Reviews For Not Tonight
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 26, 2020 06:27 am Title: Chapter 1

I feel you - it's powerful and truthful and so well written. What I most love is that while her body has gone home with him, her soul has not, and I'm so glad in your narrative she is unable to ignore what her heart is screaming. So glad she left. I always hated that she went back again. No matter how lonely she was feeling. There is so much truth though here - I even have some of the same real life experiences from the drunken-ex calling to the going back again for another attempt - so I am so moved and lost in your story.

I'm a real newbie here- only discovered The Office while in quarantine and then this site shortly after, and began my own fan-fiction a month or so ago. With not a lot of time to get lost in multi-chapter stories, I've been trying to sample the shorter works of the local legends and hope I don't get too intimidated by the talent I come across. But I am so glad I came to your story, here, even if I feel a little humbled.

There's a part towards the end when she interacts with Roy and then Jim that so resonated with me - it's a feeling, an idea, that I have in my rough draft of a chapter that I've yet to post but will be coming soon in my new fiction. What I love is when I find other reader/writers who have same though process - it reaffirms what I felt watching the show. I will admit it scares me a little too to read too much of others stuff for fear of being unoriginal but I'm hoping that I bring my own spin to things - after all we are all writing for the same characters.

All that to say, I love your style and loved this story. I, if you can't already tell, I tend to be wordy and verbose, but you have a talent in saying it all with such succinctness but with no less emotion. Again beautiful. Can't wait to read more of your stuff.

Author's Response: Thank you for this kind and detailed review, Maxine. Welcome to The Office, MTT and writing - it’s lovely to have you here! 

I look forward to seeing what you come up with. There’s been an influx of new content on the site recently - that coupled with a lot going on at work has left me a lot slower to read/review. I’ve been meaning to catch up with your story - I promise I will at some point in the not too distant future. 
You’re right, we’re all writing from the same source material. There’s bound to be some similarities from time to time. Although, there are a lot of talented writers on this site that do a fantastic job of creating their own recognizable, but distinct versions of Pam and Jim. I recommend all the reading! I don’t think you’ll lose your own style in seeing what’s out there :)
Thanks again!  

Reviewer: Dernhelm Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 22, 2020 02:40 am Title: Chapter 1

It took me three attempts to read this story (and gained several cracks in my heart in the process), but... totally worth it!
I wish, hope, pray that Pam won't hate herself that much. With (or without) Jim's support.
Also, I don't know why, but lately, I'm so fond of 'Pam snaps' stories, and this one is amazing!

Author's Response: Dernhelm! I was wondering if you had read this! I’m sorry it took you a few tries to read - it doesn’t start in the best place... No one really wants to read about Pam and Roy being intimate! I’m glad you made it through to Pam snapping and starting to work things out with Jim! Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: BigTuna Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2020 11:11 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ugh you write tortured angst so welllll I love it even though it hurts! I wouldn’t say no to more like this. Another excellent piece from you!

Author's Response: Thanks BT! Given the mood I’m in about having to be show up at work everyday there may be more like this to come! (Or just nothing, because what is free time?) 

Reviewer: Coley Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 20, 2020 09:16 am Title: Chapter 1

Hey, feel free to write Pam channeling her inner-Meredith Grey any time the mood strikes you if it means we get stories like this. You have my full support on that.

I love angst. I adore great angst. This was so much angst that I've had to reread it about 7 times to fully appreciate each and every single sucker punch. It's so, so good.

Starting right out with "this is her admitting there's no chance". I don't know what it says about me, but I am here for this side of Pam - we don't often get to see the self-loathing, regretful, bitter side of her, and I think you nailed what she would have been feeling that night/the morning after perfectly.

She threw out the dress. I see you, JB. I see you destroying another piece of JAM history right before our eyes and yeah, it hurts.

"It’s like he knows about her betrayal. She lets the ire of his gaze fuel her own quiet discontent. He can’t possibly hate her as much as she hates herself." I'm so glad for this section, because I love how it builds into the rest of the fic; from Roy showing up to Jim's snarky comments, to Pam just being over both of them in the moment and letting THEM have their moments while she figures out the way to her own.

Her "you don't get to judge me" just makes me so happy. I love this bit of backbone. I love that it happened in front of everyone. I love that she just walks away.

"She could survive the aftermath. It didn’t make her want Jim less. But, it was nice to know that she could do this on her own if she had to. So, she let the calm settle over her." Can I just copy and paste this entire fic into this review, because I'm realizing every word of it is my favorite.

This is so good. God. You killed with this story. And a Tegan and Sara song? Yep, everything is fine over here. Just fine. I hope your day back wasn't as terrible as it was in your head!

Author's Response: Oh. Hey. Coley. Feel free to leave me epic reviews like this anytime. 

I’m glad you’re feeling my angst. I started very Meredith sleeping with George energy and switched to “you don’t get to call me a whore.” Ugh. I love early Meredith so damn much. The first few seasons of Grey’s were just so good. 
Don’t even get me started on my love for Tegan and Sara... 
Okay, it’s not like I had her throw out the casino night dress. Have you ever read that Veronica Mars fic from the perspective of Logan’s shirt? It’s actually pretty great, & now I’m imagining something with Pam’s casino night dress. Anyway, if you haven’t read that fic, & would like to, let me know & I’ll send it to you. 
Work has been... work. I’d rather be on my sofa, but it’s fine. At least I get to socialize with my colleagues. Thank you for this wonderful review!  

Reviewer: boredhswf Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 03:13 pm Title: Chapter 1

This is haunting and raw and biting and I love it. I hope you write more in this mood because it is perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you boredhswf! It’s so nice to hear that it worked. 

Reviewer: Merria Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 10:33 am Title: Chapter 1

I really liked it. I like that Pam stood up for herself and told Jim off. Very angsty bit also empowering for Pam. Great story

Author's Response: Thanks Merria! I love empowered Pam! She has some really strong moments so it’s fun to try and write her like that. 

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 10:27 am Title: Chapter 1

This was really emotionally heavy, but it's short enough that we didn't have to wallow in it. I enjoyed it, and rally, anything that speeds up the train wreck that was jam in season 3 is welcome.

Author's Response: Thanks DG! I’m with you there, anything that speeds up Season 3 angst is a win in my book... 

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 08:42 am Title: Chapter 1

Okay, I LOVE angry Pam. Sad Pam is horrible only because I feel so bad for her (but she was still beautifully written). And then the ending was adorable. Great story!! I loved it!!

Author's Response:

Thanks aly! I kind of love angry Pam too. She’s got spirit.  

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 07:37 am Title: Chapter 1

I really loved this angst! Roy was just so...typical Roy.... and angry Jim turned soft was so pleasant. This was great!

Author's Response: Thanks Beth! I’m glad it was lovable angst! 

Reviewer: agian18 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 07:33 am Title: Chapter 1

I think my heart snapped at “Can you cheat on someone you don’t belong to?” and just went downhill from there—in the BEST way. Holy crap. You do angst WELL. All of Pam’s emotions throughout this entire chapter were just...ugh. That poor girl. I’m so glad she stood up to Jim at the office. Good for her. She needed that.

Good luck with work!

Author's Response:

Thanks AG! It’s nice to hear that being a complete downer pays off sometimes. Work was as boring as anticipated - I would so rather be doing it from the comfort of my sofa. But, here we are...  

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 06:07 am Title: Chapter 1

Miserable, yes, but miserable because it accelerates several more months of hurt into a day. And therefore also healing; like ripping off a bandaid. Glad to see it.

Author's Response: Ripping off a bandaid is such a great comparison, it hurts & it sucks, but it’s short lived. Thanks Comfect! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 19, 2020 01:08 am Title: Chapter 1

Kinda hard to get through the first bits there. I mean, yeah, heartbreakingly hard. Not that this is written badly at all. In contrast the emotional content huge!

I kinda liked that she just fired right back at Jim when he had that jerk moment at her desk. I mean if she's going to have a turning point, that's a great spot for it.

Then to have him show up at her apartment like that, was just the right tone to bring this together. They're still both a little broken, but now that they're together, healing can start. Loved that image.

Author's Response: Thanks Warrior! I’m glad you made it through to the JAM. 

I feel like they were definitely a less optimistic version of Pam and Jim, even at the end, so I’m glad to hear they still worked...

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans