Reviews For President's Day
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Duchess Cupcake Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2018 07:23 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

Oh my god! Best Dolly Madisons and THEN that little exchange where Pam’s like “I don’t even know what that means” and Jim’s all smug with “Yes she does” AND then it comes back around full circle!! Bahahahaha! This is fantastic. Bravo.

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2008 08:40 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

I love these talking heads. I think Andy's retreating ancestor was one of my favorites, as well as the venom behind Phyllis' assessment of Kevin. 

Also, is it weird that I really want a Dolly Madison cupcake now? :) 



Author's Response:
I like how Andy thinks the retreating ancestor shot in the FOOT (!) would impress someone.  Although I do have an ancestor shot in the back, so... that may be a bit embarrassing, too.  I'm assuming the injury was nobly won; I sleep better at night that way.

It's not weird you want a Dolly Madison cupcake.  You may never look at a Dolly Madison cupcake the same way again. ;)  Not that there's anything wrong with that.  (You may not want to mention it to Mrs. Mose, though.  Hard to explain.)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Cousin Mose! :) 

Reviewer: Cousin Mose Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 19, 2008 08:35 am Title: Presidential Party Planning

Wierzbowski!! WIERZBOWSKI!!! :)

I love your take on this particular holiday. i think my favorite part was your insight into Kevin's mind. I always remember that commentary on the DVDs about Kevin: that perhaps he's a savant of some sort when it comes to certain things. Thus, I can totally believe that he's quite smart when it comes to something like the Civil War.

Great work! 



Author's Response:

Wierzbowski!  I was originally going to put Wierzbowski into St. Patrick's Day, but I suddenly realized I could put it in here more naturally.  I guess I should have mentioned that the old Polish widow lost one son to the bugs. ;)

I don't remember that commentary about Kevin, actually, I just got a kick out of him maybe knowing something but not getting any credit for it.  I know he thinks he's great at gambling and such, but then he's not all that great in Casino Night.  I get a kick out of that, too.  Kevin's just a fun character, isn't he? 

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 12:19 pm Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

Toby gets the "worst everything" award.  Fun-ny!

And the Jim and Pam TH's win at life. :)



Author's Response:

Poor Toby.  This is an environment of welcoming and he should just get the hell out of here.  

I'm glad you particularly enjoyed the JAM THs.  I had fun with 'Dolly Madisons.' ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, EH

Reviewer: EverybodyHurts Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 12:15 pm Title: Presidential Party Planning

Hahahahaha! *wipes tears at the thought of being Kevin's mom*  But wait, remember that conversation during lunch in "Hot Girl"?  Maybe being Kevin's mom isn't such a bad idea...

That was such a funny story, and I agree, you win the prize with these TH's.  Glad my CW input was helpful.  Guess it pays to have a few obsessions in one's life.

Have fun in Scottsdale!  Sunny, but in the 20's here.



Author's Response:

Ha!  I was definitely keeping in mind the scene from Hot Girl!  That's why I made sure to have Jim talk about 'you.' ;)

The THs are fun to write -- easier than other stuff, since they're just bare-bones 'what's being said.'

Thanks again for the Civil War input!  It does pay to have some obsessions; plus, it's fun. ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, EH!  Greetings from sunny 'Scottsdale.'

 

Reviewer: PamPongChamp Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 10:19 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

I really am amazed at how in tune with the voice of the characters and the tone of the show.  It makes for incredibly entertaining fic that leaves me missing the real thing a little less. :)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much, PPC!  I try to stay in character, although sometimes it's tough to figure some of them out.  I'm glad it helped you a little bit through this dry Office time.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, PPC! :) 

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 09:12 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

Jim certainly does have the height thing for Lincoln. Except for the fact that Lincoln was scary tall. I do think I would be scared of Lincoln if I saw him walking down the street. Possibly because hes been dead for like 150 years. But also because of how tall he was.

Most like George Washington. That does seem like what Michael would do!

Have fun in Scottsdale :)!

Author's Response:

Ha!  Lincoln also wasn't very attractive at all!  I think it was Lincoln, when accused of being two-faced, who replied something like,"if I had two faces, do you think I'd choose this one?"

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Emily! :) 

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 09:08 am Title: Presidential Party Planning

Ya know. Even though Michael Scott's parties tend to be..... not so hot... I think I would like to experience one one of these days. Of course, that would mean I would ave to find the magical portal to the fictional Scranton, but, I am sure I will stumble upon that in no time.

haha! Planning the party early so Pam doesn't get out of the work! Awesome.

Wow, and Jim's talking head seemed very Jim. Because of course I am sure the interracial relationship was just that. Oh Kelly.

Can I just say all the talking heads are awesome? That will save me from having to say all the talking heads are awesome one by one.

I remember reading a book once about how it was tough because blue and grey look similar when you are in the crazy mess of a battlefield. And how that wasn't cool.

Author's Response:

If you stumble through to fictional Scranton, take good notes so you can write about it. ;)

I'm glad you liked this, EmilyH!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :) 

Reviewer: hues8 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 07:39 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

So funny! All the talking heads were so spot on.

Author's Response:

Talking heads are fun to write, and they're one of my favorite things on the show.  I loved Kelly's head shake to indicate she wasn't pregnant in... Dunder Mifflin Infinity, I think.  No words, but we knew what she was 'saying,' and it was so funny!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! ;) 

Reviewer: hues8 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 07:33 am Title: Presidential Party Planning

"Michael looked at Jim for confirmation; Jim nodded."

Ha, ha. I laughed out loud when I read this. Great ensemble story!

Author's Response:

I got a kick out of writing that part, too!  Poor Kevin doesn't even get any respect when he actually knows something.  But Angela in the end liked his streamers, so he's ahead of the game the teeniest bit.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, hues8

Reviewer: dancer288 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 06:27 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

loved it...it was sooo funny and office-like...

Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it, dancer288!  (Are you new(-ish) here?)  If so, welcome!  It's fun to be able to write a story with a little bit of everyone.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. :) 

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 05:41 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

Jim:  "She knows what it means."

This whole TH was hilarious, but Jim's last line cracked me up.  Oscar noting that no one cried was excellent - you nailed him perfectly.  What a fun read this was!



Author's Response:

I got a kick out of that Jim line, too. ;) 

Thanks for being such a faithful reader and reviewer, Sweetpea! :) 

Reviewer: Sweetpea Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 05:37 am Title: Presidential Party Planning

Okay, TLK, you should write talking heads endlessly, because these are hysterical!  I love the TH exchange between Jim and Kevin!  You write Michael's awkward moments so well - those times when he's gone too far down a line of reasoning that turns on him.  So funny. 

Author's Response:

Talking Heads are fun to write, too! ;)  I do like the thought that Kevin has some sort of specialty, but Michael won't pay any attention.  Michael's awkwardness is always fun to write as well.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Sweetpea

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 04:22 am Title: Presidential Party Post-mortem

Ha! Great little bites of each character...hard to pick a fave but little spicy girl really made me laugh, as did Jim telling Pam to distract Michael with her Dolly Madisons, and the image of Andy in a stovepipe hat. Totally fun.

Author's Response:

It's fun to put a bit of each character in things, isn't it?  Creed is so clueless when it comes to names ("You deal with this or you, me, Sammy, Phyllis, the chick you hit with the car, we're goners") that there's always that question when writing his words what he'll call the other people.  I was glad when I hit upon (not 'hit on,' you understand) "the little spicy girl."  And as a fellow writer, I'm sure you can imagine my delight when I thought up "Dolly Madisons." :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Colette

Reviewer: Colette Signed [Report This]
Date: February 16, 2008 04:19 am Title: Presidential Party Planning

I applaud you're turning -arguably - one  of the stodgiest holidays and making it so much fun. And on a personal note, this gave me a laugh: a good friend of mine in grad school was British - and she always called a vacuum, any brand, a Hoover (like my mom calls all tissues Kleenex.) Not sure if all Brits do that. Anyway, she always thought it was a riot that we had a president named after a household appliance (that Brit humor...) So, yeah, that bit brought back good memories. ;-) 

Author's Response:

Thanks, Colette!  I think it's very common for Brits to say 'Hoover,' as well as that well-known verb 'hoovering,' although I'm not sure.  One thing I am sure of is that nobody wants the 'most like Hoover' award. ;)  This year, my favorite part of President's Day is that I'll be in Scottsdale -- Whoohoo!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Colette

Reviewer: elly Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 15, 2008 11:07 pm Title: Presidential Party Planning

This is one of my favorite series on the archive and I love that you're writing about all of the holidays and not just the "big" ones! Keep up the great work!

Author's Response:

Oh, elly, thanks so much!  Just this week I was thinking, "What was I thinking, taking this on?" :)  I really appreciate the vote of encouragement and I'm so glad you're enjoying it.  My take on the 'traditional' holidays will probably be silly and untraditional, too, so hopefully I won't be covering the same ground as everyone else.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :) 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans