If you are an archive member and would like to join these forums please contact us and we'll send you an invite

The Non-Office Fanfic Thread

Are you an MTTer who has spread your talents around to other fandoms? Promote your fic here!

If you are a reader who has found an amazing non-Office fic you think other MTTers may enjoy, you can post that here as well.
Tagged:

Comments

• Not really a fanfic, but this seemed the most appropriate thread to post this in. As most of you know, I'm a paramedic. A few days ago I had a rough call at work. I went home and went to sleep after the shift. When I woke up I still had thoughts bouncing around in my head about the call. So I decided to try and write them out. This was the result.

I'd very much value your thoughts and feelings about this. I've had a few calls to try and submit it for publication on an EMS website, but wanted to get some more feedback before I went down that route.

Thank you,
    warrior4

Fighting Uphill

An hour and a half longer, that's all you have left in your shift.

You kick off your boots and settle into the easy chair at the station and lean back for a rest.

It doesn't last.

The tones sound as they always do, "male unresponsive" comes over the air as you sit up and zip your boots back up.

The lights are on and the siren screams as more information comes in from dispatch. "CPR in progress."

Mentally you're rehearsing the steps as you hear Fire and PD acknowledge their own dispatchers.

Police cars are already on scene as you arrive with Fire right behind you.

You step out of the cab and into the back of the truck. The jump bag is already on the cot. You add the monitor, drug bag, and IV kit.

While you and your partner wheel the cot across the grass you see pre-teen age kids chasing after the dogs that got out. Crap, this man is a father.

You walk up the steps and there's a Police Officer bobbing over your patient’s chest performing CPR.