Reviews For Pieces

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans

Name: Kestrel (Signed) · Date: June 25, 2008 01:37 am · Chapter: Chapter 4
I'm not usually one for slash, but this piece was fantastic. I loved that you got this set up to work so well.

Author's Response: Thanks for giving it a shot, Kestrel :)


Name: Rowena666 (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2007 04:11 pm · Chapter: Chapter 4

A few things I usually don't like in Office fics: Smut. Slash. Jim with anyone other than Pam.

And, yet, I *loved* this. It really felt like Jim's voice, throughout the entire story. And even though there hasn't been any Roy/Jim or Angela/Jim on the show, those relationships seemed to really make sense, given what we know about the characters and their personalities. Overall, a really original fic and a really well-written, interesting one, too. Great job!



Author's Response: Wow, I'm glad you read it, despite those things you don't normally go for - thanks, Rowena! :)


Name: Alex Wert (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2007 03:58 pm · Chapter: Chapter 1
Eeenteresting.  I had no idea that such a history was possible, even if the whole thing feels wrong, it somehow connects when you do it.  Funny that I never read it before I was directed from your post-Cocktails fic.  I'll have to check if there's anything else you've written that I've missed.

Author's Response: Anything is possible! On the show, we're seeing only what the cameramen choose to show us, and even then, only what the characters let the cameras catch, eh? Thanks, Alex :) 


Name: Kathrynann (Signed) · Date: March 19, 2007 01:21 pm · Chapter: Chapter 4
Wow.  This story was just unbelievable.  The characterization was spot on, the writing was flawless, and Jim/Roy was pretty damn hot.  I love how twisted this situation would be!  Can't wait to read the post Cocktails fic that led me here.

Author's Response: Thanks, Kathrynann! I like to think of the twisty-turns of this backstory, too :)


Name: cadenza7 (Signed) · Date: March 18, 2007 05:35 pm · Chapter: Chapter 4

I seriously registerd just to review this story. 

I've never really liked any sort of slash in this particular fandom, but I decided to take a chance. 

And this almost makes me resent Pam a little, which let me tell you, is an almost impossible feat. 

And the layering it could give to that comment in Cocktails..."I'm going to kill Jim Halpert." gives me shivers a little at the complexity of it all.  



Author's Response: Hey, thanks for registering to review - that's really nice to hear! And, yeah, the Cocktails comment? Might lead to a short followup piece to this one.


Name: kellybaby (Signed) · Date: January 03, 2007 07:50 pm · Chapter: Chapter 4
Well that was certainly an interesting take on things. I like how the end kinda ties it up with a bow...but not really.

Author's Response: Thanks, kellybaby - I wanted to give the feeling that Jim's doomed to repeat his mistakes. I appreciate your review!


Name: mcmuffins (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2006 01:23 pm · Chapter: Chapter 1
So much love!  I ditto most everything that's been said here.  I can really, really see this happening (having happened?).  And btw, I love the line <em>and the shadows claw at his chest.</em>  Evocative, layered, visual, and poetic.  And yeah, the banter, the homophobic/homoerotic ways guys act... Like I said, so much love for this.  Wow.

Author's Response: Thank you, mcmuffins! It's always nice when readers pick up on things I like myself :)  Glad you liked it!


Name: Colette (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2006 07:15 am · Chapter: Chapter 4

As I kind of mentioned at TWoP, I'm always impressed with writing that can pull me into a place I wouldn't typically go, and make me really feel it. And this did. That. 

I especially love the way you ended it with the four 'He can't see...' lines, tying it  back into the 'real' story and instilling another dimension into the known dynamic between these three characters. (And did I mention how hot this was? Oh yeah, that too.)



Author's Response: That (your first paragraph) makes me feel really good about this, Colette! And I'm glad the ending worked. I wanted the story to come full circle (to some extent) with that scene, but have some sort of bridge to the present, so... yeah. Thanks for reviewing again!  :)


Name: girl7 (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2006 07:10 am · Chapter: Chapter 4

First of all - didn't catch the mustard continuity thing the first time around.  What a cool touch. 

And again with the Angela thing - it just fascinates me because it works so well!  I can definitely see her snarkiness toward Pam about Jim (Pam Pong, for example) stemming from jealousy. 

And as usual, you've written the scene between Pam and Jim beautifully - it's so rich, so them: The tension is palpable but understated.  And the last several lines here - the things Jim can't see - wow.  Painful, painful, painful, but so beautiful.



Author's Response: Yeah - PamPong. I like thinking its more about jealousy than judgement. Thanks so much for reviewing again, girl7! :)


Name: girl7 (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2006 07:03 am · Chapter: Chapter 3

Best chapter so far: I mentioned it on TWoP, but really, Jim's brief involvement with Angela is so believable - and the way you write it is so damned funny as well. (Loved the line about her squirming out of his arms like one of her cats.)

The second section with Roy is just so poignant and painful and...guh.  You really tap into an aspect of Roy's character here that we don't see on the show, but would work so well - the self-conscious, restless feeling, the shame at what he does for a living.  I love it that Jim here is as nurturing and kind as he always has been to Pam - it's another element that just makes this work. 

Fascinating stuff!



Author's Response:

Hee, my cat used to do that - she was very like Angela :) But thanks for the vote of confidence re: Jim/Angela. I said yesterday at LJ that I almost refuse to believe that they haven't been involved at some point.

As far as Roy goes, I really liked the idea that Jim started with a negative impression of Pam, and had to get beyond that (and everything else) to be where he is now. Plus, I just like Roy :)



Name: girl7 (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2006 06:56 am · Chapter: Chapter 2
This chapter was amazing (and HOT).  Reading their banter was really exciting - love the way you wrote their flirting on the roof.  And I think the angst at the end here is also well done - the whole denial and confusion thing, tinged with a little bit of self-loathing (at least on Roy's part).  So good. [/Jim]

Author's Response: What I loved writing here was the juxtaposition of Roy's homophobia with his careless, flirty roof talk. It's all fun and games till someone jacks off on the phone! Thanks, girl7 :)


Name: girl7 (Signed) · Date: December 31, 2006 06:51 am · Chapter: Chapter 1

One of the reasons this story works so well (IMHO) is your attention to the smallest details, like Jim wincing and getting mustard on his chin or him trying to shake the bench but finding himself unable to.  And of course there's the whole "Welcome to the Jungle" bit - definitely something I could see Michael Scott doing.  You've also got their dialogue here nailed - the quick cadences of guys hanging out and talking trash to each other.  

Nice job!



Author's Response: Yay - glad the dialogue works. I identify with men so much more than with women, though, so I would hope I could write boy-talk effectively. Thanks for noticing the details! :)


You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans