Reviews For Ruin & Rubble
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 21, 2022 09:30 am Title: what if my stars fell from the sky? and what if they landed in your eyes?

Some really fun dialogue in this one. I loved Pam passing on the opportunity to be Indiana Jones and the “You’re insatiable curiosity for big mouthed and inbred families lead us right to the treasure” “You’re welcome” exchange. (I also always appreciate a good Habsburg burn.)

Also, DID THEY FIND A FREAKING DUNDIE?

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2022 06:34 am Title: what if my stars fell from the sky? and what if they landed in your eyes?

A very nice refresher kind of chapter here. Felt like it was needed too. After all the chaos they've had to endure of late a break where there's no blood thirsty monsters or insane madmen coming after them feels just about right.

Though in other, better, ways the tension is just ramping right up. How they're clearly falling in love with the other one. How they don't want to be separated, along with some delightful flirting and teasing. Lots of great fun to be sure. Can't help but think that a deeper kiss will be coming soon. Great job.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: September 08, 2022 12:59 pm Title: what if my stars fell from the sky? and what if they landed in your eyes?

Hilarious start to the chapter, poor Jim. Glad they got their snuggles in the end though. I just want to grab Jim by the collar (I always imagine him in a Jack Ryan polo shirt for some reason heh) and shake him. JUST KISS HER DAMMIT!
THE KISS ON HIS NOSE! You really had me going there
Oh Jim, you big old peeping Tom. Don’t look up the skirt haha!
“I would love nothing more than to steal jewels with you, Mr. Halpert.” Amazing line, made me giggle.
Omg they didn’t take the Dundie! Don’t they know it’s priceless!
Pam back on his shoulder

Author's Response: We will just beat him into submission. 


The only useful purpose that thing would have in a story like this would be to beat someone on the head with. Lmao. 

Thank for the review! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 20, 2022 06:15 am Title: hey, now, they're closing in on me; watch them sharpen up their teeth

First off, my apologies that it's taken me so long to get to this review. It's a long chapter and I wanted to read it all in one go, but life is busy.

Starting out, Jim is really in a fine fettle. With everything that's gone on thus far, everything they've seen, yeah it makes sense his mind would go on overdrive about his failure to protect Pam, what they might be doing to her, and how to find her again. I doubt any of the minions he came across really had any chance when he was in that state of mind.

Then it seems like he finally gets through to Oscar that he's 100% done with playing any games. Just lead on and get the job done. Then out of nowhere Karen shows up. However, Jim's not falling for her in the slightest. He knows nothing good will come of her and what's more he lets her know. Really liked the scene where he got under her skin. I doubt this will be the last we see of her though. Feels like she's got a part to play behind all this.

A little Pam POV there too. Clearly, she's falling for Jim just as hard as he's falling for her. Dreaming about being with him again and all that.

Then comes the moment of thrilling heroics. I was almost afraid Jim would just rush in blindly but no he wisely held off and was able to take care of the situation well. Shooting off the manacles THEN leaping into the fray. And finally they're reunited. And their fist real kiss too! Very nice.

Shame about Oscar though. One less ally hurts of course. However, they still also have the Merchant as an ally, hopefully.

At least for now, they have a safe, warm, and secure place to get some rest. Always love the image of Jim and Pam dropping off to sleep in each other's arms. Very nice.

Author's Response: No worries! Glad you were able to read it and enjoyed it. 


We will come to find that Jim is done messing around now for sure. Pam’s also hopelessly in love even if she doesn’t realize it fully yet. 

Definitely hurts to not have a guy on the inside helping, but they still got the creepy merchant. 

Thanks for the review! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2022 02:34 pm Title: hey, now, they're closing in on me; watch them sharpen up their teeth

You know you've got it bad when you're happy to be coughing up blood because it means you get to spend more time together.

"Go to bed now, my little heir, or the skeletons from the unused dungeons will creep out and steal you away." Lol.

Gonna be real interested to hear what Karen's angle is.

Now THAT'S a sinister agenda. Cool motive. (Still murder.)

Oooof. RIP Oscar. You'll be missed. Not necessarily by Jim, but you'll be missed.

Author's Response: Jim is a true romantic, that one. 


I’m here for the Karen bashing in this fic. Her angle is never going to be good. 

Yeah, I wanted people to feel some sympathy for the guy, but not enough to condone what he has done. Humans are complex creatures.
 
RIP to a bad bitch. In that he was bad. At everything. He tried though. 

Thanks for the review!  

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: August 11, 2022 01:29 pm Title: hey, now, they're closing in on me; watch them sharpen up their teeth

SOGGY PAM! WET JIM! LOVED IT!
I adored this chapter. Jim's concern for Pam, how he's just completely wrapped up in here in this awful place.
LOVED the Karen bashing. I fully laughed out loud at toxic waste between her legs. THE FILTHY URCHIN!
Can't wait to see what is next! Amazing work!

Author's Response: I do it all for you! Lol! 


Karen is NASTY. There will be all kinds of bashing here. No regrets. 

Thank you for the review! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2022 12:34 pm Title: take my own life just to save yours

The singing scene was ADORABLE. I'm curious to see if we're going to explore more of Jim's trauma in this fic...

“I sleep texted Dwight some pretty wild and just... bat-shit crazy things and he has used that for blackmail ever since. Something about how we needed to get married to undermine the rampant giraffe nationalists who were trying to take over the country.” Not going to lie, I lol'd.

"'Have you tried turning it off and back on?' Jim had heard the Dwight that lived in his head as he said it with his usual condescension." I can very clearly hear Rainn saying this.

“I think you could make a Polaroid picture of a mud puddle sound exquisite with how you describe art and paintings." This is SUCH a Jim line.

This was a clever way to work "swaying isn't dancing" in.

Oooof. VERY ominous ending.

Author's Response: You get some trauma! And you get some trauma! AND YOU! YOU GET SOME TRAUMA! 


We will definitely learn more of Jim’s backstory as the story progresses.
 
Jim and Dwight are best friends in this and anyone can fight me if they have a problem with that. 

He’s totally enamored with her. It’s EMBARRASSING.
 
As always thank you for the review!  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 30, 2022 12:42 pm Title: here in this world i'm awaked with mistakes, but it's love that keeps fueling me

Lol. Jim is so delightfully awkward in this chapter.

The castle is VERY well described.

Author's Response: Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply! 


Yeah, Jim might be a badass but he’s hopelessly lost when it comes to women. Lol. 

Thanks for the review! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 02, 2022 04:59 am Title: take my own life just to save yours

Some very tender moments here for Jim and Pam. Waking up together, swaying not dancing, actually dancing, standing out on a terrace. All lovely. I would say Jim's feelings for her are no longer budding, but are in full force at this point. Just remains to be seen how much longer he's going to kid himself about trying to stay professional.

And now she's re-kidnapped. Feels like there's a bit of a monster that's going to be coming out of Jim and I don't mean the parasite in him. Very much feels like he's about to do anything and everything to get her back safe.

A long chapter for sure, but a good one.

Author's Response: I’m glad you enjoyed it! We are definitely going to see a darker and more ruthless Jim in the coming chapter. That’s what they get for taking Pam… again. 


Thank you for the review! 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2022 06:53 am Title: take my own life just to save yours

Wow, this chapter was just amazing. The description here is insane. You’ve done an incredible job here!
The waking up part at the beginning is so sweet, and I loved ‘Pam’s Pink’
The whole scene with the dancing was so beautiful, almost made me forgot the terrible situation they are in! And Jim’s favourite colour being green, and then Pam wearing the green dress 😍😍
But omg where is Pam?? Don’t leave us hanging too long with where she is!!!
Amazing work on this one!

Author's Response: I had to put some more fluff in there to get them hooked to each other, but this is still a horror story so there’s more bad things coming for our two soulmates. 


I’m glad you liked it. The dancing scene was my favorite part to write. 

Thank you for sticking with this story and maybe by the next chapter we see where Pam disappeared to! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2022 07:52 pm Title: here in this world i'm awaked with mistakes, but it's love that keeps fueling me

Nice that they get what feels like a little breather here. Who knows when they'll get their next reprieve so yeah, enjoy it when you can. The castle seems quite spooky. As if it was abandoned in place.

Really like that Jim and Pam are bonding more. Opening up to each other about past issues and the like. And that Jim is absolutely infatuated with her. Nice job.

Author's Response: The castle was by far my favorite part of the game. I’m glad you’re still enjoying it. I hope you continue to read as the story progresses. 


Thank you! 

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 16, 2022 04:29 pm Title: if you want a martyr i'll be one

Again, totally different universe that I wouldn’t normally read, but you’re writing JAM so well that I don’t mind it! They are sweet, funny, and falling for each other. Love your use of canon characters, Jim’s relationship with Dwight, and am excited to see what happens— IF they get out of this! Great job!

Author's Response:

So glad you’re liking it even if it’s not something you usually go for! I’m having fun writing them in this scenario.  

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 15, 2022 10:39 pm Title: here in this world i'm awaked with mistakes, but it's love that keeps fueling me

Really liking the humour in this chapter! Jim’s internal monologue is hilarious!! Pam’s turned him into a bumbling fool and it’s so cute, he’s just hooked on her!
‘The fact of the matter was that she didn't have to try. She was just that striking on her own.’ 🥹
More please!!

Author's Response: I’m so glad you liked it! Jim really doesn’t know what to do with himself around her. It’s very refreshing for him to have someone who genuinely seems to be interested in him. 


I’ll try and keep the pace going!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 15, 2022 07:07 pm Title: with the weight of the world on my shoulders, they just want to see me fall

Angela as a psychologist! That sounds like a side adventure waiting to happen. And Creed continues to be used in a really fun way here.

The burning away of Mendez's human body to reveal the monster was *super* creepy, as was his top half crawling up the barn roof. Hell of a spooky fight.

Author's Response: Very creepy indeed! I’m glad you enjoyed the chapter though. 


Creed is going to be a fan favorite I hope. He just fits the bill for the creepy merchant. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2022 06:17 pm Title: with the weight of the world on my shoulders, they just want to see me fall

Nice to see the relationship between Pam and Jim growing through all this. It brings some real sweet moments during all the chaos around them. Waking up in each other's arms, talking about their lives, Jim supporting Pam's art ambitions, Pam giving Jim that kiss on the cheek. All lovely.

Some rather thrilling heroics to defeat that boss there. Nice to have a resourceful guy like Jim in a situation like that. Still hints of ominous things to come for sure, but they're moving along.

Author's Response: Thank you! Trying to give them plenty of opportunity to get to know one another before things hit the fan. 


I’m glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2022 01:44 am Title: with the weight of the world on my shoulders, they just want to see me fall

Oh some of the lines in here really got me!

‘Jim really had learned to live alone and without touch as much as possible in his life.’ Oh bless him. I hope Pam gives him all the touching :p

‘This was as close to euphoric as he had ever been. He could lay here forever with her laying against him. Perfection.’ 🥹

‘Dwight and Angela are good people. They're good at what they do and they've saved my ass too many times to count... but they aren't everyone's cup of tea.‘ So true 🤣🤣

‘Oh, yeah, I'm in a burning building.' This made me lol

Author's Response: Yeah, Jim’s not big on touching. Or he’s not big on people who aren’t Pam touching him. Lol. 


I’m glad you liked it! 

Dwight and Angela are an acquired taste, but I really enjoy them. Together they are just perfect. 

Yeah, Jim, you ARE in a burning building. That YOU set on fire. Get the hell outta there. Lmao.
 
Thanks for the review!  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2022 11:44 pm Title: what a world, i'll keep you safe here with me

The description of the cut-up and horribly injured cult members continuing to go after them was *deeply* creepy.

Author's Response: Yeah, in the game they are relentless. Then after a certain point in the game after shooting random ones in the head they have like a looooong tentacle thing with ragged sharp edges that busts out and they’ll hit you with it. Totally nasty. 


Sorry if it was too spooky! Just trying to keep it true to the game as much as possible. 

Thank you for the review! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2022 11:24 pm Title: now the wolves are at the door

"I don't break pinky promises. Ever. Part of my oath, obviously." Nice to see some moments of cuteness being worked in here!

Author's Response: Thank you! Jim takes pinky promises VERY seriously. At least in this story. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2022 05:57 am Title: what a world, i'll keep you safe here with me

Even though they’re still in this awful place, it’s so fluffy! It was great :) feels like proper JAM just in the strangest of situations!
That ending though, omg

Author's Response:

Thank you! 💕

 I’m glad you liked it. I was hoping it wouldn’t be too much to end it like that. Lol.  

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2022 05:49 am Title: now the wolves are at the door

Just catching up on this now, and what a great chapter! You’re so, so great at all the descriptive stuff. I honestly feel like I’m walking through a video game.
I’m LOVING the Roy hate here, what a douche bag.
The pinky promise, oh that was just so cute
I’m kind of worried about what they’ve been infected with though….

Author's Response: Thank you! 


I obviously hated Roy and still do and I hope that’s evident in this. I have plans for him… 
 
I’m so glad you enjoyed it!  I feel like Jim would take the solemn oath of pinky promise very seriously. Lol.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2022 09:18 pm Title: it's hard to miss the way her eyes light up the room

Creed as The Merchant does seem like perfect casting.

This very much captured the video game spirit, I think! Looking forward to reading Pam and Jim's adventures now that they're together...

Author's Response: He’s a creepy, dude in the game and he’s like EVERYWHERE. I shot him once to see what happened, he died, and then a little while later he was back at it asking me to buy or sell things. And I was like ???? HOW ???? 


So Creed fit the bill perfectly. 

Thanks for the review! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2022 09:14 am Title: what a world, i'll keep you safe here with me

Nice moment for some more bonding between them. It is fun for me at least for Jim to enjoy being in the role of protector. I think there's a lot of guys out there who enjoy having that sense when looking after the person they care about.

Really glad they found a little bit of calm while all these storms are raging around them. Nice to see that as well.

Author's Response: I’m glad you liked it! Thank you for the review! 

Reviewer: WithaY Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 29, 2022 03:28 am Title: if you want a martyr i'll be one

I’ve never played or have any idea of Resident Evil but this story is still stand-alone and excellent to read! I love the interspersing of Office characters— especially Dwight— and the beautiful JAM connection! So enjoyable! Can’t wait to see this continue!

Author's Response:

Spaciba! (Romanized version of the Russian word for thank you) sense this website doesn’t allow me to use the Cyrillic alphabet :/ 

 I’m having lots of fun writing it and just kind of coming up with it as I go for each chapter. I’m glad you’re enjoying it though and hope you’ll stick around for more.  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2022 10:56 am Title: now the wolves are at the door

A little more plot from our Big Bad guy here so that's nice. Both Jim and Pam are infected. Eesh. Hopefully they'll be able to figure something out about that.

Nice to see Jim and Pam bonding while trying to make their escape. Some nice bits of JAM and levity in a harrowing situation. I mean it's 100% par for the course that Jim would be so taken with her so quickly and also that his protective instincts kick in as they do. Not just when she tells him everything about Roy, but also when Oscar eyes her like that. Nice job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I’m glad you like it! 


I’ve been just coming up with the story for each chapter instead of making an outline really, though when I have the game for a base it makes it easier. Trying to add more interaction that Leon and Ashley had in game (the interaction I wish they had because I ship it so very much) otherwise this wouldn’t make for a very good Jim/Pam story. 

Thank you for your review! I’m having a lot of fun here and writing this story for you all. 

Reviewer: Robert Dunder Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2022 07:38 pm Title: it's hard to miss the way her eyes light up the room

Still loving the Dwight and Jim dynamic here. Like he tries to act professional but is genuinely worried whenever Jim doesn’t reply. He really is the best choice to be Ingrid.

I also love the “can’t enter without a key even though a bunch of people just went in” video game logic that you applied here.

Also, I’m totally down with Jack Ryan-type Jim replicating Leon’s badassery. I almost forgot that he was injected with the Las Plagas so thank you for reminding me.

He finally found Pam. Let’s hope she’s useful. Hehe.

Great job!

Well, he finally found Pam

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans