Reviews For Christmas Visitors
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: locustchirp Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 23, 2021 08:27 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

I love this sweet story, and I especially love the short scenes here and in later chapters of Dwight and Angela. Very nicely written, as are Jim's reflections on them.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 03:56 pm Title: Greetings

I think this is the 3rd time I've reviewed this story, it's that good. This is so good that it could literally be a Christmas movie...you know if the cast did a reunion or something crazy like that. All of the voices are so good. And Christmas future is brutal, just as it should be. Thank you for this.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 01:32 am Title: Coming Home

I adore that for all Jim's fake huffiness, they end up in the utility closet anyways - and that you fully embraced the fact that a utility closet is not an inherently sexy place.

This was just a really nice way to wrap this up. I think you struck a good balance between preserving some truly lovely moments in canon (both with Jim and Pam and with Jim and Dwight) and forging an original ending to the story.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 01:19 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

Gabe is deliciously perfect casting for the Ghost of Christmas Future. Even in canon, he's sort of a cheery take on a dour figure of death.

I love the way you twisted the typical Scrooge grave scene, especially in tandem with the callback to Dwight's very distinct cry in Money.

In general, I really appreciate the choice to make this not just about Pam, and to include the other primary relationships of importance to Jim this season. (I also appreciate you limiting it to those relationships, and not trying to cram everyone in there.)

This was damn painful to read. Thank you for that.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 12:58 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

I love the theme that our beloved characters are too much their self-absorbed selves to really do the job well. In fairness, Jim should really be used to having to connect the dots with them by now.

Appreciate you throwing Dwight in here - this is such a big moment in the Dwight-Jim friendship, it feels like this would've been incomplete without it.

Creed being able to see them is GENIUS. Perfectly Creed. He always knows a lot more of what's going on than it seems.

Ooooof. Hard blow there, Jim. IT is lovely to be reminded that even in Jim's inner monologue, the problem here is that he's letting down his wife, not living up to the promises he made about how she can count on him, as opposed to being about Brian himself. (I appreciate the comic relief moment of Kelly IMMEDIATELY trying to start some drama and realizing she can't.)

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 12:45 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

The Ryan of Christmas Past is in fine form here - and clearly more Ryan than Ghost of Christmas Past. For all his whining about Michael, he's not doing much to help Jim have any revelations here. No wonder he can't make a sale. (Him putting his ghost feet on the ottoman was a nice touch, and him insisting on trying to see Pam naked is so very him.)

Really liked the false lead that Jim was about to see their first Christmas together, transitioning right into a glimpse of Pam's painful last Christmas without him. Certainly this is a guy who could use this trip down the memory lane of '06 and '07 to remember how grateful he should be for his life.

This is an AMAZING entrance from Kelly.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 06, 2020 12:25 am Title: Greetings

Well, I've been a sucker for a good adaptation of A Christmas Carol since the Muppets did it, so I'm loving this format.

The Michael voice here is REALLY strong, and good on you for fully committing to it. (The bit with him checking the post-it note to make sure he knows what he's doing is screamingly funny.) Jim's reactions to him are strong, and in touch enough with canon that you can tell he's being a little harsher than you'd expect him to be.

The image of Pam sad and alone watching her favorite Christmas movie stings.

Reviewer: Kronkk Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 12, 2020 05:45 am Title: Greetings

It's been so long since I revisited "Dwight Christmas" or season 9 at all that I had a hard time getting into Jim's head. As usual though, you don't. Your writing of all The Office characters continues to be spot on.
I loved all your choices for the Christmas ghosts, and Michael as Marley is particularly apt. Kudos on another great fic! :-)

Reviewer: DenizPotterkafa Signed [Report This]
Date: May 09, 2020 01:09 am Title: Coming Home

I laughed and cried so hard this is pure art

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 11, 2020 09:18 pm Title: Coming Home

My heart ached throughout this entire story. Tears were shed. I loved this. Gosh, if Jim ever makes Pam doubt their relationship again, I'm gonna kill him. Great job!

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 07:58 pm Title: Coming Home

Awwww! And then more awww!
Perfect ending!
Thanks so much for sharing this.

Author's Response: Thank YOU for reading and reviewing each chapter. I so appreciate your feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 06:16 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

Ok. Seriously crying over here.
(Which means, of course, that this chapter was amazingly written)

Author's Response: Oh, man, that’s a great comment. Thank you, K3! 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 05:51 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

Ugh Brian! I didn't want to hate him, and I didn't while watching season 9, because... well.. nothing happened and Pam seemed to be zero interested but here... Get away from her, you creep!

[Little detail (because I'm a sucker that way). It's Weihnacht Stollen, with capital letters and that extra h. In German, capital letters are a big deal.]

Author's Response:

Thanks for that!

I agree about Brian. But he was easy to turn into a bit of a villain/threat to Jim here. 🙂 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 05:22 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

Ugh! I almost stop hating Ryan for a minute. Fortunately, it passed and I'm back to hate him and think he's a waste of space :)
Amazing chapter. And Pam crying on her couch... ouch, my heart.

Author's Response: Aw! Not that I WANT Pam to cry, but I feel like the poor girl probably did a lot of that in this season. Ha! I’m glad you had the tiniest moment where you didn’t get Ryan, even if it wasn’t long-lasting. 

