You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 05, 2021 08:50 am Title: Three Wins and Four Men Yelling

This was another really fun chapter! I love the way you’ve mixed up the ensemble here. I enjoyed having Jim’s POV at the start (and his name for Pam on his phone, aww) - their text banter was very sweet and funny too (Pam is protesting a *little* bit too much about Jim being a close second I think 😏). Ryan is so classically Ryan here, I love him accidentally insulting the client’s daughters and then trying to pretend it was all part of his sales strategy. And then having the cheek to get annoyed with Jim. Him and Cathy actually sound like a very well-suited pair. And then Danny and Dwight! Amazing. The whole thing culminating in the four of them then having a shouting match in Michael’s office is brilliant too, although I do really feel for Jim in this :( And I enjoyed the small hint of Pam’s potential jealousy at the end - I’m greatly looking forward to Kelly and Jim’s date (which is a sentence I never thought I’d write, lol).

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!

 
I really love incorporating different dynamics (like a Ryan and Jim rivalry or Pam being stuck in a room with Kelly/Cathy) so if there are characters outside of Jim and Pam that I feel like I can use to drive the storyline, I just run with it. 
 
Whenever I write Pam here, I just have a Kat Dennings voice in my head for some reason so she ends up kind of being snarkier than the timid Pam on the show, which I kind of like because the banter/flirtation just keeps on going between her and Jim. Bumblebeesly, I don't know why I thought of a Transformers reference but it kinda works? Jim is kind of a dork in spite of all the douche that I injected in his personality.
 
Ugh, Ryan. I'm pretty sure we've all had that coworker or teammate who is so deluded about his own abilities and faults you if he messes up. That's my whole thing for him.
 
Jim and Kelly? We'll have to see what happens there. Lol. 

Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 07:15 pm Title: Three Wins and Four Men Yelling

This chapter was engrossing and fun to read. Sometimes the journey to the destination is 75% of the fun.

You really brought out the characters' personalities and interactions well.
Ryan having no idea how inept and insulting he is at sales and then landing low blow after low blow on Jim, manwhore though he may be.
Dwight being the one having a complaint filed on him instead of him doing the formal complaint on someone else was a refreshing change.
I really liked the three negotiating the detente though I wanted to bash Michael for not defending his two best salesmen, but I often feel like bashing him. When left to his own devices, Michael will choose the worst possible solution to any given situation.
Nice way to slip in Crazy!Cathy. Just a reminder of her character.

There were three other characters in this chapter -- Snap, Crackle, and Pop. This posting was full to the rim with them. I'd give you a bowl of Rice Krispies if I could. A jelly bean will have to stand in.

Good onya

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! And thank you for the Rice Krispies haha

To be honest, I was really scared adding this chapter because it wasn't in my original outline but I ended up having so much fun writing it. I was just in that mindset of making all of these people (outside of Pam and Danny... and Jim to an extent but he is inherently a douche in this story) be as ridiculously awful as possible.

Ryan was definitely the worst of the bunch. He just wanted to get Jim riled up to the point where he was genuinely hurt by his comments. He was a literal high school bully here. I mean if he can make someone like Dwight, who literally locked someone in a coffin, turn out to be a more decent human being then that's saying something.

 With Michael, although yes, it was a terrible decision from his end (I mean obviously Jim would be upset), he just wants everyone to get along which was always his downfall.

Cathy is literally just a crazy ex-girlfriend through and through. I don't think I'll be able to find a way to redeem her by the time I finish this.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 06:41 pm Title: Three Wins and Four Men Yelling

You're really writing both Cathy and Ryan as love-to-hate characters. Ryan thinking he's all that but in reality he's just a cocky little scumbag that deflects everything on Jim. Cathy being the jealous clingy ex. I do really hope that one of these days Pam doesn't just take her down a peg, but pulls all the pegs off the wall with such verve that Cathy never recovers. Nice way to get Ryan into the closest too.

Will sparks fly between Jim and Kelly? I doubt it. Kelly may be excited and Jim is going to be nice for sure, but I doubt anythings going to come of it.

Same for Pam and Danny. Yeah he's a nice guy and I'm sure he'll treat her decently. But her thoughts betry her. Something tells me she'll be thinking of Jim the whole time which will have an effect on the date. Might be the same for Jim. Time will tell I'm sure.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Ryan, I always think about him in a way that he hates Jim so much because he secretly wishes he was living his playboy and self-confident lifestyle but he's so deluded about his own abilities. But he does know how to push Jim's buttons, so maybe we'll see what happens with these two (or I can just have Ryan magically fall of a cliff)

Cathy, I was gonna have something bigger for her but I just doused the entire chapter with Ryan's awfulness that I decided to dial back. But yeah, even in small doses, she's terrible.

With the upcoming dates, we'll really see where true feelings lie. Will any truth come out of it? I'm kinda excited to be writing it now. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 28, 2021 04:28 am Title: A Beard and A Blonde

Hehe, your ability to write Cathy as truly awful in this is both amazing and very funny. I feel like she gets worse every chapter. The unhelpful tie fixing, and her gritted teeth when Jim tells her he hopes she’s happy with Ryan, is brilliant. And then Pam *actually* fixing his tie, and finding an excuse to touch his beard…I love it. I just love their every interaction in this, and the way you write their banter and teasing, and Pam slowly grudgingly noticing things (/falling for) him. (Also, Angela getting annoyed about the PPC for a party Jim just made up is so, so Angela). This was great!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!

I like how Cathy feels like she's perfect for Jim but manages to screw everything up and she still thinks she's awesome.

With Jim and Pam, they have to know they're full on flirting, right? Who knows what these two are thinking?

Thank you for the Angela part! I spent so long thinking about what would get Angela pissed at both of them. I'm glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2021 09:26 pm Title: A Beard and A Blonde

Lots of Jim and Pam being all sorts of flirty with each other there. And once more Pam is thinking more about Jim than she is Danny. Feels like we're building up to something here and it'll be quite interesting to see how it all pans out.

Jim shutting down Cathy like that was just great. The more Cathy gets shut down the better.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, with Pam, it's like why is she even trying with Danny right? We'll see how it goes. Danny seems like a really sweet guy, though.

I really love the Jim and Cathy dynamic. It's honestly my favorite so far. It's like why can't she just leave him alone? 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2021 02:33 pm Title: A Beard and A Blonde

HA! You did a really good job mixing in canon references here, especially in this opening conversation with Cathy. Who is the WORST. Ugh. Obviously she's the kind of person who doesn't know the difference between Pizza by Alfredo and Alfredo's Pizza Cafe. So in character.

Some very enjoyable Jim and Pam banter here - and Jim and Pam fast-on-their-feet teamwork. Those crazy kids do work well together, don't they...

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I like challenging myself in making Cathy as annoying as possible.

With Jim and Pam, yeah they're so quick with their shenanigans. I wonder if they'll be as quick as realizing their feelings for each other. *shrugs* 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2021 01:43 pm Title: A Beard and A Blonde

I’m really glad this story is still up. I can’t wait to read who figures out first that Jim and Pam are both head over heels about each other. And I’m dying to read Jim’s date with Kelly

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I really wanted to get to Jim and Kelly's date already but ideas just keep popping in my head. We'll get there real soon!!

 With Jim and Pam, we'll really see. I wonder what'll cause it? 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 01, 2021 02:55 pm Title: Post-Its and Soup Snakes

Hehe, I love that the Dwight 'idiot' ringtone is Jim's alarm, this was such a great (and funny) way to use it. Pam's little post-its for Jim, her making him breakfast, and his minor freak-out & second-guessing over the heart she left him was all so adorable. I think I've said this before, but I just love the way you write them in this fic so much. I also really like the brief insight into Jim's feelings for Pam here, and his denial (classic), but also that some of that is driven by how much he values their friendship, which feels very pure. His entire phone call with Michael is just brilliant. Also, I'm not sure if I've mentioned this before, but I love every single one of your chapter titles - this one might be one my favourites, especially with the reveal of where soup snakes came from.

And then Kelly and Jim!! (Cathy with Ryan is also excellent, they feel like...a well-deserved pair?) I love that Jim agrees to the date just for Pam, and that hint of her disappointment - can't wait to see how the date turns out!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I was wondering if I was going too deep into Jim's head and if there are feelings there, but I stuck with it because it really is a Jim and Pam story after all. And yeah, they are friends (well, Pam was in denial of this here), much like in canon so I think he cares about her so much because of that. 

Thank you for acknowledging my titles hehe. I get so amused whenever I get to the part where I have to think about what to call this chapter. And with soup snakes, I knew writing this chapter that I had to include it because I just love the term so much.

Kelly and Jim was 100% a last minute addition (which is making life harder for me since I now have to include their date in the story but pains of writing I guess haha), and it really shows the lengths Jim would go to for Pam. I mean this is Kelly we're talking about. Cathy/Ryan, definitely a match made in hell. We'll see how long that lasts.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2021 04:01 pm Title: Post-Its and Soup Snakes

Well, if this is how long it takes to produce this quality a chapter, this is how long it takes to produce this quality a chapter. Befuddled Jim pondering the meaning of Pam's hearts was adorable, as was Pam's teasing show of domestic bliss. And you've continued to find the voices of the other characters well here - this very much sounds like Kelly (and Ryan through Kelly), and you can a touch of Jim's softness towards Michael here. (The Dwight alarm will haunt my dreams.)

Again, I like the choice to make Danny seem like a quite viable prospect for Pam. Makes the not-quite-love-triangle feel more tense. Maybe he'll end up with Kelly? She could use a nice guy.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

With Jim, I just had that weird mindset where I was like okay, I will turn him into a middle schooler who gets so flustered with these little notes. And I've been writing about Pam being a textbook overthinker. I wanted to show that he is not as confident as he seems.

I found it so funny with Kelly because I ran into a deleted scene of Kelly showing Erin (I think) of pictures Ryan took of her after writing this. I had no idea that existed. With Dwight, I always wanted to incorporate his ringtone and I found it funny that Jim would purposely make it his alarm.

Oh, Danny and Pam. We'll really see how it goes but it's quite unfortunate that he likes Pam. Danny and Kelly? There's an idea. 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2021 09:37 pm Title: Post-Its and Soup Snakes

So glad you’re back! As always, fantastic chapter. I love how both Jim and Pam are starting to realize how they feel about each other. I can’t wait to read how you navigate all these dates with Danny and Kelly, plus the living together.
And I usually don’t laugh out loud, but the twitter thing was hilarious. The tweet the lawyer sent Dwight was awesome.
Many jellybeans

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! God, I wish I was going at a faster pace because I really want to get to the dates already. I really hope to get that part done soon!

With the Twitter thing, I just remembered having a similar incident before and I think it really does happen. I just had to make it even more idiotic since this is Dwight we're talking about. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 25, 2021 03:58 pm Title: Post-Its and Soup Snakes

So Pam is still smitten by Danny, but more and more it really feels likes her feelings for Jim are coming through. Especially when she was trying to not set up Jim with Kelly. Not sure how well that bodes for her upcoming date with Danny. Jim too is really starting to have more and more thoughts about Pam. The denial is still strong with both of them though.

Good Micheal voice with the phone call. Got his sense of neediness to be seen as cool very well.

Jim is going out on a date with Kelly in the same day as a sales call with Ryan. I'm sure that's not going to be awkward at all.

Nice job bringing out those kinds of feelings.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

 With Pam, my thought process in writing her was 'Okay, she say doesn't want him but also doesn't want him seeing other people. And they're also not really dating so she can't act like a jealous girlfriend.'. And cue Kelly. I didn't have this in my original draft but I wanted to see Pam struggle with her decisions.

I have barely written this story so far from Jim's POV so I figured I should go inside what's going on in his head. I think with him, he cares a lot about Pam but knows her heart's set somewhere else and is convincing himself that possible feelings are just his imagination acting wild. It's funny how he agreed to go on a date with Kelly because even he knows it's a bad idea but did it anyway as a favor for Pam.

I just love writing Michael into chapters. I always imagined him as an overbearing boss if he liked a particular employee (in this case, Jim) so him worriedly calling him because he might have been kidnapped or hanging out with Josh was just absurd but something I could totally see him doing.

Reviewer: bij Signed [Report This]
Date: June 23, 2021 05:56 am Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

I love this story so much! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is such a really long fic word-wise and I've been praying that it's not just me going on and on for almost 70k words, so I'm really glad that you're enjoying it!

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 13, 2021 04:43 am Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

I loved the start of this chapter with the texts to Jim and Danny interspersed with the brownie-making - and again, I really like how you're making Danny a pretty nice/funny guy that she clearly has fun texting, but still not a patch on Jim (him knowing she's with Iz, and his encouragement with the goofy selfie, is just so adorable). And then the picture from the gym and Pam dropping the phone! Amazing. Iz is also great in this, I love her adding a bit of reality and getting Pam to actually think about how she feels, plus the throwback to the party from the flashback.

I'm so intrigued about what happened back in Philly that Jim blames himself for - and the glimpse into a more vulnerable Jim, and the subtle suggestion that he might be sleeping with so many people partially to avoid being alone. Larissa being there for him was lovely. And then Pam agreeing to stay over at his! And that final scene of her watching him sleep, and him smiling when she strokes his hand 😍 I just love this fic so much, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Glad you're caught up.

Yeah, I'm starting to feel bad for Danny because I'm making him into this genuinely good guy, but yeah maybe I'll have him end up with Pam? (Kidding)

With Jim, yeah, he's definitely got issues that he refuses to face. And that's never a good thing. I wanted to make the fight longer but I backed out because I wanted Jim and Larissa to still be okay when they visit her in New York.

The one where she stay with him, I really hope I didn't shoot myself on the foot with that one. I was thinking to myself, "should she really do that?" But I stuck to my guns, lol. We'll see how it goes. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 13, 2021 04:22 am Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

I was very excited to realise I had two chapters to catch up with on this - and I loved this flashback so much!! This party is brilliant from start to finish, and very Michael Scott (so many great moments with him here, I think his confusion over the black tie optional was one of my favourites. Also Dwight getting carried away Dwight-style and throwing a vodka bottle at Meredith, and her just catching it). I really enjoyed the inclusion of Pam's friends here, and their own love interests lol - but also them landing her in it with Jim. Jim continues to be such a great mix of slightly sleazy (with the temp) and incredibly sweet, not just with Pam but with all the little moments with Michael and Dwight - and I love Pam noticing those moments, even when she's drunk. The scene at the end is just lovely, especially the throwback to canon with the 'I don't get Roy' line (and Jim almost getting slightly further with pushing her on it!) I just love the way you write their relationship in this fic. Such a great chapter! On to the next one...

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!

I get really worried about flashback only chapters because I still have to make sure it's tied to the story so I'm glad you liked it.

If there's one non-Jim/Pam character that I just love writing into a story, its definitely Michael. I just like doing dialogues in my head in his voice.

Same with Dwight, I just get so entertained when I include him in a chapter.

Jim and the temp -- I just went back to HIMYM and thought about Barney attempting to get into a threesome. And I was like, okay yeah this Jim can definitely pull that off.

With Jim and Pam, I wanted Pam to see that Jim really does care for her even if she realized it while she was intoxicated. I hope she does realize it even when she's sober too. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 03, 2021 11:56 pm Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

Nice to see this one come back. The brownie making scene was a lot of fun. Kind of easy to see why Pam would be so distracted as to mix up the salt and sugar, texting two different guys like that.

I think Izzy has Pam pegged. Regardless of what Pam is saying, she is starting to have feelings for Jim. I think the first inklings of her really realizing that are starting to come through too.

A few more clues as to why Jim is the way he is. Seems like he's running from something and trying to fill whatever void is there with his Mr. Cool kind of persona.

Asking Pam to stay with him like that though? That's really going to make things interesting. Especially if Danny finds out about this. Though it seems that when Pam is with Jim she forgets about Danny. Nice way to build some tension that's for sure.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

I've been trying out baking recently so I just infused all the moments I got flustered into the story. I can safely say though that I have never made a salt and sugar mishap like Pam.

With Pam, I really think she's forcing herself to want one thing but then at the end of it, the heart really wants it what it wants. We'll see how that plays out.

With Jim, oh boy. There's definitely baggage. As to what it is, I can't wait to get my hands on it.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: June 01, 2021 09:28 pm Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

Oh boy! I stand by my theory, Pam is the devil in this story. Subconsciously or not, she got her flirt on with both Jim and Danny by texting them at the same time. It was awesome.
I absolutely love Isabel and Larissa. They are the voice of reason.
And I can’t wait to read more about Jim’s backstory. It sounds like he went through something traumatic. But the chemistry with Pam!!! I can’t wait to read what happens next with their “fake” relationship.

Many jellybeans!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Ha! It's always been an interesting theory that you brought up. Maybe it's Pam who ends up hurting Jim in the long run (????)
 
Jim's story is something that I actually developed from the very beginning. It's what's inspired me to keep writing since I do want to get to that part. We'll see how it turns out!
 
There'll be more fake relationship development down the road. We still have New York, a family visit, and a wedding to go through. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 01, 2021 08:27 pm Title: Brownies and A Leaky Faucet

I really, really enjoyed this chapter. I thought you did well with balancing the two IM conversations, and exploring both Pam's interest in Danny (and why she would remain interested in him) and the contrast with the subtle, unstressed, natural rhythms of her conversation with Jim. (Also him dropping her a shirtless pic in between all the advice with Danny. Lol, Sketchy Jim.) And I love a good interfering Isabel moment.

Also some very intriguing hints at the darkness that made our Jim into this Jim, and what Larissa sees underlying his smug and slightly slimy exterior. We get to see his inner pain. AND PLATONIC BED SHARING. I am eating popcorn through all of this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 
With the two conversations, I think with Pam, she enjoys having these kinds of moments with Danny but everything with Jim just comes naturally to her. Isabel is definitely that annoying best friend that seems to have Pam's best interests at heart. I really wish I got to flesh her out more here with some more light-hearted fun but I opted to go a bit darker.
 
Yeah, with Jim, my main goal here was to really flesh him out without giving away too much. I had multiple rewrites on how his conversation with Larissa would go and ended up with this one. I was initially going to have it be Larissa bawling her eyes out but opted for Jim instead.
 
And the last part, I was scared that it might be too short, like I just breezed through it. I was gonna make it longer but I stuck to subtle and sweet. But I'm glad you liked it! 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: May 20, 2021 11:40 am Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

I don't know. I just really enjoyed this one. The continued jealousy of Roy, the multiple acts of kindness from Jim (mixed in with just enough sleaziness to keep us honest), the Dwisabel (with the running gag of Isabel trying to get people to switch to a new hygienist as her Move), the arrival of Julie, all gold. And so many different pieces of canon being mixed together at one (the big ones are great, but I also enjoyed Pam joining Michael in not being able to tell which condo is his, and as a committed Ryan hater I like that even in this universe every girl Ryan wants goes for Jim). This was a lot of fun.

I love the detail of Pam ending up being the only who actually exposed someone she knew to Michael, and obviously Michael is the guy who breaks up with someone while they're out of town by voicemail and expects her not to show up angry at her house during a party. You've got a real ear for Michael voice - keeping him both likable and, well, Michael.

RIP Lauren. We hardly knew ye. But yay for Zombie Chair Model!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


I'm really self-conscious with these things because I never know if something worked or didn't work or if I tried to do too much, but it really warms my heart to see people liking the story.
 
At this point, the question with Roy will be "Why didn't Pam dump him sooner?" I'm not sure if there are even any redeeming qualities at this point.
 
With Jim, I really love including moments of him being a complete tool because it's what keeps this version of him realistic. It makes the nice moments even more entertaining because it shows that there's someone with a heart of gold underneath all that sleaziness.
 
Isabel and Julie (and the chair model) were fun additions. I've used Isabel in the past. I'm not sure if I'll incorporate Julie but I think I will since she and Pam are supposedly friends.
 
Ryan was definitely fun to write because I like that there's one thing that Jim and Pam can come to an agreement to. And with Michael, yeah, I've said it before but I love writing Michael Scott into anything because there are really times when I see myself in him, and his antics are just... well, I could come up with a million stupid things that he could possibly do and it would still seem realistic.

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2021 01:40 pm Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

I’m so glad this sorry is back. Nice flashback, it helps us see that Jim is actually really nice, even if he’s a jerk to other girls.
I can’t wait to read what happens in the present day story. Hope to read more soon. This is a great story

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


Gah, I really wish I could update more often but work's been getting a bit more hectic and the inspiration doesn't come right away. I try my best to get something done after a week but we'll see.
 
Jim, I really try my best to include as much dynamic with his office mates (Dwight, Michael, Kevin, etc), because I want Pam to see that there's a nice guy underneath all that sleaziness. I want her to be continually surprised with how he's been acting.
 
Yup, I'm holding off on flashbacks for about another chapter or two. So you'll be seeing more of what happens in the present. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 19, 2021 11:57 am Title: Handsome and Stinky: Paper Brothers for Hire

A very interesting flashback to be sure. Pam's firmly in denial about a lot of things. Like how her relationship with Roy is still any good or how she doesn't have a friendship with Jim. At least sober Pam is starting to figure out that being with Roy isn't really a good thing anymore. Drunk Pam is more open to seeing that under quite a few layers Jim is actually a pretty good guy. Being willing to go out and bring people to Micheal's party, heading off Jan, coming out to make sure Pam's ok. Nice work. Also good on Pam for rejecting Ryan.

Nice work.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Yeah, with Roy, we know it doesn't end well for them but I think Pam knows the red flags are there but is still holding on to some hope that they'll be able to save their relationship since she doesn't know what life is like without him by her side.

With Jim, yeah I think Pam does see that he's a really nice guy underneath all that douchebaggery, although it always seems to be with the help of some liquid courage, lol.

Ryan was definitely the funniest bit. I just remembered the 'she's not like other girls' trope and I really wanted him to think he's some kind of bad boy that can get any girl that he wants, which led to him getting rejected by two girls in one night. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: May 10, 2021 12:45 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

Hehe, I'm enjoying the re-using of Nick here. I did feel sorry for him on the show. Jim getting totally thrown by Pam taking a bite of a breadstick, and then when she's telling them about how she 'fell' for him, are some really fun and sweet moments. And then I love that he encouraged her to do the application as soon as they got back! Especially after the last chapter with Roy. I also really enjoyed him pushing her to be the one who pressed the button: and telling her to stop calling them doodles. It feels both very Jim from the show, but also this version of Jim in your fic - encouraging her, but challenging her at the same time. And then the falling asleep on each other and not wanting to disturb each other at the end is adorable.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


I was really thinking hard on who would be Larissa's fiancee. I was originally thinking about creating an OC that was basically a replica of Mark Sloan but then I though, okay why not use Nick the IT guy?
 
I love writing cocky Jim get so thrown off because of Pam. But he definitely has his moments, especially with the whole art school thing.
 
I mentioned it in another review but the sleeping thing is my favorite moment that I've written so far. I'm not sure if I can write anything that can top it. Hopefully, I can lol. 

Reviewer: Merria Signed [Report This]
Date: May 04, 2021 12:08 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

When I first started reading this story, I always thought P was the one making the deal with the devil (a.k.a. Jim). Now I’m wondering if it’s not the other way around. Pam is great at pretending to be Jim’s girlfriend, too good. And poor Jim seems to be smitten but doesn’t know what to do about it. I’m loving this story so far! Can’t wait to read more.
Oh! And I agree that Cathy is better in small doses. I love reading Jim and Pam getting along

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

That's actually a really good insight. Jim may be the "devil" but he seems to be unaware of what he got himself into.

Pam really is a natural so I wonder how much of it is really just "acting"? Are there actual feelings involved? We'll see!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: May 03, 2021 05:55 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

Re: Roy. I think you're on very solid ground. Honestly, he's so comically awful in canon there's a lot of room to run with him - and here Pam wises up without Jim planting one on her.

I love the dynamic with them here with Pam freaking out and Jim strangely unperturbed... and the breadsticks-are-like-crack reference. And then they shared a breadstick! It's the JAM version of the Lady And The Tramp!

I love this scene of them in the apartment, and them finally starting to fully establish a genuinely good dynamic. And them falling asleep on the couch (in front of Anne Hathaway!) is wonderful.

I was always a fan of Nick, so I'm happy to see him show up here... and that Jim *still* doesn't know his name. Although his last name being Scott feels ominous. Also, the Larissa as a nicer, more successful version of Kelly works for me.

Yikes, Jim. Way to have this go wrong in the most predictable way possible. (I really want to know which minor character threw a drink at the Halperts now.)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!


The breadstick thing, I wasn't sure how it was going to land but I had fun writing it because it was awkward and romantic at the same time.
 
The two of them falling asleep was also my favorite scene to write. They were so gentle with each other.
 
I gotta be honest. I forgot Michael's last name was Scott when I wrote this. So definitely, they are not related haha.
 
I have a bunch of characters in mind for the woman who threw the drink but we'll see how it plays out. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 02, 2021 06:46 pm Title: Breadsticks and Sport

So Pam's been on two dates now. One real date and one fake date. However it feels like the real Pam was there on the fake date. Not that a fake Pam was on the real date, but a more authentic version of Pam was sitting at that table with Jim, Rissa, and Nick.

Feels like a better version of Jim too. More along the lines of the canon character we know and love and less of the Mr Cool Guy persona he's got going on here. Especially when he and Pam are back at his apartment.

His TED talk, was very sweet. Just the kind of encouragement she needed. The image of them asleep like that though was very nice too.

Also really like how now she has an opening to get out of Scranton and endear herself more to the Halpert clan. I have to wonder when she'll realize why it's so easy to fake a relationship with Jim considering she's about halfway in a real romantic relationship with him already.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

The thing with Pam is she doesn't really have to think when she's with Jim so everything comes naturally to her. Unlike with Danny, because of Jim's help, she tries to approach him more methodically.

Jim, I think, has much more to give than he lets on. Even I'm curious to see how his character will progress.

The two of them are definitely straddling on a very thin line. We'll see how long it'll take before they actually do something about it. 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed [Report This]
Date: April 27, 2021 03:05 pm Title: The Golf Pro and The Girl Who Cried in the Stairwell

This was such a great (/sad) flashback! I loved the remixing of canon - including jealous Jan, lol, but the way it actually ends up helping Pam - and the introduction of other Pam. Jim listening to her crying in the stairwell is so heart-breaking. But then him giving her a win, and the chips, is incredibly sweet. And I really liked her various attempts to start a text to him, before she gives up (especially the way she swings between a full-on apology and trying to put some distance between them again). Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 
I really love how Jan hates Pam so much that she's willing to help her just so she can keep Michael away from her. She even hated the other Pam just because her name was Pam.
 
I wanted to make Jim really sweet in this chapter. He's a douche but he hates seeing people he cares about become upset, well especially with Pam.
 
I wanted Pam to text Jim so bad but it's a flashback so I can't really have that much sweetness yet. 
 
 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans