You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: WishYouWould Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: September 06, 2018 04:07 pm Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

This was AMAZING. I love single dad Jim. I love this version of both of them. And god, Ellie is such an amazing character too. I might be a little biased cause I love that name. But really, this is so well done!
If you ever continued it, I’d love to see them get married with Ellie being a big part of the ceremony, and maybe even giving Ellie a sibling! :)

Reviewer: nkerbs Signed 1 [Report This]
Date: August 02, 2018 08:23 pm Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

This is so good! Please continue!!

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 17, 2016 10:01 pm Title: You're three thousand miles from the place you once called home

I'm leaving this same begging review on all three places that I know of that this story is posted. Just wanted to let you know that so you'll know if you've read it elsewhere, it's the same thing...

Hey there!!! Um, you see, Ellie got hold of me and she wants to come back and play a bunch with her amazing, sexy daddy, Jim and her new friend Pam, who is like a mommy to her. She asked me to BEG you and said that I should absolutely NOT take no for an answer! Seriously, life kinda sucks in a big way right now and it would just mean EVERYTHING to me to see this continued and finished. I know that you have just oodles of absolutely amazing things planned for this story and we just REALLY need to see them happen. Please, I'm begging. If there is ANYTHING at all that I can do to help you with this, I'm totally at your disposal any time you want/need me! Please!! I just know there are so many people that were just absolutely invested in Ellie and Jim and Pam and I know that even if there aren't a lot of reviewers left around in this fandom, many would return to see this continued/finished! Ummm.. did I say please?

Reviewer: BecauseOfYou Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 04, 2014 12:07 am Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

"TBC (at some point LOL)"

^It's never too late! There are a few unfinished fics that I would pay, really would pay, with real money! (if I could afford to). Cardiac care and Shame is the Same as Guilt, come to mind, any unfinished fic by time4moxie, and this one, AIL. $5 a chapter??? I know there's got to be more than just me still reading, but aside from the readers, wouldn't it just feel amazing to have completed this story that you put so much time and effort into already. Such a shame to have such an amazing fic unfinished.

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: August 17, 2014 03:28 pm Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

okay so I'm years late with my review but better late than never, right? I want to be honest with you before I get into the actual review... I am totally mourning this story because I just have a feeling we aren't going to get any more of it. I remember our long IMs when you would map out the places you planned on taking this story and just how much I looked forward to reading those chapters so I really do feel a real grief in my heart that i just really feel that we've gotten the last of AIL that we're going to get and even if the Office has ended, heck, ESPECIALLY because it has ended, that's a damn shame. You just have/had such a way of bringing Jim, Pam and your darling Ellie alive for us. You made us care not just about the Jim/Pam relationship like with most stories, but about the relationship of the entire trio. The way you made the whole thing come together was so realistic... Jim having a bit of misgivings at his little girl loving another adult, Pam's ever present insistence that kids don't like her even as Ellie showed her another side of herself. I love how you did that because I think it's much easier to write the stories where Pam is great with a child but it happens to be hers, in this you show a child with no genetic link to Pam at all and also aone that isn't familiar with her at all yet Ellie is clearly drawn to Pam from that first meeting. You make it seem as though even though another woman may have been the one to have given birth to Ellie, let's face it, sick or not this woman was clearly NEVER Ellie's mom, there was never any kind of a maternal bond. Also it seems in this chapter that Jim is comming to a bit of a realization that while he may have loved before, he has never in his life been IN love. What I started to say was that it seems like Pam was ALWAYS supposed to be Ellie's mom. Pam, Jim and Ellie and hopefully several more in the future (I've just always seen Jim and Pam with a large family in my mind!) they were mean for each other. Meant to be a family. One more thing before I really get into this chapter.... every time I read about Jim's mom I wonder about his dad because it just all seems to focused on his mom. I remember now that there was mention, I'm pretty sure, though briefly, of his dad coming to Ellie's 1st bday with his mom, but that was it. I would just really think, especially with the predicament that Jim found himself in, that he would have been seeking out his dad for that advice on being a dad, especially since he's doing it alone. I;ve always imagined Jim with a super tight bond with his mom and we see that in this story. Also being glose to his sister which we also see but I also imagined him as someone who always looked up to his dad, aspired to be like him because I've always imagined that his dad set the example of the wonderful man that Jim turned out to be. Just something for thought.

Where do I start with this chapter? AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!! It was absolutely amazing! I was picturing the chapter after the one where their night was ruined as being filled with nothing but smut, and don't get me wrog, this girl likes, some may even say loves, her JAM smut, but there was so much more in here, heck there were even other things scattered throughout the smut. You are a true masterful author, you KNOW Jim and Pam. You know them and have their voices within the context of the show but you also have this AMAZING ability to create a completely different scenerio and you would never eve need to call them Jim and Pam and I would KNOW it was them. I will NEVER for the life of me understand why you doubt yourself. You are without any doubt one of the best authors on here and one that gets Jim and Pam's voices, actions, personalities the very most.

So could this chapter open any cuter than Pam being all domestic and doing Jim's laundry? LOVE LOVE LOVE It shows how comfortable she is in their lives already that she is taking up the domestic chores, especially ones like this, while Jim is down. I also just adore that Jim is pretending to be a bit more sick than he is because he is just really enjoying Pam taking care of him and I think he probably is really loving seeing her taking care of his baby too. I think he loves seeing that bond forming. You know when I think back in this story, remember when Jim thought that even if he and Pam never panned out maybe she could at least be a maternal figure for Ellie before he kicked himself for it? I think thats when Jim really and honestly knew that Pam was always meant to ne Ellie's mommy. I gotta say, one thing that will make me SO SO sad if I'm right and we get no more of this story, well LOTS will make me sad BUT I really looked forward to Ellie calling Pam Mommy or momma for the first time. I know that would have absolutely melted me! Anyhow, I just think Jim knew very quickly that Pam was the one for him, even if he wanted to deny it. But I think he would remind himself, remember, she may have been the one for you if it was just you but you have Ellie and you need someone who will love HER unconditionally even if it's not a 100% match for you but then he watched those two together and he just knew that this was the family he was meant to have. Anyhow, I love in this chapter that we clearly know where Pam stands as far as wanting Jim, yet when he tries to start something it's Ellie's comfort she's thinking about and the fact that she would feel so much better sleeping in her bed and also the fact that im himself is exhausted and needs a nap himself. Another thing is, when Pam says about taking Ellie up to her bed, Jim hasn't been able to take care of his baby girl for like a day so you can sense that when he tells Pam that he'll take Ellie up to bed, that it's important to him to do so because even if it's something small he wants that connection with his baby and as much as he enjoys watching Pam care for her, he misses it. How adorable is it that Pam bathed Ellie, read to her and rocked her to sleep while singing to her. On the flip side how adorable is it that Jim pouted about Ellie going to sleep without him. I LOVE that he came to the realization that Pam is there for real now. She wants to be his partner and no, he is not any longer alone! Oh and I cannot imagine how Jim felt because I know I almost melted when Pam revealed that she looked up the sign for feel better and taught it to Ellie... it brought a tear to my eyes because it shows that she truly understands the baby's needs and she is doing all she can to take care of them. How Jim MUST have felt hearing that! Something I loved and found amazing, when it said She was his
He was Hers (or the other way around... whatever)
What I adored about this is that he realized the reality of this BEFORE they had made love. Oh and let me also mention lest I forget, a lot of people throw around the term that two people 'made love' simply because their bodies came together. I want to point out, that's fine if that's their belief but you and I seem to believe the same thing here. I think you make love when you find that one person you are supposed to be with or at very least you don't make love unles you are in love. Not even because you love someone, I think it's when you're IN love with the person that you make love, no other time. Like I said, just what I believe. Anyhow I LOVE so much that Jim comes to the realization here that he's just actually made love for the first time. So he and Chloe for together for more than 4 years and never actually made love. Honestly, I know you said he loved her but it sounds to me and I feel pretty sure that 1) he loved her but wasn't nessisarrily IN love with her, he just didn't know there was a diference. He thought loving someone was enough. 2) They kept trying to make a relationship based mostly on attraction work because they cared for each other and it seemed like it should. I bet at this point Jim is extremely grateful to Chloe for leaving. WHat if they were together and moved back to Scranton together only for Jim to meet his soul mate at work. What happens then? Well, we all know what happens, Jim breaks his and Pam's hearts because he's too good of a guy to leave the mother of his child even if they have an awful relationship and he has realized that Pam is the person he is supposed to be with. WHEW Thank God that isn't what happened.

I feel a bit embarrassed talking about the more explicit parts but WOW, you could make a living writing this stuff. I love how Jim realized things like even Pam's breasts seemed to have been created to fit with him perfectly. I've never seen that in a story and I just love it. I also just love how much attention Jim is giving Pam here and I get the feeling that Pam has never had a partner that has paid so much attention to her in the past. I think in Pam's past relationship(s) Pam was likely the giver, probably close to 100% and so she just wasn't used to having her needs taken care of. I really love when they just simply want to see one another. It's just so sweet that they just want to be able to really see what their lover truly looks like. I love how blown away Jim is by how Pam looks but what I truly love is how completely you csptured Pam. Still trying to cover herself. Being self conscious and embarassed by her nakedness... makes me wonder if her past lover(s) even removed her top or paid attention to her at all! Anyhow I really thought your description of Jim kissing the confidence back into her. How could you possibly not know how perfect that is?

Anyhow I love as we follow along in their love making just how Jim is PERFECTLY in tune with his love. Pleasuring her and I'm sure noting what gets the best and worst reactions but then when he gets to 'that' part and he feels her stiffen, rather than simply forging ahead or abandoning it completely, he takes the time to talk her through it. He explains just how much he wants this but that if it's something she doesn't enjoy he won't continue, but if she's simply embarassed there's no need to be and that he really wants to feel what it feels like ehrn she comes apart in this way. I just adored how beautifully you handeled such a delicate situation. Then when they finally come together... so fantastic. I'll be honest, I was really hoping that she'd tell his that she was on birth control and he would confess that his last time was with Ellie's mom all those months ago and if not before he got tested when he became interested in Pam and she'd say her last was Roy many months, maybe a yr ago and she had been tested either because of her interest in Jim or because she doubted how faithful Roy had been and they could have been together, just them. I just hate condems. I feel like they destroy intamacy and I also know for me, with a guy having they handy right in the bedside table I'd wonder what kind of player he was. I know that's not fair since he needs to, but a person feels what they feel.

Okay, I hope that you didn't take that negatively because really it's just a personal thing and a weird one!

I LOVE that he tells her then that he's in love with her. Not loves her, ni room for doubt... IN love. But then her coming back with the fact that she loves them BOTH... Perfect end to the first time they make love! BTW, I also adore that somewhere in there he notes it's the last first time for him and then takes it farther and thinks it's the last first time for her too.

I just love him thinking about the chick flicks he's suffered through and knowing that the movies actually were right. I love how he looks down at her knowing that he's going to marry this girl at some point and honestly, because there is a child involved, I hope they do it soon. There's just no reason to wait when you know it's the right thing and really, as long as they're dating she's just Ellie's dad's girlfriend or whatever. I just fel once they're a family unit Ellie will feel like she's got a mommy and also the rest of the world will view her as Ellie's mommy. i also just love that Jim is absolutely okay being the girl in their relationship as long as he gets Pam.

Sally I cannot overstate how much I adore this story. Look, years later and I'm in EXTREME pain but I did finally review it. I swear I'd do ANYTHING to get you to continue it. Obviously there probably won't be many reviews since people never seem to review any longer, but I will say, if there is ONE story that would be able to get people to come back and review... this is it! People adore this story and somehow even with the REALLY long delays between chapters, you still got them to come back time after time after time!!!! The reason why? It's an amazing story and people want to know where it takes Jim and Pam and sweet adorable Elliecakes! YOU did this. YOU made people, like me, get invested in the story.... PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE..... continue it. Give those of us like me that are still missing the show with out hearts and souls, SOMETHING to look forward to. I have NOOOOO idea how I can,but I swear, I'll help in any way I possibly can. Heck, I'd write it for you if I could. THis is just far too good of a story to leave it with Jim and Pam in bed with Ellicakes asleep in another room forever more! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE! Okay now I'm going to c and p my review to ff because I don't think you get notified about a review here but there you do! Hugs and Smooches.... COME BACK!!!!

Reviewer: italianfood Signed [Report This]
Date: September 20, 2012 05:51 pm Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

Sally! I love reading any update from you, but this one was especially great. Well worth the wait. They're becoming such a sweet family right before our very eyes.

Reviewer: madmen fanatic Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 19, 2012 11:21 pm Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

Sorry for not reviewing sooner, had password problems. BUT I came back to this once it was resolved! I was so happy to see you came back to this story. leaving the story at chapter 12 forever would have been a travesty. You remember chapter 12, right? The one where they were supposed to finally have sex but you decided to make us wait? :)

Truly, I am happy to see the story frequent the Recently Updated page again.

Reviewer: Vitamin-D Signed [Report This]
Date: September 18, 2012 09:52 am Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

What a treat it is to read this beautiful story. I am so grateful that you are still committed to it. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Reviewer: Deedldee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 17, 2012 12:16 pm Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

You know, what I love most about this story, beyond the adorable Ellie, the Jim and Pam interaction, the love between them that just comes out through every chapter, what I love the most is that I can actually envision Jim and Pam in this AU completely. You've stayed true to their characters, their banter and their love for one another, and I applaud you for that. This chapter, on the third read, was even better than the first two reads I had done before you posted it. The smut is - wow - obviously. My favorite though is how Pam took care of him and got his daughter ready for and into bed flawlessly, without freaking out about any of it. I am so happy that you're continuing this story, it's one of my all time favorites! And I'm so honored to have helped you with this, and I am so excited about the next chapter! xx

Author's Response: Without you, I wouldn't have been brave enough to post this chapter. You really don't understand just how much your encouragement means to me.

Reviewer: khand3stooges Signed [Report This]
Date: September 16, 2012 03:17 pm Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

Sorry for the delay. I had to refresh my memory on this one. Thanks for coming back with an update. I don't care how long in between chapters, this is still one of my favs. That was definitely worth the wait.:)

Author's Response: Ha, I don't blame you. It has been almost a year since my last update. Hopefully I wont keep you all waiting that long again. Thanks for saying this is one of your faves, that really means so much to me. Glad it was worth the wait, and I'm hoping you keep enjoying what I have in store :)

Reviewer: more_awake Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 14, 2012 05:41 am Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

Oh man. I was SO excited to see this updated! This is one of my favorite stories on here. I love how much Pam loves Ellie (singing her to sleep, even teaching her to sign 'feel better'.. so sweet), and I love how Jim loves Pam even more because she loves his daughter. Also... them finally, uh, sealing the deal? HOT. Well done, as always. Thank you for still writing :)

Author's Response: This is one of your favourite stories? OMG, that has totally just made my day. Thank you, SO much. I'm sorry it took so long to get the latest chapter up - I seem to say that a lot, eh? But I really am trying to get faster. I just hope it was worth the wait. Poor Jim and Pam, they'd been waiting to do it for ages LOL :) Thanks again for sticking with me :)

Reviewer: NanReg Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2012 10:47 am Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

Finally getting a chance to read this.  Wowee wow wow!!!!  Now wasn't that fun?!?!  Worth the wait, Sally--sweet, sexy, loving, funny.  About damn time!  :D

Author's Response: Thanks for saying it was worth the wait. I worry when it takes me so long to write, that people will have moved on. Glad you're still enjoying it. I know smut isn't really your thing ;)

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2012 04:28 am Title: The Movies Had It Right After All.

Me! I am still reading! What a pleasant surprise to see that you continued!
I agree with Pam, Fashion Police is the best show on the E!Network. I love that she stayed there with Jim and Ellie, looking after the both of them and taking care of their home.
Her day was clearly well spent because at the end of that chapter it certainly seemed as if Jim had regained all his strength back, didn't it...
I am so glad that this story wasnt abandoned and you came back with another chapter. I cannot wait to read more! Please don't wait a year again!

Author's Response: YAY! I was hoping you'd still be on here reading. I can't tell you how much I look forward to your reviews. So it means a lot that after so long, you're still here. I'm really gonna try and get another chapter up asap. The smut took me longer than I thought because I wanted to make sure I got it right - and got it to sound like them in my head. I hope I achieved that. I promise that this story WILL be finished though. Just, you know, never leave the archive :)

Reviewer: FlonkertonChamp Signed [Report This]
Date: September 13, 2012 12:13 am Title: You're three thousand miles from the place you once called home

YAAAAAAYYYY *jumps up and down and squeals with glee*

seriously, i love this so so much. i love how seamlessly they go from caregivers to lovers.

hated such a huge break between chapters, but frankly, it was worth it. it should hold me over until the next installment. :oD

Author's Response: Awwww, thank you. I can['t believe it's been 10 months. You guys need to be on my case lol. I am so happy you enjoyed it though. Lots more to come :)

Reviewer: lovingthursdays Signed [Report This]
Date: September 12, 2012 09:36 pm Title: You're three thousand miles from the place you once called home

Yea! Another chapter! Thank you so much for finally getting our happy couple together! Well done!

Author's Response: Ta very much. So happy this chapter was so well received :)

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed [Report This]
Date: February 09, 2012 08:51 am Title: You're three thousand miles from the place you once called home

:::Tapping foot::: C'mon.. I'm dying here... DYING! I NEED DESPERATELY my fix of this story! It is without a doubt one of the very top stories on the archive (and I bet hands down the longest running) and I KNOW you have people that come back to this site JUST to see if YOUR story has aded a new chapter. C'mon Sally... GIVE THE PEOPLE WHAT THEY WANT!!!!! (Or at leas give me what I want!!!!!) I am so unbelievable eager for the next chapter of this, I just KNOW you want to tell me to get the heck off of your back already! Thing is.... I just... can't! I NEED happiness in my life right now in the worst way. My life is just totally in the toilet, I mean really. Just everything so if I could at least get some happiness and fulfillment from a brand new chapter of AIL.... that would be just so.... AWESOME!!! :::::tapping foot again:::: I'm trying SO hard to be patient but it's just so hard when the writing is just THAT good! YOUR writing is just THAT good! PLEASE???? SOOOOONNNN???? :::::begging::::: I can bring YOU pizza if you need me to. Foot massage... whatever it takes! I can't wait!

Reviewer: kiss her good Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 20, 2012 08:33 pm Title: Patience, Grasshopper.

Hi, okay I reread this all today and I'm so glad that I did because somehow I missed the latest chapter?! And I'm such a fan for whenever one of them is sick and the other one caters to them out of the kindness of their adorable hearts. This story has such a special place in my heart because although it is truly AU, it's also so Jim and Pam that it's just believable, and amazing and pure. I really could go on and on about this story forever. I can't wait for the next update (which you said is coming soon) *crosses fingers* especially some smut? About time these two get what they want! This is literally one of my favorite stories. Top three. Not kidding. Please never stop! (This is 'pamelabeesly' from tumblr, heh!)

Author's Response: Thank you SO much. You honestly don't know how much it means your review means to me. I'm still working on that new chapter and I hope to have it up soon. That's what I was going for with this, something completely AU, but believable enough for people to be able to imagine. So I'm really grateful you mentioned that. At least I'm doing something right :)It's weird, I also love fics where Jim or Pam has to look after the other, I dunno what it is, i just makes my heart melt :)

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed [Report This]
Date: January 08, 2012 06:49 pm Title: You're three thousand miles from the place you once called home

Hi! Just wanted to let you know that a new chapter is eagerly awaited... It would be just amazing to know how Baby Ellie, Jim and Pam are doing. How is Jim recovering from his food poisoning? Are there more bonding moments for Pam and Ellie? Do Pam and Jim ever get to have the bonding time they were looking forward to, but was interrupted by Jim becoming ill? When will you give us more?!?

Author's Response: Hey you :) I'm soooo almost done with my next chapter :)So i'm hoping it will be ready within the week. Lots of bonding coming up ;) Thanks so much for still caring x

Reviewer: Pee Pee Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: December 01, 2011 10:48 am Title: Patience, Grasshopper.

Cutting to the chase here, when will that crazy monkey sex be happening? ;) I love reading about Pam with Ellie, she's a natural but just doesn't believe it. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks Pee Pee, I really appreciate the reviews. Monkey sex is a comin ;)

Reviewer: italianfood Signed [Report This]
Date: November 20, 2011 06:37 pm Title: Patience, Grasshopper.

Sally, loved this! Pam is blending into their family beautifully. And I might be in the minority for saying I'm glad you did this chapter before the smut, but I really am. Also, you've inspired me to finish my half complete chapter.

Author's Response: WOW, thank you. I'm so glad I could inspire you, do you realise how much I miss your stories??????? x

Reviewer: Oldleaf Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2011 11:06 pm Title: Patience, Grasshopper.

Made me smile like whoa. :D
One quest, though - is chapter 12 posted twice? Or is it just my browser?

Author's Response: YAY, glad you liked it. I miss you. Answer: no it was your browser *whispers* no, it was uploaded twice by mistake, thank you xxxx

Reviewer: Aivilo Signed [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2011 11:17 am Title: Patience, Grasshopper.

Wow! You came back!!! I was so excited to see that there are 12 chapters now. And so, so, so quality too.

I felt so sorry for Jim. I could only imagine how mortified he was for the old nasty Chinese food he ate to come back and haunt him in this way. But Pam is so super sweet to look after him so well and then later on Ellie as well.

I wish I may, I wish I might.... Please don't make us wait another half year to see what happens next! You write to awesome of a story to leave us hanging like that!

Author's Response: YAAAAY I was hoping to get a review from you. Don't worry. I'm really trying to get quicker at writing. I need to set myself some goals. Poor Jim, right? Being sick is never nice, but in front of Pam, the poor thing. It'll all be happening soon :)

Reviewer: Dedeen Signed [Report This]
Date: November 15, 2011 07:25 am Title: You're three thousand miles from the place you once called home

Soooo glad your back! This is, of course, Awesome! Please (pretty please) continue this one!

Author's Response: YAAAAAAAAY you're my 200th review. and I'm glad to tell you that I am already writing the next part. Thank you for sticking with me on this, I know I take forever xx

Reviewer: rahenson1 Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: November 13, 2011 09:33 pm Title: You're three thousand miles from the place you once called home

I love this series. It's a nice twist on the original setup of the show. And it's very true to Jim and Pam. It seems like you've been writing it for a while based on the notes. Had you chosen the name Ellie before she was an actress on the show? If so that's some eerie coincidence :) Keep writing 'cause it's really great :D

Author's Response: LOL! I have been writing this for a while, I really need to work on how long it takes me to update each chapter. I started this without really thinking about the name Ellie, I just thought Jim would pick something cute for his little girl. I'm glad you think it's true to their characters, because even though it's an AU, that's something I wanted to make sure I got right. Thank you for reviewing. I'm writing right now :)

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 12, 2011 10:36 am Title: Patience, Grasshopper.

So Sally... how in the world is it that a weiter as brilliant and talented as you are is not writing like, TONS? I mean really, your mind is fantastic at working this stuff out. We the people demand more!

I just loved how sweet it is that Pam simply sat and listened and let Jim talk out his relationship with Chloe. What I also like about this is that all the cards are on the table in the beginning. Not that there is anything he would or should hide but sometimes going through something like that, the person will just not want to share about it. Meanwhile it's clear to the other person that there is something big on his mind so she starts filling in the blanks herself. Maybe she would have decided in her mind that he still is in love with Chloe and wants her to come back. ANyhow, it's just so great that everything is just out there.

I really adore how Ellie takes to Pam so completely right away. It's just another thing that should show them it's meant to be. Here is his normally shy daughter + his friend at that point, who professes to not be any good with kids and they just seem like they are drawn to each other like magnet in the same way that Jim and Pam are. It must just be that the Halpert Beesly chemistry is that strong it even extends to offspring. Seriously, it's sweet how the first night Pam is over she gets introduced to Jim's daughter in a completely unplanned way and they just never seem to look back from there.

I love love LOVE how Jim takes so much pride in the way he dresses his daughter, I have seen dads raising girls and the poor things grow up looking a bit like ragamuffins. I was dying over how adorable the watermellon dress/outfit was. (Oh and also the lion costume.) I could actually picture either one of the cuties (the one in the lion costume pictured on the webpage or the one that is a snapshot of a little girl in the watermelon outfit and sunglasses) as being Ellie. It really made me smile because you have him dressing her exactly the way I dressed my kids, especially my youngest. I ADORED Gymboree for her because of all the accessories I could get with the clothes. (My friends liked to give me a hard time about E being the accessories princess and me the queen! I'd STILL dress her like that but at 11 and in middle school the darn kid has her own thoughts! UGH!)

Anyhow... It's just sweet and wonderful how you have the relationship flow. It's clear early on that these two click and are just destined for each other but we go from the night at his house, she meets Ellie kinda briefly and gets to help put her to bed (was that THAT night or a different one? I think it was that one.) Then the wonderful day at the park. So sweet that Pam would choose to spend her day with a single dad and his daughter in the park. I love how Jim keeps picking up on Pam's maternal instincts even as Pam continues to say how she isn't good with kids. It's also so so sweet how Jim just can't stand it any time he senses Pam is uncomfortable or ill at ease. He has this deep need to make things better, make her smile. It's just great how they each stay so aware that Ellie is there and as much as desire starts overtaking them at different times, and it's clear they very much want each other, they want it to be where they are alone, it is special and I sense they would never want it to be where either felt in any way annoyed at the baby because she interrupted. It's great how these two share what they are feeling and it's so obvious very quickly that yeah, this is love. I think it's clear even to them much sooner than they are willing to admit. Oh I LOLd at Pam when Jim answered the door when they were going to the park and she asked if she had missed his memo about the shirtless theme! That was great!

So I love how you have them decide on a night for themselves and really I wasn't sure at first how I felt about it being that night after the birthday party but the more I thought about it, the more I liked it. At first my hesitance was Jim having the party and then sending his little girl who he adores, to his parents for the rest of the day on her birthday. I just wasn't sure if devoted daddy Jim would spend part of Ellie's first birthday without her. Then I looked at it again and realized, she was going there probably about bedtime. He had spent literally every minute possible of the last year with her. He had alreasy put his relationship with Pam on hold some and Pam had even helped, in big ways, with Ellie's birthday and her party. I decided that after all the time that Jim has devoted to Ellie and then Jim and Pam as friends and as a couple have spent all their time with her at least there, even if she's sleeping, I liked the idea of them ending the day in an adult way. It's also, a day that a year ago marked the beginning to a wonderful, crazy, very tumultuous chapter in Jim's life. Fast forward to a year later and Jim is once more starting a new chapter on that same date and this one will hopefully bring him nothing but joy. (Not that Ellie has brought him anything but joy. I'm more talking about the Chloe leaving element and even fining out his daughter's disability and then moving so far...) New year, new chapter.

So... Jim's brother's are the same idiots we got on the show. I can see where those two would feed off of each other and become just totally juvenile in each other's presence. I was so sad when Pam felt like maybe she wanted to leave because of his brothers but I certainly understood how she was feeling. I'm glad that Pam at least had Jim's sister to bond with. I have always pictured that in the scenerio that appears to be what the show puts forth, Jim has two brothers and a sister (though I always wondered just why it would be that Jim's sister wouldn't have been one of Pam's bridesmaids at the wedding) I just have always seen Jim as having a close relationship with his sister. You do bring out far more human sides to the brothers, Pete sending the towel with the note and something Tom said to him early on but also Tom coming in at the birthday party and taking Ellie right out of Jim's arms. LOVED where Jim used his cellphone as a pretend mic. and said about Ellie rocking an outfit from Gymboree's spring/summer line. So cute and shows the brothers really do care for each other. So cute how Jim is so obviously nervous to send Ellie off for an overnight with grandma. Turns out it's a very good thing he did!!! (OH Jim! Why oh why did you have to eat that stuff?!?!)

So, the newest chapter was NOT what I was expecting, not at all, but was very much NOT a disappointment. We learn a lot more about people when things don't go as planned than we do with them being able to make plans. It's nice to see how they adjust and adapt. I was feeling so awful for poor Jim. Just wanting a wonderful romantic night, a child free time to pay attention and finally make love to Pam as I imagine he has now dreamed quite a bit and well, even the best of plans go astray. I did know from the moment it became apparent that Jim was sick, there was no way Pam was going to leave him. You wrote this chapter just so SO well. Love her coming after him quickly, knocking on the door and asking if he's okay. When he can't answer her letting him know she's coming in and doing it. The whole scene of Jim being sick becomes a lot more soothing when Pm is with him, letting him know she is there by rubbing his back, wetting a washcloth for his neck, getting his pjs and then despite the fact that it would have been easy for her to say, he's sick, get him settled and leave, I sense that even with him sick, maybe especially with him sick, there is just no other place Pam would want to be. She's there for him in the night, getting up when he is sick again... it's all just so wonderful. I sense that this has cemented their relationship even tighter than making love would have and besides, they know, and we know, that WILL happen soon. (Soon, right? RIGHT?) This showed Jim that Pam isn't just around for fun and the good times. First she stuck around after enduring feeling a bit humiliated by Jim's brothers and then after their evening plans were canceled by his illness, she stuck around to take care of him. On top of all of that, she got up the next day, letting him sleep,and took care of his daughter when she got home. I think all of this probably made Jim fall so much harder for Pam and cemented in his mind that yes, she is THE one! IT for him! The girl he's supposed to be with and all of this is without the benefit of having even started a physical relationship.

You left us in such a sweet place (PLEASE, I beg you PLEASE don't leave us for long this time... seriously... begging... on my knees...) with the three of them snuggling sweetly on the couch. It was just such a nice content feeling.

I can't help but wonder about the future. Since obviously SOMEONE is going to tell Chloe that Jim and Ellie are living in Scranton, and the history of their relationship according to what he told Pam is on again off again, I can't help but wondering if she is going to pop up in Scranton having decided that she wants Jim back. I'm sure it wouldn't have occured to her that he could have someone new, someone who he loves very much. I just wonder. Seems to clean for her to never come around. Never wonder about her and Jim getting back together or wonder about Chloe. Then again, if Pam and Jim get together like I'm sure they will, I would think they would both want Pam to adopt Ellie and really be her mom. In that case, I wonder how Chloe comes into play. Just things I can't help but wonder and think about.

You are doing an AMAZING job with this. I love the way your mind works and how this story shows things about you as a person. I couldn't help but think that I now picture you as making cakes and frosting from scratch. Cutting cakes to makes things from them like the 1 for Ellie's first birthday. I've cut ones to make two bunnies for my oldest daughter's 5th birthday and then much hardr made an elephant by cutting for her 6th. I also see you as that mom, like me that likes the matching stuff head to toe. I can just see that you are very creative and I'm glad you're sharing that with us in your story. OH... how brilliant sharing the signs with us. I LOVE that Pam is so interested but I love more that you are teaching us. I find myself trying motions as you describe them in the story. Thanks for that.

Amazing, really amazing. I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Your reviews are so awesome, I can't even begin to tell you how much everything you said means to me. I'm not a very confident writer at ALL, hence why it takes me so long to update,so to know people enjoy and appreciate something I have fretted so much about is amazing. I'm really going to try and write faster, as the more I write the better I'll get. What you said about Jim not wanting to leave Ellie on her birthday was something I had thought long and hard about, and like you said, it was bedtime, so she was going to sleep anyway, BUT I thought it sort of symbolic that he was beginning this next year to Ellie's life, completely differently to how he thought he would, you know? Writing now <3

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans