Reviews For The Guardian
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 08:10 pm Title: Chapter 5

Hmm, why is Pam so thrilled he won't kiss her? Is it because she really loves Jim? I hope that's the case because the dog and I are both on the same page here that something is off with Roy.

Loved the update!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 07:27 pm Title: Chapter 2

This is an interesting take on Jim - seeing him as a guy with a clear dream he's maybe just not good enough to live puts a very different spin on the way he's gotten stuck in this particular place in his life. I'm looking forward to seeing what you do with that.

I liked the way you're continuing to build out the world and the characters more here - giving us a better sense of their relationships with each other and the role Jo and Danny are playing for them. Feels like a fuller story for it.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 07:24 pm Title: Chapter 1

This is a fun trip through the early stages of Pam's post-Mark dating life. The Toby date in particular sounds an awful lot like what a date between them in canon would be, too.

It's fascinating seeing a thoughtful, attentive, funny Roy, without the glaring red flags right out front - it feels almost like we're getting a look at him like Pam saw him in high school.

This is one hell of a journey Pam has been through to get here - it's been a roller coaster of a life. I think introducing this before bringing in much about Jim helps gives us a sense that this is about Pam's journey and not just about her relationship with her late husband's best friend.

The ending with Danny tweaking Jim about the date was funny - I would have loved to watch Timothy Olyphant and John Krasinski play that scene out.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 07:20 pm Title: Prologue

This is a lovely beginning. You did a good job letting it breath instead of forcing information on us, and giving us some sense of what the broader world Pam is living in is like. The details of her grief feel right and let us into her mind without being over-the-top dramatic.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 07:17 pm Title: Chapter 5

This version of Roy gives off such a weird vibe. I have no clue what his deal is yet, but I know I don’t like it... Jim’s conversation with Daryl was all sorts of ominous too.
Dwight is a delight! Of course it needs to be perfectly centered.
For a second there you had me going & I thought Jim had really taken Kelly on a date...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 12:00 pm Title: Chapter 5

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Trust the dog Pam. Singer has been onto Roy since the off. If you can't trust your own mind, trust his. Same when Singer goes off on his own, who does he go to? Jim!

Nice long chapter with a lot to chew on. Seems like Roy is trying to pull out all the stops. Using money and gifts to get ingratiate Pam to him. Though there's a lot to be concerned about. The locket is only the tip of the iceberg that I see. If he gets all bent out of shape about her not wearing it, what happens when they have bigger disagreements? Is he going to pull out "look how much I've done and spent for and on you? That's the gratidude I get?" and guilt Pam into a situation she doesn't want to be in. At least that's how I'm reading this.

Though Pam's already seeing signs herself the relationship with Roy isn't a good one. No sparks during the dates, getting upset about not wearing the locket, figuring out it was manipulation she was feeling, and of course relief that he leave there at the end. Also that she kept Singer with her till he left.

For a while I've been wondering as to the name of this piece. "Guardian." More and more it seems like Pam is going to need one. But who is that person? Or dog? Side note I LOVE Singer. Give him all the doggie treats.

I'm also kind of wishing Jim would grow a pair. His intuition on Roy also seems sound and he has more evidence with the way Darryl reacted. If you're really Pam's best friend, maybe it's time to step up even if it's hard.

Should be interesting to see where we go from here.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 09:14 am Title: Chapter 5

I loved reading this chapter! Even though I know the story, I found myself wondering what was going to happen next. You've done such an amazing job putting the characters in the story in a way that keeps things interesting. I love Kelly in the story, especially. "Lame Is" LOL! And I really like how you're taking us through what Pam is thinking. Roy doesn't rock her boat. That is an excellent way of putting it. Oh, Pam, I just need you to get with Jim already! I think he just might rock your boat... ;)

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: January 02, 2021 07:56 am Title: Chapter 5

I’m so excited this one was updated!! I love this story. I’m super curious to find out what the deal with Roy is...all I know is that I don’t like him at all. Haha and the scene with Pam and Jim was so cute, with their teasing and banter and I love that Jim does puzzles!

I will also never complain about long chapters so never apologize for them. :)

More more more!

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed [Report This]
Date: December 12, 2020 03:40 am Title: Chapter 4

I’m with Jim - Roy is giving me a bad feeling too, & it’s not just because he’s dating Pam (although, maybe it mostly is...)

“Cobra is a guy with leather jackets who rides motorcycles and occasionally breaks the law. Ryan is a guy who works in an office and still lives with his mom.” This had me cackling. How perfect.

“But if I were you, I’d make it a good one, and I wouldn’t waste too much time coming up with it” This is the most brotherly advice ever - just make it good & make it quick, with no actual ideas. Oh boy...

Reviewer: Once Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 12:48 pm Title: Chapter 1

You have an outstanding insight into dog behaviour from sleeping positions, conversationalists, and character judges. Always trust the dog.

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 12:13 pm Title: Prologue

What a wonderful introduction. Mark was a wonderful guy urging Pam to continue living. Friends haven't been that lucky.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2020 07:00 am Title: Chapter 4

Oh pining Jim. Felt just about identical to canon Jim here. With the caveat that since the Roy/Pam relationship is so new, mayber there's a chance he can do something about it before it gets to the point of an engagment or the like.

Shades of high school jock Roy here. Like he's staking his claim in full view of Jim. Pam seems a bit to infatuated with Roy to really notice any potential warning signs. Like when even Roy says he's not sure if her friends like him. Friend approval or dissaproval should be a big thing. Likewise dog approval but I've mentioined that already.

Kind of funny to envison Cobra Ryan. He still seems the same kind of distnerested jerk here, just with a different kind of vibe.

Nice job.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2020 08:06 pm Title: Chapter 4

Girl. There was so much I loved about this chapter.

I felt like this line was so representative of season 1-2 Jim. "He knew he was going to have a hell of a time trying to be happy for her as long as Roy was by her side." Like UGH. He's got it so bad for her. And I like/hate the fact that Pam seems to genuinely like Roy, even if she's a little hesitant. It feels very true to canon.

I loved the whole Cobra/Ryan thing. That made me laugh out loud. And the Kelly/Roy dynamic really intrigues me. We never got any of that in canon, but I could kind of see it happen, actually.

The part with the locket makes me a little suspicious of Roy. But that's the goal, right?

Can't wait for more!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2020 07:23 pm Title: Chapter 4

I’m SO HAPPY you updated this because I love it so much! I’m excited for more.

Also I loved this line: “ Missed watching her eyes change from an emerald green to an almost turquoise as the sun set.” So sweet. Poor Jim. Haha keep up the good work, lady!

Reviewer: HeyItsRachiiee Signed [Report This]
Date: November 16, 2020 06:32 pm Title: Chapter 4

So happy to see this story updated!
I can’t wait to see a more confident Jim, actually going after what he wants! :)

Also, I don’t know if it’s just me, but I think Roy’s name was put as Richard a few times in this... in Poor Richards and then when Roy visits Pam at work. If I’m wrong, sorry! But thought you’d want to know :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I had messed up a couple of times, but I fixed it, so it should all be good now! Thank you so much for letting me know though! Since I'm basing this off of the book, I have the book beside me for reference and sometimes I slip up lol. But thank you for reading! I'm so glad you are enjoying it!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2020 10:28 am Title: Chapter 3

Grrrr, why does this Roy have to be a good guy. At least at this point. Still, there was the moment of hesitency when Roy showed up. And of course Singer still doesn't like Roy.

Also grr, Pam and Roy are getting on good. Blah.

Jim's not in the best headspace either. I'm sure it's not going to be any better when Pam and Roy show up.

Great writing to bring out all those feelings.

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 07, 2020 04:10 am Title: Chapter 3

Aly! Way to leave us on a cliffhanger!
I can’t make sense of Roy here, I have no idea if he’s genuine or not. He really seems to be a bit of a mystery... Pam’s mixed feelings aren’t helping.
I feel for Jim though! I hope he finds some courage!

Reviewer: Jim-jams Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 07:59 am Title: Chapter 2

Aly, the characters are still the ones we know and love (or love to hate) but the way you weave in the background story and little tidbits of their lives really makes this feel like a parallel universe of The Office where everything went differently but the characters are still them at their core. It’s so engaging and you made me laugh which is one of my favorite things about reading good stories! Can’t wait for the next update :D

Reviewer: JennaBennett Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 06, 2020 12:44 am Title: Chapter 2

Jim trying to get information from his brother is SO cute.
“You gotta take a chance on something, sometime, Jim” Yes please.

““To be honest, I was a little worried about you the whole time. I thought you were going to strain your neck with how far you were craning it in order to listen in.” Oh Aly, this is perfect. So, so fun. I love Pam and Jo’s dynamic in this.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 05, 2020 08:09 am Title: Chapter 2

Some really interesting perspectives all around on Pam and Roy's date. I couldn't quite suss it out but something about Jos description seemed a little foreboding. Of course Jo is rooting for Jim, that's really sweet. Hopefully the pep talk from Danny was just what he needed.

Great job, looking forward to whatever happens next!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2020 11:32 pm Title: Chapter 2

Aly, I love this so much! I love how you’ve weaved the characters from canon into the story and made them their own while still keeping true to how they they felt in the show. It’s just a smooth, lovely read. I haven’t read the book either, so I’m really looking forward to what’s to come!!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 04, 2020 09:24 pm Title: Chapter 2

Oh Jim and Pam, why is it that regardless of what universe you're in you're always such delightful idiots about each other? I get the feeling that Roy is just putting on the charm here in the beginning. Nice suit, nice dinner, all that, but I still trust Singer's judgment. A guy that the dog doesn't growl at is the one you want to hang on to.

Kind of fun trip through Kelly's mind. I've know a few girls like that. They say they want something long term, but only go for the dregs. It makes me sad.

We have both Danny and Jo saying to Jim and Pam take the chance. Really hoping they finally listen to them soon.

Also the bit about Jim being the failing artist, great twist. I really hope that continues to play into where this goes.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 05:21 pm Title: Chapter 1

I look forward to seeing how things go with Roy, especially since Jim is already in the picture and Pam is aware of his feelings towards her.

Singer as a litmus test is wonderful - and although Roy is actually cast as a really sweet dude so far, I can't help but yelling at Pam "THE DOG KNOWS!" Oh well. I guess I'm along for the ride and we'll see how it goes.

Reviewer: DoomGoose Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 05:19 pm Title: Prologue

Aww. That was sad and sweet, I'm really looking forward to seeing where you go with this, seeing as I'm not familiar with the inspiration.

I am worried that you're taking a swing at my unofficial "Best dog as a supporting character" title!(Just kidding, I love the idea of Pam getting a puppy - although I can't help thinking of John Wick with how you did it, which is just a fantastic mental image.)

Reviewer: beth9501 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 01, 2020 08:38 am Title: Chapter 1

The turnables have turned! I love the differences of characters in here. I love that Karen is with Danny leaving Jim alone (yes!). I love that Pam seems to know what she wants for the most part. Jo is the perfect aunt character. Everything fits together so lovely. This is a very choppy review, but I can't wait for the next installment!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans