You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2022 11:09 am Title: Chapter 1

Love it! Some touches of Albany in Paris with that snow, but Michael is not as congenial a roommate. Nice ending too!

Author's Response: Well done on the Albany in Paris inspiration. It was a big source for some of the feelings I was going for. I wanted to have similar feelings for the ending here as I did for its companion. Glad you liked it and thanks for the review. 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 29, 2022 10:38 pm Title: Chapter 1

I loved this, Warrior!! I really appreciated Jim's interaction with Karen. Felt like good closure and realistic. Great Michael dialogue as well! Very well done! Perfect little Christmas in July. :)

Author's Response: Thanks WW! I'm glad you thought everything felt good and realistic with Karen and Michael. Those kinds of things can be tricky. Always fun to add some Christmas in July for sure. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 27, 2022 06:45 pm Title: Chapter 1

I never knew I needed Jim’s POV to this story until right now. This was such a “Christmas miracle” kind of story, which is always fun, especially in July. It’s such a delightful companion piece to I’ll Be Home, with both of them waiting for the storm to die out so they can see each other.

Author's Response: Glad you liked the flip side of this story. It was a lot of fun to bring these two together. And we all need a little Christmas even in the summer.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 26, 2022 01:48 am Title: Chapter 1

This was absolutely lovely, Warrior! I think this is extremely “Jim” behaviour and his Michael-management spot on. Beautifully written as always.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Nice to hear I had Jim and Michael written well. Thanks for the feedback. 

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2022 03:08 pm Title: Chapter 1

PS. I do know the Count on Me is meant to be the second line from the Christmas song but I'm still hearing Bruno Mars in my head.

Author's Response: I figured, but thanks for the clarification.

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2022 03:07 pm Title: Chapter 1

Okay first of all Bruno Mars' "Count on Me" song has been in my head ever since I saw your post so thanks for that. Good thing I like the song.

But seriously, What a great follow-up to see this story from the other side.

But uh-oh, Jim - big mistake turning off the radio - twice.

Absolutely, Michael would sing out all the in-between lines.

I loved the way Jim talked up Pam to David and threw in a mention of her role as babysitter in addition to answering phones. It may not be in her job description but it sure is a key part of what she does all day.

I enjoyed the bit of closure you served up for him and Karen. Nice to hear mention of her future husband. Also nice note that David mentions the ad and if it were up to him...because it is so much more creative than what ran, especially with Pam's ending which he also talked up. Of course it was Ryan's doing it got nixed.

Okay, now onto the storm... I think I remember that one and I, like Jim got caught in it, me coming home from a baby shower in Queens...but I somehow managed to make it home. Too bad Jim did not but at least we got to see 1) what a really good guy he is- giving up the room made was a real mensch move (just in case you don't remember from DJC's story, it's a good thing) and how he helps Shelly and how he praises her to the manager via next employee. and 2) how important it was for him to get back to spend his first Christmas with Pam...

...which by the end of this very sweet story, he does.

Oh and of course I have to mention Jim's mom in the mix, inviting Pam over and how she would also be calling. He may be grown up, but moms never stop worrying and I could hear it in both hers and Pam's voice.


It was just lovely to see a little Christmas/holiday magic in July. Nicely done.

Author's Response: Always fun when one song can lead to something else for sure. Yeah, Jim's on his way to being a bit more mature, but he has some things to learn yet, like keeping an eye on the weather. Glad you liked how he acted at the party. Keeping up good relations with David and being able to talk to Karen like that. I could easily see Ryan seeing the ad that Scranton submitted, seeing the end there that was clearly Pam's work, and being upset at her for rejecting his dinner offer and also wanting to get back at Jim, nixing the opportunity for Scranton to create their own ad. He really is a jerk. Ah well.

I've always felt like when it's really important Jim lets the prankster persona drop and he is a nice guy. Thus looking out for the family, offering to dig out, and making sure Shelly got her due.

Of course the real focus is getting back to Pam. I liked being able to get into his headspace there too. He's finally with her and nothing's going to keep him from her, not after all this time. Glad you also thought Pam and Betsy's voices rang true too.

Thanks for your help with this one. Glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2022 01:34 pm Title: Chapter 1

*Merry lol.

Author's Response: No worries. I gotcha.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2022 01:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

Hey, this was my prompt! Or at least, I was one of the people who requested it :)

Very sweet story. I liked the dynamic you had for Jim/ David, and him being very proud of Pam's animation and talking her up was sweet.

Your Jim/Karen convo was nice, it's really actually quite believable and hopeful that she would be ready to move past her anger.

Oh my GOD I nearly teared up when Jim let the family have the room. And all of his dialogue with Michael was really spot on.

Great addition to a fab holiday story, glad you got around to doing it! Marry half-Christmas!

Author's Response: Yes, yours was the main prompt for writing Jim's account. Glad you liked the interactions Jim had at the party. S4 is where we see Jim start to mature a bit more in my opinion and I wanted to bring that out. I'm also touched you liked how he acted there while stranded, with the family and Michael. Thanks for the prompt and I'm glad you liked it so much.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2022 11:02 am Title: Chapter 1

A Jim POV on I'll Be Home! Outstanding! And honestly well timed - nice to think that one day it won't be this hot again. (And also a good answer to the Wallace's Party challenge.)

Very nice to see a little Jim-Karen closure here... and I think the Dan proposal justifies Karen being willing to hear this from Jim at this time in canon.

What a pile up of disasters here... very Northeastern, right down to the Dunkin run being a crucial part of any road trip.

"Give Pam a big old smacker from me." Oh, Michael. You are so deliriously awkward. He's really very Michael-ish in this fic, in all his inappropriateness and all his childish glee and all his sincerely wanting to be helpful and not quite managing it most of the time.

And a very sweet ending from Jim's perspective, too, seeing Pam making some significant steps towards becoming a Halpert even without him around. Nice job.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was fun to share it and I'm glad it brought some cooler vibes here in the warm months. Glad you liked the closure. Now that both Jim and Karen have calmed down I could see them getting there. They are both reasonable people for the most part after all.

Thanks for the words of encouragement on Michael. He can be tricky to write sometimes, especially in a time of chaos like that. And of course Pam keeps making nice with the Halperts. Here in Jamie/Morgan land, that's never been an issue and I love bringing that out.

Thanks as always for your great feedback.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2022 06:24 am Title: Chapter 1

Christmas in July? YES PLEASE!
Loved this, was really well written and so great to see Jim's side of this story.
So sweet how Jim was concerned about the family and gave them the last room. Likewise with how proud he is of Pam's work when talking to David.
Can't believe it was Ryan than blocked the ad!! Damn him!!
Excellent! Can't wait for Christmas now! Roll on the next 5 months!

Author's Response: Glad you liked getting Jim's side of the story. Jim's a good guy so of course he offers to give up the room. Ryan is always a jerk, but especially in S3 after Pam turns him down for dinner. What better way for Ryan to get back at both of them than to reject the ad.
Anyway, glad you liked this one. It was a lot of fun to put together.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans