You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 27, 2022 10:02 am Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

Hehe, I now definitely have this song in my head. I loved the whole office coming together to prank Dwight for their own individual reasons (also the little glimmer of Dwight/Ryan hatred, which I don't think we got enough of on the show, and because of course Dwight is still humming the fire song) - as always, nearly every line in this cracked me up. Especially Creed at the end. And it had just the right amount of post Conflict Resolution Jam angst, plus Pam's last line and 'nothing ever changes round here' - ouch. I feel like I would've gone as far as dropping the telekinesis gag for this. So, so good!

Author's Response: Yeah, this one mainly got done *because* the song kept popping back into my head, truth be told.

Dwight really is a menace. You can really see why everyone else puts up with Jim's nonsense if that's the alternative.

Thank you so much! Was challenging trying to find the right blend of comedy and pathos here... tough needle to thread, I'm really glad it worked for you!

Appreciate you taking the time to read and review... now go back to writing! You've got AOTM responsibilities, you know...

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 27, 2022 10:02 am Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

Hehe, I now definitely have this song in my head. I loved the whole office coming together to prank Dwight for their own individual reasons (also the little glimmer of Dwight/Ryan hatred, which I don't think we got enough of on the show, and because of course Dwight is still humming the fire song) - as always, nearly every line in this cracked me up. Especially Creed at the end. And it had just the right amount of post Conflict Resolution Jam angst, plus Pam's last line and 'nothing ever changes round here' - ouch. I feel like I would've gone as far as dropping the telekinesis gag for this. So, so good!

Author's Response: Yeah, this one mainly got done *because* the song kept popping back into my head, truth be told.

Dwight really is a menace. You can really see why everyone else puts up with Jim's nonsense if that's the alternative.

Thank you so much! Was challenging trying to find the right blend of comedy and pathos here... tough needle to thread, I'm really glad it worked for you!

Appreciate you taking the time to read and review... now go back to writing! You've got AOTM responsibilities, you know...

Reviewer: GodSaveAutocracy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2022 08:54 am Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

Ah! It seems I forgot to leave my customary jelly candies for my review! My apologies I will do so now!

Author's Response: Ha! Much appreciated!

Reviewer: GodSaveAutocracy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2022 08:52 am Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

It is really such a shame that they had never asked you to write some of the scripts and dialogue for the show. You have so many unique ideas and they are always so innovative and interesting.

Keep up the very excellent work for us!

I thank you for this story!

Author's Response: Ah, you are far too kind. Thank you so much!!!!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 18, 2022 02:38 pm Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

As always this was hilarious and could pass as an actual script for the show, but the way you weaved in the undercurrent of Jam sadness was absolutely brilliant and quite honestly, ow. Rude.

Amazing as always!

Author's Response: Season 2 and 3 Jam are frequently a bummer amidst the laughs! I wanted to try to be true to it here. It was... challenging. Glad it worked for you. Sorry for the pain though.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2022 08:32 pm Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

Yeah this has all sort of late S2 feels to it. Jim and Pam in cahoots with each other, but there's something wistful and off about it all. Yeah even still they're able to pull everyone in to drive Dwight even more insane. The fact they got Ryan and Stanley involved speaks to that.

100% Dwight is the over the top kind of Doomsday Prepper who looks askance at the old show of the same name that used to be on the Nat Geo channel. Yes it's on track he would go to those lengths. So bravo to Jim and Pam for winding him up even more.

The end note was brilliant too. Yeah telekinesis needed to stay in for sure, but this was still great.

Author's Response: A lot of the point of this was to capture a moment we didn't get to see much of - the aftermath of Jim's decision to leave and the blow it must have been for Pam to learn that Jim complained about her. Like they've managed to find equilibrium again without acknowledging it, because they're Jim and Pam (in both the positive and negative sense), but it's not going to last, and Jim knows it.

Dwight's kind of a menace, really. I am convinced most of the office is on Team Jim.

Oh, Dwight puts those amateurs to shame. Dwight will be the source of a new moon-faced civilization in the wake of the apocalypse. Jim and Pam have only made him more prepared.

I mean, I think the real reason the suits would've rejected this is the need to pay for the rights to the music, but all the same.

Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2022 05:27 am Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

Great to have you back to writing these. They are always a lot of fun.

This is a frenetic song which lends itself to the feeling here.In bringing in many of the characters to participate and the reasons behind their motivation to do so, was well, well done. Stanley's especially nice callback to Healthcare.

However, I do detect the sense of melancholy too shadowing over the whole prank. Jim is NOT fine. He already seems to have set his own plan in motion and while he may not know yet what he will do at Casino Night, all the references to it just really got to me.

"got to do a lot to break even"
"Go big or go home."
The "leave it all on the table" line really struck me.

So having grown up on REM - I could appreciate all the references and I love a fic that hits on song beats (even when they feel very far from being a Jam jam) although it is very much foreshadowing the end of their world as we know it ...at least for the season that would follow. However, I don't think I picked up on the pun. Maybe you need to fansplain this one.

Oh and have to give you kudos for the disclaimer - anytime we get mention of Dwight's apocalypse readiness I just have to smile.

Keep em coming.

Author's Response: Oh, man. This one... this one has haunted me. I'm glad you liked it, but honestly I'm more glad I never have to think about it again if I don't want to.

I had entirely too much fun identifying the various Dunder Mifflinites who might have a continuing grudge against Dwight. He leaves a lot of hurt feelings in his wake, that guy. I'm pleased (if unsurprised) you caught the shadow over the whole thing... which was a major part of the point of this fic and also what held it up most, figuring out how to execute that, this sense that Pam needs the status quo restored and Jim is just looking for one last hurrah before he leaves. The intention was very much to have Casino Night on the reader's mind. Glad it worked for you!

Who doesn't love REM? That would be just wrong. The pun is that Michael's dentist appointment is at 2:30... aka tooth-hurty, a great time for a dentist appointment. Maybe I'm overthinking this.

Dwight would survive and thrive in the apocalypse. And all his co-workers would be begging him for help in the end.

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2022 01:04 pm Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

👏👏👏
So very funny and such a well executed prank!
I’ve read it three times looking for the pun to get the cookie, and I have no idea, I’m sorry. Does that make me too young to get it?!
Even though I don’t get a cookie you can still have a jellybean

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

The pun is that Michael's dentist appointment was at 2:30... aka tooth-hurty. I appreciate the effort, so you can have the cookie anyways.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 11, 2022 12:45 pm Title: "Mountains sit in a line." - Leonard Bernstein

Amazing. I don’t know what else to say. Can we go back in time so you can be a writer on the show so we can actually get some of these cold opens?

You know, it gets me through the day. But it’s not like it’s going anywhere.

Also way to throw this little bit in here to hurt me. Thanks for that.

Author's Response: Eh. This one would've been way too long. Really more of a B-plot than a cold open. *sigh* Sometimes I think Greg was right.

Sorry for hurting you... although honestly that was kind of the intention of the Jim/Pam side of this. So, I guess, you're welcome?

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans