Reviews For Oracle Mom
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 03:29 pm Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

So sweeeeeeet. I miss them.

"My spine has always been a realist" made me laugh out loud."

Loved diving back into fic with you, moxie!

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 03:15 pm Title: Chapter 4 - What She Causes

A flashback! Nice! (And a wedding. Awww!). Love this chapter, too!

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 03:06 pm Title: Chapter 3 - What She Sees

Awwww. I love competitive Pam! And snuggly, sleepy Jim and Pam. I think every single person knew exactly the look he had when he looked at her, sleeping on his shoulder. This is so lovely!

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 02:50 pm Title: Chapter 2 - What She Does

Oh, dear, Karen is NOT going to like that one bit. I loooove the voice you've found for Jim's mom. She's wonderful.

Reviewer: nqllisi Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: March 15, 2017 02:32 pm Title: Chapter 1 - What She Knows

I haven't looked yet to find out if I reviewed this back in the day, but I don't remember it. And it is SO GOOD so far. Ugh, the pain. Nothing made me hurt like this show. I'm right there with you, Mom Halpert!

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2011 03:42 am Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

I just finished rereading this for what seems like about the thousanth time and I must say, it NEVER gets old. I swear there was a part of me that even as I finished the last chapter I wanted to go right back to the first and reaf it again. You did just such a masterful job with this. The thing is, where most of the time I, and I would venture most other readers/people in general, would feel that in going to Jim's work when she clearly knew he would not be there for the sole purpose of speaking to Pam, basically ignoring Karen who she was aware was Jim's current girlfriend (yay Larissa!!! You go mom! Way to let Karen know just how unimportant she is!) and then going so far as to actually invite Pam not just to Thanksgiving dinner after Jim had not just vetoed the idea but actually gotten upsrt about the whole thing, dinner wasn't enough. Even the day wasn't enough. His mom invited Pam for the whole night. So, where I think most would normally be crying FOUL very loudly and thinking that Jim maybe should never speak to his mom again, the way you have written this so brilliantly you just don't inspire any feelings that his mom did wrong. I think it was clear that Larissa went to DM with no ill intent. She certainly had no intention to hurt Jim. She just had a unique and wonderful bond with her son and he had shared so much of the history of his relationship with Pam that as the reader have a real understanding of why she did it. I think she wanted to, in addition to finding out just who this girl is who has such a stranglehold on her son's heart, I think she wanted to size up the situation, see if there seems to be any hope there. I think she wanted to know how she should handle future conversations with Jim when the topic is Pam. Of she sensed that Pam was on the same page as Jim, she could encourage him, inspire hope in his heart. If however she got the sense that Pam was simply not interested, at least in 'that' way, she could encourage Jim to move past it all. Maybe encourage him to bring Karen around etc. I think she really had no thought of actually extending an invitation to Thankdgiving probably until she did it and she probably only did because she was positive of what was there because she herself already felt the connection to Pam. It's just too darn bad that Jim didn't have a mom that meddled like that. Season 3 would have been a whole lot happier had you been able to get your hands on it.

I really and truly afore this story. Actually, I have read every one of your stories and I like each of them tremendously. You have just such wonderful ways of bringing our couple together and just making the bad stuff go away. Really you only have two stories that make me VERY unhappy, miserable even and that is The Further Adventures of Squirrel McPants (or something like that) and Twelve More Days and I BET that you can gues by now that they make me so very unhappy because I desperately want the rest of them!!! You have done such absolutely brilliant work with each and every story you write, it truly is a shame, a crime even, to allow any, much less two such brilliant stories, to go unfinished. SOOOOO, if you ever read your reviews any longer, this is me begging, pleading and demanding to get more squirrel and just a few more days. As I remember there wasn't a lot you needed to finish that one.

Rant aside, thank you so much for sharing so very much with us. This site truly and honestly would not be near as good without your works on it!

Reviewer: lovingthursdays Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2010 08:51 am Title: Chapter 1 - What She Knows

Thanksgiving, 2010, and this story is just as lovely as ever. Reading it again is my treat after our own family gathering is over. Thanks so much for writing it!

Reviewer: Pam-Pong Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2008 04:58 pm Title: Chapter 4 - What She Causes

Ooooooooooooooh loved it

Reviewer: Pam-Pong Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2008 04:47 pm Title: Chapter 3 - What She Sees

omg me LOVES me some fluff

Reviewer: Pam-Pong Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2008 12:41 pm Title: Chapter 2 - What She Does

Ooooooooooooooh Larissa is so naughty, but I LOVE her =)

Reviewer: Pam-Pong Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2008 11:36 am Title: Chapter 1 - What She Knows

That was adorable, I always wondered what Jim's mom would be like =)

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2008 04:31 pm Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

okay, short review because all i have to say is this chapter made me just happy!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2008 04:22 pm Title: Chapter 4 - What She Causes

They got married. Seriously, my face is breaking my smile is so huge. SO happy!

oh my god, that moment in the kitchen flashback is so sweet and perfect it really has me in tears. they are so perfect and sweet and happy together, and now they really are in canon also and its just so happy.

Now, because of course, there is no romantic moment that can't be ruined by chemistry, when Pam was talking about how long its been since she drank champagne, my brain starts calculating her BAC. Oh yeah, trust me, that takes you out of the moment.

ya know if anyone ad to be the girl that jim slept with in his old bedroom, glad it was pam.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2008 04:08 pm Title: Chapter 3 - What She Sees

Thanksgiving isn't big at my house. We live so far from any relatives that its always just us. We've had an odd grandparent down here some years, but it always seems strange to have more than just the four (now three) of us. I remember growing up, and even now reading these stories, the rest of my family all lives up north. They do have these huge family get togethers. And I always wished I was a part of it. But I also know that if I was up there, it would be strange and uncomfortable for me.
/ramble.

Lets see - Jim with bed head in worn grey tshirt, pajama pants, and barefoot. Excuse me while I daydream.
ahhhhhhhhhhhhh
(whoa, also, right now, really really pretty sunset outside)

I always help my mom with the cooking. Me and brother both have to make dinner once a week, but I actually don't, because I help with dinner 6 nights a week. I just claim one night as a meal I made.

You don't need coffee for a double major. You only need it if you plan on having a life also. And since I decided that having a life was totally not important, I survived on fanfic alone.

Wow. Pam would look awesome in that outfit /girlcrush.

Now those muffins sound so yummy. I happen to love both banana nut and chocolate muffins... yum

Come on Jim and Pam. Sure you might think you are comfortable each on your own side, but you know you would be happier cuddling up together.

Damn then you go and dress Jim in green. Green does wonders for him.

Okay, just the idea of the two of them on the chair and then Pam getting sleepy - warms my heart. I so want a Jim.

Ya know, I just did a real life break, checking emails, and it just blew my mind that it isn't Thanksgiving time. This story put me so much into that mindset I really was like, "oh, wait, its feburary"

Aww, the idea of Pam.... okay, just that entire Pam and Jim sleeping in that chair and its just so perfect and happy.

Thats how I play. Its not over util I'm winning. But somehow its not as much fun when you are competeing against mom.

They kissed they kissed they kissed they kissed they kissed. Seriously so happy right now.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2008 03:21 pm Title: Chapter 2 - What She Does

I had to look up ennui. Never heard that word before!

Hehe. Yeah, I am like Jessica. Me and my mom, everyone things we are close, but yeah, important stuff, she knows nottin!

Sparkle. That seems really right.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 14, 2008 03:04 pm Title: Chapter 1 - What She Knows

So I was certain I had read this. Like, because it was always rec'd like crazy. But I couldn't find a review. Anyways, you updated it so I was going to read it anyways. But then I did find an anonymous review I did. But oh well. That review was lame.

JONATHAN PLAYS SOCCER! A boy after my own heart. Seriously, I may love Jonathan more than Jim. First paragraph in actually, but whatever. But he is smart, and a researcher, and behavioral science. Um, pretty awesome.

Okay, even just reading that one line "she's engaged" breaks my heart. (yes, a lot of things break my heart about their relationship).

I love how close Jim and his mom are. Me and my mom are close, but I don't talk to her about stuff like that (not that there ever is anyting to talk about). But yeah. I think Jim would have a close relationship with his mom.

Reviewer: grammarfreak Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 21, 2007 11:27 pm Title: Chapter 1 - What She Knows

I registered just so I could review this story. It was wonderful!

Reviewer: Sevian Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2007 07:35 am Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

I really enjoyed this fun, festive, and seasonal story!  I liked how you described the lovely Halpert family, I hope there's another chapter!  Thanks for writing and sharing this sweet, sweet story!

Reviewer: JRAddict Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 09:56 pm Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

Aww I just found this story and it's amazing!!  I kind of wanted Jim to delve into the quick "No!"from Pam on the baby inquiry, but I'm hoping you'll continue this so I can see that development in their relationship soon--you're tagged as a favorite just so I won't miss this for another 11 months ;)

Reviewer: luchy Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 04:53 pm Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

this was just too cute :)  I missed it the first go round, so thanks for the resurrection.

 

Luchy 

Reviewer: kaystar Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 04:18 pm Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

What a nice surprise to see that you're continuing this! I re-read the first 4 chapters before starting the new one and fell in love with this story all over again. Thanks for such a warm ending to my Thanksgiving weekend!

Reviewer: Recorderalways Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 02:04 pm Title: Chapter 1 - What She Knows

Gah! Jim crying in his mom's arms for 20 minutes made perfect sense to me, and punched me in the grief bone many times. Ah, but it was a good punching. :) Great story, great details, I really enjoyed the whole thing!

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 12:11 pm Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

What a nice Thanksgiving treat for us all, another installment of "Oracle Mom."  So nice to "catch up" with the Halpert clan and all their doings.  

We will definitely need to hear the "Jamie" backstory at some point though.  I have three cousins named James.  The oldest one is "Jim", the next one is "Jimmy" and the youngest one was always "Jamie."  It was the only way we could probably address them at big family gatherings.  And I still call the youngest one "Jamie" even though he's married with a baby now.  Crazy.

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 09:44 am Title: Chapter 1 - What She Knows

Moxie, this was such a treat.  Thanks for continuing it. 

Reviewer: healingmirth Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2007 08:57 am Title: Chapter 5 - What She Reaps

I was so excited to see an addition to this story! Great Jim and Pam back and forth, and such a lovely, detailed picture of a bustling home on Thanksgiving.

I'm also super-excited about the emergence of Dwight as a sort of brother who they pick on (because, seriously, it's *Dwight*) but who they also sort of try to protect from the Big Cruel World, and your inclusion of that here was awesome.

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans