You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 03:28 pm Title: Chapter 3

Awww, a Halpert family Christmas! This definitely seems like it would be a special time for them, always nice to see it, and you've done a good job building out what their traditions would be. AHHH, and Cece called Michael and Holly! Always good for a laugh...

Continuing to see the Cece-Taylor story slowly develop... interested to see where that goes next...

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 09, 2020 03:15 pm Title: Chapter 2

Interesting chapter. Seeing the seeds of more storylines/conflicts being planted here - Jim struggling with the dual roles of being Cece's teacher and father (although admittedly 'pay attention in classes even if you don't like them' feels more like straight Jim v. Cece conflict than a contradiction between the teacher and father roles!) and some hints of what you meant about Cece's burgeoning sexuality.

Looking forward to reading more!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2020 09:24 pm Title: Chapter 3

The description of the pre-Christmas chaos was lovely. Pam shooing Phil back to his room with a glance was a hoot to envision. Also kind of fun that Jim and Pam had a little mini-intimate moment there. I'm sure Pam will more than make up for it sometime soon.

It kind of feels like the barn is the place Cece goes to get away from everything. Almost like she knows she's the reason they left Austin so there could be some guilt involved with that. So she goes to the barn, not to brood, but to just be by herself. Where she can take care of Oakly, where no one gives her glances, where she can just be. Seems like a powerful kind of place for her.

Then of course the Christmas chaos ensues. Lovely to envision the stocking opening, along with the arrival of the grandmothers. Though slightly sad to hear about Gerald. The first Christmas alone I'm sure could be challenging.

However to top it off a surprise visit from the whole Scott clan. Even better that it appears Cece is back to being a true Halpert and pulling one over on her folks. Though I've got the feeling this will be a fun kind of surprise. It was a good twist there.

As always looking forward to more.

Author's Response: More initiate moments coming later on! This fic has more of an adult feel to it, especially with the children older. Your description of the barn is exactly right, itís her solace. And she definitely feels some responsibility for the move, and so itís where she goes when she needs her own space and I feel itís powerful too. I love writing about Christmas, and I felt Cece pulling the wool over her parents eyes was definitely a fun gift sheís going to give to her family. The Scott family at Christmas is sure to be a hoot! Thank you for the review Eric!

Reviewer: PBnJ Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2020 05:36 pm Title: Chapter 3

This chapter made me ready for Christmas too. I simply adore how you wrote about Philip being sneaky during Christmas mornings. That was definitely something I always tried to do when I was younger. Spending Christmas with a toddler is a whole new level of excitement. Olivia is at that perfect age to actually remember and enjoy Christmas. It’s so fun to see!

Such a pleasant surprise at the end. I love that Cece and Uncle Michael have such a special bond. Jim and Pam truly had their socks knocked off. Great to see Michael and Holly again (with the addition of their FIVE kids!!)

I couldn’t be more excited for Part 2!

Author's Response: Awww Iím so glad you liked it! I too, am ready for Christmas, and I really wanted Philip to have a bit more presence in this story. I just HAD to bring Uncle Michael back, and Holly this time too! And of course, five kids in tow. Itís going to be a bit bonkers around the Halpert house for a while!!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2020 02:26 pm Title: Chapter 3

I LOVE that Cece called Michael. That will be so fun to read.

I also really loved how they were both so excited to go wake up Olivia. Nothing makes me swoon more than Dad Jim. Haha

Author's Response: Dad Jim is my favorite Jim, he makes my knees weak. Having little ones at Christmas is so fun and exciting, I think even more so for the parents. I had to bring Michael back, heís just too much fun not to have around! Thank you for your review!

Reviewer: aggressivemagpie Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2020 01:23 pm Title: Chapter 3

Can’t wait to see what sort of Christmas chaos MS will bring!!

Author's Response: I can't wait to show you! Thank you for the review!

Reviewer: PBnJ Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2020 09:27 am Title: Chapter 2

Enjoyable chapter! It makes my heart happy to see that the Halperts are doing so well. I cannot wait to see what the future holds for them. Especially the relationship between Jim and Cece. Looking forward for more chapters. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! A new chapter just went up, and we are moving into the Christmas season, I'm so excited for the action to pick up a bit in the story and to hear your thoughts as we move forward!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2020 07:10 pm Title: Chapter 2

“Good luck with your showing today, also C hates me, and doodles all day--did we know this?” This text screams Jim to me and it made me laugh.

I am loving the progression of this story and really loving how you’re writing this future Halpert family, Olivia DEFINITELY included. Can’t wait for more! :)

Author's Response: Lol I felt like that was very in character for him so Iím so happy you enjoyed that line, it made me laugh too! Future Halperts are an undertaking but I hope theyíre believable and I am so excited to take this journey where itís going! Thank you for being here and reviewing! I love reading each otherís work! :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2020 06:56 pm Title: Chapter 2

Olivia is adorable. Cece is growing into a typical teenager. Jim is back to some old habits with is vending machine snacks. Nice chapter.

I also really like the image of Cece dancing. I grew up with two sisters who danced ballet for pretty much ever. (The music from The Nutcracker will forever bring equal amounts of nostalgia and dread to me) Loved that detail and I'm looking forward to see if it becomes a bigger plot point.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Eric! I love Olivia, Iím excited thereís a third Halpert child. ďOldĒ Jim will definitely make appearances in this story, especially now that heís around young people all day. There will definitely be more about her dancing, and I feel similarly, me and my sisters danced and good God, all Tchaikovsky music still gives me ptsd and I was the one dancing lol. But it was one of my greatest joys growing up too! Thank you for being here and continuing to review!

Reviewer: PBnJ Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2020 07:18 pm Title: Chapter 1

I love that the Halperts thriving in Nashville.

Cece has certainly forged a special bond with Oakley. He’s part of her world now and it is lovely to see that Cece finds comfort in him.

I love the sibling dynamics. I’m sure Phil loves his sisters but will do absolutely anything to annoy them too. He will taunt Cece whenever he gets the chance. I love seeing Cece and Ollie being best friends.

Olivia is wild. You definitely got me there when she tried to comb Jim’s hair with a fork. Being the fun dad he is, Jim will tolerate the pain to make his kids happy.

I can understand why Cece feels that she is the odd one out in school. Adding to her struggle, she has to face her dad being her teacher. Definitely awkward. As much as I love them, I don’t think I would ever want my parents to be my school teacher.

I love that Cece has picked up art just like her mom.

Excellent start! I cannot wait to see what else you have up your sleeves.

Author's Response: I canít wait to really delve into the sibling relationships in this story since thereís now three of them. And Iím so glad youíre back Olivia! Thereís going to be a lot that goes into her father teaching at her school and how that will affect her, we are also going to heavily delve into Cece discovering WHO she is, and that will be a huge part of this story. I canít wait to hear more reviews!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 29, 2020 12:11 pm Title: Chapter 1

I’m really excited for this one to get going! I love the rambunctious Olivia and how much the Halperts are trying to get immersed in the non-hearing world. Keep it coming! :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! I am very excited about this story and where itís going, itl be a very different type of story than itís former but in a good way. This will very much focus on family dynamics as well as throwing in what being deaf in a hearing world looks like and the adversity that plays to them as a family as whole. The jealously philip begins to develop, and meeting little Olivia and learning about her!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 08:49 pm Title: Chapter 1

Nice set up chapter here. Love the image of Oakley and the barn. Likewise the sisterly bond and annoying brother vibe feel very real. (Which I in no way have first hand knowledge of being the middle kid of two sisters, shoot did I type that out loud!)

Love that Cece is a bit of a spitfire. Granted high school is a big change for many young people but still it seems she has some spunk to her.

Love the references to Pam either wanting to bake or watch shows about baking.

This looks like it'll very interesting.

Author's Response: Eric youíre back! (Thatís what she said). Iím so happy youíre here and you enjoyed this bit of exposition as I set things up for a more grown up Cece in a weird time of her life. I had to bring Pam baking into the story and a lot of their other interests will make way in here. Although this one wonít have the same heartache, but we will see some teenage heartbreak of course, and what it means to be a father and mother of three now! And a little one at that.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: October 28, 2020 08:36 pm Title: Chapter 1

An interesting beginning! Definitely a very different sort of story seeing the Halperts immersing themselves in deaf culture, and one you don't read all that much on this site or in most fanfic for that matter. And obviously both that and the idea of Jim coming to play a role at Cece's school in general, just as Cece's entering a pretty stressful part of her teenagedom, seems ripe for interesting conflict.

Looking forward to seeing more of this!

Author's Response: Yay youíre here! There will definitely be some conflict in this story, but I wonít be dragging you through the trenches like Humble and Kind. I see this as a very character driven story, and I am very excited to see what the Halperts are like with a third child, as theyíve gotten older, and their daughter becoming a teenager. Cece is a handful and I want to add a little bit of country and Nashville too in this story. I think itíll be to see how the Halperts adjust to this new life. Thank you for coming back!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans