. I'm really pleased you're enjoying it.

I kind of wanted to have Roy go berserk and do some real damage, but I felt like it would look too obvious? Or something. I can never tell how far to take it.

Yeah, lots of clearing up, literal and figurative, in the next chapter. It's a mess.

Thanks again, Warrior!

(Incidentally, I have to thank you for some US English spelling assistance in your previous review. I have now changed the 'kerb' in Karen's street in chapter 4 to 'curb.'  Cheers!)

 

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2022 07:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

I have no idea how you pull all of this action off and not have it seem crazy but I can totally see this playing out.

Is it terrible that each time something spilled on the carpet I was giddy? It's a shame Karen and Jim aren't working out but Karen's making it more difficult and basically torturing everyone, including the rest of her guests.

Just like "the dinner party" Karen seemed to be playing another game than everyone else and it blew up in her face.

Oh and hopefully Karen vomiting on Ryan isn't the worst part of his night. What a jerk!

Can't wait for more.

Roy is such a

Author's Response:

I'm really glad you're liking it, and that you didn't think it was too over the top. I felt like I might have overdone it...

Incidentally, the carpet was the first thing I thought about when I decided I wanted Karen to have a housewarming disaster. I also thought about having Andy accidentally set fire to the curtains, but I decided that was too far. 

Thanks you so much for reading and for your thoughtful review! 

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2022 12:56 pm Title: Chapter 3

Wow I did not see that coming!
As much of an ass as Ryan is, I found myself cheering when he showed the tape so Karen
and Roy could finally see the feelings that JAM
had for each other. As usual I have little sympathy
for Karen because she brought it on herself.
She spent the whole dinner party shoving her relationship with Jim in Pam’s face. Also the fact that Karen has to convince Jim that he belongs with her should have been a giant red flag for Karen.
If Jim(or any guy) really wanted to be with Karen
then it wouldn’t have mattered if Pam cared for Jim
because Jim would only want Karen.
Also, I have to admit, that I enjoyed seeing Karen get
knocked down a couple of pegs by David Wallace.
Her arrogance in thinking she’s so special, and great at her job, that David would automatically knows her,
shows that Karen isn’t only delusional when it comes to her personal relationships. I have to say that I loved how the characters started talking about
they look down on each other because I have felt that way for a while when watching The Office.
Kelly is as daft as ever if she thinks Karen is going to want to walk to her. If Jim tries to get with Pam I hope she makes him work for it because he really
did treat her like crap in season three.
I’m surprised that Roy only threw the table.
Please update soon, I’m looking forward to
seeing the next chapter.

Author's Response: I'm glad I managed to surprise you! Thank you so much for your - very detailed! - review. I really appreciate you reading and taking the time to review, and I 'm very chuffed you like it. Thanks!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2022 12:40 pm Title: Chapter 3

Okay, first off, let's acknowledge this: this is *peak* Ryan awfulness, the sort where he's so despicable you're desperate to see his comeuppance *even where he kind of has a point.* Like he manages to come off worse than Roy here. Slimeball. I'm glad he got puked on.

You also continue to write a fascinating version of Karen, someone we can be sympathetic with for how gratuitously she's getting screwed over (her poor apartment!) while also recognizing that she's Not Right for Jim and should probably be self-aware enough to figure that out on her own. (The section of her kinda trying to pick a fight with him over Kevin mid-party is really telling.)

You set up a lot of dominos to fall, and honestly it was just really enjoyable watching it all play out. You did well bringing the tension to a head and then just letting everything explode. It almost ends up as a physical representation of the wreckage that Jim and Pam have left around them in the end.

Well, at least Samantha got a good story out of it. Kinda shipping her and Andy here, is that weird?

Author's Response:

Yup, Ryan is a creep here, and he deserves his comeuppance.

I think I might be doing some kind of penance with Karen  ;o)  I felt guilty about how much I wanted bad things to happen to her in series 3 when she has, after all, done nothing wrong. By any reasonable person's standards, she's a woman wronged, though I think the writers maybe opened a bit of a window to dislike her by making her slightly snarky, then (kind of inconsistently, I thought?) clingy and possessive. Particularly if you add in a couple of the deleted scenes.

In terms of the wreckage, I actually had Pam use the word 'metaphor', but I decided that was too much.

And, yeah... Samantha.  

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 31, 2022 11:24 am Title: Chapter 3

Another great chapter, but the absolute pinnacle, Ryan getting vomited on. A-mazing!!

Author's Response:

Yeah, Ryan definitely deserved to get thrown up on.

Thanks for reading and reviewing - it makes all the difference! 

Reviewer: UmbrellaElla Signed [Report This]
Date: January 21, 2022 12:49 pm Title: Chapter 1

This is such a great premise for a season 3 story. The behavior of everyone is very true to character, and the tension is really building. I’m excited to see where it goes!

Author's Response:

I'm really glad you're liking it and the characterisation and the tension are working for you. 

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 19, 2022 05:49 pm Title: Chapter 2

So that was just cringe from start to finish. I mean the hell with a knife, you'll need a chainsaw to cut through all that tension. It really feels like the fuse on the powder keg has been lit and it's getting shorter and shorter by the second. Seriously, somethings going to snap and everything's going to blow up. Hopefully they won't need the police to calm everything down. For real though I was actually feeling anxiety getting through all of this. Masterful job in regards to creating emotion. Wow.

Also, Roy's an ass and Pam should slap him in the face, repeatedly, throw every drink in his face, and kick his ass to the curb.

Author's Response:

Thank you warrior, as ever, for your thoughtful review and for taking the time to read. 'Glad you're feeling the tension' feels like the wrong thing to say... :o)  I'm glad it's working, though! And Roy is definitely an ass.

I see you've completed 'The New Guy'. Looking forward (hopefully) to having time to finish it and review tomorrow.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans