You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: boredhswf Signed [Report This]
Date: October 15, 2021 01:53 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

I’m FINALLY getting caught up with everything and this story was one of the first. So sorry!

Also, I’m not sure how much advice I give beyond “hey that sounds great!” but I’ll take it!

So I think Michael is actually a pretty tricky character to write and you seem to do such a great job at nailing his voice. This whole opening scene is no exception and I can absolutely see him doing all these things.

I love that you mentioned Faulkner and using it to insult Roy is just an added bonus.

I also think it is quite clever how you are setting this up. It’s very believable, which I feel was not easy to accomplish. Can’t wait to keep reading!

Author's Response:

Never underestimate what a little support can do. Even just being able to bounce ideas off my friends and having them to be excited for me is a big boost.

Thanks for the vote of confidence with my Michael writing. There will be a lot of him in this story and getting him right is crucial. Don't know what it says that I can get in his head so well, but I'll take it.

Love to stick it to that ignorant buffoon.

Again so glad you are coming along on this trip - can't wait for you to read more too.  

 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2021 03:51 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

Max, I gasped when I saw this pop up and I finally got to read it! I can't wait to see where you go with this!!

Also, "His first words were “I hate it, Pam. It makes me think of frog guts in my pants.” made me literally laugh out loud. Such a perfect Michael thing to say.

Fantastic job and I'm dying to read more!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much.

It's always great to hear what worked and I'm glad you thought the whole frog bit played.

I'm excited for you to see where it goes too, and hope it continues to live up.

 

Reviewer: Basscop69 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2021 02:59 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

Jim and Pam! And time travel! I am very, very excited about this. An Office/Harry Potter crossover is exactly the thing I didn’t realise I needed in my life.

I also never thought I’d enjoy hearing so much about Michael’s hatred of his new carpet, but you nailed it. This is exactly the type of thing I could see Michael doing Pam’s head in about, exactly as you’ve written it. And the sterling and platinum hues made me lol.

Jim and Pam bonding over Harry Potter is adorable, I love her ability to discuss the movies in-depth with him vs her conversations with Roy. (I also loved Dwight’s view that Rowling is a bitter squib). Really can’t wait to see where this goes!

PS happy archiversary!!

Author's Response:

I call it a crossover but really it is more of a borrowed concept. Hermione and Harry will not make an appearance, not quite.
I had a lot of fun with this but it was a challenge. Hope it lives up.
Yeah Michael likes things the way he's used to them so of course a new carpet would throw him off.
What can't Jim and Pam bond over, especially if Dwight's busy listening in.

Thanks again for the review. Can't wait for you to read more.

Reviewer: Comfect Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2021 06:55 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

Definitely here for this: currently teaching HP and love the concept you have introduced. Wonder who will travel? And if we'll get the kind of near-misses we get in HP? Love the setup!

Author's Response:

Thank you - it has been a fun and challenging write so far.

teaching HP? That sounds interesting - your students must love your class. What level?

Stay tuned to see.

 Thanks Again. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2021 05:31 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

I sparked this idea!? Hey how about that! suffice to say that sorry no I don't remember that conversation. Kinda wish I did at this point though.

Fun way to start things off. Michael in all his blustery make things about me Michael-ness. We also can get a glimpse into the Pam-Roy dynamic here. They just don't seem to click. Roy has to be bribed to do things with her. Jim however wants to spend as much time with her as possible. Could be interesting to see if that develops any further.

Dwight as a believer that magic and fantasy exists tracks wonderfully. After all Jim did convince him mind control was a thing and that he, Jim, was turning into a vampire. Great fun with that.

Wonderful start and I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response:

You did - didn't even realize it huh. 

Glad you liked it so far - yeah Roy is a non-reading, pig and Jim is an HPP fan (Harry Potter and Pam)

Thanks for the review and appreciation always. 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2021 04:12 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

This is such a fun premise! I can’t wait to see where you take it.

* Roy would often make fun of her, reminding her how they were written for children as if he were busy reading Proust or Faulkner when he hadn’t picked up a book himself since they graduated high school. *

This made me laugh, although Pam giving Roy a BJ is an image I could have done without 😂

Super excited for this, the prank setup is amazing and I love how you wrote Michael. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response:

Thanks and I'm sorry but Roy is a pig who doesn't read - at least not anything with words.

Glad my Michael worked for you- he's fun to write but also a little hard sometimes (TWSS).

Thanks for coming along and the review.

 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2021 03:56 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

First: HAPPY ARCHIVERSARY. AGAIN.

But perhaps even more importantly: TIME. TRAVEL. FIC. IT'S HERE.

First, Michael complaining about the carpet is officially my favorite opening of all your fics. SO MICHAEL. You've very much captured the simultaneous boss/employee but also child/parent dynamics that define Pam and Michael's relationship and Michael's personality, and the little details here (like the very specific act of bullying the carpet smell evokes) are spot on. You can picture the way this post-The Carpet "episode" would play out.

It's also surprisingly easy to see Dwight being a Harry Potter truther... especially in a world where he might have a point, that seems like the sort of thing he'd know and Jim and Pam would roll their eyes at him about. And of course Roy is the non-reader making fun of people for liking kids' books... and using sex as a bartering tactic. Because he's the WORST.

Creed as a wizard almost makes too much sense.

This is a fun start - at this point it feels like it could either be a time travel story or just a Harry Potter-themed prank, which is intriguing. REALLY looking forward to seeing how this all plays out, and the JAM of it all.

Also, you may have been the first person to make the connection, at least in recent memory, that the final Harry Potter books came out shortly after Season 1 and 3 concluded. Which is. Interesting. And I am definitely making a note of.

(P.S. Was that a Randall Einhorn shout-out?)

Author's Response:

Thank you thank you thank you - I really did mean it that your excitement was very encouraging as this story developed and keeps developing.

I'm glad you felt it was in the true Michael spirit. He can be a hoot to write but sometimes I wonder if I'm getting across what I see and hear when I imagine him.

I'm a little surprised Dwight's belief in wizards wasn't ever something addressed on the show. 

I'm excited for you to read more and really hope it lives up to your excitement for it. 

Note away, there is a lot of material there. And I did reread and rewatch my HP (although my model may not exactly match up) oh I can tell you lots about time travel models and which movies and books follow which of these but that's for another time.

Why yes it was. Sort of.

 Thanks again....

 

Reviewer: grc73 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 05, 2021 03:46 pm Title: Part I: Chapter 1. New Carpet

So I have to say that to call me a beta is really a loose term as all I’ve really done is have the pleasure of reading this up-front and confirmed a couple of things. For those reading the reviews first, you are in for a treat!

Max, happy MTT Authiversory! You’ve done a fabulous job on this and even having read the drafts so far, I’m excited to read on.

Author's Response:

Thank you - for both the kind review and the upfront read- it really is a help both for my confidence and to catch anything I could be too close to see. And of late the insights are so valuable so You deserve the credit.

Thanks again. 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans