Reviews For It's A Date
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: February 06, 2021 10:02 am Title: Before "The Date"

Hello wishyouwould. I’m not sure if you’re still hanging about but your story has been sitting on my bookshelf for a while and I just began it.

First off I’m glad I didn’t read this back when I found MTT because it is so much what I was seeing. So much of the story I was missing that set me in my own writing mission. The fillin the blank between season 3 & 4. I mean are you in my head? This is so close to how I saw it all going down every time I thought about it. Had I read this then I wouldn’t have begun my own first date fic to match my vision and I’ve had so much fun here writing since then I would have hated to miss that too.

But this is about it you not me. And this whole thing resonated with me the questioning whether it was a date. What to wear. Jim’s being protective of the date (again if you read mine you will see a lot of same conceits and grace notes but my initial chapters not as fluid as yours) but again about you not me. Your writing is so inviting and attractive.

Well done and hope you see this because I know how intoxicating getting reviews are and hope you get a little drunk off this.

Really well done. I hope to get to more later to see if we stay in sync. Either way I’m sure it will be a wonderful read.

Author's Response: Thank you for the amazing compliments!! I’m so glad you enjoyed my writing and I’ll certainly be heading over to check yours out as well— I’ve been popping back on recently and flirting with the idea of picking up my “pen” again. Your encouragement and praise means the world! 

Reviewer: Donnamour1969 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 10, 2019 03:09 am Title: After "The Date".

Beautifully written. Thanks for writing this.

Reviewer: jamtogether Signed [Report This]
Date: December 05, 2018 06:06 am Title: After "The Date".

I love, love, love this story. It's the way I imagined Jim and Pam's first time. Great writing.

Reviewer: Rach3l Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2018 03:42 pm Title: Before "The Date"

Fucking loved it, what else can I say? I can't wait for the college story to be finished, either.

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2018 01:19 pm Title: After "The Date".

Very nicely done, it felt very them from start to finish.
I enjoyed the whole story but this little exchange was my very favorite part,

Pam gazed down at him, her chest filling with warmth. “You really liked me that much, even then?”
Jim shook his head, opening his eyes.
“Pam, I have liked you this much since the day we met.”

Author's Response: Thank you! I’m so glad you liked it. I love hearing feedback about specific bits too, really makes me feel validated ;D 

Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 27, 2018 08:17 pm Title: Before "The Date"

Great take on this scene. You did a great job capturing that canon piece in the Talking Head.

But let me talk about this line. "He...didn't want them to ask about the date. He felt protective of it."
Honestly, this is one of the most in-character-Jim statements I've read in JAM fanfiction. There are scenes (little comments or Talking Heads) that Jim throws something out there to be humorous and deflect how much he absolutely loves Pam, I think. And not because he is ashamed of her or his love for her, but because he is so protective of them. He knows how special what they have is. I love this line so very much. What a great catch you made in Jim's character!

"Where the hell has that shirt been hiding?" >>Oh, Jim. If you only knew. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you for your feedback, it honestly makes my heart hurt (in a good way) to receive thoughtful compliments like this. Maybe it’s just because I’m fairly new to the world of writing fic, but every single comment makes me smile like a loon! I hope that never goes away though. 

And you are so right! It felt really natural for him to want to keep this to themselves. I couldn’t have put it into words any better than you already have.  

Thank you again :)  

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: August 19, 2018 04:09 pm Title: After "The Date".

This was so great! The dialogue was perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Glad you liked it :) 

Reviewer: shutterbug Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2018 09:50 pm Title: After "The Date".

Pants for pants, oh my god. I'm just going to giggle about that all day. :)

I think you ended it at just the right time. Some stories don't need to be epics, and this one was just full of cuteness and adorableness and sexiness. :) Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your thoughtful reviews!! I really appreciate the feedback, it’s so encouraging. 

I like that line too haha! Their banter flowed pretty naturally for me while writing, which I’m grateful for. Sometimes it’s a struggle and other times the characters practically write themselves! 

Thank you thank you THANK YOU for reading <3 :)

Reviewer: shutterbug Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2018 09:27 pm Title: "The Date"

Gaaah, adorbs.

Reviewer: shutterbug Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2018 09:18 pm Title: Before "The Date"

Okay, well. I'm just smiling like a moron. This is stupid-sweet. It has all that bashful-but-excited emotions, and there are some really nice moments here. Some of my favorites:
1. The camera crew being surprised by the date-proposal development.
2. This: Was it really a date? Or was that just a phrase? No, Jim wouldn’t have put it like that unless it was intentional. He’d been so careful around her the last few months, too careful.

Very cute. :)

Reviewer: With_An_E Signed [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2018 04:10 pm Title: After "The Date".

Sweet story! Loved it! I love Jim/Pam first date stories

Author's Response: Thank you! So do I. I’m glad you liked my version :)

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 15, 2018 05:39 am Title: After "The Date".

Very nice. I like the emotional arc you had them on and it seemed very appropriate to the characters without actually relying too heavily on reference to specific series moments.

Author's Response: Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it, my main goal is always that I not stray too far from the way the characters were originally written, while still giving it my own life! I appreciate your review :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2018 10:58 pm Title: After "The Date".

This started out very sweet as most First Date fics tend to do. The addition of steam was a nice touch as many fics wait a while to get to that point. Great writing too. Very detailed and descriptive throughout all three chapters. Very easy to see in the minds eye what's going on. Well done you.

Author's Response:

Thank you thank you! High praise indeed!

I love a slow burn as much as anyone else, but I felt the need for a quick resolution with this one. Maybe I’ll try my hand at a more drawn out, UST-filled one sometime ;) 

I really appreciate your feedback!! 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 14, 2018 09:51 pm Title: After "The Date".

Wow! I loved how you wrote our Jam. The banter was on point, their confessions at dinner were very believable, and the “after date” was steamy. Great job! I hope you write more after this :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I have another get-together JAM fic on Archive of Our Own that I haven’t cross-posted yet because I’m not sure if it’s done, and this one is kinda better written hahah. my username there is corinneelaine if you wanted to check it out! Thank you for your kind words :)

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans