Reviews For Stay and Fight
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 08:42 pm Title: Nice Morning, Too

Couple of really great lines in this:

- He hopes to God or whoever is out there listening that he can keep doing whatever it is he does that gets her to look at him like that, forever and ever.
-But the kind-of-but-not-really-nervous fluttery feeling in his chest is reminiscent of his younger days, as is the thought that this is the hottest thing that’s ever happened to him. And if he’s not careful, he’s going to have the stamina he had in high school, too.
-When they first got together, she’d wanted to ask him where (or on who) he learned how to do that so well, so she could find them and give them a heartfelt thank you.

Glad you gave them a little joy (and a few orgasms) after all that pain!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 08:41 pm Title: And I Think We Should Fight

I really like seeing a little more of the marriage counseling – felt like a moment where there was a lot to be explored that sorta got glossed over in canon – and you’ve done a good job letting them both have their say and letting them both be a little dislikable. You’ve made the danger to their marriage feel real here. Not fun to read, but good writing.

I love this line: “They might not be on the same page, but she’s positive that they’re telling the same story.”

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 08:41 pm Title: I Think You Should Stay

This is some brutal stuff. Their inner monologues in the car are so telling about our two beloved conflict-avoidant darlings – these are people who have never really learned how to fight with each other or communicate about the hard things, have gotten away with it for a long time by being well-matched, and it’s led them towards disaster… and they STILL desperately want to get out of it. Oooof.

This just feels very real – the way in this moment when you’re already primed to be angry at the other person, even totally innocuous things like her shower and his sandwich come off as provocation. And the way the fight ends up not necessarily getting them where they need to go in no small part because they desperately want to please each other in the moment even if it’s unsustainable for them… that hurts.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 24, 2020 04:10 am Title: Nice Morning, Too

No, it’s fine. Just break my heart and build it back up all in one story. I’m fine.

It took me a very long time to read this story, mostly because I tend to avoid Season 9 in the fic world because it just hurts too damn much. Plus, I’m all about the chase, & getting them together earlier than canon. But, this was well, well worth reading & I’m glad it’s the exception to my “I don’t really love established couple” fics rule.

This was all sorts of wonderful.

Author's Response: Yeah Iím going back and reading reviews on my own stories, what of it? Iím a review ho, Iíll gladly admit it! No but for real somehow I missed this review and wanted to make sure I told you THANK YOU! It is always such a high compliment to get a good review from you because youíre just so good. I feel honored that youíre glad you broke your rule for this one! Season 9 is a tricky one and bumps in the road for our favorites are hard, so Iím just so tickled to know you liked it so much. Thank you!!!

Reviewer: suchadevotion Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 13, 2020 08:24 am Title: Nice Morning, Too

This is so amazing. In the second chapter I had to stop and remind myself that this is fanfic and not something we actually saw on the show. I am actually a fan of season 9 in general but I've sometimes thought the entire Jim/Pam storyline to be a bit out of character. The way you describe it though -- I can see how it makes sense. This is beyond perfect, your characterization and dialogue and how perfectly you've captured everything bittersweet about their fighting and everything beautiful about them finding each other again. Amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I feel the same way about season 9. Itís like, they were fighting but we didnít see why or how they felt or most importantly, how it really got resolved. Of course they wouldnít have fought at home in front of the cameras but it would have been so nice to have a bit more depth to their storyline. Thank you so much for reading and enjoying and for your kind words!

Reviewer: dmbd Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 12, 2019 09:34 pm Title: I Think You Should Stay

I'm rewatching season 9,and this es exactly what I was looking for. THANKS

Author's Response: There's a horrible lack of season 9 fic! So much great stuff in that season, and so many opportunities for good fic. I hope to write some more for season 9 soon! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 24, 2018 03:31 pm Title: I Think You Should Stay

This story is one that made me become an MTT member; I devoured it twice in a row. You really captured the reality of marital conflict, including how the growth from it can be kind of beautiful. Thank you so much for writing this! I love each chapter so much!

Author's Response: This means so much. This is one of my most favorite pieces of writing, and also the hardest to revisit. I am so honored to know that you find beauty in something so hard, and that you liked it so much you read it twice! Your words mean so much. Thank you thank you thank you!

Reviewer: shutterbug Signed [Report This]
Date: May 05, 2018 05:19 pm Title: And I Think We Should Fight

In response to your response: Oh my gosh, no. I absolutely don't think you copied and, honestly, I wouldn't have cared even if you had. No two people tell the same story. No two people write the same. So even if we wrote about the same exact incident, or followed the same prompt, we wouldn't end up writing the same thing anyway. :) But I know you didn't copy--I was just saying I think it's awesome that readers were treated to different treatments of the same moment in canon. I love that--that's what fic is all about. :) Thanks for writing it and sharing it! I loved reading it. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your response to my response to your review, ha! I thought thatís probably what you meant but I have this weird thing where I assume the worst (so fun!) so thatís where my mind was. And I agree, Iím glad that there are multiple interpretations of the same unseen scene, especially one that packs such a punch. Thanks for reviewing and responding, I appreciate it so much!

Reviewer: shutterbug Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2018 05:32 pm Title: I Think You Should Stay

Mmm, yeah, this was all really good, each segment. I liked how you divided up the story. This whole storyline and time of their lives is ripe for gap-filler fic, and I love seeing it. :) Still think it's funny and awesome how this and my segment on the same incident came out within a day of each other. ;)

Author's Response: I saw that! I had been writing this for about a week before posting it since I wanted it to be posted in its entirety. I hope you donít think I copied off of you or anything! And I agree-we definitely need more fic from the later seasons and post series! So much good material there that goes unexplored.

Reviewer: Rach3l Signed [Report This]
Date: May 01, 2018 07:07 pm Title: Nice Morning, Too

My only regret is that I have but five jellybeans to give! Absolutely smashing, in the most literal of ways.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I aim to please (as does Jim) 😉

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 30, 2018 01:18 am Title: Nice Morning, Too

Oh wow. So many things to say here. I’ll try to keep it simple. I absolutely loved how the fight didn’t actually resolve much, and that you showed how Pam was still on the fence. That they had to break down in therapy. It’s so real, especially in this situation. No cotton candy and rainbows and instant fixes. Loved that! Oh, and your payoff was well worth it ;) Excellent read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Iím glad it reads as realistic. It was a lot harder for me to write than I anticipated, because I wanted so much to just wrap it all up nicely at the end of the fight, but thatís obviously not how marriages and arguments work. Thank you for reading, reviewing, and complimenting. They mean so much!

Reviewer: NobleLandMermaid Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 29, 2018 06:28 pm Title: Nice Morning, Too

Okay so I'm making an executive mod decision and giving this an insta-Dundie because oh my god this is good. You just captured the S9 rift perfectly, neither one is all right or wrong, they just have gotten out of sync and have no idea how to get back. I think people don't always see how much Pam's insecurities and fear influenced the situation but you included all that perfectly. Really you managed to make both Jim and Pam very simpathetic but also frustratingly stubborn, it all felt very real and true to the characters and the situation.

And after 5 years I finally have my "Nice morning too" fic and it was indeed a very, very nice morning, thank you!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I am honored and flattered and SO glad you liked it! I hate that thereís so little S9 fic and I always wondered why. Now I knowóitís a difficult space to get into! I struggled so much with making sure neither one of them were 100% right or 100% wrong, because I think they both have valid arguments, so I am so so glad that at least one person feels like I succeeded in that! Your compliments mean so much thank you again! And when you mentioned the other day in the SUT chat that you needed a ďnice morningĒ fic, I knew I had to get this out of my head and onto the page (so to speak) because who am I to keep Noble Overlord Mermaid waiting? XD

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans