Reviews For Yamaha

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans

Name: Muggins (Signed) · Date: February 09, 2007 11:17 pm · Chapter: Yamaha

"He could play basketball for hours in front of a crowd of women, but one well-played love song and a smooth smile, and he’s set for a month."

I liked the way you referenced other episodes of "The Office". I wish we knew more about Darryl's background. Maybe that's why this story is so touching...it fills some of that in for us.



Name: Paper Jam (Anonymous) · Date: December 22, 2006 12:09 pm · Chapter: Yamaha
Wonderful story. The moment with Michael was really touching.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Paper Jam!


Name: nqllisi (Signed) · Date: December 21, 2006 12:54 pm · Chapter: Yamaha
This is really lovely. Creative and realistic, with a smooth flow to the prose. Smooth like Darryl...or should I say Axel.

Author's Response: Thanks, nqllisi!  I can only hope to be as smooth as Darryl. :)


Name: Penguin_jammies (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2006 07:52 pm · Chapter: Yamaha

Daryl! Daryl! Daryl!

I loved this.  And what a perfect ending. 



Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: girl7 (Anonymous) · Date: December 20, 2006 07:15 pm · Chapter: Yamaha
Okay, sitting here with tears in my eyes - hand to god.  I love Darryl in an inexplicable way - just feel happy as soon as he's on screen.  This was so lovely - the part about his dad's funeral was so poignant, really heartbreaking.  But best of all was your ending - much as I love Darryl, I love Tender!Michael moments as well.  I can't gush about this enough - dinkin' flicka, Bennie!

Author's Response: Awww, seriously, gir7, your reviews make me blush!  I have the same inexplicable love for Darryl - I get all squealy(?)  when he's in an episode.  And thanks for the love of my ending, I didn't want it to be too sappy.  Dinkin' Flicka right back at you.  :)


Name: 69 cups of noodles (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2006 06:25 pm · Chapter: Yamaha
I love the dimensions you've added to Darryl and the explanation of the synthesizer is just so real and organic.  And very, very original.  And I loved the end.  Darryl is awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you!  Darryl is awesome.  (Just thought I would say that again.)


Name: Semby (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2006 05:35 pm · Chapter: Yamaha

Holy crap, you utterly broke my heart with this one little paragraph:

"A couple years later, his Dad doesn’t come home one day late in December.  He plays Axel F at the funeral, while his mother smiles and he hears laughter, somewhere.  That night he puts his synthesizer away in the back of his closet.  He makes sure his mother only calls him Darryl."

This is a beautiful, insightful backstory for Darryl. I also love the ending, how he finds a sort of piece with himself and Michael kind of helps him find it.



Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much!  Darryl is a character that we definitely need to get more of, but I don't think the show will do that, so...


Name: lisahoo (Signed) · Date: December 20, 2006 03:35 pm · Chapter: Yamaha

Dinkin’ Flicka!  Now, who doesn't love some Darryl?

Love this, too: one well-played love song and a smooth smile, and he’s set for a month.  How perfect that part of the reason for the synth is to score with the ladies?  Love it! 



Author's Response: Hee, it was the way Darryl said in ABC, "Hold on, Ladies, I'll get my synthesizer.."  You know that's not the first time he's said that.  Thanks!


You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans