You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2021 08:17 pm Title: Epilogue

"But mostly at the moment she felt sadness because she knew she would miss him terribly. Foolish, immature, and narcissistic Michael who she often wanted to murder and who had sometimes made her life a living hell but was also one of the most caring and kindest people she’d ever known."

This was so lovely. I really enjoyed the way you connected all the seemingly disparate stories, and brought it back full circle. Great job!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much - this seems to be something in your wheelhouse so to hear this from you is a true compliment.

I am curious - since originally I had no epilogue - I thought it was pretty apparent how it came full circle in the last chapter but quickly learned it didn't - had you picked up on the ending in the last chapter or did you need the epilogue to fully understand? 

In the end I am glad I wound up with the epilogue since it gave me a chance to write more Michael/Pam and I loved writing their goodbye. I even cried a bit.

I happen to be in the middle of a chapter where something referenced in the last chapter makes an appearance so its like Kismet you reading this story now.

Anyway Thank You for bringing life back to this story - it was one I had a whole lot of fun with and when they fall into the archive they are missed and the buzz that goes along is missed too. It sounds like you've written a whole lot before so I think you might get that. So thanks for bringing some hum back for me.

And thanks too for becoming part of MTT - you are a very welcome addition around here. 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2021 08:12 pm Title: Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

Jim and Pam work adorably as thirteen year olds. You really made all of this work so well.

Author's Response:

Well thank you - I do owe a lot of credit to my son - he let me bounce ideas off him and he even discussed writing his own version of the story (but lost interest soon after) - I do hope it came off as a meeting that had an impact but not enough to actually remember that they'd met years before for a blip in time and that their Pamness and Jimness came through.

Just a little side note here - this all came about from my first fan fic here and ever--a very primitive and very long first date story and not my finest work--but had a few nuggets like the Bar Mitzvah Michael wanted to throw himself. 

Thank you kindly. 

 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 28, 2021 05:21 pm Title: Pop-a Shot and Salty Coke

"It wasn’t so much that she thought the guy was anything special. He was cute in a dorky kind of way, with an unkempt thatch of hair, very much in need of a trim, a wrinkled dress shirt that seemed a little big on him and a dimpled smile that screamed troublemaker."

Oh god, I adored this description. Wonderful.

Author's Response:

Oh yes Jim was Jim long before she knew him, or we knew him. His pranks were basic and childish - it would be a while before they would become more sophisticated (and some of them stayed as basic and childish as salty coke).

So glad you are enjoying this. 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2021 05:32 pm Title: Valentine’s with the Vance's

"In retrospect, his inability to keep her from penetrating his every thought was just another confirmation to Jim, that no matter what they were always meant to be together; that a more powerful force was at work. It was not really in his nature to have such a strong conviction about a concept such as kismet, he didn’t usually believe in signs, or ghosts, or horoscopes. The supernatural was something to enjoy on television or the movies, it didn’t exist in real life. He never once avoided a crack for the sake of his mother or wasted more salt over his shoulder because he was clumsy enough to spill some in the first place. But of his destiny to be with Pam, of that he was sure of."

Oh my god, I LOVE this. Slightly related: it's not really clear in canon (other than a church wedding and a christening which I assume were both Pam's or Pam's parents idea?) if Jim is religious. Do you have a take on this?

Author's Response: Thanks so much. It’s funny it’s been a bit since I wrote this story that when I started reading your review I was like “wait did I write that? But it came back to me as I got to kismet and the whole thing about ghosts was meant to be a nod to the Halloween episode late in the show where Pam talks about having seen a ghost and Jim is kinda appalled by it. 


In response to your question I think they both were raised with religion and had faith and attended church from time to time.  (Interesting fact the last name is in fact Hebrew and there have been a few fics that have featured a Jewish Jim) as many (not all) young single folk I think they probably didn’t go often until they had children and they re-embraced as they would want to also raise their kids with faith. But that is just my take.  

So the next few chapters are flashback.  Long ago flashback so no Michael but the end will have more of him.  Hope you enjoy the cream filling. 

Oh and thanks again for the review 

Reviewer: tinydundie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: May 27, 2021 05:27 pm Title: The Butterfly Effect

“Ok, first of all, we agreed there were certain names not to be spoken in this bed."

This made me laugh out loud.

You know how much I love when Pam shows her care and concern for Michael! This is great, excited to read the rest.

Author's Response: I’m thrilled you are reading and enjoying this. Because I love the insights you have and love the way you write, I’m very excited to get your thoughts on my little fic. 


Yes, I too have a soft spot for the Pam/Michael relationship but I take it Jim was a little less tolerant of it especially when it was “brought to bed with them”. 

Thanks for making me smile too with your review.  

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: December 01, 2020 07:27 am Title: Epilogue

Nice way to wrap all this up. This adds a lot more depth to the story as well as clearing up the end of the last chapter. You're right. Often it's the things we least expect that have the biggest impact in ways we can't understand at the time. Nice way to tie all that in. Also great look into Pam's thought process as she watches Micheal leave and return home to her family. Well done.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 29, 2020 06:16 pm Title: Epilogue

This definitely puts an end to any doubt, and wrapping it up by explicitly touching on the idea of destiny makes the agenda of the story very clear. As I said, the idea of bring it all back around to Michael's destiny, making that the framing device for this story about Jim and Pam's past and then tying it all back together, is a strong story-telling choice and I like this a lot.

I'm also appreciative of the glimpse you've given us into the Michael-Pam bond, which is kinda the real reason this whole discussion between Jim and Pam started. I have mixed feelings about that relationship in hindsight, but it's certainly a central one in the show and doesn't get a whole lot of love in fic.

Author's Response:

In the end I'm glad you didn't get it at first (nor did Warrior, so not on you, on me)- because it brought about the epilogue. 

And I like how that came out too. Even though it brought in one more time jump and another element to the story (the Michael-Pam bond as you mention).

In writing the goodbye I got a little misty, but in a good way. Kinda like what I imagine what Pam felt at the end here.

Yes, it is a relationship that one questions sometimes but there is a very real bond there. Especially after Michael Scott Paper Co.

Thanks for reviewing one last time and your truly kind praise. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 05:28 pm Title: Meant to Be

Oh, interesting! That's a really good piece of storytelling, actually, bringing it back around like that. I'm sorry I missed that.

So, there are MAYBE a few tweaks you could make, but before you even considered doing so, I would bring up two things.

First, I also missed the time theme developing with the gifts in a fic you literally titled "The Gift of Time," so you should strongly consider that I'm just Not That Bright.

Secondly, I'd get some feedback from someone who reads this straight through as opposed to in installments. It's been about a while since I read the Michael-Holly part of this, and I think it might just not have been in the forefront of my mind - I just reread it from beginning to end, and I feel like it might have clicked with me what you were doing if it hadn't been so long since I read Michael's part of the story. I mean, you primed the pump during Jim's speech, mentioning that he had said something about this last week, you've done some work to set this up.

Author's Response:

I don't think it's that. If anything your reviews are quite insightful so I won't consider your brightness a factor.  You seem quite bright to me - def more Oscar than Kevin   

I will consider with all else you read and review (which is more appreciated that you realize) and the fragmented nature in the way you read this one that not having just read it, played a factor.

however I think it was missed by my only other reviewer so I have to consider that my storytelling was  lacking the clarity to see it.  

Wish I had a little more feedback to go to but I don't think there's much of a following for this one.  

 In any case I'm already working on a short epilogue.

Thanks for helping me on this one and trying to make me feel better about my own story shortcoming.  It really does help to have reviewers like you both for ego boosting and story assistance.  

 Many thanks again.   

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 12:23 pm Title: Meant to Be

Oh, Jim. Sadly, you're not going to get all that much better at dealing with conflict and/or women who aren't Pam. Too bad - that's years of Roy that could've been avoided! At least he got Adam good.

I really liked this one! I always appreciate people building on canon, and this was a really fun way to do it - and to prove jelly bean love is forever.

I am struck by the Scranton Strangler mention at the end - just an Easter Egg, or a hint about the dark path that getting paper towel-bombed set Adam on?

Author's Response:

 

 Yes in some ways Jim stayed stuck at 13 well into his twenties. 

Jelly Belly love is forever.  

Thaks for showing this story some love.   

I do appreciate it.   

But I guess my ending wasn't as clear as I thought it would be.  So the story starts with Pam returning from her trip with Michael where she discovers more about his feelings for Holly and hers for him and laments to Jim how she is sad for them.  Jim reacts with his meant to be speech and if Michael and holly are likewise meant to be it will somehow work out for Michael and holly as it did for them.  

This launches into the prior meeting which is the crux or the story.  But there's a side story too.  

 How did Holly return to Scranton? Toby took leave to be juror, on what case?  See where I'm going here? The end makes the meant to be not just about pam and Jim but Michael and holly too.   

I guess my vision did not come across and that's my bad. I wish I knew how to fix the end to make it more clear, maybe a revision that ends with a flash forward.   Any advice? 

 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 28, 2020 11:05 am Title: Meant to Be

Very cute way to wrap things up. Teenage Jim and Pam are adorkable in the best ways. Through all this, it's felt very real. As much as we would like Jim and Pam to get together early, that's just not in the cards for them. They're still in the awkward phase of life where they don't really know what to do. You captured that really well.

However as Jim said, they did get together in the end and it does make for a great story. Well done with this one. It was a lot of fun.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat

Author's Response:

Thanks as always warrior. Adorkable -is this a well known word or did you make it up either way I LOVE IT.  It fits them so well especially at that age.  I feel when they got together finally they helped oeach other out of some of that dorkiness but retained enough that made them adorkable in love.  

Im so glad you thought it felt real - I do try very hard to keep things in my story from going too far from reality. And that I painted a true enough picture of adolescence and all that goes along with that phase of life and that I shared a little of my culture (in a small sense with the Mitzvah party)   

I'm grateful for the attention you paid to this story and your reviews always.  I am curious if you got the meaning behind the ending as I'm thinking I might need to add an epilogue to explain it.

thanks again for the review and the new word.   

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 26, 2020 06:11 pm Title: Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

Really cute to see young Jim and Pam connect here. Seems like even from the start there were things getting in the way of them getting together. Still they're young so there's that.

Lots of fun to think Pam is taller than Jim here. Probably the one and only time that will ever happen. Lots of fun with this update.

Author's Response:

Hope you had a very happy thanksgiving.  This chapter kind of makes me think of a Charlie Brown thanksgiving with the jelly beans so it's somewhat appropriate you got to read it yesterday.   

Yes, girl code very serious at that age, at any age.   

I like to think even though he doesn't remember her specifically, he does discover his love for Jelly Bellys and that plays a part in his future with her so there's that. 

Thanks again.

 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 25, 2020 06:57 pm Title: Jelly Belly Jelly Beans

Oh, Pam. I hope you’re enjoying this while it lasts, because you’re not going to be taller than Jim next time y’all meet.

The line about the cruel trick of nature making everyone involved feel uncomfortable is just… very true. As someone who remained that short, hits me right in the feelings. In general you’ve done a great job capturing the sheer amount of painful self-awareness that comes with that age bracket, along with the touch of nastiness of an age group that’s still learning empathy.

Young Jim and Pam bonding over jelly beans? You slay me. Both a fun callback (call-forward?) to their relationship as adults AND a slight enough interaction that it could go forgotten, which works here. (And I think it makes total sense that they would pay zero attention to the adult in the room.)

And the twist that Marcy is into Jim stings. There’s always *someone* standing between them that they need to be willing to push away, isn’t there?

(Next cold open is… hopefully coming soon? I’ve spent a lot of time staring at one that’s about 70% done, so that could happen tomorrow or in January.)

Author's Response:

Ahh - teenage years - long past for me but they obviously leave an impression - plus my boys are going through some of it now so I'm going at it from two angles. It's good to hear you feel I've captured some of the feelings and even some of the ugly that is part of adolescence. 

I'm thrilled you liked my "origin" story to the Jelly Bean addiction - Ooops Jelly Belly addiction. Glad you said it was slight enough to be forgotten - that was my only hiccup - thinking it was unrealistic they wouldn't  remember each other so thanks for that. 

As for Marcy - yup -you nailed it and girl code is a very real thing at that age.

Thanks for bringing me another smile with your review.

Looking forward to the Cold Open or anything else you'll be posting soon. 

In fandom. 

 

 

 

  

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 06:54 am Title: Snowballs and an Eternal Flame

Jim does seem appropriately young teenage - a little bit self-absorbed, a little bit insecure, a little bit preoccupied with social status. It's a good mix with the flashes we see of the Jim we'll come to know, who prefers someone he can laugh with over someone with flash and who regards obnoxious behavior as a challenge to be solved.

I love getting Jim's perspective on this early eyes-met-across-a-crowded-room moment - of course she's effortlessly charmed young Jim!

Again, I think this remains pretty plausible as a forgotten prior meeting - you dance with plenty of cute girls at bat mitzvahs at that age, but the flying shoe is definitely gonna be what they retain.

Author's Response:

Hearing this from a guy's perspective, I'm glad to hear hit the notes or at least got near enough to them to be plausible. It helps I live with 2 boys who have recently been that age - even if they let me see glimpses of what they were like among their peers. But I did ask for their input on this one and they were very helpful. 

But I did want to still have the little nods to who Jim is, beyond being a typical teen. Like how he's more comfortable with the girl he could laugh with than the one that looks good on his arm. But he also does react to a good ego-stroking and likes a pretty girl- I kind of saw that in him when he dated Katy. I think at 13 you can be somewhat fickle too.

Glad you still think its plausible as a forgotten meeting. Like I said it's supposed to be based in canon. 

This has been a fun story to write and I'm glad to hear you are enjoying it. 

Thank again for being a steadfast reader and reviewer. With all the fics going up lately I do appreciate that you take the time not only to ready my stuff but give me input. It really is so great to hear reviews, so thanks again.

Oh and when is the next rejected cold open coming? I could use a good hearty laugh.

 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 23, 2020 05:56 am Title: Snowballs and an Eternal Flame

Skipping to the end quick because I just have to put this in because of that picture at the end. I know have a vision of young Jim and young Pam dancing together. However for the one and only time in their lives Pam is taller than Jim. Akward gangly armed Jim with a Pam who's just starting to bloom. D'awwwww.

So this was fun. Having never attended a Bar or Bat Mitzvah this was a nice look into how these things go. I feel you Jim with your feelings about Adam. Some people don't grow out of that so prank him as hard as you can.

I kind of can't wait till Adult Jim and Pam really get into the memories of this party. Maybe a trip through old photo albums is in order? After all based on her reaction to his high school yearbook photo, Pam loves early dorky Jim. Earlier dorkier Jim would probably be even more fun.

Lovely job with this one.

Author's Response:

Glad you liked the picture - as mentioned in the Discord chat, the rabbit holes we go down for research - I found this while doing mine and it was too good not to share. I also watched a few videos from bar/bat mitzvahs of the day - my memory is a little fuzzy and I needed to refresh it. The ones held now are a lot more teched out but follow roughly the same pattern.

They'll be a bit more about the height difference in the next chapter. It was actually my son, who btw is now the tallest in my family who suggested it when I asked for his input. Guess he remembers being shorter than the girls around this time too. I will tell him you appreciated it.

There's a bit more to come but I barely scratch the surface of the material that can be written from these events. A bunch of 13-year-olds at a fancy party, usually without their parents. Think school dance on steroids. 

Oh and you know they'll be digging out the old photo albums next time they visit with the folks. 

I'm really having a good time writing this one and happy to hear you are enjoying it. Nice to know it can be appreciated even if you don't know from what goes on at these events.  

As always thanks for being a steadfast reader and reviewer. I know there is a lot of stuff getting posted now so I do appreciate your taking the time to take my stuff for a spin.

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2020 05:18 pm Title: Pop-a Shot and Salty Coke

So far lots of fun. Pam seems lovely in her party dress. This also seems like it's pre-Roy too. Love that. I really like stories of where Pam and Jim met and hit it off early like this. And the way you've done it is great. Jim pranking the Dwight type character, Pam laughing at it. What great foreshadowing of things to come. Classic prank too. I remember one I pulled back in high school, telling some buddies some chicken wings were Teriyaki flavored when in fact they were the hottest sauce the place had. That was pretty funny, for me that is.

Looking forward to more of this.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the smile.  I can always count on you to read and respond and your reviews always make me smile.

  

 The Adam character has shades of Dwight absolutely since there's always that guy.  

 The classic prank as I mentioned was courtesy of my son. I'm sure he would appreciate the hot sauce one too.  

  Glad you are enjoying, more coming soon.   It's marinating.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 19, 2020 12:35 pm Title: Pop-a Shot and Salty Coke

There's a lot of great characterization of Pam here. The bit about the dress is so telling - you get to see some of the class stuff going on here as well as Pam's personal insecurity. And I really appreciate that she's using her limited purse space for a sketchbook.

You do a good job making her *feel* 13, too - how dressing up like this is still novel for her and her envy of the girls who seem to have figured out teenagedom.

The way they end up having this mutual friend feels organic and plausible. And I love this dismissive first impression of Jim that turns into them bonding over her catching him playing a prank on a proto-Dwight. Not a very sophisticated prank, but I guess he's still learning. He'll be tricking people into thinking they've committed murder soon enough.

Really enjoying this one so far!

Author's Response:

Thanks Joe (alright if I call you Joe? -you can call me Beth, as that's my real life name)

I was a 13-year-old girl a long time ago so it was a trip to go back in my mind but in reality sometimes I still feel that young - still have bouts of insecurity, jealousy, etc except now I think they call it FOMO. I hope I did a good job making her Pam just younger with her humor, shyness and her secret sass.

As for Jim - he's 13 too so yes the pranks lack the inventiveness and creativity. Love that you call Adam a proto-Dwight - it was too far fetched to make him really Dwight but there's also a type, right. Hope I can do 13-year-old Jim justice in your opinion - had my boys help me with it. 

Glad you are enjoying.

And as always thanks for reviewing. I can always count on getting yours and it always makes me smile.

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: November 18, 2020 07:40 pm Title: Valentine’s with the Vance's

Very cute way to get into the meat of this story. Golden Haired Pam is one of the most beautiful Pams and it's a treat to envision here. The way we get to the realization of the shared time from long ago felt very real. Remembering times past at Dunder-Mifflin leading into earlier times past. Great set up.

The end notes with Wayne and Garth were a fun note too. Nicely done.

Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed the realism here. That's what a aimed for, a natural way to back into he discovery.  Writing the past was the easier part of this fiction, getting there and bringing it back around was the part I struggled with but I'm really happy with how it turned out.  Your noting the set up is a great affirmation for me.  

Glad you liked Wayne and Garth too.  Imo the best way to indicate a time jump.  

Tomorrow we go back.    

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 18, 2020 07:10 pm Title: Valentine’s with the Vance's

I like you digging further in here on the idea that Jim believes they were on some level bound to end up together - certainly that's a big foundational part of his views on Michael's treatment of Holly if he thinks that some relationships are just MEANT to work out.

I love the placement of this whole conversation on Valentine's Day. It always bugged me that we saw so little of their Valentine's Days together (and missed the first one completely!), so filling in the gaps there has my enthusiastic approval. And I love the naturalistic way you end up getting there - this isn't a conversation about predestination that torturously makes its way into them discovering they've met before or some totally random confluence of events, it's a pretty normal progression from desperately seeking a non-awkward conversation with the Vances to memories of bar and bat mitzvahs past to a noteworthy incident having nothing to do with Them that they both remember. It's a nice and realistic touch.

That being said, I sure hope the holding-of-shoes-for-ransom tidbit turns out to be relevant to the flashback... looking forward to meeting Young Jim ad Pam!

Also, props for the Wayne's World reference.

Author's Response:

Love that you love the Wayne's world.  I don't know how many others will get it but I couldn't think of a better way to indicate we're going back.  

 I'm also glad you appreciated how the discovery came about.  The last time they discussed this was way back on their first date so it worked out that they were with the Vances this day.  It was after they went to a bar mitzvah that Michael wanted to throw his own so it seemed like something they would discuss especially in the post sex in the restroom awkwardness. 

The incident they both remember has shades of the crazy that happens so often in the office so maybe why it's slipped their mind for so many years.  I'm glad you felt the way they got there was natural and unforced. That was what I was going for.   

Maybe not that exact tidbit but some fun stuff.  Better I hope.  You will have to let me know

party on Wayne 

 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2020 05:05 pm Title: The Butterfly Effect

Nice set up here. Lots of fun detail sprinkled throughout about things we saw in canon, like the shag carpet. You did a great job of portaying the kind soul that Pam is. She does truly care. About Karen, about Micheal, about Jim. It's very sweet.

One of the things that I've always said makes Jim and Pam resonate so much is they feel like a very real couple. They have issues they have to deal with. Also it's not a get married and live happily ever after story. It's a get married and life goes on with all its ups and downs story. I saw that here with the little spat between them. It can't all be butterfiles and rainbows all the time. There are going to be disagreements. This chapter brings that out nicely.

Looking forward to seeing where this goes.

Author's Response:

First off a big thanks for the nudge to take on this story. It was largely due to the chat in the forum that I went for it and I'm so glad I did. I really did enjoy writing this one - so far it's my closest thing to an AU and I enjoyed writing from a different perspective.

Also thanks for the encouragement with regard to the use of show tidbits - it's having the camaraderie of other writers and fans like you that make this such a joyful experience. While I began writing for myself - especially in my longing to see more of the "behind the scenes" real relationship of Pam and Jim, it's the fandom on this site that have made this so much more rewarding and fun. From the jelly beans which are so great to receive to the reviews to the forum. 

I'm so glad you pointed out the realness of them as a couple - what could start as a tender moment can become tricky and that's real. But that they were able to stop it from becoming a real fight and turn it around speaks to who they are - I think they lost a little of that in season 9 (well, the writers made them).  I see what you did here pointing it out the butterflies - Nice.

One of my most favorite things in writing Pam and Jim is to to give them some depth beyond rehashing what we know of them from show (and that's why I was concerned about the use of too much head on show stuff) to show how they talk, yes in their banter which is fun but also in their learning about each other from stories from their past to how they deal with their feelings, to what excites them. I try to bring it out  more and more with each chapter/story I write. I still learn things about my husband and he from me an we've been together more than 20 years.

Excited to share more really soon. Excited you are along for the ride.

In fandom. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 17, 2020 04:23 pm Title: The Butterfly Effect

YAY! The Bar Mitzvah story!

I love the flirting about Pam's happy to be home look and the little details about their life together - Jim being a blanket hog, their financial arrangements. Makes it all seem a little more grounded and real.

The debate about Jim's role is interesting - I was always struck watching the early Holly episodes by the idea that *Jim Halpert* was downplaying love at first sight, but I think you've given him a pretty good argument here. In dealing with Michael and knowing his history with women, throwing some cold water on this was probably the smart move for his future with Holly. And I tend to think Jim making a move early on Pam might have had disastrous results for their relationship.

I also do think it's true to the characters at this point that Pam is a lot more invested in Michael's love life than Jim... although it does strike me that Pam has also heard about the Michael-Holly relationship largely second-hand, as opposed to Jim who had a front row seat. Lots to think about there.

Anyhow, it's an interesting opening, introducing the theme of predestination to open a prior meeting story. Looking forward to seeing where you go with it. (Also wanted to recommend you tag this as a response to the prior meeting challenge: http://mtt.just-once.net/fanfiction/modules/challenges/challenges.php?chalid=32)

Author's Response:

First can I say I love reading your reviews. You really have a way of highlighting what spoke to you in the story and showing appreciation for it. 

Pam and Jim's story after getting together (and not the parts we see on TV for the most part) is the thing I was missing most after season 3 and what drove me to seek out and then write my own fan fiction. It really brings me joy to paint the picture of their relationship and I'm so glad you enjoy it.

Yes, I thought a lot about this - Jim himself fell hard and fell almost instantly but Jim knew how to deal with it - Michael did not. I loved in the show Jim's advice to Michael but it did strike me as a little hypocritical or perhaps self-unaware that he poo-pooed the idea that Michael could feel so strongly about Holly so instantly when he himself had the same reaction to Pam. I almost would go on to say that it was a good thing she was engaged. 1, it kept him from making too early a move, 2, he gave Pam the opportunity to compare and contrast and realize how wrong Roy was for her and how right Jim was, 3, they got to be friends first which builds a much stronger foundation and 4, it made fore better television.

Pam also has such a kind heart and and it's in her nature to feel for Michael in this situation, just as did for Dwight following his break-up wit Angela.

I'm so excited to share the rest of this story - when I had my breakthrough, aha moment writing it I couldn't keep the grin off my face from joy of how I brought it all together. Story is largely written just working through last little pieces. And I enjoyed being young again as I wrote the Then parts.

Thanks for the tips on the challenge part. Absolutely, I will.

In fandom. 

 

 

 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans