Reviews For Both Sides Now

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans

Name: Luna Mystik (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2006 06:52 pm · Chapter: Both Sides Now
I totally believe a tree fell on your car, because on Friday I was driving through streets lined with sleet-laden trees and a big branch fell on mine! We must live in the same weather pattern...

Okay, on to your (song)fic. So, so sad. Until the last part, I saw Jim's quiet despair. I'm glad you fixed them in the end.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

Author's Response:

ETA: Sorry about your car, too! I hope it's okay!



Name: nqllisi (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2006 07:12 am · Chapter: Both Sides Now
This structure is really nice, with the alternating sides of the story. I love that it ends so hopefully, too.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: PuffingNoise (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2006 07:48 pm · Chapter: Both Sides Now
Wow, so beautiful. Made me teary a little.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much!


Name: Bennie (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2006 06:53 pm · Chapter: Both Sides Now
Beautiful....thank you for writing this.  Gosh, they need to reconnect.  And sorry about the car!  It's weird the things that can serve as inspiration for fics.:)

Author's Response: Thank you, Bennie. And you're welcome!


Name: Morning Angel (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2006 09:45 am · Chapter: Both Sides Now

The point/counterpoint to each emotion feels true to the tone of the show where we vacilate between the two.  It's a very poetic story. :)

Sorry about the tree on your car!  That sucks big time.



Author's Response: Thanks, Morning Angel!


Name: time4moxie (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2006 08:52 am · Chapter: Both Sides Now
sorry about the tree/car accident!!  But I really like this fic that came out of it.  ;-)  Especially the last bit!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: NeverEnoughJam (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2006 08:04 pm · Chapter: Both Sides Now

Like they never disconnected. Everything is possible.

I so miss, miss, miss that old connection. I want it BACK. Thanks for this. 



Author's Response: So do I, NEJ, so do I. You're very welcome. Thanks for the review!


Name: Colette (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2006 10:08 am · Chapter: Both Sides Now

This song perfectly framed your lines (and made me nostalgic for once being very young/in love and listening to Joni Mitchell!) I love how you looked at both sides of each progressive moment - the incredible highs and doomed, inevitable falls back to earth. And with such simple, evocative language.

He takes it all, saves it all up, feels it’s like flight, above the clouds. Exquisite... Then: A pale shadow of how he feels. Such a painful recognition.

Just a lovely, poignant piece, Paper Jam. So happy with how it ends too: Like they never disconnected. Perfect resolution.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Colette. I painstakingly made each line eight syllables (except one, which I won’t point out. Oops), and that forced me to choose words very carefully. I think that’s a good thing, for me, and I’m glad it works. Really glad.



Name: unfold (Signed) · Date: December 02, 2006 09:50 am · Chapter: Both Sides Now

This was beautiful. Especially this line,  "Loves her still, with no illusions." That's pretty much exactly what I see Jim's state of mind as right now. And also that last line. Oh.

Sorry a tree fell on your car. That sucks. A tree fell on our house once and it was not cool. But at least some amazing fic came from it, right?



Author's Response: Yes, unfold, as I hand over my Visa, I will definitely be thinking "At least I wrote a fic!" LOL. All kidding aside, thank you for the lovely review. It takes away the sting of a busted windshield. Cheers.


You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans