Reviews For Beginnings
You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans
Reviewer: Joalyn Signed 9 [Report This]
Date: October 21, 2016 10:15 am Title: Chapter 15

I'm super-duper late to the party, but maybe you will see this... hopefully :)
I LOVED this. Delightful. Lovely and believable. I loved that Jim pushed Pam, that he wasn't misinterpreting things, that she kissed him back.
I'm sorry I didn't read this a decade ago!

Reviewer: ftmill16 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: February 08, 2012 01:59 pm Title: Chapter 15

I know this story is really really old, and this is far from my first time reading it but I realized I had never commented on it before, in the past I sorta thought it was pointless to comment on the older stuff. I now know that sometimes the authors actually do come back through and see the comments and I also know it can help a reader who is trying to decide if a story, especially one that is many chapters like this is, is worth reading. So, I now try to comment at least some on the older pieces that really hit me.

I just have to say that this is simply beautiful from beginning to end. I LOVE agressive Jim in the beginning. He KNOWS that Pam kissed him back and he knows that it has to mean something so rather than running away like he did, he stays and he challenges her and he pushes her. He refuses to allow her to just remain in her little comfort zone knowing she's going to make a huge mistake. The thing is, IMO, with Jim remaining in Scranton I think this may have been the only way that Pam would have actually gone through with calling it off. Many fics have pointed out that it was Jim leaving that brought Pam to the point where she called off the wedding because with him there she had everything she needed, she just simply didn't realize that it was Jim that was giving here the things she really needed, not Roy. So, in most cases unless Pam had given in and decided on Casino Night, I think she would have gone through with the wedding never really realizing that the good parts of her life were coming to her from Jim and the miserable and lonely parts were courtesy of Roy. You brought a new element with Jim and her in the stairwell, Jim challenging her and telling her that he simply wasn't going to stop until it was too late. Simply brilliant.

I admit, there were many times in this story where I kinda wanted to smack Pam and try to knock some sense into her. I mean, the whole thing of not really completely calling off the wedding, Roy had 10 years and yes, at this point he is going to be on his very best behavior but she had already seen a nice long preview of Roy who feels he is not threatened, did she really think that 'best behavior Roy' would be there to stay? OTOH there is Jim who has been loving her and taking care of her in his own quiet way, completely thanklessly, for YEARS at that point. I think that Pam is ao amazingly lucky that what Jim felt for her was that one of a kind true love that he just couldn't give up on because otherwise there were several points AFTER Casino Night, like when she revealed she hadn't completely given Roy up and when he drove 5 hours, taking a half day off work from a new job, which could have certainly made him look bad, simply because he had heard that she had a really rough day and he wanted to be there for her so he, because he loves her volunteerily goes for a 10 hr round trip drive, meaning he probably also will be tire and not impressing anyone in the new office the next day either, to spend just a couple measly hours with her only to have her jump to Roy's defense. Roy, the person who made her day so awful. The one who accused her of things he was probably guilty of himself and certainly should have known her well enough to know she wouldn't do those things. She really walked a line there and if Jim were a different man she probably would have lost him, at very least temporarily. I also thought that it was just, well, unfortunately typical the way things went when Roy went to Pam's parent's house to pick her up. I mean, the guy doesn't even really care what's wrong, here's a blanket appology, ok, all better let's go home. When that doesn't work that's when he starts getting irritated at her and unbelievably at the end of that she agrees to give him another chance.

Something that I LOVE and what goes a very long way towards redeeming Pam and her actions in my eyes is her taking that blind leap of faith, her obviously somewhere inside of herself believing deeply in her and Jim being together, so deeply that she makes the move to his town. A move that moves her not just away from Scranton but farther away from her parents. I think that's very cool that it kinda makes up for the things she had put him through.

I certainly do understand and think it was completely realistic that Pam would first need to not automatically jump from Roy to Jim, that's always been my thing about CN, was Pam really supposed to go ok, now I'm done with Roy and Jim and I are a couple. Let's face it, in the world of boys and dating, Pam is young and not mature so it makes sense for her to need a little 'Pam time.' Even more, when you consider that Roy has been the only guy Pam has ever been with, and it's been so so many years since she last navigated trying to decide when and logistics plus, the fact that she would know that Jim has obviously had experience with far more partners than she has, I would think thaose things would all add up to making that decision terrifying. Is it to soon? Will "I" be enough, know enough, to satisfy him, what will he think of me, will this change our relationship, make him lose interest? She's only navigated those questions and answers once, a LONG time ago, so I feel for her. In the end I think it worked out perfectly because even though it was incredibly frustrating for them both up until it happened, I think it made it extra special that it was on the first night of their first vacation together. I also thought you had the flow and progression of their relationship pretty perfect. The moving in together, the pregnancy scare where he was fully prepared to propose and it was sweet that it wasn't just a big sigh of relief that the test was negative, they loved each other enough that they were also a bit disappointed at the results. Then there was Pam's showing of her first art combined with their perect proposal that rolled right into her selling her first piece. Their implied wedding, as it was talked about at the wedding they attended and rnding with the wonderful knowledge that there's nothing more wonderful than a sweet Halpert baby on the way. (Well, nothing more wonderful as long as mommy's name is pam!!!)

I DO have one point of contention, something that came up, maybe halfway through... when Jim was returning from Australia (LOVE that Pam made the decision and put in the efort to pick him up from the airport! Also LOVE that you skimmed his time in Australia and just mentioned a few postcards rather than trying to detail his time there!!) Anyhow.. You mentioned something and I then watched for it through the rest of the story, I'm guessing that you had just forgotten about that detail. You mentioned about a rather large purchase Jim had made for Pam that he seemed to doubt he's ever even be able to give her but did still have some hope that he would. I assumed that he bought her an engagement ring that is the ring he eventually propose with but I'm just not sure if I have that right or not since it was never again mentioned. I'm going to go ahead with my own assuption unless I somewhere somehow learn differently, though I'm not sure how I could. Maybe if I skim the comments of other readers, maybe someone else caught that and commented as well. Not sure if you responded to the reviews but I may take a look.

Other than the one point, and that is so so minor, such a brilliant story. It really is IMO different than any of the others I have read and I just realy love it. I'm sad that you don't seem to be writing for TO any longer, I enjoy your fics because there doesn't tend to be heavy angst but there does tend to be lots of happiness and not like 12 chapters of angst or so so and 3 chapters of them finally headed towards happiness. Most of yours is pretty much brightness and sunshine and sometimes that's what a girl really nees. Oh and lastly, also, your fics will just never never get old. No matter where they are in life on the show now, your fics remain fantastic reads. Thank you so much for sharing such amazing talent with us!

Reviewer: starry_laa Signed [Report This]
Date: November 05, 2010 11:25 am Title: Chapter 15

This story was so amazing! I loved that it had angst and then really evolved into a happily-ever-after. I love that Pam moved to Stamford too. I don't think I've seen a fic where that happens. I just loved the fluffy ending as well!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2010 08:13 pm Title: Chapter 15

Oh my goodness, this story is perfect! That's all I want to say. The proposal was brilliant, in fact I liked the 14th chapter the best. It was incredible! And I'll have you know that I stayed up until ONE AM last night reading this, and for the past 30 minutes instead of doing homework or sleeping. SO THERE- that is how perfect this is, I couldn't stop reading. This has got to be one of my favorite stories ever!

Reviewer: pamelamorganhalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 05, 2010 12:18 am Title: Chapter 5

Wow, this chapter was the best so far. By the way, I found this on the must-read fanfic list here at MTT -and it's there for a obvious reason! This is incredible! I love how Roy is changing so much in this chapter, trying to read Pam, and Pam is being herself, calm but sure of her intentions, softly stating her mind. I admire Jim for speaking his mind, but really, Jim? You're going to be that harsh and forward, even mean to the one you want to leave from her man of 10 YEARS? I thought Jim was kind of extreme, yet very realistic, so great job with that. Anyways, I'll read one more chapter, and then I'm off to bed. It's so late! Great job with this chapter, and story in general, I'm going to be so excited to come home to this after school tomorrow!

Reviewer: JamFan4 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: September 27, 2008 12:27 am Title: Chapter 15

This story was amazing. I am sorry I can't think of anything more brilliant than that to describe it.

Author's Response: Amazing works. :)   Thank you so much!!!

Reviewer: shootingstars Signed [Report This]
Date: September 15, 2008 09:09 am Title: Chapter 15

I found this when I decided it was about time I checked the MTT primer, because wierdly I never have.

I wanted to stop and review every few chapters, mostly to tell you that I love how much your Jim fights for her in this, but I got drawn in and now it's like an hour later and I'm at the end.

This is just wonderful, a lovely story and hands down the best Jim/Pam proposal I have ever read.

:)

Author's Response: Sorry for the delay in replying to you.  Thank you so much for your kind review.  I love this story myself.  It has a place near and dear to my heart.  I'm so glad you liked it too!

Reviewer: Sonni Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: May 26, 2008 03:29 pm Title: Chapter 15

I'm speechless. While the beginning was angsty, everything you did after that... Pam moving to Stamford, the proposal, them having a baby... It was just too perfect for words. I'm actually crying, it was that beautiful. (why is it that all your stories make me cry? either i'm too sensitive or you're too good a writer. i'm thinking both, but more the you being too good one hehe)

Author's Response:

Crying?  And not fake crying??  Well that's just about the highest of compliments so thank you so much.

I really love this story.  It was at a time that I needed to have them fast forward to marriage and kids at the end of every story - but I think it kind of works here.

Thank you so much Sonni for the very sweet review.

Reviewer: Emilys List Signed 8 [Report This]
Date: May 25, 2008 12:39 am Title: Chapter 15

...wow.  what a really fantastic story.  i love the beginning, how it's pretty ugly (as in the situation, not the writing; the writing is fab!), but eventually clears out and becomes bright and cheery, etc. i really like the dark edges of this, i think it works.  what a great, great fic of clean lines.

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much!  This one was one of my firsts and there are parts I am really really proud of.  I'm glad you seemed to agree!!  It's always such a treat to get a review for one of my oldies so again - thank you!!!!

Reviewer: deerinthepark Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: January 04, 2008 12:52 am Title: Chapter 1

An old fic, but it's very cute, so I thought I'd comment.  Love the last little bit, especially-- so sweet!

Author's Response:

Thanks deer!  This is old - one of the very first I wrote - so it's lovely to have it recognized now.  So glad you liked it!

Reviewer: jollyholly Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: November 03, 2007 11:51 pm Title: Chapter 15

I stayed up very late tonight so I could finish this..I love this story so much! So real and unbelievably sweet at the same time. Loved it!

Author's Response: This was one of the very first Office fanfics I ever wrote.  I'm so glad you liked it. :) Thanks so much for taking the time to tell me so.

Reviewer: Vampiric Blood Signed [Report This]
Date: July 05, 2007 11:52 pm Title: Chapter 15

Well, it's 3 a.m. and I had to keep reading till I finished!  I just love this story.  I like this Jim much better than the angsty season 3 Jim.  Good characterizations all around.

Author's Response:

Sorry to keep you up so late.  This was written back before I knew who S3 Jim would be.  Thank you so much for reading and for the sweet review. :)

Reviewer: pinkiepie172 Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: June 26, 2007 11:04 am Title: Chapter 15

OMG!! That was such a good story! I wish I could write as well as you do! All the characters were perfect. Great Job!!

Author's Response: Thanks pinkiepie!   I'm so very glad you liked it!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed 10 [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 12:30 pm Title: Chapter 15

Aww, its the last chapter. It was way enjoyable reading this again, and again, I have to thank you and this insane story for bringing me here and making me have no life outside of the office.

Oh, and you know how I said those two were perfect, this story is. From new babies, weddings, proposals, freakishly tall Jim, and the ending and the how it like comes full circle, and everything.

Just perfect...

Author's Response: Thank you so much Emily.  Sorry it took me so long to come back and reply to you but I wanted you to know how much I appreciate your feedback.  Getting reviews for a story that I wrote ages ago always makes my day.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 12:24 pm Title: Chapter 14

OF course he orders soft shell crabs, it is his favorite food :)

And that last ditto... god, those two are just perfect togehter.

Author's Response:

Yes.  Indeed they are.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 12:20 pm Title: Chapter 13

I probably am like Jim by being a creature of habit. It is Cheerios for breakfast, and peanut butter and jelly for lunch. Daily. Dinner I branch out a little bit... well, I have aout 6-7 meals I will make, but the days vary. And laundry is Monday unless I get way to swamped with school work. Then it is whenever I have a spare second, hopefully before I run out of clean clothes.


Author's Response: I think we are have our little habits - and I think the ones I picked fit Jim to a T. :)

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 12:11 pm Title: Chapter 12

I knew her apartment was in Stamford, and I still was so happy and just all smiles when she finally admitted it to him!!!

AND she told him she loved him. Wow, if I smile any bigger, my face is going to break.

Yep... way to happy for my own good.

Author's Response: This one was fun.  I love sneaky, flirty Pam!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 11:54 am Title: Chapter 11

I agree with Pam. I mean, honestly, Roy couldn't be all bad. I mean, she was with him for ten years, and I think it was a slow process. It was love. But then they both got comfortable, and they both just ya know, Pam got used to it, and stuff like that. But, I still also think that even when Roy was a complete jerk, he probably still did some nice things. Because I think that way it was a harder choice for Pam. Oh I don't know what I am saying anymore

Hugging Jim is like wearing an oversized sweatshirt, she thinks with a sigh. It covers every inch of you and makes you warm all over.
I want a huggable Jim. I love that feeling.

Such a sweet fun chapter.

Author's Response: Don't you think that's exactly what it would be like?  Thanks so much for all your reviews!  You are quite a trooper!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 11:46 am Title: Chapter 10

Ya know, it wasn't until I started watching The Office that I thought of CPR as romantic. But then I started picturing Jim and Pam practicing together, and oh, for concious choking... specially for concious choking. Those two would love to practice that. Sorry, I teach CPR, and my brain gets those two and, yeah. Weird stuff happens.

And Days Of The Young and Restless is so totally Michael!!!

And Jim is waiting for her. I think this story (heck, nearly all the stories here), have just convinced me that Jim is nothing if not perfect. And then reality strikes.

And then break my heart with the last line. You are breaking my heart a lot with this story I do believe.


Author's Response:

Ha!  About the CPR.   Enduring a little heartbreak just makes it sweeter in the end.  At least I hope so!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 11:40 am Title: Chapter 9

And even though this was technically only the second first date she'd ever had, she was pretty sure that it would never be matched.
And I bet she kinda hopes she won't have a third first date...

"I'm scrappy."
That quote totally reminds me of Friends. Monica is scrappy also :)

I can't wait for three weeks :). I bet Jim can't either...and Pam duh, can't wait!

Author's Response: HEE!!  Yes.  Monica is scrappy too. :)

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 10, 2007 11:36 am Title: Chapter 8

Best Greeting Ever: "You come here often?" He whispers, unable to keep the smile from crossing his face.
So totaly Jim!

And I love how understanding Jim is, even though he like, he is angry at her (well, as angry as he can be about her), and unsure, he is also a bit angry at himself, and totally understanding.

I wish I could have more do-overs.


Author's Response:

This might be my favorite scene ever.   Writing it was effortless - their voices were in my head so loud and clear the whole time.

And me too. :)

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2007 10:11 am Title: Chapter 7

short review, because i think this chapter broke my heart.

Author's Response: Awww.  I hope I can fix it. :)

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2007 10:08 am Title: Chapter 6

"This isn't good is his only thought."
Nope, that isn't exactly the best signals in the world Jim.

"Two steps forward, five leaps back."
Completely off topic, but there was one day where I tried walking everywhere by taking two steps forward, one step back. It took forever, and I think I gave up after like 20 minutes or less.

""Their species is peculiar." This reminds me of a chemical fact sheet joke thing that was for woman/females... its like Age: Varies but is generally reported as lower. Weight: unable to find out, physical harm, etc. It was really fun. We had it in our lab right next to the real chemical fact sheets.

You have Jim know about Dwangela, even though he didn't really find out until later S3... haha, sorry, I just had to repicture Jim and his face after learning about it.

Who knows, I may have even mentioned this the first time I reviewed it (forever and a day ago)... but Parcheesi is a weird code word for sex for me and a bunch of other nerds. So, we were at nerd camp, and the counselors put on a skit. And somehow, Parcheesi and sex became intertwined. And swiping cards. Which lead to swiping cards with a monkey. God, we are such weird nerds. But, yes, having Parcheesi mean sex makes that conversation about Parcheesi very interesting indeed.

Author's Response:

Yeah - I always took Pam's thinking Dwangela was together during Email Surveillance as Jim sort of buying into it - even if Pam tried to take it back.  But obviously he had no idea.  LOL!

And um...Parcheesi was really only meant to mean Parcheesi here but good to know.  LOL!

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2007 07:42 am Title: Chapter 5

So, the conversation between Pam and Roy reminded me of a story my mom told me, and then as i wrote it all out, I couldn't figure out why it reminded me or what connections my brain made, so I didn't share.

But I think this was a very realistic breaking up the wedding scene. And it still sort of fits into the whole way Roy was acting in Season Three...

Author's Response: I think I captured Roy pretty well and what I imagined a discussion between the two of them would be like.  Poor Roy.  I hope he finds a nice girl.

Reviewer: EmilyHalpert Signed [Report This]
Date: June 09, 2007 07:33 am Title: Chapter 4

I believe a short review this chapter just because it made me giggle and smile.

Okay, just a few more things - this was such a sweet chapter.

And...
"Impossible. Do you have any idea how long I've waited for this moment?" He says with a grin.

She gives him a look and smiles back in spite of it all. "Umm. Three years?"

"No." He shakes his head at her. His mouth moves over hers as he whispers. "Try forever."

So sweet and one of the best chapter endings I have EVER read

Author's Response: Awwww.  Thank you!!! 

You must login (register) to review or leave jellybeans