Reviewer: Kuri333 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: March 12, 2019 05:03 pm Title: Greetings

"Hey Ryan"!! LOL
For a second I thought I would be Todd Packer and... IUK.
As you can see, I'm catching up with your fics. This start is great! And Michael taking out a post-it note made me LOL (and I'm in the office, so...)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading several of my fics! I so appreciate that. Oh man Packer would have been a good one to cast here. I HAVE to remember to add him into more AUs. I’m glad you enjoyed this beginning.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 01:49 pm Title: Greetings

I've been thinking about this story all day - it's that good! I love that Creed could see them. And Kelly was so perfect! And Ryan! And Michael!

Author's Response: Sprinkles! That is one of the nicest things; you left another review just to tell me you were thinking about this story! Oh, thank you so much for that. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:56 am Title: Coming Home

This was a great way to end this one. I liked all the different elements you put into this one. The video and the Teapot note, how Jim and Pam re-connected in "Paper Airplanes," all the Christmas party stuff when Jim comes back. And of course the implied activities once they get home. Very nicely written and falls well within the "Christmas Carol" tradition. I liked it.

Author's Response: Warrior, thank you so much for your kind words, the specifics on what worked, and commenting on every single chapter! Thanks so much!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:49 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

Yeah that's one's tough, but how else could it get through this Jim's brain to snap out of it. Tough but good.

Author's Response: Thanks Warrior! Yeah, it had to be a couple of Big Scary Things, right? I'm so glad it worked for you though. Thanks!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:42 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

Again I like how you've portrayed everyone here. That Jim said he would be the only one Pam needed to cry on and then he's the reason she's crying. Very good writing there to convey it all.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! I appreciate your feedback.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:33 am Title: Ghost of Christmas Past

I don't blame Jim at all for getting in the way of Ryan there. I do like how all those scenes reminded him that he once promised to never put Pam on the back burner, as you said, but he has done just that. Kelly as the Ghost of Christmas Present should be fun and and the same time likely to cause Jim to want to drive a steak through his temple.

Author's Response:

Oh my gosh! Warrior, it's like you read my notes! I had more plans for Kelly to equally make Jim laugh and want to ditch her, but, alas...time constraints. 

I'm so glad you liked the parts about Jim letting his family slip as a priority!  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 08:22 am Title: Greetings

Micheal as Marley was a great idea. Ryan as the Ghost of Christmas Past should be very interesting. Jim's denials that everything is fine is telling of his feelings at this point. You've very much got him caught in his own world that he can't see the forest for the trees. Nicely written.

Author's Response: Thanks, Warrior! I really love the idea of Michael as Marley here so I'm glad that worked for you, too.

Reviewer: SprinklesTheCat Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 10, 2019 06:20 am Title: Coming Home

This is very, very good. Great imagination, true to the structure of the original Christmas Carol, and such great dialogue.

Author's Response: Thank you, Sprinkles! I really appreciate that specific feedback from you!

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 11:05 pm Title: Coming Home

It's two chapters later and I'm just now remembering that Creed could see Kelly and Jim. Of course he could.

If I wanted to, I could sum up this chapter in 3 words. How dare you.

Michael's magic trick. The video. The note. The "you are everything." The secret sex closer take 2. The Hug. THE HUG. The. Hug. How dare you.

"If Jim does anything in his life..." I'm not crying. You're crying.

How dare you. Guess this means next year I'm going to have to actually watch A Christmas Carol and It's a Wonderful Life because I've never seen them, but I bet they won't be as good without Ryan and Kelly.

This entire story was so damn beautiful. I don't even know how you managed to weave all of this together, but I'm so so glad you did.

Author's Response:

Your words are too kind; thank you! I'm so glad you liked this. And I'm glad I didn't resort to adding in a tornado. 

My god, I am sending you a box of DVDs.  

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 10:51 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Yet to Be

I gotta say, your author's notes at the beginning of this chapter make me feel GREAT about what I'm about to read.

2015 Jim clearly prefers a beard. Same, honestly.

2015 Jim is also kind of a dillhole. I blame Gabe. Poor Darryl. And Dwight. And ugh, Angela. Nope, don't like that.

Can you hear me screaming "Jesus Jim, get off your damn phone?" because I did, like 18 times. Pam doesn't deserve this. The kids don't deserve this. I don't deserve this.

Get. Home. Jim.

What's it like, being too emotionally invested in the fictional lives of fictional characters? I have no idea, ask someone else.

Author's Response:

I had to have SOME warning. Otherwise the entire fandom would be ready to kick me out! 

Hehe, I make no apologies for including the beard. Not one apology. Although, yeah, it doesn't make him any less of a dillhole. 

Oh, so YOU were the voice screaming in my head when I wrote that. Makes more sense now... 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 09, 2019 10:33 pm Title: Ghost of Christmas Present

Before I forget, something I meant to mention in my comments on the last chapter is how much I loved the bit where Jim was remembering all the times he promised himself that if he had Pam, she'd never have to worry about feeling important -- it's fine, rip my heart out and stomp on it by basically implying that in that moment, Jim is no better than Roy. Totally fine. I'll recover.

Okay, moving on. As expected, your Kelly is flawless. And your Dwight and Angela are understated and sad and hopeful and you can basically write any character on the show, can't you? Good to know.

You know what I love? That Pam and Jim have a secret sex closet in the office. You know what I don't love? Brian knowing about it. But Pam shot him down when he asked her out and I'm slightly less offended by his appearance in this story.

Author's Response:

Yeah, but he recognizes it and fixes it! Granted it takes a Dickensian intervention and a metaphysical experience no one will ever believe, but he fixes it!

You're so sweet; thank you for your kind words about this story.

I...I didn't think about the crew knowing about their secret sex closet. Oh, well. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans