You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Once Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 13, 2021 12:12 am Title: Everything

You worked magic on the final two episodes. Nobody, not even the paid Office writers, got to the crux of Jim and Pam's Season 9 problems, but you did.

You grabbed the two lines from the finale that destroyed me (Yes, ugly cries)
1. "Jim Halpert doesn't work here any more."
2. "This stupid, wonderful, boring, amazing job."

Good onya!

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 07:58 pm Title: Everything

What a great way to tie this all together. I absolutely LOVED this chapter, and LOVED hearing the conversation between Pam and Michael.

Jim and Pam smoothing everything out here always puts a smile on my face, and that ending? Not going to lie, I hid my tears during my lunch break at work when reading she finally got her terrace.

Welcome to MTT, tinydundie. You are an incredible writer, and I cannot WAIT to see what you have in store for us next!

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: June 12, 2021 07:56 pm Title: Story

I'm late but, I LOVED this concept and chapter! I loved hearing the backstory of Delilah (and as a fan of the Plain White T's song with a similar name, I loved her name), and that she was a shipper as much as we are.

I'm happy she's the one who ultimately fired Brian. She stated what we all thought: "If he intervened for Pam, why not Kevin or Andy?" Smart woman, she is.

"She sits back into her chair, crosses her arms, and prepares to break the fucking rules." MAN what a line to end with. Great chapter as always!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2021 01:28 pm Title: Everything

Oh I did - enjoy the ending...what a perfect way to wrap it all up and bring it round back to the title (starting with the epilogue) -how completely Jim to find her a house with a terrace but he has learned from his past mistakes that big decisions need to be made together as partners...which leads to the powerful and meaningful juxtapositioning of the mural - how the butts and the fact that she had to start over was representative of the way things began with the job - it wasn't as much the job that was the problem but the way he went about it how it would never have worked from there but with a clean slate it could work out to something amazing. That was my favorite part.

Of course I loved the flashback with the video and the version of the letter. The last bit of this section brings me back to a single line from a song that gets me thinking about season 9 every time I hear it (Love like This - Ben Rector).

There was so much I could say - was touched by the Michael/Pam interaction and felt the line about the office being a family was particularly strong. And the I know you'll take good care of her...a throwback to a past chapter.

And got to touch on how perfect the name Gilda would be for Michael to name his daughter.

What a smart, wonderful, never-boring, amazing fic this was.
Can't wait to see what you bring us next.

Reviewer: grc73 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2021 02:05 pm Title: Everything

This was, simply, absolutely fantastic. What an entrance into the MTT world! Bravo!

Author's Response: I’m terrible at responding to these but thank you so much for your review and kind welcome!

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 08:06 pm Title: Story

Another beautiful chapter. I love how Delilah saw the love story from the beginning this look at things through her. Good for her protecting them from Brian best she could.

This twist on the DVD - I remember her saying she'd love to see it. Worked out well for Jim too.

Looking forward to seeing how this incredibly well written piece of arts wraps up.

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy the ending! 💗

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 08:06 pm Title: Story

Another beautiful chapter. I love how Delilah saw the love story from the beginning this look at things through her. Good for her protecting them from Brian best she could.

This twist on the DVD - I remember her saying she'd love to see it. Worked out well for Jim too.

Looking forward to seeing how this incredibly well written piece of arts wraps up.

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 07:44 pm Title: Everything

We finally find ourselves at the end. Once more you surprised me. Setting up things at Dwight's wedding like that. Nice touch. Pam's moment with Michael was just lovely. They did have similar journeys. That they can reflect on the path they took like that was great to see. As was Michael's more mature outlook. Jim and Pam dancing together is always a treat to read.

The video is the flashback. The part I was really looking forward to reading and you did great with it. Pam reflecting on her younger self and in those moments was great. The card though. Thank you for a great version of the Teapot card. That moment there shows that their relationship is fully healed. The love they have for each other is as strong as its ever been and it's a delight to read.

Nice reflection and introspection there while they're staring at the blank wall. Good way to set a point to build from. Like Pam said, it's not a restart, it's continuing their story. The idea that now they have a clean slate and will move forward together was superbly done.

Now, that epilogue. I mean I'll be honest I got chills running up and down my spine when I figured out what Jim was up to. They both get to have their dreams. Just beautiful. Simply beautiful.

Which I'll say for the entirety of this story. You wove together fluff and angst in a way that's rarely done so well. Through it all everything came back around full circle. Expanding on canon scenes, real feeling OC's, and lots of fun moments. This fic had it all. Outstanding job for your first story. Can't wait to see what else you bless us with.

Fortes Fortuna Adiuvat
(Fortune Favors the Bold)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your reviews, I truly appreciate each and every one of them. And I’m so glad you enjoyed the story!

Reviewer: aggressivemagpie Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 05:30 pm Title: Everything

Beautiful. I've looked forward to reading the new update everyday, and am sad to see it's over, although it couldn't have ended on a better note. She got her terrace! Loved seeing a bit of a deeper dive into Michael's return for the wedding; I think his role in the finale was great, but I certainly missed him for two seasons and would have loved to see a bit more of him, so this satisfies that wish for me. I hope to see more from you, you really started off here with a bang.

Despite your username, you will be receiving a big Dundie nomination from me next year.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and leaving feedback, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 03:24 pm Title: Everything

HE. FOUND. HER. A. HOUSE. WITH. A. TERRACE.

When I say I gasped. What a perfect, perfect way to end such a wonderful story. Ughhhh I just loved every part of this whole thing and I really hope you have more up your sleeve because you're an amazing writer. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading! 🥺

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 11:05 am Title: Everything

Again, you did the balance of this grown-up Michael well - and also, I can totally see Holly going for naming their baby after Gilda Radner. She really is his soup-snake.

VERY interesting wondering about Michael's reactions to the documentary. You might think this older, more mature Michael might be more embarrassed by his other mistakes... but really, it's the same Michael who always knew what was important all along who recognized the worst thing he did was nearly miss out on Holly.

I'm kinda wondering what the Season 9 cut looked like in this universe - I feel like I kept meaning to respond to the conversation about how the documentary was broadcast and never did. In canon, it feels like a lot of it is REALLY clearly on Jim, and yet everyone in universe seems to come after Pam. Of course, that's similarly true of a lot of the discourse OUT of canon, so...

I loved Pam's reactions to seeing their past (especially knowing she didn't see much of the doc) - and being able to see for herself what she wasn't prepared to admit to the time. That was a *really* nice callback to the "love affairs look different to the people inside them" line.

The note was just gorgeous... very realistic to Season 2 Jim and also very well tailored to Season 9. You can see why he thought this was the perfect moment to give it to her at last.

SHE GOT HER HOUSE WITH A TERRACE.

ANYHOW. This was a spectacular MTT debut, and I certainly hope you're busily at work on your next one. No rest for the talented, my friend.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And I have to believe what was actually shown on the in-universe doc was much less than we saw. It’s really the only way I can square it in my mind. I wish they’d been clearer about that but hey, whaddya gonna do? Thanks again for all your feedback and making me feel very welcome here! 🥰

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 10:04 am Title: Everything

I can't really describe how you made me feel with this update, other than my heart soars with the eagle's nest. The way you connected them back to their past years of pining was just ridiculously brilliant:

"for a tiny instant, she feels that shy receptionist he fell in love with so many years ago reappear as she blushes and pulls him in close." I almost cried.

"a pattern of tiny intimacies." A PATTERN OF TINY INTIMACIES. I shall now retire.

"You are the reason I want to do better, and be better. But you are also the reason I stay." UGH. You captured the entire Jim Halpert arc in 2 sentences.

I just... I can't. And then with the terrace at the end?! Brb, crying.

Thank you so much for sharing this story with us! (And getting me to step wayyyyy out of my comfort zone, lol.)

Author's Response: Your reviews have meant the world to me, thank you so much for giving this a shot. Sorry about all the angst, hopefully it was worth it 💗

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: June 08, 2021 09:57 am Title: Everything

There are no words to accurately describe how much I loved this. Im honestly shocked that Im even writing coherently right now because Im a wreck. This chapter, this entire story, was beautiful. You couldnt have done better. You captured Jim and Pam perfectly, as well as any other character you introduced. Michael and Pam’s dance was nothing less than gorgeous. And then Pam finally getting the house with the terrace. I keep tearing up just thinking about it. They both finally got their dreams, and they got them together this time, and I can die a happy girl now. Gonna spend the rest of my day thinking about this and crying. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed!

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 06:12 pm Title: Story

Okay, I have mentioned that I'm very interested in the crew's side of the story, and I liked this a *lot.* Partially just because it's fun to see their perspective, but I also thought you did a lot with the kind of investment they have in Jim and Pam as a story and how you've explored the fan perspective through them. I can't imagine the frustration of someone watching Season 3 with the power to change things. (I was also struck by the somewhat cynical use of Jim and Pam in the pitch - I think I take a much more negative view of the role of the crew than you're giving them here.)

Delilah wanting to put a button on things after Niagara feels significant - both in capturing the perspective of the fan who is watching The Office ONLY FOR JAM, and also in maybe offering some explanation of the relative lack of Jam story between Niagara and Season 9?

This is a strikingly negative view of Brian - which given that Delilah is a shipper on board feels right, although not necessarily objective. And I *love* that we get the answer to some of the questions fans always ask about their failure to interfere earlier, and how it ends up getting repeatedly blown up in Season 9.

I had not made the connection between the fact that they ask for similar things from the crew at very different moments in Season 9. That was artfully done!

(Also, with the editors? I get it. In addition to being entertaining, his randomness must be incredibly useful to them when they need to break up a scene.)

(Also also, may I give the strongest possible recommendation for GodInThisChilis' "Nobody's Business But Mine" if you're interested in a slightly darker take on the view from backstage.)

Reviewer: 3vasectomies Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 03:35 pm Title: Story

I've been keeping up with this story and have enjoyed it a bunch, the S9 material especially (since I've been touching up a Season 9 AU I wrote months ago while writing my current work) and I just wanted to talk about Delilah.

As an audience/reader surrogate and a member of the crew, Delilah's point of view is simply fascinating and fantastically executed. The conversation with Brian, her trepidations on continuing the show after "Niagra", the way she's dedicated to having this story conclude with a grand sense of finality, all of it speaks to every fan of the couple and many fans of the show.

I write this review since I wrote a similar character in the aforementioned AU story and though I was wondering whether or not to keep him as part of the story, you inspired me to have him stick around. I don't like Season 9 for a myriad of reasons, hence my want to rewrite it, but Delilah offers a perspective for those who appreciate what the show itself offered.

Many thanks, and well done!

Author's Response: I really appreciate your comment, I never used to like S9 either but it's grown on me over time. And explaining my way out of the things about canon I generally don't care for is my favorite thing to do in fic. I'm glad this inspired you to continue, I'd love a link to the story if you want to share it!

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 11:35 am Title: Story

I absolutely loved getting a look into one of the crew members here. How Delilah felt throughout this whole journey, how she connected with Jim and Pam from afar, it was all amazing. This was a fantastic chapter.

Author's Response: Delilah is all of us. Thanks for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 10:17 am Title: Story

So here I was thinking this chapter would be Jim's movie. Low and behold I'm surprised. To have it from Delilah'S POV was a stroke of genius. Especially when we get to her memory section. I love the fact she sees herself as the caretaker of their releationship. Though until now unable to do anything about it other than record the ups and downs. Well except for kind of warning off Brian. That by the way was a non-unexpeted take, but a bit more intense. Especially when she asked him why he didn't step in against Roy those two times.

I loved how you had it that the movie is basically made already. I always wondered how fast they worked to hear Jim's request, find footage, and edit it with the song before the workday was done. So that's an elegant solution. Also really liked it that here on the supposed last day of shooting Delilah says "f-it. If there's ever a time to break the rules, it's now."

Now I'm REALLY looking forward to when Pam gets the movie. Great way to ramp up the tension in the best possible way.

Reviewer: nicemorningtoo Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 10:11 am Title: Story

I absolutely loved getting a look into one of the crew members here. How Delilah felt throughout this whole journey, how she connected with Jim and Pam from afar, it was all amazing. This was a fantastic chapter.

Reviewer: ThePinkButterfly Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 09:11 am Title: Story

Those season 9 interviews always hit me so deep, and they're not even that long (that's what she said). So for you to add this entire backstory with both of them wanting a DVD of their moments together, and then how they both opened up to Delilah like this just WRECKED me. I will get nothing done today because I'll be recovering from this update. Before I wallow, I have to commend you on this line:

"Brian may believe he’d been protecting Pam, but Delilah has always had only one goal: protecting their story."

Brilliant.

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 09:03 am Title: Story

I LOVE any time we get a perspective from the other side of the camera and this is no exception. And I love all the extra dialogue you give to these scenes we all know as well. It's really perfect! I loved this chapter so much.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

Reviewer: warrior4 Signed [Report This]
Date: June 07, 2021 05:06 am Title: Enough

Thank you for giving us Pam's POV for this moment as well to start out with. In the show it's clear she's more than a little stunned when he takes her in his arms. The feeling of time slowing down for a bit before she understands what he's doing fits really well. Their connection had been strained so it would be easy to misinterpret what he's doing right there. But strained doesn't mean broken. When she realizes that this is one last ray of hope, she finds their connection is still there and in leaning into it light pours back in to start to repel the darkness they've faced. Lovely.

The memories of their wedding on the boat were just as wonderful. Going back to the time they pleadged to be together, with each other, forever was perfect. As was using a differnt scene than what we got on the show. Nice touch there.

Then the real healing begins. They're talking and communicating even it it's hard and painful. Even if they're still a bit unsure of what they mean or want. It's been a long few months so it makes a ton of sense that there is still some lingering fear or doubt. However I also love the set up for what's coming. Considering the skill with writing you've shown us all thus far, I can't wait to see what you have in store for us.

Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, even though I always interpreted the wedding flashback on the show to be a Pam POV, I felt it was important to give some more insight into her mind.

Reviewer: darjeelingandcoke Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2021 03:45 pm Title: Enough

"She nods, relief flowing through her like a life-giving elixir. Jim turns, ducks his head into the cab to retrieve his belongings, and hands some cash to the extremely patient driver, who gives them both a smile as he drives away. She wonders what tale he’d spun for himself as he watched the two of them, surely suspecting there was no way one embrace could encompass all of the love they share. And yet, somehow, that’s exactly what it had done." Again. Fuck, man.

This was just really well done. You managed to bring so much full circle - the elements that they've lost in their relationship returning, finding the connections between their two parking lot reunifications at Golden Hour and the proposal and wedding both taking place while they were wet. Pam's vows were GORGEOUSLY written. An I appreciate the daring, as usual, of writing your way out of a tough conversation that the show did a quick cut away from and letting us see how Jim actually responds.

Author's Response: I think you in particular will (hopefully) enjoy the next chapter. :)

Reviewer: Maxine Abbott Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2021 10:51 am Title: Enough

“I’m not,” he says, the same twinkle in his eye that was there the day she met him. “I’m doing it for us. I loved this line - but really the whole chapter, the last few have somewhat fixed season 9 for me. You have filled in the blanks so wonderfully with your insights and beautiful words. Pam's vows ring so true - about that she's glad everything they experienced let them to that moment and how it ultimately was only "us" that matters. I'm glad you touched on how there will be needs that come from the outside - I think that is very important and Pam still needs to come to terms with that (which in canon she does eventually) but I guess that is what is meant by love is patient - and it is through your writing I see the brilliance of the shows choice to have that voiceover during their hug. 

Anyway - jelly beans and kudos. 

 



Author's Response: Thank you and YES. These things needed to be said between them and I wish we'd gotten a little more meat. But I guess that's what fic is for!

Reviewer: WanderingWatchtower Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2021 09:36 am Title: Enough

I have been crap at reviewing, but know that I've been reading every update and love this story so much! I'm amazed with every chapter how you weave in flashbacks that perfectly pair with what's happening in their present lives. You have such a wonderful grip on these characters and are SUCH an amazing writer.

This chapter in particular made me feel so many feels. I like season 9 more than a lot of people and the way you have handled the complexities of it is so so good.

More, please. :)

Author's Response: I also like S9 (much better now than I did when it aired, I should quantify) so I appreciate that you’re enjoying those parts. Two more chapters to go! Thanks for your review :)

Reviewer: emxgoldstars Signed [Report This]
Date: June 06, 2021 09:33 am Title: Enough

What a way to wake up this morning, huh?

The ending of Paper Airplanes is just SUCH an emotional rollercoaster, and you’ve captured that perfectly. Between their conversation that we could only WISH was captured by the cameras, to the flashback Pam’s mind automatically went to.

Your imagery when flashing back to Plan C in Niagara was perfect. To finally HEAR what Pam’s vows were (versus attempting to read mouthing)? You couldn’t have captured them any better.

And leading into AARM, the conversation outside just breaking my heart yet again.

You do SUCH a great job with pulling om the reader’s heartstrings and taking us on this emotional rollercoaster of their marital struggles.

Cannot WAIT to see if you dive into what’s written in the Christmas card (or not, lol), and how we dive into the finale!

Author's Response: Oh, the card is coming up, don’t worry :) Tomorrow’s chapter is a bit unique to this story but I really hope people enjoy it. Thanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans