Reviews For Language Barrier
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: NanReg Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 25, 2010 12:43 pm Title: Sign Language

Paper Jam, I've been discovering some older stories lately and just had the pleasure of reading this one, which is just wonderful.  Thank you.

Reviewer: variella Signed [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2008 06:01 am Title: Latin

YEEEEEEEAH! I hate The Merger. It is probably my least favorite ep ever...

THIS MAKES MY MORNING COFFEE EVEN BETTER THAN USUAL.

Author's Response: I'm glad I could improve your day, variella!

Reviewer: supergirlsudz Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: July 13, 2007 05:47 pm Title: Body Language

I followed your link on TWoP, and even though I originally read this a long time ago, I wanted to tell you that this is such a great story. All of the moments feel so real and it's just such an enjoyable read. And in my mind that scene in the skating rink really happened on the show, too :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, supergirlsudz!

Reviewer: allibabab Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 15, 2007 11:00 am Title: Body Language

This is so perfect.  You have awesome dialogue all throughout this piece and your characterizations are all spot-on.  Wonderful, wonderful job -- I enjoyed this so much.  If only things had really ended this way!

Author's Response:

Wow! Thank you SO much, allibabab!

Reviewer: McGigi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 04, 2006 06:43 pm Title: Body Language

Wow, I've loved every bit of this. They do communicate in so many ways, don't they?

Author's Response: Hey, thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2006 10:35 pm Title: French

Wow, you're a total word painter. I could see this image so closely:

When he returns to his desk, he stares out the window and conjures up the feel of Pam’s mouth on his, how the tip of her tongue had briefly touched his while he kissed her against his desk in the dark. He imagines brushing his lips against hers in the Louvre, while everyone else jostles to see the Mona Lisa.  

What an image that is! Loved it.



Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate you taking the time to read this, I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: LoveFool Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2006 10:21 pm Title: Elvish

With a quick glance around to check that no one is watching, he allows his head to drop to the top of hers, her hair warm and soft against his cheek.   

:::sigh::: I LOVED THAT.



Author's Response: :::sigh::: THANK YOU :)

Reviewer: Semby Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2006 05:56 pm Title: Body Language

This was gorgeous! I can't tell you how happy it made me when I reached the first changed moment in the parking lot. And the story as a whole was beautifully written - so many moments felt very... sensory-rich.

Author's Response: Thank you, Semby! I'm glad you liked the change to the parking lot scene. I debated it, but eventually my inner 'shipper won out. These poor kids deserve a little happiness.

Reviewer: Luna Mystik Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 22, 2006 04:43 pm Title: Body Language

This was really good. It was fun to revisit past moments, and to see The Merger's alternate ending.

Author's Response: Thanks, Luna!

Reviewer: mixedberries Anonymous 8 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2006 04:46 pm Title: Body Language

Um, this? Was exactly what I needed. I'm grinning like an idiot here....not just at the ending, but at all these chapters. Totally and completely adorable and I think you have their voices and banter down really well. 

Author's Response: I'm grinning like an idiot at your words! Thank you!

Reviewer: Morning Angel Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2006 10:23 am Title: Body Language

I know I've said it before, but I'll say it again, I think this is just such a lovely series of scenes. :)  You did a lovely job with it.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the kind reviews and the beta!

Reviewer: Par5 Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2006 09:57 am Title: Body Language

Really, a lovely idea and great choices for languages, especially body language! Many good moments - too many for me to list in fact. Very much enjoyed ths!

Author's Response: Thank you, Par5!

Reviewer: PuffingNoise Anonymous 10 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2006 07:46 am Title: Body Language

Loved this story. The ending was really sweet. I like how they came to an understanding at the end without using so many words.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: PuffingNoise Anonymous 10 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2006 07:07 am Title: Elvish

I love this chapter, too! Very sweet, Jim and Pam together. This was my favorite part:
Pam fingers his Elvish name thoughtfully, and then unceremoniously dumps her fistful of leftover confetti in his lap. He struggles not to react, scared if he looks over, he might try to kiss her in the dim light of the make-shift movie theater. 

As well as Pam stifling laughter in Jim's shoulder and then them falling asleep on each other.



Author's Response: Aw...thanks!

Reviewer: PuffingNoise Anonymous 10 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2006 06:48 am Title: Sign Language

I love this chapter. The tension between Jim and Pam is so palpable. And I loved Michael's reaction to them: 
Michael tries to form some sort of appropriate comment, offering only: “Heeehhhhhhhaaaahr…”

Hehe, I can totally picture that, as Michael sometimes totally spazzes when he wants to say something but doesn't quite know what. Like in "The Merger" when Karen says to Michael, "What are you, a robot or a Martian?" and Michael just goes, "M-, Aaaah....."



Author's Response: Thank you! I have to credit Steve Carell's talented portrayal for that one. Michael is so bizarre and sweet, at the same time.

Reviewer: xoxoxo Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 21, 2006 05:42 am Title: Body Language

This was absolutely lovely.  Sweet and sexy and perfectly...them.  I've got my fingers crossed for a sequel. ;) 



Author's Response: Thank you so much! Wow. A sequel? There's an interesting thought...

Reviewer: loveleee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 07:49 pm Title: Body Language

I love this. I'm not sure which one is my favorite...probably either "Foul Language" or "Australian." You've got their voices down great. And I reeeeally love this:

“It can’t be that bad!” Dwight calls after them. “You’re still smiling!”

Hee! and Aww!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really love that line, too, because I had finished the chapter, and when I re-read it, Dwight just stood up and hollered.

Reviewer: kyrafic Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 07:48 pm Title: Body Language

Wow, I really liked this -- you have a knack for building not just moments but days, grounding Jim and Pam in moments that are really them, without rehashing what we saw onscreen.  Michael's absentminded tenderness when he says Pam's silly nickname!  And the whole Elvish section, and French, and carpe diem.  I like how this is a slow build, just like Jim and Pam.  Very nice. :)

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you! That's really wonderful feedback, because it's exactly what I was going for, so it's very gratifying to know that it comes across to others.

Reviewer: time4moxie Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 06:08 pm Title: Body Language

what a great series of snapshots - with the last one best of all!  :-)  great work!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: falldownmore Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 06:03 pm Title: Body Language

totally loved it. omg.


Author's Response: Awesome! Thanks!

Reviewer: proposals Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 05:22 pm Title: Body Language

This whole thing was so lovely. Amazing job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: gotkona Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 04:34 pm Title: Body Language

Yes another happy fluffy fic.  We need more of these to overcome our depression from the Merger.

Author's Response:

The Merger  didn't make me depressed, oddly enough. It just made me impatient. So I took matters into my own hands. I'm glad you enjoyed it...

Reviewer: Rebecca Anonymous 10 [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 04:32 pm Title: Body Language

so good, i really like the new merger ending, it was really believable.  i particulalrly like the line about jim's manly tears, that was hysterical.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 03:52 pm Title: Body Language

"Is it too soon to ask you to go home with me?" A lazy smile plays across his lips as they brush her skin.

"No," she breathes, her eyes falling shut. "Not too soon. About time."

Hell yes. Where's the rest of this? :D 



Author's Response:

Thank you for your reviews!

Yeah, I chickened out on the really steamy stuff. I love to read it, but die of embarrassment when I try to write it.

 

Reviewer: NeverEnoughJam Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2006 03:47 pm Title: French

how the tip of her tongue had briefly touched his while he kissed her against his desk in the dark.

YOWSA! Wow, that is hot. 

“Jim Halpert,” he says aloud. “You are such a girl.” 

And that's why we love him. 



Author's Response:

Thanks! I was trying to cheat a way for there to be canon French kissing.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans