You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 13, 2021 04:43 am Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

I loved the start of this chapter with the texts to Jim and Danny interspersed with the brownie-making - and again, I really like how you're making Danny a pretty nice/funny guy that she clearly has fun texting, but still not a patch on Jim (him knowing she's with Iz, and his encouragement with the goofy selfie, is just so adorable). And then the picture from the gym and Pam dropping the phone! Amazing. Iz is also great in this, I love her adding a bit of reality and getting Pam to actually think about how she feels, plus the throwback to the party from the flashback.

I'm so intrigued about what happened back in Philly that Jim blames himself for - and the glimpse into a more vulnerable Jim, and the subtle suggestion that he might be sleeping with so many people partially to avoid being alone. Larissa being there for him was lovely. And then Pam agreeing to stay over at his! And that final scene of her watching him sleep, and him smiling when she strokes his hand 😍 I just love this fic so much, can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 13, 2021 04:22 am Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

I was very excited to realise I had two chapters to catch up with on this - and I loved this flashback so much!! This party is brilliant from start to finish, and very Michael Scott (so many great moments with him here, I think his confusion over the black tie optional was one of my favourites. Also Dwight getting carried away Dwight-style and throwing a vodka bottle at Meredith, and her just catching it). I really enjoyed the inclusion of Pam's friends here, and their own love interests lol - but also them landing her in it with Jim. Jim continues to be such a great mix of slightly sleazy (with the temp) and incredibly sweet, not just with Pam but with all the little moments with Michael and Dwight - and I love Pam noticing those moments, even when she's drunk. The scene at the end is just lovely, especially the throwback to canon with the 'I don't get Roy' line (and Jim almost getting slightly further with pushing her on it!) I just love the way you write their relationship in this fic. Such a great chapter! On to the next one...

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2021 11:56 pm Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

Nice to see this one come back. The brownie making scene was a lot of fun. Kind of easy to see why Pam would be so distracted as to mix up the salt and sugar, texting two different guys like that.

I think Izzy has Pam pegged. Regardless of what Pam is saying, she is starting to have feelings for Jim. I think the first inklings of her really realizing that are starting to come through too.

A few more clues as to why Jim is the way he is. Seems like he's running from something and trying to fill whatever void is there with his Mr. Cool kind of persona.

Asking Pam to stay with him like that though? That's really going to make things interesting. Especially if Danny finds out about this. Though it seems that when Pam is with Jim she forgets about Danny. Nice way to build some tension that's for sure.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: June 01, 2021 09:28 pm Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

Oh boy! I stand by my theory, Pam is the devil in this story. Subconsciously or not, she got her flirt on with both Jim and Danny by texting them at the same time. It was awesome.
I absolutely love Isabel and Larissa. They are the voice of reason.
And I can’t wait to read more about Jim’s backstory. It sounds like he went through something traumatic. But the chemistry with Pam!!! I can’t wait to read what happens next with their “fake” relationship.

Many jellybeans!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Ha! It's always been an interesting theory that you brought up. Maybe it's Pam who ends up hurting Jim in the long run (????)
 
Jim's story is something that I actually developed from the very beginning. It's what's inspired me to keep writing since I do want to get to that part. We'll see how it turns out!
 
There'll be more fake relationship development down the road. We still have New York, a family visit, and a wedding to go through. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 01, 2021 08:27 pm Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

I really, really enjoyed this chapter. I thought you did well with balancing the two IM conversations, and exploring both Pam's interest in Danny (and why she would remain interested in him) and the contrast with the subtle, unstressed, natural rhythms of her conversation with Jim. (Also him dropping her a shirtless pic in between all the advice with Danny. Lol, Sketchy Jim.) And I love a good interfering Isabel moment.

Also some very intriguing hints at the darkness that made our Jim into this Jim, and what Larissa sees underlying his smug and slightly slimy exterior. We get to see his inner pain. AND PLATONIC BED SHARING. I am eating popcorn through all of this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 
With the two conversations, I think with Pam, she enjoys having these kinds of moments with Danny but everything with Jim just comes naturally to her. Isabel is definitely that annoying best friend that seems to have Pam's best interests at heart. I really wish I got to flesh her out more here with some more light-hearted fun but I opted to go a bit darker.
 
Yeah, with Jim, my main goal here was to really flesh him out without giving away too much. I had multiple rewrites on how his conversation with Larissa would go and ended up with this one. I was initially going to have it be Larissa bawling her eyes out but opted for Jim instead.
 
And the last part, I was scared that it might be too short, like I just breezed through it. I was gonna make it longer but I stuck to subtle and sweet. But I'm glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2021 11:40 am Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

I don't know. I just really enjoyed this one. The continued jealousy of Roy, the multiple acts of kindness from Jim (mixed in with just enough sleaziness to keep us honest), the Dwisabel (with the running gag of Isabel trying to get people to switch to a new hygienist as her Move), the arrival of Julie, all gold. And so many different pieces of canon being mixed together at one (the big ones are great, but I also enjoyed Pam joining Michael in not being able to tell which condo is his, and as a committed Ryan hater I like that even in this universe every girl Ryan wants goes for Jim). This was a lot of fun.

I love the detail of Pam ending up being the only who actually exposed someone she knew to Michael, and obviously Michael is the guy who breaks up with someone while they're out of town by voicemail and expects her not to show up angry at her house during a party. You've got a real ear for Michael voice - keeping him both likable and, well, Michael.

RIP Lauren. We hardly knew ye. But yay for Zombie Chair Model!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


I'm really self-conscious with these things because I never know if something worked or didn't work or if I tried to do too much, but it really warms my heart to see people liking the story.
 
At this point, the question with Roy will be "Why didn't Pam dump him sooner?" I'm not sure if there are even any redeeming qualities at this point.
 
With Jim, I really love including moments of him being a complete tool because it's what keeps this version of him realistic. It makes the nice moments even more entertaining because it shows that there's someone with a heart of gold underneath all that sleaziness.
 
Isabel and Julie (and the chair model) were fun additions. I've used Isabel in the past. I'm not sure if I'll incorporate Julie but I think I will since she and Pam are supposedly friends.
 
Ryan was definitely fun to write because I like that there's one thing that Jim and Pam can come to an agreement to. And with Michael, yeah, I've said it before but I love writing Michael Scott into anything because there are really times when I see myself in him, and his antics are just... well, I could come up with a million stupid things that he could possibly do and it would still seem realistic.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2021 01:40 pm Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

I’m so glad this sorry is back. Nice flashback, it helps us see that Jim is actually really nice, even if he’s a jerk to other girls.
I can’t wait to read what happens in the present day story. Hope to read more soon. This is a great story

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Gah, I really wish I could update more often but work's been getting a bit more hectic and the inspiration doesn't come right away. I try my best to get something done after a week but we'll see.
 
Jim, I really try my best to include as much dynamic with his office mates (Dwight, Michael, Kevin, etc), because I want Pam to see that there's a nice guy underneath all that sleaziness. I want her to be continually surprised with how he's been acting.
 
Yup, I'm holding off on flashbacks for about another chapter or two. So you'll be seeing more of what happens in the present. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2021 11:57 am Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

A very interesting flashback to be sure. Pam's firmly in denial about a lot of things. Like how her relationship with Roy is still any good or how she doesn't have a friendship with Jim. At least sober Pam is starting to figure out that being with Roy isn't really a good thing anymore. Drunk Pam is more open to seeing that under quite a few layers Jim is actually a pretty good guy. Being willing to go out and bring people to Micheal's party, heading off Jan, coming out to make sure Pam's ok. Nice work. Also good on Pam for rejecting Ryan.

Nice work.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, with Roy, we know it doesn't end well for them but I think Pam knows the red flags are there but is still holding on to some hope that they'll be able to save their relationship since she doesn't know what life is like without him by her side.

With Jim, yeah I think Pam does see that he's a really nice guy underneath all that douchebaggery, although it always seems to be with the help of some liquid courage, lol.

Ryan was definitely the funniest bit. I just remembered the 'she's not like other girls' trope and I really wanted him to think he's some kind of bad boy that can get any girl that he wants, which led to him getting rejected by two girls in one night. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2021 12:45 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

Hehe, I'm enjoying the re-using of Nick here. I did feel sorry for him on the show. Jim getting totally thrown by Pam taking a bite of a breadstick, and then when she's telling them about how she 'fell' for him, are some really fun and sweet moments. And then I love that he encouraged her to do the application as soon as they got back! Especially after the last chapter with Roy. I also really enjoyed him pushing her to be the one who pressed the button: and telling her to stop calling them doodles. It feels both very Jim from the show, but also this version of Jim in your fic - encouraging her, but challenging her at the same time. And then the falling asleep on each other and not wanting to disturb each other at the end is adorable.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


I was really thinking hard on who would be Larissa's fiancee. I was originally thinking about creating an OC that was basically a replica of Mark Sloan but then I though, okay why not use Nick the IT guy?
 
I love writing cocky Jim get so thrown off because of Pam. But he definitely has his moments, especially with the whole art school thing.
 
I mentioned it in another review but the sleeping thing is my favorite moment that I've written so far. I'm not sure if I can write anything that can top it. Hopefully, I can lol. 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2021 12:08 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

When I first started reading this story, I always thought P was the one making the deal with the devil (a.k.a. Jim). Now I’m wondering if it’s not the other way around. Pam is great at pretending to be Jim’s girlfriend, too good. And poor Jim seems to be smitten but doesn’t know what to do about it. I’m loving this story so far! Can’t wait to read more.
Oh! And I agree that Cathy is better in small doses. I love reading Jim and Pam getting along

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

That's actually a really good insight. Jim may be the "devil" but he seems to be unaware of what he got himself into.

Pam really is a natural so I wonder how much of it is really just "acting"? Are there actual feelings involved? We'll see!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: May 03, 2021 05:55 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

Re: Roy. I think you're on very solid ground. Honestly, he's so comically awful in canon there's a lot of room to run with him - and here Pam wises up without Jim planting one on her.

I love the dynamic with them here with Pam freaking out and Jim strangely unperturbed... and the breadsticks-are-like-crack reference. And then they shared a breadstick! It's the JAM version of the Lady And The Tramp!

I love this scene of them in the apartment, and them finally starting to fully establish a genuinely good dynamic. And them falling asleep on the couch (in front of Anne Hathaway!) is wonderful.

I was always a fan of Nick, so I'm happy to see him show up here... and that Jim *still* doesn't know his name. Although his last name being Scott feels ominous. Also, the Larissa as a nicer, more successful version of Kelly works for me.

Yikes, Jim. Way to have this go wrong in the most predictable way possible. (I really want to know which minor character threw a drink at the Halperts now.)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


The breadstick thing, I wasn't sure how it was going to land but I had fun writing it because it was awkward and romantic at the same time.
 
The two of them falling asleep was also my favorite scene to write. They were so gentle with each other.
 
I gotta be honest. I forgot Michael's last name was Scott when I wrote this. So definitely, they are not related haha.
 
I have a bunch of characters in mind for the woman who threw the drink but we'll see how it plays out. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2021 06:46 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

So Pam's been on two dates now. One real date and one fake date. However it feels like the real Pam was there on the fake date. Not that a fake Pam was on the real date, but a more authentic version of Pam was sitting at that table with Jim, Rissa, and Nick.

Feels like a better version of Jim too. More along the lines of the canon character we know and love and less of the Mr Cool Guy persona he's got going on here. Especially when he and Pam are back at his apartment.

His TED talk, was very sweet. Just the kind of encouragement she needed. The image of them asleep like that though was very nice too.

Also really like how now she has an opening to get out of Scranton and endear herself more to the Halpert clan. I have to wonder when she'll realize why it's so easy to fake a relationship with Jim considering she's about halfway in a real romantic relationship with him already.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

The thing with Pam is she doesn't really have to think when she's with Jim so everything comes naturally to her. Unlike with Danny, because of Jim's help, she tries to approach him more methodically.

Jim, I think, has much more to give than he lets on. Even I'm curious to see how his character will progress.

The two of them are definitely straddling on a very thin line. We'll see how long it'll take before they actually do something about it. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 27, 2021 03:05 pm Title: The Golf Pro and The Girl Who Cried in the Stairwell

This was such a great (/sad) flashback! I loved the remixing of canon - including jealous Jan, lol, but the way it actually ends up helping Pam - and the introduction of other Pam. Jim listening to her crying in the stairwell is so heart-breaking. But then him giving her a win, and the chips, is incredibly sweet. And I really liked her various attempts to start a text to him, before she gives up (especially the way she swings between a full-on apology and trying to put some distance between them again). Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 
I really love how Jan hates Pam so much that she's willing to help her just so she can keep Michael away from her. She even hated the other Pam just because her name was Pam.
 
I wanted to make Jim really sweet in this chapter. He's a douche but he hates seeing people he cares about become upset, well especially with Pam.
 
I wanted Pam to text Jim so bad but it's a flashback so I can't really have that much sweetness yet. 
 
 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 26, 2021 09:23 am Title: The Golf Pro and The Girl Who Cried in the Stairwell

Nice take on this episode but set in this world. Jan's jealousy was interesting to see. Pam feels very much like her canon self in this episode. Almost defending herself when put on the spot. Knowing in her head what she should say, but fear holding her back from actually saying the words. I do apprciate the fact we got the actual fight between Roy and Pam. Seriousl that guy has issues. Not only in not supporting Pam, but always bringing Jim into things. Jan's not the only one with jealousy issues.

The friendship between Jim and Pam still seems to be growing though. Depsite the fact he is still going after just about any woman, it's Pam that he really cares about. Nice way to bring that out. Not to upset about a flashback only chapter. Should be kind of interesting to see how it'll tie into the present day story.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

 I really remember the Ben Franklin when Pam was a mess while trying to explain herself to Karen. That was kind of my inspiration for when Jan confronted her. Roy and Pam, God even I hated Roy while writing him. He's just a terrible fiancee and he's really insanely jealous of Jim (which I really intend to make obvious. There's no hiding that)

 Jim really does care about Pam and sometimes, I wonder if Pam can even truly see it. She can't be that dense right? 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2021 02:49 pm Title: The Golf Pro and The Girl Who Cried in the Stairwell

The other Pam! Now there's a character who could use more fic love.

As always, a lot of fun canon remixing here. Poor Pam - doing a lot of projecting about who has her best interests at heart and wants her to make something out of her life. (Lot of projecting in that relationship in general right now.) And I love the mix of pre- and post-breakdown Jan and how her jealousy ends up both making her suspicious of Pam *and* leading her to be helpful to Pam.

Ugh. Awful to notice the dates on this and realize she still has YEARS to go with Roy after this fight. It's a really interesting twist on The Fight, though.

4,000 words of flashback very much enjoyed. Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


At this rate, I'm gonna end up with a lot of minor characters having a fling with Jim lol.
 
Pam really does project a lot of her problems with Roy on Jim. And Roy is just a mess. I sometimes wonder if I'm going too far to make him as awful as possible.
 
Jan's craziness was so fun to write, it's making me wonder if I should write a Dinner Party-esque flashback just to write her throwing a Dundie at his TV.
 
Yeah, she definitely has a long way to go. I'm super careful with the dates because I want room for flashbacks but I think I'm going overkill with Roy. 

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed [Report This]
Date: April 25, 2021 11:12 am Title: The Golf Pro and The Girl Who Cried in the Stairwell

poor Pam!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 
Poor Pam indeed. I wonder when she'll find her voice? 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 21, 2021 07:31 pm Title: Famous Grilled Cheese Sandwich

ELIZABETH SIGHTING!!!!! Nice touch there. (Did you see the deleted scene where she tells Pam she's not going to be a stripper forever because she's going to art school and tells her she would hate being a receptionist?)

There really is a lot going against them here. The fact that Pam ends up serving as confidante for Jim's soon-to-be-exes can't help but cast him in the worst possible light.

You worked in a lot of good canon bits here! Pam's glasses, remixing The Client, him making her dinner, it all worked well.

I love her having Jim's voice in her head in spite of the date going well. (Also, is this a reference to Danny claiming she talked about Jim the entire time on their date?) And I adore Jim's love for Anne Hathaway and that he's still the most supportive person of her art.

I think having the Pam-Danny kiss be good was the right call. Making him a genuine romantic alternative adds tension to the story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


I almost forgot about that scene with Elizabeth. I remember watching it when I got Peacock.
 
God, Jim is so oblivious to these things. Pam, too. Does she even realize why these people go to her?
 
Pam's glasses was a definite last minute addition. Thanks to the Office Ladies.
 
I did not realize Danny also mentioned that. The one that always stood out was the "dork" line but Danny did say that. 
 
Pam and Danny for the win! Right? *vomits in trash can* 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2021 09:36 am Title: Famous Grilled Cheese Sandwich

This keeps getting more interesting and complicated. The date with Danny was a success, but what’s up with the looks Jim and Pam are giving each other? Can’t wait to read more and find out. I’m really looking forward to Pam pretending you be Jim’s date at the wedding. Will the sparks fly?
Many jellybeans

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! 

The long looks really make you wonder what the hell these two are doing, right?  

At this rate (and my unfortunate obsession with flashbacks), the wedding seems like a long way to go. As far as sparks go.... we'll also have to see. lol

 

Reviewer: lazyloris Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2021 09:16 am Title: Famous Grilled Cheese Sandwich

I like how Jim is being more sweet now but I'm still can't like Danny even if he seems less douchy than show Danny!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Yeah, maybe this deal with Pam is turning Jim into a softie? I wonder what he can do to steer Pam away from Mr. Perfect.

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2021 02:56 am Title: Famous Grilled Cheese Sandwich

You're back! I was so excited to see an update to this :) And such a great chapter. I'm fascinated anything to do with Michael's movie and Goldenface and was so curious about the casting/audition process, so I love that you've included it here. Pam being put in charge of the auditions and everyone trying to make her break is genius. I also really love that you've included her kiss with Goldenface (and Jim teasing her for reading the stage directions outloud, lol). And then him leaving her grilled cheese sandwich 😍 It's a really nice twist on their first date on the show.

I've sort of said it before, but I appreciate you having the guts to make things genuinely be going well with Danny - I think it makes for a much more interesting and realistic story (I think I'm also just happy for Pam that she gets to go on a date with a guy she likes and it's not a disaster). But I really like the way you've included small hints that, even if Danny is the perfect guy, he's not Jim (Danny not noticing she's hungry when Jim does straight away, Jim basically third-wheeling their date - I loved her listing his rules throughout, btw - and then Jim's line: 'I'm not saying it's going to be a perfect journey, but wouldn't you rather get to experience it and do something that you truly wanted'). It's just really well done.

I'm also really enjoying the running gag of Jim's love for Anne Hathaway movies. The Intern making him cry and Pam's affection for him because of it is sweet and hilarious. And he framed her comic book cover!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! It's been (and actually is) a crazy few weeks. I really with I could just spend my days crafting stories but it's not meant to be.

The part where everyone was trying to make Pam break, I gathered from real life stories of Steve getting a kick out of making people laugh during scenes. 

Yeah, with Pam and Danny, as much as I hated it, their date had to go "perfect". Well, not 100% perfect. What kind of a guy doesn't even notice that their date barely touched their food.  So maybe Jim has a chance? I don't know *shrugs*

I like adding these little details with Jim since he's supposed to be the douche in this story but he still has to be likeable 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 18, 2021 12:00 am Title: Famous Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just to let you know, it seems like you double posted this chapter. I got to the end of Jim and Pam's rooftop discussion and then it went right back into the flashback.

Moving on. Interesting use of Threat Level Midnight. Rather than just a table read they're actually doing auditions. Michael's right, Jim and Pam to have chemistry. And he's even sweet enough to make her grilled cheese. Very cute. Though the fact Roy doesn't text her back seems very in keeping with him and gives some clues as to why they're not together in the non-flashback scenes.

Not gonna lie I was kind of hoping things with Pam and Danny wouldn't go as well as they did. Not that it would be bad, mind, you. Just no spark. But that also wouldn't really follow how this story has been progressing. Anyone would be lucky to go on a date with Pam and this Danny does seem like a decent guy. Guess time will tell.

Then the discussion with Jim on the roof had tons of callbacks to canon. The fact they're really good friends and can talk about pretty much anything. They're still eating his famous grilled cheese. I do find it interesting the long silence there at the end. Pam enjoyed her date with Danny and it seems her head is telling her to keep something going with him. However there on the roof it felt more like her heart is starting to tell her something else about Jim. Seems like there's still more tension to be brewing.

Nice work.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for pointing it out! I should have noticed when my word count suddenly went to 50k. My bad.

I was initially going to use the table read for TLM but I already mentioned in Pam's first day that Michael made her review the script so I figured to just have an audition. I've been watching so many Office bloopers that I got so inspired to make it into a story where everyone was trying to make Pam laugh.

Roy, I mean it's inevitable that they'd break up. I hope I'm not going overkill with how unlikable I'm turning him into but... *shrugs*

With Pam and Danny, I was having an internal debate on how well this date would go. The JAM fan in me of course wanted it to be a dull one but you're correct in that not feeling a spark will probably mean Pam won't be as open to having a second (and more) dates. So it pained me to write a 'perfect' date for them but it had to happen. Now as to how someone like Jim can compete with that, time will tell.

I just knew I wanted to end this chapter with the rooftop. And the Booze Cruise long stare. And with Pam, the denial is strong with her even if the tension is so obvious, it's practically screaming at her face. Then again, this Jim who's always been so cocky also doesn't seem to know what to do. We'll really see where it goes from here.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 07:45 pm Title: Pickles and Swiss Cheese

Okay, there are some AMAZING and creative remixes of canon here - you've got The Fire, you've got Office Olympics, you've got Michael's Birthday, you've got The Alliance, you've got the iconic head-on-the-shoulder-kiss-to-the-top-of-the-head - really fun stuff, and well done. I like the idea of them as this still very functional but passive-aggressive and sniping little team, and that they're still finding ways to play the same games.

I like the reference to Jim being a stuck high school jock - someone's working out some frustrations with other people on Jim. And there were some good notes of Jim's humanity here, comforting Kevin and knowing him well enough to know his favorite number and his favorite lunch. (I also really appreciate Pam seeing through his Bad Boy side... Jim really is Bug Bunny-ish.)

HE KNOWS HER FAVORITE TEA. And his Anne Hathaway movies. Please tell me that's going to be a running gag.

The Jim-Larissa dynamic was cute. And I am eager to watch the inevitable falling in love play itself out. You've laid the groundwork well!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! 

The remixes - Yeah, I piled a lot of S2 stuff there which makes sense since it's their will-they-or-won't-they phase. I really loved twisting them because Jim clearly annoys Pam more than anything but still manages to play along with his antics.

Oh the high school jock - definitely a projection towards someone else.

I loved the Jim and Kevin moment because Pam needed to see that there's more to him than meets the eye. And I think she's beginning to see that despite the way he is.

The Anne Hathaway movies, I just remembered how obsessed JK was with The Devil Wears Prada but I didn't want to make it into an Emily Blunt obsession. And I've watched more of Anne's movies so it'll be easier to work with.

I wonder how they'll fall in love though? 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 10, 2021 03:38 am Title: Pickles and Swiss Cheese

I'm loving this so much. Kelly continues to be hilarious in the flashback, and I really like how you've flipped some of the stuff from canon like the hot sauce and the 69 noodles to make them slightly more antagonistic for this fic (but still cute). And the iceskating scene was so sweet. (Also, Roy stealing the 'get you in the tub' line, which I always found a bit gross, is genius). And then so much happening in the present day! Larissa is fantastic here, I really enjoyed this glimpse into her and Jim's relationship. And then the deal!! And Jim buying Pam lingerie, and Pam buying him the birthday cake he actually wanted - plus the comic book and his genuine joy about both of them. Just so great. I really can't wait to see how the next 6 weeks pan out...

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


If ever I need someone to do something hilariously stupid, I always think of Kelly for some reason.
 
With the twisting of canon, I just have a lot of fun with since Jim has this arrogance in him but still manages to make it cute. The ice skating one, I remember rewatching it and I noticed Pam couldn't skate so I thought about how this type of Jim would do it with her.
 
Ugh, get you in the tub. It's just gross and Roy is obviously not gonna be likable in this story so I gave it to him.
 
Larissa and Jim - I really loved writing that siblings who hate each other but really don't dynamic. Again, Larissa doesn't really have a backstory in canon so turning her into this fashion monster was just really fun.
 
The deal - we'll see how this will turn out. Probably not too good right? 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: April 09, 2021 10:15 am Title: Pickles and Swiss Cheese

You're really setting this up with some rom-com tropes you know that right? Firs the flashback. Nice way to bring in a bunch of situations from canon but adding twists. That was fun. It really felt like despite everything, Pam is someone Jim really cares about.

Larissa was a hoot and a half. Loved how she just steamrolled over everything like that. Great use of the character.

Again the feeling that despite some rough edges they do sincerly care about each other. Also feels like there are deeper feelings lying under the surface but they're both not quite willing to explore them...yet.

Kind of fun to see the conditions they set for the "fake dating." That should be fun going forward. "Dont fall in love with me." Right.

Nice job with this one.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, all I need now is for Jim to turn out to be this secret billionaire no one knew about (???)

I honestly have been watching a lot of The Office to relieve me of my stress so the possible canon stuff to use was just endless. You'll probably see a lot of these moving forward.

Larissa, I definitely got the inspiration from The Devil Wears Prada, particularly Nigel's character which I found so hilarious since I turned Jim into an Anne Hathaway fan. She's probably someone people hate working with since she's so Type A and forward but Jim loves her for that.

Jim and Pam definitely care for each other. As to how they'll explore that, who knows?

"Don't fall in love with me" - definite trope. I just had to include it. 

 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: April 06, 2021 06:29 pm Title: A 10-Second Birthday Hug

This is an interesting take on what Pam's life in the office might look like without Jim... she's a little closer and a little more favorably inclined towards everyone else. Hmmmm.

I love their relationship establishing its post-reveal bounds. You can tell Jim is a little trying to be friendly but also a little hurt and it's coming out as aggressive, and Pam is guarded but interested in bantering despite herself. I also love the way you grounded Roy's concerns about Jim in envy here.

The birthday party was great. She still notices the little details about him!

""Jim, I would really appreciate it if you get the fuck off my desk."" I like this line bcause it's something I can actually also picture canon Pam saying with a gigantic smile on her face.

Awww. Danny finds her awkwardness charming.

This ending is delightfully trope-y and I love it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Yeah, I think with Pam, she'll naturally gravitate towards other people. It's the same with anyone starting a new job. They feel awkward around everyone first but eventually warm up to them. So yeah, and there's no Jim to distract her.
 
The back and forth between the two is very real. It's almost like they're enjoying getting a rise out of the other. With Roy, yeah I try to make it obvious that he's jealous of 'Halpert' and you will see why down the road.
 
The funny thing about the love-hate dynamic is they still notice these little things about each other even though they don't necessarily like being around each other. Well, especially for Pam. But yeah, it would make sense for her to know these things.
 
Danny and Pam. Ooooh boy, how will manwhore Jim ever win against someone like him right? 
 
The ending is definitely trope-y and it will lead to a lot of things moving forward. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans