Reviews For The Other Side
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: September 24, 2021 04:13 pm Title: Sole survivor

Jim's observation about the kids being pretty used to him being gone at this point is DEVASTATING.

Author's Response: I may or may not have cried while writing this chapter. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2021 07:10 pm Title: Sole survivor

Yeah this hurts. However something needed to snap. I think finally, Jim gets it. He's really faced with the whole, "you don't realize what you have till it's gone." He's gotten a taste of that. Being away from all of his family now. Not just the distances with Julia being away, but Pam, Cece, Phil, and Eloise. It' cut him to the core it feels. Feels like Pam is giving him one final chance. For the love of god Jim, don't screw it up.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2021 05:34 pm Title: Sole survivor

It was interesting to see things from Jim’s POV.
Hopefully the bad week he had will help him
make some changes, because Pam has had
it bad for months. At least Jim is aware that he could have two divorces under his belt if he doesn’t start to make different choices.
It must have stung to see that Pam had already
taken off her ring only after one week apart.
However, at least Pam’s not being stubborn,
and is still willing to keep trying to make their marriage going. I’m both nervous and looking forward to seeing their dinner date.
Jim better not cancel in her! 😡

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed [Report This]
Date: September 23, 2021 06:34 am Title: Sole survivor

I don't know why I was so shocked at the separation. I can't imagine how difficult Pam's call to Karen was for her to make. Jim should've made it.

I'm still finding it hard to feel sympathy for Jim. He could have fixed this ages ago. He seems to be getting a little taste of what Pam has endured for months, the big empty bed, crying himself to sleep.

He thinks that it's "been a week since his life fell apart", he seems as if he still doesn't quite get it. He stood by fiddling while Rome burned, while Pam burned.

You do this so well! All the emotions, heartache, ugh. It will be interesting to see if they are on the same page as far as what dinner's about.

He's hurt Pam so badly, can that pain inflicted over such a long period be forgotten or completely healed? She's right, sometimes love is not enough. It's got to be hard that it's taken the end of their relationship for him to suddenly find time.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 05:25 pm Title: I see this for what it is

OUCH OUCH OUCH OUCH OUCH.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 05:24 pm Title: Dreams

......Poor Karen!

As I mentioned previously, I so understand where she's coming from. To see her ex-husband flourishing with his new life, new spouse, more kids... it definitely hurts.

I can't wait to hear more!

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 11, 2021 05:21 pm Title: Reunion

It sucks how Karen is so cold to them. I get it, and can understand how she feels, but the blatant attitude would make me as anxious as they were.

Hopefully, she comes around, and thank GOD Julia isn't letting her mother's negativity get the best of her

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2021 08:43 pm Title: I see this for what it is

"She sighed, searching the reflection like she did all those years ago, trying to find her flaw, the thing that makes her so disposable, lovable only to a point."

Wow. That is a devastating line.

Author's Response: this is one of my favorite lines in the whole chapter, I'm glad you like it as well, but I'm sorry it made you sad!

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2021 05:28 pm Title: I see this for what it is

It was good to see Pam put her foot down.
I hope it continues even if she doesn’t feel the confidence deep down in herself.
Jim says he’s working for his family,
but there’s no point if he’s not going to be
with his family. There are other jobs out there
that he can do. It’s not like he’s performing heart
transplants. It’s only sports. At least Karen is gone.

Author's Response: Exactly! if he's not going to be home ever, what's the point of keeping the job? I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, and thank you for the review!

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2021 03:24 pm Title: I see this for what it is

Bye Karen!

This was beautifully painful. Of course I may have been rocking back and forth crying if you didn't promise things will get better. Pam is trying so hard to keep it together and reach out and Jim is in danger of creating a "too little, too late" situation. It's hard to imagine he doesn't see what's happening and where this is headed. They both know what happens when you don't communicate.

"...the thing that makes her so disposable, lovable only to a point." The last two paragraphs, oh my god. Poor Pam.

I am completely invested in these characters and this story. When I saw there was an update I was excited and afraid at the same time. More please!

Author's Response: I'm glad you weren't too upset after this chapter, and that you enjoyed it more than anything. because its never my goal to leave you heartbroken, lol. Hopefully the next few chapters are a little happier! thank you for the review. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: September 07, 2021 10:53 am Title: I see this for what it is

What I did like about this chapter is that Pam gets some steel in her spine and lays it out to Jim. Him, "doing this for his family," is tearing the family apart. Really good to see some clear stark truth come out. Pam's right, if he's a ghost of who he was due to that job, the job's not worth it. Really hope Jim listens to her before something more drastic happens.

Author's Response: I have feeling that Jim will listen to his gut, and do what's right. Thank you for the review!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2021 02:57 pm Title: Dreams

I will freely admit, I hate Karen exactly as much as I did at the beginning. #TruthHurtsFillipelli

Author's Response: I love this so much. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2021 09:59 am Title: Dreams

Really feel bad for Pam here. She's dealing with everything and just wants Jim. And he's gone. Gone before she wakes up and not there when she goes to bed. Really feels like she's about to snap. I can't help but wonder if the right target for her anger is Jim rather than Karen.

Speaking of Karen. Yes, it's nice to get some more backstory for her. However she's also the one putting herself in the position of watching Jim and Pam be parents. I doubt there's anyone who forced her to spend that week with them so it's on her. From that perspective Karen is being malicious to Pam. If she wants to get unstuck then she needs to get over herself and stop living in the past and the ruins of her former marriage. Granted that's quite hard what with Julia in the picture and all, but still.

Really hope Jim opens his eyes about all this soon, cause it feels like the whole house of cards that is their life right now is about to come crashing down.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2021 06:56 am Title: Dreams

Jim needs to get his head out of his ass and open his eyes before he has two ex-wives. I still have
little sympathy for Karen. She knew that she
was with Jim only because of Julia. Plus it was Karen that left Jim and started divorce proceedings!
It was go to see Pam finally telling Karen to let it go when it comes to getting married to Jim. Karen will never find happiness if she continues to be cold and distant because no one likes a narcissist.
As for Karen wanting to be a singer, perhaps she can still be a singer by going around
to local places in Scranton (and PA). Even if she’s never famous at least she’ll be doing something
that she’s passionate about.

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 16, 2021 05:48 am Title: Dreams

Wow!!!

I may hate Karen a bit less after this chapter, though I really feel it is unfair of her to be so terrible to Pam who has clearly put in effort with her over the years. It hasn't seemed like her marriage was all that happy before Jim & Pam ran into each other. Her treatment of Pam may not come from malice, but Pam would never know that & I'm sure it's obvious Pam is exhausted & unhappy. So I may feel a bit sympathetic towards Karen, but man am I starting to hate Jim. I'm close to wanting Pam to say "enough is enough" and take the kids and go. Jim seems nothing like the person who was so in love with Pam when they reunited and the storm clouds are gathering. Something is not right. I feel heartbroken for Pam. The kids too. What if Pam had called him die to an emergency? Though at this point it is, isn't it? This entire chapter made me sad.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 06, 2021 10:35 am Title: Reunion

Whelp, this is a wildly dislikable Karen, I think moreso than in the first story. I'm wondering how much that's driven by the obvious affection Julia has for Pam. But it certainly raises the temperature on the already heated question of how Pam and Karen are supposed to share a household.

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 09:50 am Title: Reunion

Karen is definitely living up to her name.
She reminds me of someone I know.
It’s no wonder she never got remarried.
Who would want her with that attitude?
Even though Jim spent the day with his family
there still seems to be a sad wall between Pam
and himself.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: August 04, 2021 05:16 am Title: Reunion

Yeah, Karen is living up to her name here. I really kinda hope that Pam or even better Julia tells her off for her rude behavior. Karen is a guest and should act like it. Not waltz around demanding everything be her way in a house that's not hers.

Still kind of heartbreaking to see Jim and Pam out of sync like this. There's glimpses of the connection they share, but still a big wall between them. Makes me wonder what's going to come of that.

Julia seems lovely as ever. I really hope she has a big part to play in hopefully healing some of the friction going on right now.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 01, 2021 05:47 pm Title: Fourteen years later...

Eloise! Aw, I love that they had a third child in Austin!

This was great! I love the insight to their future, and keeping Julia (and Karen, I guess) in their lives!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2021 09:57 pm Title: Fourteen years later...

A lot of interesting potential conflicts being introduced here - Pam vs. Karen, the challenges of their blended family spending time together and Julia's relation to Pam and her father's new kids, Jim's schedule and what looks to be some unwanted distance between them. Interested to see where you go with this.

Reviewer: Invisiblecynic Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2021 03:37 pm Title: Fourteen years later...

I was happy to see a new chapter up. The angst is thick here especially towards the end when you feel as if something big has or will be happening that Jim can't bring himself to discuss with Pam.

It's evident that she loves him deeply still. Not sure what Jim is thinking or feeling but I suspect we will soon.

Can't wait to see how Karen interacts with Pam, Jim, Julia and the kids.

Great chapter as always, even if it is S9 sad.

Author's Response: thank you for the review!

Reviewer: New Hogfan Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2021 09:37 am Title: Fourteen years later...

14 years, wow! Definitely a big jump.
This chapter was a bit on the sad side,
but fitting with JAM in S9, and their lack of communication.
I’m not too worried about them though, because
I have faith that JAM will work it out.
I had to laugh at another review of
Karen living up to her name. 😂
I have also thought of how Karen turned
out to be a good name for the character.
I am curious about Pam and Karen’s
relationship after all these years.
It does seem very awkward.
Did Karen ever get remarried?

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm so happy to hear that you are enjoying the story so far. And to answer your question: No, Karen never got remarried. She's living in Scranton with Julia, happy as ever. 

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: July 31, 2021 04:42 am Title: Fourteen years later...

Big time jump. Nice to see Cece and Phil. Eloise seems darling. Kinda hard to read about Jim and Pam like this. Big S9 feels that's for sure. I really hope something changes. I was about to wonder about Julia. But there she is. Karen insists she have her own room and stays the first week? Kinda sounds like Karen is living up to her name.

Like I said a little heartbreaking to see Jim and Pam like this, but good writing nonetheless.

Author's Response: thank you for the review and the compliment, I'm glad your enjoying the story so far. And yes, Karen is 1000% living up to her name. 

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 23, 2021 04:21 pm Title: Stars

Oooooof. The scene of him looking through the photo album is a GUT PUNCH.

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: July 21, 2021 07:29 pm Title: Stars

First off, the photo artwork is gorgeous! Second, YES! I'm so here for a sequel!

Jim running off to Paris to find her? Hell. Yes! And for them to reunite? Even better!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans