You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: August 05, 2022 12:50 pm Title: Chapter 30 - Peeling Polish / Good Riddance

Another reference to the idea of Pam needing the opportunity to see herself the way we see her here with the mirror scene. Cleverly done.

"And that Dwight wasn’t creeping around in the kitchen like an obsessed fan waiting to descend his idol as he emerged from backstage after the show." This is a spot-on description. Michael is a rock star to Dwight.

Poor Hank. He's just out there doing his thing, dealing with Dunder Mifflin's nonsense, and they can't be bothered to learn his name. And this is before they started denying him his Christmas bonus! (My new theory is that some combination of his various names are actually his stage names, for his music career.)

"but that made her remember there was still a Pam wearing it and that made her wonder what was to happen now that Roy and Pam each had one of the rings." EEEEP

I really enjoy Michael's unabashed, all-timelines love for the MSPC offices. And it's good to see Michael's Golden Ticket excuses pop up here.

In a funny way, Michael's got some advantages as a time travel partner - he's naturally so bizarre that Pam doesn't think anything of it when he's multiple-timelines bizarre.

"Her dreams too of late had been so vivid and quite often involved running into another version of herself, always about to deliver a message but one she never seemed to get in time, awaking in a cold sweat and with a racing heart she imagined was beating so loud, it might wake Roy up." OKAY. HANG ON. IS THIS ACTUAL TIMELINE INTERACTION.

"Attached to the Sebring fob was a plastic saddle shaped advertisement for some dealership which had been sharpied over with the words, World’s Best Driver." Oh, Michael.

"This was the one where she kept the teapot and the doves and the French Onion chips she couldn’t bring herself to ever eat." Okay, the details in this chapter are terrific.

This word game to being their day is so very them.

WAIT. THE NOTE????

Hmmmmm. I'm not picking up on the superfan scene... I may need to rewatch the Season 1 superfan episodes, so sad...

Author's Response:

Yup - this is a #8 but in third person POV. 

At least this early in the show he was...this is before Michael starts to lose a little of his luster (to Dwight). He gains a little in this story to Pam.

Poor Hank is right. Good theory, but I thinking they never thought to look at what they had named him when when it was decided to bring him back as a recurring Hank.  But it was fun to play with here.

It's his Eden - Shangri-La and Tinks all wrapped in one.

That is a good point.

I'm not sure what this was- interpret it how you like. But I have these kind of dreams often.

Thanks for noticing. 

Coming in for a landing soon. Just a handful more to go. Thanks for flying with me. And the reviews!  

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2022 04:36 pm Title: Chapter 30 - Peeling Polish / Good Riddance

Loved getting a Jim POV here!

*--Get Pam’s masterpiece framed at my new favorite store, Michael’s--

“I’m, ah trapped in an oil painting.”

“Really Michael, you’re trapped in a painting? I’m hanging up.”*

This is a great nod to his list of excuses. Also I love that you worked in Michaels craft store... props to you.

*She had been on the phone but it never stopped him before, in fact it was a game of theirs, he would whisper silly words like ‘gingersnap’ and ‘cornucopia’ that she was supposed to use in her conversation. Not once had she succeeded, his words were always too trivial, but she was determined to get a win in soon.*

Aw, this is cute. Don't know if you intended it but it made me think of the "birdcage" bit.

*Only the bottom of her three was secured with a key. This was the one where she kept the teapot and the doves and the French Onion chips she couldn’t bring herself to ever eat.*

The way she's keeping Jim locked away (even subconsciously) is a nice touch.

*she’d just wasted close to a decade on the ground when she could have been flying.*

Um, ouch.

*"I wouldn’t want you to lose a sale because of me. You know it is your career."*

WHOA, is that Fancy New Beesly peeking out? Ouch again.

Author's Response:

Yeah, it's been too long since heard from Jim. Hope it came across they are both worried how the other seems to be holding onto the fight and they are both feeling guilty for it.

Not sure if you remember that Michael's first came up in No Place Like Home chapter. I do think he'd love that place on multiple levels. Glad you mentioned the excuses- it was a bit of last minute layering that I was unsure if it felt a little forced in as opposed to organic...but that canon line about the oil painting just tickled me.

The words bit was inspired by a deleted/superfan scene where they make faces at each other. This a similar Jim-created game they could play he's deemed a challenge but really he's just trying to get her to laugh (as he always does) with the silliest words he can think of. 

Like I said in response to W - F Pam has no idea but her very presence and the changes she is making to the past are having a bit of an effect on P Pam - making her a bit steelier (even though I feel she always had a bit more with Jim because she felt safer to).

Thanks much for the review. It's always great to hear what parts you most enjoyed.

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2022 08:04 pm Title: Chapter 30 - Peeling Polish / Good Riddance

So we're getting closer to when Pam and Michael went back in time with the Time Turner. Future Pam has given back Roy the ring and is taking some time to grieve that relationship. Past Pam is upset due to fighting with Roy and Jim and is now heading out to get Future Michael. The timelines are starting to come together, and it feels like it's starting to get a little messy. I can see how getting all this straight would be hard for you.

Pam sitting there peeling the nail polish off seems good too. She knew what she wanted, a nice day at the spa, but had to settle for something less because being with Roy mean she had to hold herself back. Yet she knows out there, there's better things. Things at the time she thought she couldn't have. Yet know she knows she can have them provided she has a little courage. So off comes the old reminder of the woman who settled. Ready to be replaced by the woman who goes after what she wants even if it's somewhat scary.

Nice way to bring in the bit of confusing with Hank and what his real name actually is. Nice nod there to some of the things we saw in canon.

Author's Response:

Yes, keeping it all straight has been a fun challenge.

Future Pam taking charge of things having no idea what effect the changes she is making to past is having on the Past Pam, but even she is starting to think about what she really wants.

The layering was fun to add after watching the episode (but always had in mind the name thing with Hank)- plus he must have seen a lot of stuff- even before the camera crew got there.

Thanks for keeping up with this one and always reviewing.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 26, 2022 09:56 am Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

Get in! GREAT chapter, the chickens have finally come home to roost for Roy - well done Pam in keeping her head and her resolution! Really looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Well thanks lady. Glad you enjoyed. Happy to have Pam make her best move yet. 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 26, 2022 04:38 am Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

I need to post specifically on the video. Number one, what a brilliant song, downloading that on to my phone; and two - OMG - that is one hell of a set of cameos! Nice find!

Author's Response: Right - i've loved the song a while - now I love the video too. Glad to be able to share it.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 25, 2022 01:57 pm Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

HOLY CRUD. THAT MUSIC VIDEO. THAT IS THE MOST SERENDIPITOUS THING THAT HAS EVER HAPPENED. (I am forced to admit I was unfamiliar with this Ingrid song, which is too bad since it's a BANGER video or no video.)

"Toby stayed behind, muttering to himself as he stared at the image of a beach on his computer’s screen saver." *sigh* Poor Toby.

I continue to really love the whole premise of this fic being "what if Pam could see herself the same way the audience sees here?" It really is such a different perspective, and her being able to see the cracks in the concrete around her here is a well-chosen metaphor.

Oh, CRUD. Some base level time travel problems here (although it's interesting to see how much altered-timeline Pam is finding herself thinking much the same way...) And having to witness a Dwangela make-out session is just the cherry on top.

Props to Pam for pushing through it all at last... and to Roy, I guess, for doing his best to make it the obvious choice. Look up from the magazine, doofus, and pay attention to what she's saying and not just the measly details you're capable of picking up on.

LOVED her interior monologue here...

Author's Response:

THe song - right? The video- double right?

Toby, at least he can dream- but could you imagine his reaction had Pam come out from her hiding spot upon him?

Thank you for always coming to share your enjoyment of this fic - I know its dragged on so long but we are in the home stretch and many of the the throughlines are about to resurface (and that is a hint).

Thanks again always. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22, 2022 06:14 pm Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

O.M.G. Bye bye, canon! (Unless something goes horribly wrong, of course)

*She always knew there was something going on between them, but seeing Dwight and Angela making out was not only a sting to her eyes from the sight of them pawing at each other with way too much outside lip licking action, but her ears from the loud sucking noises that reverberated through the glass.*

Ha! This made me cackle.

*You think you’d miss me but it’s the idea of me you’d miss.*

This of course made me think of John Mayer. (Who do you love? Me, or the thought of me?) Also Meg Ryan in You've Got Mail. Anyway, great for Pam to say this to Roy.

*But what else should she expect, he hadn’t heard her in years. And it was her own fault because she let him drown out her voice, little by little until she could scarcely hear herself. But no more. She was done being silenced.*

GO PAM!

Author's Response:

It's no longer a canon timeline - but will things somehow snap back or happen ahead of schedule - time will tell (yeah I used that pun before but it still fits)...

Right before I edited this one I watched Superfan of Prince's Family Paper - the scene between Michael and Dwight and their lip licks signal. The way Dwight did it made me cringe and I knew I had to write it into what Pam witnessed.

These two clearly not meant for each other - Roy can't see it any more than Pam - they both seemed tied to an idea and not the person.  Roy was still awful though in how he treats her and GO Pam for finally seeing it and doing something about it.

Thanks again for the review. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22, 2022 09:10 am Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

Talk about self-reflection! Future Pam being able to see all the cracks around Past Pam was incredibly telling. We really get the sense that Future Pam is ready to move on from where she was to where she wants to be. Her confrontation with Roy shows that in superb form. If feels like she might have broken and caved to Roy like her past self did last night. However, Future Pam isn't the pushover she once was. She's had the steel in her spine forged and tempered to withstand the hardships now facing her. It's amazing all that's she's found out about herself and more importantly who has and who hasn't been there to help her along. Jim, Michael, Randall, Gabby, friends who have been there to walk along side and help her grow all in different ways. Yet Roy, the person who is supposed to be all that for her in one, treats her simply as his maid, cook, and bedwarmer. It really feels like the innocence of her youth has left her. She sees that Roy was attractive to her younger self, now as a more mature adult he fails the tests that will really bring her happiness. So yes it's still hard for her to end things, for both of them, but once more Future Pam is standing up for herself.

I also find it really interesting that it's not a big scream of fury that is what finally gets through to Roy. Clearly, he had been expecting a fight there at the end. When Pam changes tactics on him and ends things calmly, it hits him in a way he can't deal with and can't recover from. Nice job bringing that out.

So, the plan is in motion, and it seems like the first and biggest part is complete. Now to see how all the rest unfolds. Can't wait.

Author's Response:

Yup, Yup, Yup, and Yup. Breakup scene was one of the hardest parts in this to write (if you don't count keeping track of the different versions and the easy to mess up continuity and remembering which Pam experienced what) so I'm grateful for your review.

Thanks again. Looking forward to sharing how the rest turns out. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22, 2022 05:46 am Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

Also, totally forgot to say, omg that music video!!!! PERFECTION! Amazing find and a great song!

Author's Response:

I've known song for a while - been sitting on it since I started this fic. BUt I never did watch the video until I needed to share and you can imagine how excited I was. If only DD and JK were in it instead of the few I didn't know (and for a flash I thought one of those was JK). Now I love the song even more!!!

Glad you were excited by it too. 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22, 2022 05:42 am Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

This was all so beautifully written, loved it.
You wrote the break up so well here. Roy just doesn’t get it at all, and at the end he still says boyfriend. Amazing work.
The reference to Pam’s blue shirt was a great call out as it’s so strikingly different to her normal clothes.
Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response:

The breakup scene was one of the hardest parts for me to write so thanks for the kind words. You noticed the blue shirt - good!

TY again. 

 

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 22, 2022 05:42 am Title: Chapter 29 (If I had a) Time Machine

This was all so beautifully written, loved it.
You wrote the break up so well here. Roy just doesn’t get it at all, and at the end he still says boyfriend. Amazing work.
The reference to Pam’s blue shirt was a great call out as it’s so strikingly different to her normal clothes.
Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 19, 2022 06:23 pm Title: Chapter 28 - Pummeled Moles and Hissing Cats

This sort of cascading anger feedback loop is a very real thing and well described. Also, again, the detail of Roy being a road ragey-style terrible driver (and responding to criticism of it by driving even worse) is spot on.

This feels like some progress for Pam... maintaining her rage instead of letting it morph into sadness is important to defeating her passivity. Even if she's not quite prepared to keep it up. And it's good to see her, even without being able to have some perspective on herself from time travel, entertaining these doubts.

And our current timeline Pam seems like she's finding her footing, maybe for good! Might not be coming as fast as she would like, but she's making moves in a way that works for the long term.

Author's Response:

Cascading anger feedback loop - This is precisely what I've been trying to convey this whole time and here you put it words I couldn't have said better myself. 

Close but no cigar for past Pam, but with new Pam's influence she's at least had the thought and made an attempt.

Good thing New Pam will be taking the reins with the next chapter which I can't wait for you to read!!!! 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: July 18, 2022 10:11 pm Title: Chapter 28 - Pummeled Moles and Hissing Cats

It's a good plan, it is, although... I fear something is bound to go horribly wrong and I'm not ready.

*‘Why can’t you see that? Why don’t you see me?’*

This is such a lovely statement... simple but very compelling.

*From almost the day he stepped into the Dunder Mifflin office, she knew a tiny seed had found its way inside her and though she tried to shield it from sunlight and limit its water so it couldn’t break through to the surface, it somehow still managed to fester and bloom to a flower where she never imagined one could grow.

A multi-petaled thing of beauty she forced herself to believe was just a friendship and nothing more.*

Loved this!

*When paired with the glower of contempt she also threw their way, it was clear Angela did not approve of the friendship they shared. And while the other Pam may have been too focused on Jim to notice the disapproving look being cast in her direction, the Pam watching the scene from her hiding spot did and knew just what the opinionated blonde was thinking, it was amoral and wrong that she be engaged to another man and carry on with Jim as she did.*

Ha! Hahahaha oh Pam, if only you knew...

Author's Response:

Where's the fun if all goes right (just kidding- or not- want to keep the suspense going).

Thanks as always for the support and the review. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2022 03:52 pm Title: Chapter 28 - Pummeled Moles and Hissing Cats

Oh Past Pam. So close and yet so far. I mean that was probably the closest she's come to really breaking it off. Replaying all the ways he's not good for her, how she knows she wasn't really angry at Jim but that Jim was just a target of opportunity. A little bit of steel there from her by yelling at Roy, but Past Pam is still Past Pam and can be easily swayed by the same old routine that Roy has always pulled. So, instead she's just left feeling sad again. Oof.

Future Pam seems to be lining her ducks up a little more. Good! Make sure she's got everything ready and set. After all she's about to make a pretty big change in her life.

Though we're still left waiting to see how it all finally pans out. REALLY looking forward to that.

Author's Response:

Yeah, well the new incidents occurring to Past Pam because of changes made by future Pam are hitting her, just not quite enough...good thing future Pam is getting those ducks lined up.

Thanks as always for your review.

Reviewer: MrsKHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: July 17, 2022 08:40 am Title: Chapter 28 - Pummeled Moles and Hissing Cats

Oh my god! The reasoning from Roy, I just wanted to scream!!! I could totally see this in canon, Jim using the wedding against Pam to stop her from pursuing art and making himself look like the caring boyfriend, sorry, fianc?.
The tickling after. Ick!! But again, I could SO see this happening
Very well done! 👏

Author's Response:

 

Well, Roy just sucks.

Thanks for your review. 

 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2022 11:05 pm Title: Chapter 27 - The Plan

Things are moving apace. It’s delightful for Pam to finally have some self-awareness AND some drive to change things. Looking forward to the home straight!

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 11, 2022 11:05 pm Title: Chapter 27 - The Plan

Things are moving apace. It’s delightful for Pam to finally have some self-awareness AND some drive to change things. Looking forward to the home straight!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 06:10 pm Title: Chapter 27 - The Plan

Okay, we've got Pam moving forward here, but I'm concerned about Randall AND Gabby's health now. And I'm wondering about the long-term ramifications of Pam's choice to stay with Michael instead of going with Randall... feels like a possible fork in the road.

Good lorde. I hadn't even thought of what happens after with Michael going through the rest of his life knowing he's time traveled. That could be a story in and of itself. I like that you're giving him something of a journey here too.

Michael both not really getting Pam and Roy and being HEARTBROKEN about Brad and Jen is peak Michael, and if it wasn't his promptly taking credit for Jim and Pam is.

Eeeep! I'm nervous about the next chapter.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 03:48 pm Title: Chapter 24 - A New Twist on Randall's Theory

This was a nice break from Michael's antics, tbh! I like Randall's take on this, I hope Pam and Michael use it

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 03:43 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Packer Patrol

To start, I loved Michael bringing up Elvis. Nice little callback to our friends in Part II! Also, Michael bringing up Pam's artwork?! Ugh, I love their friendship in this so so much!

Poor Pam, a lot on her mind. I hope she makes the right decision!

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 03:43 pm Title: Chapter 23 - Packer Patrol

To start, I loved Michael bringing up Elvis. Nice little callback to our friends in Part II! Also, Michael bringing up Pam's artwork?! Ugh, I love their friendship in this so so much!

Poor Pam, a lot on her mind. I hope she makes the right decision!

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 03:34 pm Title: Chapter 22 - Espresso and Popcorn

OH SHIT. It was Darryl?! Huh...
I love the Michael nuances you added here, it's very Michael Scott 😂
I mean, just because Roy wasn't cheating on her, doesn't mean she isn't blind to what she has been learning... 😂

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 03:28 pm Title: Part III - Chapter 21. Boxes and Cracks

Hi, I am so behind on reviews for Part III. My apologies, now:

MAX. THE EARRING 😭. I love how well you tie their universe along with the canon one. I always enjoy reading it. Poor canon Pam is coming closer and closer to realizing Roy's truth, I can feel it. LOVED this chapter!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 09:55 am Title: Chapter 27 - The Plan

Fancy New Beesly is here and in full force. I love the fact that she's taken all the lessons of the past two weeks to heart like this. She's an active agent in her own life now rather than letting someone else determine things for her. Wonderful to see that. It's been a long journey but it's been worth it no doubt.

Michael has grown too. Being more responsible, coming up with good suggestions and ideas, very much being a father figure here. Every so often Michael seems to forget to act as if he's on stage so to speak. That seems to be when we get the best moments from him. Behind all the bluster and cravings for attention, there is a man with a heart of gold who truly and deeply cares about those who are important to him. I really like seeing that come out a lot stronger here. That Pam acknowledges that I'm sure is a big bump to his self esteem. She wants to be with him. She wants to include him because he's important. Unlike Packer who would only include Michael because of what he can get out of Michael for his own selfish reasons. Great to see that character growth. Also that he really does have a pulse on Pam mental state. The line where he says it's about time that she broke up with Roy shows that. He's a perceptive guy and can often see things pretty clearly. Probably why he's a great salesman. He sees ways to connect with people they might not see themselves. Great job bringing out that side of his character that very often gets lost.

So, now, hopefully, at long last we get to see how this all plays out. How clear-eyed Pam with newly forged steel in her spine takes control of her own life and happiness. She's stood up to the avalanche of the past two weeks and come out on top. Now it's time for her to start her own avalanche and see who has the strength and willingness to stand with her, and who will get swept away. Can't wait to see what comes next.

And there's still something supernatural going on with Randall. I'm with Pam in not really buying the whole spinal stenosis thing. As always time will tell.

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: July 07, 2022 07:48 am Title: Chapter 27 - The Plan

Love Kelly's reaction to Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston (and Michael's) and Pam's observation that Michael, too, is growing on this journey.

*Katy, with who it never would have worked with anyway. Pam knew as much from just the one longer conversation she had with her on the boat. She was not right for Jim at all and in time he would have seen it. Or would he? It took her over nine years to see how wrong Roy was for her.*

I like Pam's self-awareness here.

I'm pretty sure this is not your plan, but it would be a really fun idea (if Pam really does get together with Jim in s2) to see how the events of s3 would transpire differently? The merging of the branches, etc. Or maybe they messed something up by getting together too soon?

Anyway, nice chapter. Let's see what tomorrow brings...

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans